Buy New

Includes FREE MP3
version
of this album.
or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Buy Used
Used - Very Good See details
$4.00 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details

or
 
   
More Buying Choices
Fulfillment Express US Add to Cart
$12.14  & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
The Beauty of the Rain
 
See larger image
 

The Beauty of the Rain [Enhanced]

Dar WilliamsAudio CD
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (88 customer reviews)

Price: $12.42 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
 : Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.
   Provided by Amazon Digital Services, Inc. Terms and Conditions. Does not apply to gift orders.
Only 4 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
Want it Monday, April 21? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Complete your purchase to save the MP3 version to Cloud Player.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
MP3 Music, 11 Songs, 2003 $9.99  
Audio CD, Enhanced, 2003 $12.42  
DVD Audio, 2004 --  

Amazon's Dar Williams Store

Music

Image of album by Dar Williams

Photos

Image of Dar Williams

Videos

Dar Williams - "As Cool As I Am"

Biography

The initial idea came in a flash. Dar Williams was driving on an isolated highway, crossing from New York into Ontario, surrounded by frozen fields, silver trees, and empty sky, when inspiration struck.

“I thought, ‘I want to write a biker song!,’” Williams says with a laugh. “And then my second thought was, ‘I want to write an epic biker song.’ ... Read more in Amazon's Dar Williams Store

Visit Amazon's Dar Williams Store
for 15 albums, 12 photos, videos, and 8 full streaming songs.

Special Offers and Product Promotions


Frequently Bought Together

The Beauty of the Rain + In the Time of Gods + Many Great Companions
Price for all three: $32.42

Buy the selected items together

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details

  • Audio CD (February 18, 2003)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Enhanced
  • Label: Razor & Tie
  • ASIN: B0000894RG
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (88 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #49,507 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. The World's Not Falling Apart (featured guests: Michael Kang - Fiddle; Stefan Lessard - bass)
2. Farewell To The Old Me (featured guests: Stefan Lessard - bass; John Medeski - keyboards)
3. I Saw A Bird Fly Away (featured guests: John Medeski - keyboards; John Popper - harmonica, vocals)
4. The Beauty of The Rain (featured guest: Chris Botti - trumpet)
5. Mercy of The Fallen
6. The One Who Knows (featured guest: Alison Krauss - vocals)
7. Closer To Me (featured guest: Bela Fleck - banjo)
8. Fishing In The Morning (featured guests: Bela Fleck - banjo; Michael Kang - fiddle)
9. Whispering Pines (featured guests: Chris Botti - trumpet; Cliff Eberhardt - vocals; Alison Krauss -vocals; Stefan Lessard - bass)
10. Your Fire Your Soul (featured guest: John Medeski - keyboards)
11. I Have Lost My Dreams

Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com

With each release, this East Coast singer-songwriter moves farther from the strictures of folk into the musical mainstream. While Dar Williams's artistic trademarks--lyrical introspection, melodic warmth, an occasional tendency toward breathy vocal preciousness--remain much in evidence on this collection, produced by Stewart Lerman and Rob Hyman, the expanded musical support adds more rhythmic propulsion and layers of harmonies to the mix. Among the highlights are "I Saw a Bird Fly Away," featuring the harmonica chirp and background vocals of Blues Traveler's John Popper and the keyboard of John Medeski, and a hymnlike transformation of the Band's "Whispering Pines," with vocal counterpoint from Cliff Eberhardt and harmonies from Alison Krauss. Other musicians making key contributions include banjoist Béla Fleck, trumpeter Chris Botti, bassist Stefan Lessard (Dave Matthews Band), and fiddler Mike Kang (String Cheese Incident). Titles such as "Farewell to the Old Me" and "I Have Lost My Dreams" reinforce the spirit of transformation, though one of the strongest cuts here, "Mercy of the Fallen," sticks closest to folk convention. --Don McLeese

