Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hello America
This is a funny show. Bernie Mac is a stand-up comedian living with his beautiful wife Wanda. When Bernie's sister is sent to rehab for drug use her three children: teenage adolescent Vanessa, asthmatic weaseling Jordan, and sweet, innocent Bryana, are taken into Bernie's custody. In each story, Bernie uses a parenting issue for a story.

This first release of...
Published on March 6, 2005 by Ned

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars excellent program
i enjoyed this program, i always had a smile on my face watching it.
when is season 2 coming out?... rip bernie mac
Published on September 21, 2008 by mumble


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hello America, March 6, 2005
By 
Ned "java_ned" (Eldersburg, Maryland United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Bernie Mac Show - Season 1 (DVD)
This is a funny show. Bernie Mac is a stand-up comedian living with his beautiful wife Wanda. When Bernie's sister is sent to rehab for drug use her three children: teenage adolescent Vanessa, asthmatic weaseling Jordan, and sweet, innocent Bryana, are taken into Bernie's custody. In each story, Bernie uses a parenting issue for a story.

This first release of The Bernie Mac Show on DVD contains all of the episodes of its first season. All 22 episodes are contained on 4 disks. It is full frame and list at 506 minutes.

1) Pilot - In the pilot, Bernie and Wanda are forced to take care of his sister's 3 children.

2) Now You Got It - Bryana's has a birthday, the kids get sick and Bernie is trying to get to Las Vegas.

3) The Main Event - After Bernie teaches Jordan a few moves, Jordan turns into a monster.

4) Bernie Mac, Ladies Man - Bernie becomes defensive about his masculinity.

5) Saving Bernie Mac - After Bernie takes the children to church, the Bishop and Deacon show up at Bernie's house.

6) Here To Stay - Wanda holds sex from Bernie until he realizes the kids are truly part of the family

7) A Christmas Story - The Mac's get a dog.

8) Starting School - Bernie finds the kids a school.

9) Hot Hot Hot - It's the hottest day of the year and Bernie just had the pool drained.

10) Wanda's Week Off - Wanda is getting a sense of motherhood and drops hints to Bernie about having a baby.

11) The King and I - Bernie lets Vanessa determine the discipline of Jordan and Bryana.

12) Hall of Fame - Jordan wants joining Vanessa and Bryana on the Bernie Mac Hall of Fame awards shelf and joins the football team.

13) Handle Your Business - Bernie is a week-long guest on a morning show.

14) Back in the Day - Bernie has aches, pains and is finding gray hairs and becomes that old age is catching up with him.

15) Lock Down - Bernie's house is broken into.

16) Mac 101 - Bernie tries to get each of the kids to do something with him, but they are all preoccupied with TV.

17) If I Were N-Riched Man - Bernie use inappropriate language at home and Bryana repeats the same at school.

18) Stop Having Sex - With out Bernie's knowledge, Vanessa has a pool party and invites kids of both genders.

19) Secrets and Lies - Bernie takes Jordan to a Clippers' game but tells Wanda they went to the hospital.

20) Kelly's Heroes - Bernie's friend Kelly breaks up with his girlfriend, stays with Bernie and then becomes a burden.

21&22) Sweet Home Chicago (part 1 & 2) - Bernie and the family go to Chicago to deal with his uncle's death
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch this show, August 23, 2005
By 
D. O'Neill "Brunt, FCC" (La Verne, CA: Planet Earth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bernie Mac Show - Season 1 (DVD)
Perhaps one of FOX's most underrated shows (next to Arrested Development), The Bernie Mac Show is a gem of a comedy series that panders to no one. Using parenting as a background (which comes off more sucessful here than on ABC's My Wife and Kids, but is still a well written comedy), the show goes off in wonderful tangents that make you laugh. The pilot episode started it off with the line "I'm going to beat them in the heads until the white stuff shows." Not a line Ward Cleaver or Bill Cosby would've said, but is none the less a brilliant, and uncomfortable truth for many parents. The kids are three dimensional and don't spout sitcom cliches. Camille Winbush's Vanessa is every teenage girl who suddenly finds her world rocked, and hates every minute she spends with her Uncle, while the talented Jeremy Suarez is a perfect foil for Bernie. Even Dee Dee Davis, playing the youngest sibling, Bryana has more dimensions than most of the cast of Three and Half Men. The show is cleverly written and its great to see a "parent" on a TV show not know all the answers (which is, of course, the reason why Kellita Smith as Bernie's wife Wanda is there. She knows those kids, and knows their problems and knows, eventually, that Bernie will learn his lessons).

Like AD, Bernie Mac is shows what happens when creative freedom is given to a show. FOX may think in demographics, but Bernie Mac is one of those rare shows that crosses over to everyone. And that, I think, confuses them.

can't wait for season two on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great show(s) - but where is Season 2- ?, December 20, 2005
This review is from: The Bernie Mac Show - Season 1 (DVD)
Season one of the Bernie Mac Show is a must own for anyone who likes family-oriented TV shows (with a little edge.) While the situation the family finds itself in is a modern all-too-familiar trend in child-rearing, Bernie Mac and the producers and writers of this show handle it with such care while making it one of the most heart-felt shows on TV. The casting of this show is great as well. And the best part -- the kids are the central force (and catalyst) of the storylines. This is good family viewing. I quite honestly am amazed that FOX has stayed with the show given its habit of taking off great shows that have only mediocre ratings. Thank heaven this show keeps making the cut.

