Back to Business Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon King Bose SoundTouch 130 Amazon Fire TV Stick Grocery Valentine's Day Cards Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now Sale

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars52
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 3, 2008
Unlike The Beer Guide, by Oakes, or the Rate Beers website, both of which rate beers, The Beer Book shows what beers are out there, today, with nice photos. Arranged by brewery in each country, it is easy to find your favorite brew, and see what other beers that brewery is making. Nice piece on glasses as well. A wonderful complement to The Beer Guide and an essential, and up-to-date reference.
0Comment18 of 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2009
This is a massive collection and visual journey though the world of beers. As a beer lover myself I could not resist purchasing this book.

This encyclopedia, goes through beers alphabetical and by geographic region, there are sampling notes for the top brews each brewing company makes, as well as nice bright photos of each bottle. inside you will fine walking tours for fantastic pubs around the world, as well as a look at the large breweries themselves and the brew masters who work them.

I only wish it could have even more beers, as only the 2 or 3 beers are mentioned for each brewery, though it is already quite a collection.

Also on the front cover of the book where the title is, is a huge coaster! i got a kick out of that when it arrived! though i would not set any beer on that one!

Get it if you like beer, get it for someone who likes beer, you wont regret it, and it will only expand your appreciation for this delicious brew.
0Comment11 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2010
This guide has more than just a listing of breweries by country and geographical areas: it has guides on what glassware to use, vignettes on famous breweries, beer tour guides, guides to beer styles, beer and food pairings, etc. Although craft beer is the major focus, the book does not slam major breweries as the collaborators do not want to turn away readers. This helps get more into craft beer! Some breweries have four featured beers and others have two which kind of shows which craft breweries the authors really dig. (or were there space considerations?) Beer geeks will be happy to see craft breweries like 3 Floyds, Russian River, Nogne, Mikkeller, Troegs, Portsmouth, Alesmith, Descutes and others are listed among the hundreds of breweries featured. There is a section in the back for tasting notes. But the book seems more like a coffee table fixture than one I'd carry to the stores, tastings or beer events. The illustrations are bright, vivid, and easy to peruse.
I have to hen peck to list small changes I see needed: put Paulaner in section of German breweries, take Ireland out of "British Isles," add Dark Star to the list of UK breweries, and keep cranking out this book every few years!
0Comment11 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2010
What this book is: A beautifully produced, full color coffee table book with large photos.
What this book isn't: A comprehensive guide (the author lists only 2 beers produced by each brewery included in the book).
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2009
I bought this book for my boyfriend, who is a growing beer fanatic, and he absolutely loves it. I am a huge fan of DK's encyclopedias, and this book lives up to my standards for them. It has enough pictures to keep him (and me, a non-beer drinker) interested, as well as enough information about the beers so that he can find them to buy when he wants. A great reference for beer drinkers looking to expand their "repetoire".
0Comment6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2010
This is a photo book. Good, diverse photos of beers. If you want to read about beer this isn't the book. The book is very high level on all beer topics and far from exhaustive. Quite a few mistakes too. Unless you want to look at photos, your time would be better spent buying beer, trying it, reading the labels, surfing brewery websites, visiting breweries, and reading books that go deeper on specific beers and/or beer topics. For each brewery in the book, you'll find a few beers listed (no rhyme or reason to the beers selected as far as I could tell) including 1-2 sentence descriptions of each beer (most beers have more info on their labels) and there will be a few general sentences that may or may not be representative of the brewery (if you've taken a tour of any of the breweries in the book, you will know orders of magnitude more than what is written for that brewery and will be able to easily imagine more creative, interesting writeups for that brewery).
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2010
This book is fantastic for anyone looking for great beer recommendations or looking to learn a little more about beer. Organized by region of the world, this book gives recommendations with great visuals, and even adds a little information on different ingredients, beer trails through different cities, and much more. Definitely would recommend to anyone who loves beer.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2010
Purchased this for my husband as one of my anniversary gifts to him. Seems silly, but we both really love trying new and exotic beers. This is an excellent resource for deciding what to try and even has a log in the back to keep track of your experiences.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2013
Purchased this for a friend as a gift. Great book for beer lovers. Loads of information about beer from around the world.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2013
This book ( http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0756639824/ref=cm_cr_ryp_prd_ttl_sol_1 ) along with the
Fred and Friends Hopside Down Glass( http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001W35FFY/ref=cm_cr_ryp_prd_ttl_sol_2 )
also available on Amazon, made the perfect gift for our family gift exchange! Very well written book with some incredible photography that is very helpful if you want to try some of the craft and regional beers but were not sure where to start.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.