Product Description


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How does this woman know my family and me? July 4, 2003
Format:Audio CD|Verified Purchase
The beauty of a Dar Williams album is that you buy it for a song that you heard on the radio, or a snippet of words and music heard in the background of a television show's soundtrack. You listen, you enjoy, then it hits you: the mainstreamy, poppish tunes that you thought you were getting are just the surface current. Dar Williams's music always runs much deeper, and one day you realize how much lies beneath the surface (and wonder why the record companies and the deejays aren't displaying the real treasures).
As it did to some extent on "The Green World," the album before this one, a subtle theme of family runs through this album's songs (some of them, anyway). And Dar's understanding of family is rich and complex. Her songs are not syrupy ballads about parents loving their children, nor are they angry screeds about one generation rebelling against the generation before. Those motifs are both present, from the anger of "Your Fire Your Soul" ("But any day now one of us could die, and if we make you suffer don't you want to find out why, / Cause we love to watch you try, With your fire, your soul, your soul") to her heartstring-tugging ode to a mother's love for her child in "The One Who Knows" ("I want to teach your heart to trust, as I will teach my own, / But sometimes I will ask the moon where it shined upon you last, / And shake my head and laugh and say it all went by too fast."). Love and anger aren't always mutually exclusive, though, in life or in these songs, and Dar is at her best when she captures them together ("You should leave this house, leave this town, All that's left to chart is nothing less than your own heart. / What can you do with a day? What will you wake up and see? / The farther you get, the closer to me.").
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous. May 13, 2004
By A Customer
Format:Audio CD
I was also introduced to Dar through her earlier music and very reticent to get this album, based on concerns about it being overly "pop." I got it anyway, and am very glad I did. It's definitely not the acoustic singalong style of some earlier music, but it's very far from soulless pop. The songs are gorgeously crafted and the lyrics are in many cases quite moving. Dar has not let me down in any way with this lovely album.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
By A Customer
Format:Audio CD|Verified Purchase
Life many people who wrote reviews, I have been a Dar fan since her Northampton days in 1993. Like others, she took me through college, through the quaintness of New England, and taught me how to ponder, criticize, and question our everyday life. Her latest release is drastically different from _The Honesty Room_. But listening to this release in the progression of things, through _End of the Summer_, through _The Green World_, we realize that like all of us, she has grown up some as well. This release, while having a full sound and a strong bass that sometimes beats so hard it brings a headache, still holds a certain ingenuity and sincerity that made Dar popular. Some of the songs here are clearly reminiscent of previous releases - "Mercy of the Fallen" sounds like "Spring Street" and "I Saw A Bird" sounds just like "What Do You Love More Than Love". In fact, you can sing one song along to the other... The fullness of the sound overshadows Dar's voice and takes the rawness and emotion out of it. But while her sound has evolved into a foreign one for her longtime fans, I believe the message and the intellect are still there. Songs like "Mercy of the Fallen" and "The One Who Knows" will bring you to tears with their poignancy. Therefore, I would recommend this release with the strong suggestion that any new Dar fan get a hold of her previous releases to fully understand her roots.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Produced, yes... Evocative, as always April 11, 2004
By Dave W
Format:Audio CD
I've been a Dar fan since day one, and I've been buying her releases ever since. In contrast to what some others have said about this release, I found it to be one of her best, nearly moving me as much as -The Honesty Room- did when I first heard it. While it may be more produced than hardcore folkies are comfortable with, tracks such as "Mercy of the Fallen," "I Saw a Bird Fly Away," and "Closer to Me," bring Dar back to what I've always enjoyed about her lyricism; Namely, she seems continually able to find the poetry in the smallest occurences of every day life. I'd highly recommend this album... and suggest you enjoy the little deviations from the typical acoustic guitar/sparse vocals as a new way to appreciate folk.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Nervous Girl Comes of Through November 18, 2003
