Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An All Out Party that Lasts All Night Long...
After hearing his comedy album only a few days ago, I knew that I would have to check out his show, "Insomniac with Dave Attell." The guy's funny, sarcastic and very entertaining. So I knew the show would be good. After seeing an episode of the new season, I decided to get the DVD "The Best of Insomniac with Dave Attell: Volume 1." The show goes to show you that the...
Published on July 30, 2003 by Michael Crane

versus
37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I love this show, but the DVD is not worth the money
Insomniac is one of my favorite TV shows. I love watching each week as Dave tours city after city in his own twisted alchoholic comedian type persona. If I visited these towns, these are the places I would go. It's a great idea and a great show.
But this DVD gives us nothing new. No new footage at all, just the original shows uncensored. We get to hear the bleeped...
Published on March 12, 2003 by Buddy James Fazzio


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I love this show, but the DVD is not worth the money, March 12, 2003
By 
This review is from: The Best of Insomniac Uncensored (Vol. 1) (DVD)
Insomniac is one of my favorite TV shows. I love watching each week as Dave tours city after city in his own twisted alchoholic comedian type persona. If I visited these towns, these are the places I would go. It's a great idea and a great show.
But this DVD gives us nothing new. No new footage at all, just the original shows uncensored. We get to hear the bleeped cussing and we get to see a little nudity. But, like another reviewer said, the show really isn't about that, and honestly, the nudity we do get to see is not really worth seeing (Okay, the chick in Montreal is nice, but otherwise it's nothing exciting).
I was really hoping for some behind the scenes stuff. Maybe bloopers, out takes, and deleted scenes, or stuff so shocking or sexy it had to be cut out all together on the TV edition. I was hoping to see Brian the cameraman. All you get on this DVD is the exact same show you saw on TV without the Bleeps and the Blurs.
And who picked these cities as the best of season one anyway? The New York episode on this DVD is from season 2, and it is the worst of the three times Dave has done New York. The two New York episodes that really were in Season one were both great, and where is Memphis. That was the best epsiode from season one, hands down!
Anyway, love the show, love Dave Attell, totally dissapointed in the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An All Out Party that Lasts All Night Long..., July 30, 2003
By 
Michael Crane (Orland Park, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best of Insomniac Uncensored (Vol. 1) (DVD)
After hearing his comedy album only a few days ago, I knew that I would have to check out his show, "Insomniac with Dave Attell." The guy's funny, sarcastic and very entertaining. So I knew the show would be good. After seeing an episode of the new season, I decided to get the DVD "The Best of Insomniac with Dave Attell: Volume 1." The show goes to show you that the fun and hijinx of comedy doesn't end when the act or set is over.
Dave Attell is the host and takes you on a journey full of booze, women, interesting people and wild parties. As soon as his comedy act is over, that's when he takes you for a ride you won't forget. And what's great is that this is an uncensored look, meaning that the language and other shenanigans that could never air on Comedy Central without being bleeped or blurred is here. Get ready to enjoy the nightlife as you cruise around with Dave in the cities of Chicago, Houston, New Orleans, New York and Montreal.
The show is very original and unique. It doesn't fail to entertain for a second. It's 107 minutes long, giving you tons of material to watch. Although it would've been nice to have the complete season of the show, this is still a nice thing to have. And you know there will be a Volume 2 coming out in the near future.
