Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST BOOK ON STARTING THE 5:2 DIET PLAN
If you're looking for an in-depth, "serious" book loaded with facts that make your head spin about the 5:12 Fast diet, look elsewhere. But if you want a quick, light, bright, well-organized, at-a-glance overview of this diet, you really can't go wrong with the "5:2 Fast Diet for Beginners." To the uninformed, the 5:2 diet is a weekly regimen of eating regular for 5...
Published 18 months ago by Michael McClay

versus
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A new approach for losing weight.
This is an interesting diet plan. Basically, on 2 of every 7 days, you consume only 500-600 calories. There is a lot of info about how to make this diet work right for your schedule, so you don’t have to make following it the main thing that you are doing in life. It has some good recipes in it for the fasting days. A lot chicken, fish, shrimp, pasta. There is a...
Published 16 months ago by MDF


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST BOOK ON STARTING THE 5:2 DIET PLAN, August 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you're looking for an in-depth, "serious" book loaded with facts that make your head spin about the 5:12 Fast diet, look elsewhere. But if you want a quick, light, bright, well-organized, at-a-glance overview of this diet, you really can't go wrong with the "5:2 Fast Diet for Beginners." To the uninformed, the 5:2 diet is a weekly regimen of eating regular for 5 days, and fasting for 2 days on a sparse 500-600 calorie each day.

It can be read in less than an hour and gives you everything you need for a running start. If this quick-start approach appeals to you, this book blows the two dozen other "5:2" books on Amazon off the shelf. Its flexible, easy-to-follow format is a no-brainer for almost anyone's lifestyle and it's filled with dazzlingly delectable recipes for both the 5 and 2-day diet intervals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A new approach for losing weight., October 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is an interesting diet plan. Basically, on 2 of every 7 days, you consume only 500-600 calories. There is a lot of info about how to make this diet work right for your schedule, so you don’t have to make following it the main thing that you are doing in life. It has some good recipes in it for the fasting days. A lot chicken, fish, shrimp, pasta. There is a 50-calorie snack list that you can refer to. The suggestions are a lot of things that you would expect, like fruit or hummus, but it’s helpful to be able to quickly check exact amounts.

Exercise is part of the plan too, and the book explains interval training to get faster results. You are not supposed to exercise on your fast days. The book stresses that you need to understand how your body adapts; nothing is one-size-fits-all. But there are some good suggestions about how to set yourself up for success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Diet Plan! Very Effective!, August 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
5:2 Fast Diet for Beginner is a good starter book for those interested in fasting as part of their weight loss. It gives you the information needed to fast properly. There is a lot of valuable information on how to cleanse, detox, and drop some pounds.

If you are wondering what the 5:2 in the Fast Diet means 5 days of the week you get to eat healthy meals, and 2 days of the week you fast. This type of fast is called intermittent fasting. You will also be surprised to know fasting is not about not eating. It is about cutting calories to have just enough to keep the body from going into starvation mode.

The book gives many tips and simple recipes on nutritional eating. They teach you not to deprive yourself. The books give you a straightforward step-by-step guide to intermittent fasting so you can lose weight effectively in a healthy w
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Your Typical Fad Diet, May 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Upon hearing "The 5:2 Fast Diet for Beginners," my first thought was this would be another "fad diet" on how to quickly lose weight; however, I had misinterpreted "fast". Rather, the book explains the diet consists of eating five days of proper calories (per your body type) and two days of lessening your caloric intake versus a complete abstinence from food. And, in Chapter 2, we learn that the fasting days do not even have to be consecutive.

The book itself is essentially two parts: 1)why this diet is good and different from others and 2)a month's worth of flexible recipes for snacks and meals for both your fasting and non-fasting days.

Clarity, well-organized writing, and a glossary make this a pretty simple diet book to understand (unlike those laced with medical jargon). I just would have liked to see some of the citations of the scientific studies mentioned, the non-fasting meals' calorie counts included, and approximate prep/cook times given.