Format:Audio CD
Dar Dar Dar, what can I say? You've done it again! You've written, you've performed, you've come up with a fantastic collection of tunes, ballads, anthems. You shared from your life with the sadness of I Have Lost My Dreams. You encouraged and motivated with Your Fire, Your Soul, you got me moving and feeling good with I Saw A Bird Fly Away. You did a beautiful cover with Whispering Pines, you talked grew up with Farewell to the Old Me. You surrounded yourself with master musicians like Alison Krauss, John Medeski and Bela Fleck. You've created an all-grown-up CD that I'll listen to over and over. Thanks, Dar! You're the best!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lyrical Alchemy September 20, 2003
By Dave
Format:Audio CD
Dar Williams' music and lyrical charm and wit have captured my attention on her previous outings. Upon fist listening to "The Beauty Of the Rain", it seemed things were getting a little samey. During subsequent listenings, I sensed something unfolding - that rare moment when musical transcendence occurs. The voice lofty, sweet and earthy. The lyrics insightful, mellifluous and of the soul. The music a comfortable vehicle for a journal of life and its changes. Remove one note (as Salieri said of Mozart's music) and there would be diminishment. This album is a gift, like a comfortable novel that on can read again and again, each time revealing an intriguing nuance. For those unfamiliar with Dar Williams, this is an luminous introduction. If you treasure the unique, you will not be disappointed.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Just wonderful
I Loved the whole album Great voice, Great Stories. bought after listening online. I am going to see when she is in town.
Published 5 months ago by Richard H. Killgore
5.0 out of 5 stars Dar Williams' album "The Beauty of the Rain" -- Folk magic in music
This 2003 album has a variety of folk, country, and semi-pop styles featuring Dar's introspective lyrics and dreamy melodies. Read more
Published 12 months ago by Lori Parker
4.0 out of 5 stars Beauty of the Rain CD
I cannot believe that I haven't heard of Dar Williams until now. I have fallen in love with the title song and have tried to contact Ms. Read more
Published on April 6, 2009 by John F. Mccoy
4.0 out of 5 stars Good service.
I received the cd I ordered quickly, and it was in excellent condition as promised. I would recommend this seller.
Published on February 9, 2009 by Hermione Granger
5.0 out of 5 stars Dar Williams..''The Beauty of the Rain''
I purchased this CD for my sister, my oldest son, and even for myself. I play the music everyday and find it beautiful, melodic and reflective. This is a MUST HAVE CD. Read more
Published on February 2, 2009 by Consuelo T. Gabriel
2.0 out of 5 stars Dar Williams - Beauty of the Rain cd review
Not sure about this one. She has a lot of talent. I've been listening to her music since her cover of Better Things off of The End of the Summer, which was very good. Read more
Published on October 28, 2008 by Joseph Morris
5.0 out of 5 stars It's DVD-Audio, It's Not Supposed To Play On Your PC
Just stumbled across the inane "review" that was posted for "The Beauty of the Rain" DVD-Audio. DVD-A's aren't meant to be played on computers, so I don't see why Dar's excellent... Read more
Published on November 29, 2007 by John G.
5.0 out of 5 stars Dar is so sad
"The Beauty of the Rain" is overall a sad, soul baring CD. The best song on the album in "Closer to Me" about a couple growing up to grow together. Read more
Published on January 13, 2007 by M. Brown
1.0 out of 5 stars Like the Music, Can't Play the CD
Unfortunately, this is not the format in which to buy this great CD. I can't play it in my computer's CD player, because it isn't a DVD player, and I can't use iTunes to copy it... Read more
Published on November 30, 2006 by Cathy
4.0 out of 5 stars Music for both mind and heart
This album sets thought provoking lyrics to beautiful melodies that pleasantly haunt your soul. It was only a few months ago that I unintenionally stumbled upon "The Beauty of the... Read more
Published on August 1, 2006 by Maria Lewer
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews
ARRAY(0x9dc9f1a4)

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?



Look for Similar Items by Category