Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bible of Bed Bug Survival!!!
When it was determined that our apartment had a bed bug problem, I just freaked out. This book helped clarify contradicting information I received from different exterminators and web sites. The Bed Bug Survivor Guide explained the myths and, more importantly, the exceptions to all of the rules you read about online. It was pretty entertaining as well. Jeff seems like a...
Published on April 6, 2011 by Stanley

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
This book, although written in a style both witty and clever, is basically an infomercial for the author's pest control company, and the relatively few such outfits properly equipped and trained to detect and treat bed bugs. It has some good information about avoiding bed bug infestations, but if you thought this book would help you get rid of bed bugs apart from spending...
Published on January 11, 2012 by Dudley Delany


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, January 11, 2012
By 
Dudley Delany (Virginia Beach, VA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bed Bug Survival Guide: The Only Book You Need to Eliminate or Avoid This Pest Now (Paperback)
This book, although written in a style both witty and clever, is basically an infomercial for the author's pest control company, and the relatively few such outfits properly equipped and trained to detect and treat bed bugs. It has some good information about avoiding bed bug infestations, but if you thought this book would help you get rid of bed bugs apart from spending hundreds, if not thouands of dollars on pest control companies, you can forget about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Repetitive, September 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bed Bug Survival Guide: The Only Book You Need to Eliminate or Avoid This Pest Now (Paperback)
Everything written in this book is exactly what's on bedbugger.com. A total waste of money, maybe because everything he talked about I already read on other websites (for free). And the fact that he didn't really reveal any information that's really suitable to defeat bed bugs (DIY), makes it even worse. Save your money peeps and find some info online!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bible of Bed Bug Survival!!!, April 6, 2011
This review is from: The Bed Bug Survival Guide: The Only Book You Need to Eliminate or Avoid This Pest Now (Paperback)
When it was determined that our apartment had a bed bug problem, I just freaked out. This book helped clarify contradicting information I received from different exterminators and web sites. The Bed Bug Survivor Guide explained the myths and, more importantly, the exceptions to all of the rules you read about online. It was pretty entertaining as well. Jeff seems like a great guy and he is donating all proceeds to charity. Win- win for everyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Bed Bug Book Ever!!!!, April 6, 2011
This review is from: The Bed Bug Survival Guide: The Only Book You Need to Eliminate or Avoid This Pest Now (Paperback)
I keep reading and hearing newx about more and more bed bug stories. I'm terrified of bugs and simpley cant let it happen to me. I bought the bed bug survival guide and barnes and noble and its taught me lots of great travel and city tips to avoid getting bed bugs. Glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, April 6, 2011
This review is from: The Bed Bug Survival Guide: The Only Book You Need to Eliminate or Avoid This Pest Now (Paperback)
When I found out I had bed bugs, I had soooo many questions. One of my family friends who had had them suggested that I read The Bed Bug Survival Guide, so I went on Amazon and bought it. It was a quick read and answered all of my questions and more on bed bugs. Definitely a great book for anyone living in 2011.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bed Bug Survival Guide, June 18, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bed Bug Survival Guide: The Only Book You Need to Eliminate or Avoid This Pest Now (Paperback)
This is the best source of expert advice for significantly lowering your odds of a bed bug infestation that I've found. And I've been researching this subject for nearly a year -- ever since I inadvertently brought bed bugs home from my office in NYC.

Eisenberg's Manhattan firm, PestAway, got rid of our bugs and did a great job of it. But even with a top-notch exterminating firm, the process is gruelling. Among other things, you need to pack up all your papers (a favored hiding place for bed bugs) and launder all your clothes (ditto), and vacuum virtually every inch of your living space daily - for weeks.

Since we got rid of the bugs I've been obsessively looking for comprehensive, reputable advice for keeping them away. That's what this book has to offer. Eisenberg estimates that you can lower your odds of a bed bug infestation by 75% if you follow his advice. That's a very significant, and comforting, decrease in risk.

If everyone followed the advice Eisenberg outlines in this well written book, we might be able to contain the dramatic proliferation of these repulsive, disruptive parasites.