However I do have one issue with FOX...where the heck are the rest of the seasons?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Greatly Entertaining comedy for Everyone, June 15, 2004
By 
Amazon408 (San Jose, California United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Bernie Mac Show - Season 1 (DVD)
The Bernie mac show is hilarious and extremly funny. The show is very original and i found it was different from most shows on tv. I really like how Bernie reaches out and talks to the viewers to let us know what he's thinking. Also the use of words and arrows throughout the show seemed to add more of a sense of humor as well as originality. Overall the show provides top notch laughs and can be enjoyed by everyone of ALL ages. I think Bernie and the producers did an excellent job with the whole show and i can't wait until season 2 is released on DVD. I HIGHLY recommend this DVD and suggest that you pick it up, Well worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best show on tv, October 21, 2004
This review is from: The Bernie Mac Show - Season 1 (DVD)
I just discovered this show a few months ago via summer reruns and couldn't believe how good it is. I was familiar with Bernie Mac's work and a huge fan, but somehow my family with young children could never stay up quite late enough to watch the show. When we finally did - my daughter is now Brianna's age and my son Jordon's (and has some very scary similaries) we feel in love at first sight. The sitcom is structured so that Bernie always has to learn a lesson - but the structure of the sitcom isn't like any other on tv - and there isn't any meanness in it like there are in so many others. In short, although it is edgy, and very funny, it is also touching and sweet and very very real. Bernie reminds me of the students I used to teach back in Chicago - so many of his idoms and figures of speech are just so back home. Just very very very great. An absolute work of art. The Roseanne/Cosby/Simpsons of the 2000's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rest in peace Bernie, thanks for the laughs ...always!, August 11, 2008
By 
This review is from: The Bernie Mac Show - Season 1 (DVD)
Bernie Mac's untimely death came all too soon at the young age of 50. A comedic icon who rose from the poorest of upbringings, Mac blossomed as an actor and comedian. From the stage to television, Bernie Mac first caught national attention while performing on Def Comedy Jam in the early nineties. He later went on to appear in several films such as Kings of Comedy, Bad Santa, Transformers, Get On The Bus, and others.

He was probably best known for his comedy series titled "The Bernie Mac Show" which aired for five years on Fox Television. An instant hit with television audiences, the show was based on many of his own experiences as a child growing up in Chicago. The series displays his multiple talents as actor, comedian, writer, and overall performer and unfolds through his eyes as Bernie's character becomes and evolves into fatherhood.

The crossover appeal of the Bernie Mac show further cemented his legacy in the hearts and minds of a new generation. Bernie Mac will be missed as a wondrous talent and his willingness to make us laugh will never be forgotten. Rest in peace Bernie, we will forever miss you.

DJ COA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars [Great], April 23, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Bernie Mac Show - Season 1 (DVD)
This show is HILARIOUS!!! The Bernie Mac show is a classic. It is well written and VERY funny. Its not like many other shows on air that are supposed to be comedies and just aren't funny. This show keeps me laughing every time! I love the character Jordan he is a great actor and so very funny. He absolutly steals the show for me. Keep up the good work Bernie. Its great to have a funny, comedy, and family show on t.v. Thank you! Buy this DVD its well worth it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where's Season Two, November 22, 2007
This review is from: The Bernie Mac Show - Season 1 (DVD)
I love this collection... but why did it have to end. Someone ask Fox to release the next season please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nobody is funnier..., February 19, 2005
By 
Poetic (Memphis, TN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Bernie Mac Show - Season 1 (DVD)
....this is the greatest tv sitcom ever and it's still goin strong with new episodes...

they didn't wanna get Bernie a show at first...now he got one...and it was the best decision that tha networks made...

The pilot alone is worth tha money..get this DVD collection...you already know it's funny...it's Bernie Mac..."You Don't Understand!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I never knew how good this show was!!!!!, May 5, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bernie Mac Show - Season 1 (DVD)
I have to admit, I didn't watch this show when it actually aired. But I am SO glad that I have added this DVD to my collection. This is a hidden gem of entertainment!!! Bernie Mac is the perfect blend of Bill Cosby, George Jefferson, and Fred Sanford, all rolled into one! Each episode shows a loving "father figure" who, despite being a little rough around the edges at times, always manages to show his family how much he loves and cares for them. Every single episode is laugh-out-loud funny! The chemistry between the cast is amazing, and everything about this show makes you think you are watching a real family in action. It is truly one of the best DVD collections I've ever purchased. I honestly can't think of another TV show that had as strong of a first season as The Bernie Mac Show. Pure comedic genius!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Bernie Mac Show - Season 1
The Bernie Mac Show - Season 1 by Bernie Mac (DVD - 2004)
$19.98 $11.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.