That being said, it is an intriguing idea presented fairly directly, thereby making this book a good read for someone interested in a unique diet option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Glad I read it!, August 16, 2013
The 5:2 fast diet for beginners is a welcome introduction to the concepts behind this type of eating. I liked that the author took time to explain both what the 5:2 'program' is and what it is not. Already, I recognized the type of sustainable eating habits it would support, and probably what my personal obstacles would be (tight daily scheduling/lifestyle stuff) if I pursued it. Especially useful were the step-by-step instructions for how to get started if I wanted to, and the links to free calorie calculators online. Great way to start informing yourself about what this style of eating means, and what what it doesn't mean, before diving in!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'm on board, April 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
ok, I get it. two days a week 500-600 calories. I'm not going to slam this book, but be forewarned, any book about fasting that is over 30 pages long is going to have recipes.......a lot of recipes. soooooo, if you like reading recipes, this book is for you.

I started the 8 hour fasting plan and dropped weight pretty quickly. about 8 lbs in first, but stalled there, due to baaaad eating habits. rewarding yourself for starving yourself will cause this diet to fail you. so, you are going to have to manage your food intake no matter what. junk food and excessive portion sizes will cause failure in this plan. so, forget about the " you can eat normal" phrase until you understand that normal means getting rid of junk food and managing calories for either maintaining weight or losing weight...no magic bullet folks. at least not for me. I am still working my way through this dieting concept and have to redefine normal diet. I think the key is to hit proteins as your primary calories, especially on the reduced calorie days.

I do think this method will ultimately be the key to weight loss, but it is not without changes in bad habits and dedication. at least that is my perception.. I am on board. educate yourself as you navigate this program and dont give up. I am not. I hope to gain the resolve to do the 6 day water diet.....in time... good luck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this., December 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 5: 2 Fast Diet for Beginners: The Complete Book for Intermittent Fasting with Easy Recipes and Weight Loss (Paperback)
I have the Kindle version of Michael Mosley's "The FastDiet: Lose Weight, Stay Healthy..." and the paper version of this book. This version is not nearly as useful as the one actually written by Michael Mosley. Nobody is the author of this book. And this one does not have calorie counts indexed in the back. Don't buy. Get the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a welcome relief from all the diets I ..., December 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a welcome relief from all the diets I have tried. I'm over 70, overweight, and have physical limitations that prevent me from exercising as I always had in the past. It is soooooo much easier to watch calories two days a week than to stick to always watching my food intake. Little by little it's helping me to eat with more consciousness. If I get really hungry for something I will just put it off until tomorrow. Sometimes tomorrow when I see a drop in weight I decide it isn't worth eating some things after all. It's easier to diet until tomorrow than with no end in sight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An eating regime that works!, May 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Although the weight loss I wanted to achieve has been small it has been a real delight to find something that does not take a great deal of effort to undertake. The recipes are tasty and flexible. The process is simple and effective.
For me it has become a new way of living. One significant point was that my outlook to food changed and I altered my view on the good fuel I needed to function well - and the food is delicious and satisfying. It is so simple and achievable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to 5:2, May 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This short, easy-to-follow book has the kick you need to change the way you live. With the promise to change your body from the inside out and the research to back it up, "The 5:2 Fast Diet for Beginners" is perfect for anyone looking to build a better body, and life, for themselves. This book first introduces the reader to the diet, which includes 5 days of non-fasting and 2 days of fasting (but you still get to eat on these 2 days!). The book then gets into how the diet will benefit you, shares tips that will motivate you when temptation starts to kick in, and provides recipes to the deliciously healthy meals and snacks you'll be eating while on the diet.

As a college student, it's been hard for me to find meals that are both healthy and quick to make--but this book has changed that. Not only are the recipes easy to follow, the food tastes great and still provides energy and nutrients to my body. My favorite recipe is the one for a toasted pepper jack sandwich. So delicious.

If you're looking for a diet that can last a lifetime, definitely buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.