Bonus: Eisenberg is donating all royalties from this book to charity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prevention, prevention, prevention!, May 3, 2011
This review is from: The Bed Bug Survival Guide: The Only Book You Need to Eliminate or Avoid This Pest Now (Paperback)
Man. The very idea of bed bugs makes my skin crawl. So when I found out that a friend whose home we had visited was infested, I nearly lost my head. Turns out we were bed bug-free, but the whole ordeal still sent me on a mad dash to look for resources to help me prevent a future infestation. Most of what was online was hard to follow or contradictory, and a lot of it just didn't make any sense whatsoever. So I was excited about The Bed Bug Survival Guide. Yeah, it has tons of info about how to get rid of them as painlessly as possible if you get them, but the real key is that it does an amazing job of telling you how to prevent an infestation. And that means everything to me. Plus, it didn't make me itch too much, lol. The language is plain, and even funny, and I learned a ton along the way. I feel like I now live in a bed bug-impervious fortress, thanks to this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay, June 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bed Bug Survival Guide: The Only Book You Need to Eliminate or Avoid This Pest Now (Paperback)
An interesting read, however the same information found in its pages can be found for free online with relative ease. If you're looking for a do-itself guide I suggest looking elsewhere as the sum of this books contents are more or less cynically summarized as "hire an exterminator and stop having people over."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, April 6, 2011
This review is from: The Bed Bug Survival Guide: The Only Book You Need to Eliminate or Avoid This Pest Now (Paperback)
I live in the absolute fear of getting bed bugs. I thought I had some idea of how to avoid it. I was so off base of what I thought I knew. The bed bug survival guide was so clear, logical, and actually funny at the same time it was not painful to read. I now feel like I have some real knowledge in avoiding this nightmarish pest. Very good book, I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "What do you call a bed bug [extermination] job that's 99.99 percent effective?" (Answer below), May 14, 2011
By 
This review is from: The Bed Bug Survival Guide: The Only Book You Need to Eliminate or Avoid This Pest Now (Paperback)
XXXXX

"By reading this book that lays out my fourteen years of experience treating bed bugs you can get the best of my help--exact information on how to check for bed bugs, reduce clutter, decontaminate your belongings and pack...I also guarantee that following my prevention methods will cut the likelihood of your getting bed bugs by at least 75 percent. And if you do get them, my advice will save you at least $1500, not to mention months in false starts and unqualified exterminators as you try to get rid of the bugs. Once you get rid of them, this book will help keep you rid of them."

The above comes from this practical and sometimes humorous book by Jeff Eisenberg. He is the founder of a NYC-based pest company, and is one of the leading bed bug experts and exterminators in the country.

So, you think you can't get bed bugs? Thing again! We're in the middle of a bed bug epidemic and you have to know how to protect yourself and your family from being a meal for these vampire-like pests.

(And if you think going to the Internet for information to solve your bed bug problems is the solution, you'll be disappointed. I found that the bed bug information on the Internet to be confusing.)

Question: what is the best way to avoid bed bugs? Answer: avoid getting them in the first place. In other words, prevention. This book gives important prevention advice for the home, your place of employment, the automobile, on trains, on planes, when travelling, and other "unexpected bed bug hangouts."

What if you're not sure if you actually have bed bugs? This book will help you with detection techniques, simple steps to determine if you have a bed bug problem.

And what if you do get them? Treatment options are discussed. This includes hiring exterminators but only those exterminators who actually know what they're doing.

Throughout this book is important information that's isolated from the main narrative and appears on a gray background. I found these good for quick reference.

Finally, I only had one problem with this book. There is no index. The advice in this book is VERY beneficial. Thus, I think a comprehensive index would have been quite handy for quick and easy reference.

In conclusion, I feel if you follow the advice in this book, you will dramatically reduce your chances of getting bed bugs. If you do get them, by following the advice in this book, you can effectively get rid of them. And here's the answer to the question that titles this review:

"A failure."

(first published 2011; introduction; 9 chapters; main narrative 195 pages; appendix; about the author)

<<Stephen Pletko, London, Ontario, Canada>>

XXXXX
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Bed Bug Survival Guide: The Only Book You Need to Eliminate or Avoid This Pest Now
$12.99 $11.23
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.