"The Best of Insomniac with Dave Attell: Volume 1" is more than enjoyable. It's funny, edgy, entertaining and memorable. If you've seen the show on Comedy Central or love Dave Attell, then check out this DVD as soon as you can. I can hardly wait for a Volume 2 and I would love it if a complete season would be released on DVD. Still, this DVD is not too shabby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but I'd prefer a season dvd, June 25, 2003
This review is from: The Best of Insomniac Uncensored (Vol. 1) (DVD)
Insomniac has to be one of the best shows on Comedy Central after South Park. Who wouldn't like to seea comic go to bars, strip clubs, visit weird people and places all still open in the wee hours of the night. This compilation of Insomniac episodes is okay, but it isn't exactly the best. I could've picked better episodes than Montreal, New Orleans, Houston, Chicago, and the third New York episode. It contains no special features except the fact that it is uncensored. Most fans will enjoy seeing some of th eflashers on the street and the one chick at the porn convention in Montral. I did enjoy seeing Dave have a conversation with a man in Texas about a certain B word you can't say on TV, and hearing the profanity yelling at The Weiner's Circle restraunt in Chicago. The DVD includes no extra footage or bloopers which is a big downer. The only other real flaw is that on the back it shows four pictures from Dave's first trip to New York, an episode not on the DVD. Other than that, a DVD worth watching only if you never watch it on TV, other than that, you can probably watch these episodes on TV soon, censored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stay awake for Dave!, July 19, 2003
By 
Brett D. Cullum (Houston, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best of Insomniac Uncensored (Vol. 1) (DVD)
INSOMNIAC is probably one of the best travel shows produced! A blur of streets, bars, and clubs all across the country - it shows more of what you will see in a city if you head there. No exotic places, just real people doing there own thing late at night. All hosted by regular funny guy Dave Attell! He's a likable comedian that seems more like the guy next door. Here is REALITY TV finally! Well ... there is one notable production illusion. The show is shot over two nights and not one! But why fault it for that white lie? The DVD holds 5 episodes from the series. No notable extras are here except that no body parts are blurred and no language bleeped. It's not a whole season, and there is little insight into the show itself. But what could you offer? Maybe outtakes and bloopers! Commentary seems a little useless for a documentary show that is 100% commentary in itself. Behind the scenes could be nice. But I'll settle for no commercials and 5 strong episodes of one of my favorite shows!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Funny, February 5, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best of Insomniac Uncensored (Vol. 1) (DVD)
If you like Insomniac, then this DVD is a must. If you've never seen the show, then this DVD is a great way to start because it includes all of the best episodes. Watching it without the bleeps and blurbs makes a huge difference. Totally hilarious - especially Montreal and Chicago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ridiculously hilarious, March 28, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best of Insomniac Uncensored (Vol. 1) (DVD)
If you watch the show on tv, you'll love the DVD. Unedited Dave Attell is as funny as it can get. It's actually hard to watch it edited on tv now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dave Attell at his best!, February 7, 2003
By 
This review is from: The Best of Insomniac Uncensored (Vol. 1) (DVD)
This DVD has 5 episodes from Dave Attell's "Insomniac's" first two seasons. The episodes are Houston, New York, New Orleans, Montreal, and Chicago. This show is always entertaining and it is great to see Dave finally getting the attention that he deserves. I am looking forward to additional volumes of Insomniac!! This DVD is one of best out there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Okay, people..., March 24, 2003
This review is from: The Best of Insomniac Uncensored (Vol. 1) (DVD)
I realize that there is nothing much more special about this DVD above and beyond what you have seen on Comedy Central. So what, though!? First, this DVD is relatively cheap, so don't expect many extras (though it would be nice to see at some point). Second, while the choices for this DVD weren't the best, Dave Attel is still hilarious in every city he visits and makes up for the fact that the espisodes chosen weren't the absolute "best of" (a subjective point of course). Quit griping, get this disc, and laugh your butt off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dave Attell night-owls and takes you on a tour of cities., July 9, 2003
By 
James McDonald (Lancaster, California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best of Insomniac Uncensored (Vol. 1) (DVD)
Finally it's here on DVD. You don't have to be an Insomniac anymore to see some of these Insomniac with Dave Attell shows. On this DVD, Dave starts in New Orleans. A little stand-up routine in a club that will get you laughing. Then he takes you on a late night, all-night tour of what's happening in New Orleans while most normal people sleep. This is the standard for all Insomniac episodes. Dave visits a bar and drinks. Maybe two bars or three. Talks with people on the street. Some get crazy (females and males) to expose themselves for the camera. All nudity and language is shown on this DVD, that was originally edited and blurred on Comedy Central cable network. What is edited on this DVD is beer cans and telephone numbers. No advertising beer names. But we all know what Dave is drinking don't we? Dave is alot of fun and he is funny too. He will take you to many other cool places from 10:00pm until 7:00am. It's educational too. Adults Only! This DVD includes only five episodes. Dave visits New Orleans, Louisiana. Houston, Texas. Chicago, Illinois. Montreal, Canada. New York City, New York (last episode of first season). The New Orleans, Houston and New York episodes are from the first season in 2001. The Chicago and Montreal episodes are from the second season in 2002. For mature adults only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If you're a huge fan, buy it, otherwise, just watch TV ..., June 21, 2003
By 
Theo Van Dinter (New York City, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best of Insomniac Uncensored (Vol. 1) (DVD)
I'm a relatively big fan of the show, I always at least skip through when it's been recorded on the TiVo, even if I've seen the episode before.
So when I got the DVD, I was expecting not only less censoring, but also some extras, hopefully some not-aired footage, etc.
All they have on the DVD is a handful of episodes, which are less censored then the TV version. You hear people swear, there's one or two women flashing, but that's all that's different. No extra features or anything.
So my opinion is to just watch the show and let your mind fill in the censored parts. If you really want to have the DVD, buy it used. Hopefully the next DVD will have something more that's worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Best of Insomniac Uncensored (Vol. 1)
The Best of Insomniac Uncensored (Vol. 1) by Dave Hamilton (DVD - 2003)
$14.98 $10.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.