Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Page Turner, December 28, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Believers (Paperback)
I found this book in the attic covered under piles of dust. I did not know what it was about as it did not have a cover or anything telling what the book was about. I decided to give it a try and was immediatly submersed in the world of the 1800's. I could not put the book down after the first page. it took me about 2 days to complete the whole book. The author, Giles, is very descriptive and exciting writer. Usually i do not like to read books set in the 1800's, but this book is excellent. It is about the life of Rebecca Fowler. It starts with her early life chasing the man she loves and evovles as Rebecca does into her life story. It talks of life in the wilderness and then life while she is involved in a Shaker community and life thereafter. This is an excellent book and i cannot wait to read more book written by Giles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captures your imagination, explores another time and culture, July 29, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Believers (Paperback)
From beginning to end I was drawn into the lives of all the caratures. Being from Kentucky and visiting Shakertown, I was able to use my imagination and see different sides of how they lived. It brought out both the pros and cons to their living. I also liked how a woman in that time was able to be strong and go with her "beliefs".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Historical Fiction, July 20, 2009
By 
Ty Falco (Fort Wayne, IN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Believers (Paperback)
This books takes you on journey through the eyes of an early pioneer of Kentucky into a Shaker community. It is well written with a compelling plot and keeps you interested until the end. Anyone who likes early pioneer history, Kentucky history, or religious communities of the 1800's will enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars End of trilogy, June 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Believers (Paperback)
Even though this book stands alone, it is better read in context with its two predecessors, The Kentuckians and Hannah Fowler. These books give the background to Rebekah and her extended family.

I loved all of these books, but especially The Believers. A trip to Pleasant Hill and South Union Shaker Villages to see where these books actually took place was a great treat. Not only a great story, but also a wonderful look at a piece of little-known American religious history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Treasure, September 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Believers (Paperback)
All the work of Janet Holt Giles is good, solid and interesting. She was a professional secretary in a university and fell in love with Army Sergeant Giles. Her love took her into their marriage and the heart of Appalachian America. She was a participant and teller of things she experienced and felt. People are confused about mountain folk being southern - we are not. I would suggest reading all her works, especially 40 Acres And No Mule.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best KY book ever, June 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Believers (Kindle Edition)
All young women should read this book
It helps you validate who you are and your feelings
The history and folk lore are great
I could imagine myself there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Believers, February 10, 2014
This review is from: The Believers (Kindle Edition)
Immediately engrossing. One woman's journey into the unkown, when she unwilligly follows her religiously fanatical husband into the Society of the Believers. The Believers lived a communal, though, celibate lifestyle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very good read, January 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Believers (Kindle Edition)
The Shaker life-style portrayed in this book was very interesting to me. Rebecca , the main chacter, though timid, was loyal and loveable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Title Requested, October 24, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Believers (Paperback)
Since this book was a gift to my daughter who is an avid reader and is planning on writing about the same subject I can only give a second-hand review and that to me rated five stars. PB LaSALLE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sSuper Read, August 10, 2013
By 
Sandy Beach (Fremont, IN USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Believers (Kindle Edition)
Excellent description of the Shakers and how they lived and what they believed in fiction form. One of my favorite books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Believers
The Believers by Janice Holt Giles (Paperback - September 2, 1989)
$22.00 $19.70
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.