Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best literature anthology available
Quite simply, The Bedford Introduction to Literature is the best introductory lit anthology available. Unlike many of the books out there, this title actually makes an effort to include contemporary authors and not just the same old stuff. Moreover, there are some surprises thrown in like Kanye West lyrics in the poetry coverage or an episode of Seinfeld in the...
Published on July 27, 2008 by Daniel McDonough

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Over 2200 pages! Really?
Over 2200 pages! Really? My 110 pound daughter is supposed to carry this in her backpack as just one of 5 textbooks? Her back gives her problems, and I suspect this is the problem. Come on publishers and schools. Use some common sense. Either get this on Kindle, or split it into multiple volumes or preferably both. Kids in large schools don't even have time to go...
Published on October 12, 2012 by M. Clark


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best literature anthology available, July 27, 2008
By 
Daniel McDonough (East Windsor, New Jersey United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Bedford Introduction to Literature: Reading, Thinking, Writing (Hardcover)
Quite simply, The Bedford Introduction to Literature is the best introductory lit anthology available. Unlike many of the books out there, this title actually makes an effort to include contemporary authors and not just the same old stuff. Moreover, there are some surprises thrown in like Kanye West lyrics in the poetry coverage or an episode of Seinfeld in the collection of plays. The author includes these x-ray type close readings...it shows what to highlight, has notes on why particular things are important, etc. Plus, there is plenty of support for writing, research, critical theory, and more. Basically, it has everything you could want for in a book like this. My favorite section is the case study of Julia Alvarez which includes interviews, insights from Alvarez on her work, personal photos and her HANDWRITTEN DRAFTS...fascinating stuff. I've looked at a lot of other anthologies (Roberts, DiYanni, Perrine) at teacher conferences and this one really offers instruction and selections no other book has.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Bedford Introduction to Literature, May 4, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bedford Introduction to Literature: Reading, Thinking, Writing (Hardcover)
I purchased this book as a requirement for a college English course, but found the collection of writings personally interesting. Would recommend it to those who love the classics. The text contains a wide range of poetry, excerpts, and short stories that are critcally acclaimed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, March 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bedford Introduction to Literature: Reading, Thinking, Writing (Hardcover)
This is my first year of college (online) and it's very difficult ordering books online not knowing for sure if you have the right one. but with this selection it was a great experience short and sweet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good anthology of classic literature, September 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A lot of Greek plays, Sophocles, Homer, etc. Some Shakespeare, Beowulf, British and American poetry: A.E. Housman, Matthew Arnold, Robert and Elizabeth Barrett Browning, Marvelle, Raleigh, Marlowe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great condition,, February 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bedford Introduction to Literature: Reading, Thinking, Writing (Hardcover)
I'm very please with the purchase of this book for my second semester of English 1302 class. Book in great condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars school books, January 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bedford Introduction to Literature: Reading, Thinking, Writing (Hardcover)
good price i dont want to write 18 more words, this is why I normally dont review. This is ridiculous
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great seller, shipping immediate, December 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I needed this book for Engl 102 summer term and it was shipped within a week or two so that was fine. However, this was not the current edition which I had no idea eighth edition compared to twelth edition made a difference. So it was missing a few stories my teacher wanted us to read and was more difficult because she would say read pages 1189 - 1200. With my version, it wasn't the same story. Now I know to look for a particular edition to get the correct book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, useful, and effective., September 12, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bedford Introduction to Literature: Reading, Thinking, Writing (Hardcover)
It's a definite must-have-in-your-bookshelf kind of book. The book is filled with resources that you can use for many specific problems concerning reading, writing, and analyzing literature. I strongly recommend this book. Surely, you must be a person who enjoys reading and writing, no doubt about that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bedford Introduction to Literature, July 31, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bedford Introduction to Literature: Reading, Thinking, Writing (Hardcover)
Needed this book for English class, keeping this book as it has great information and great literature throughout! Drama, Plays, Poems and great info on writing etc. BUY IT!! KEEP IT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bedford Introduction to Literature: Reading, Thinking, Writing (Hardcover)
Really helps in class!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Bedford Introduction to Literature: Reading, Thinking, Writing
The Bedford Introduction to Literature: Reading, Thinking, Writing by Michael Meyer (Hardcover - April 30, 2007)
Used & New from: $1.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.