Customer Reviews


133 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


156 of 159 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The missing 1 hour episodes
It's great they released these 1 hour scooby episodes that followed the 2 season run of scooby doo where are you?. Its just a shame they didn't continue the original 1/2 hour shows as well. The one hour "movies" were filled with a lot of filler chase scenes and seemingly senseless time fillers to stretch them to 1 hour. Many show the same scenes over and over again. I...
Published on April 3, 2006 by R. Shaw

versus
470 of 481 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Best of? Go Big or Go Home!
I gave this 3 stars because I am a huge Scooby fan and was a really disappointed to see the episodes that make up this DVD set. Heres the break down:

Disc 1

The Ghastly Ghost Town (with The Three Stooges)

The Dynamic Scooby Doo Affair (with Batman & Robin)

The Frickert Fracas (with Jonathan Winters)

Guess Who's Knott...
Published on January 27, 2005 by Seth A. Ekblad


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

470 of 481 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Best of? Go Big or Go Home!, January 27, 2005
By 
Seth A. Ekblad (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best of the New Scooby-Doo Movies (DVD)
I gave this 3 stars because I am a huge Scooby fan and was a really disappointed to see the episodes that make up this DVD set. Heres the break down:

Disc 1

The Ghastly Ghost Town (with The Three Stooges)

The Dynamic Scooby Doo Affair (with Batman & Robin)

The Frickert Fracas (with Jonathan Winters)

Guess Who's Knott Coming to Dinner (with Don Knotts)

Disc 2

The Spooky Fog (with Don Knotts)

The Ghost of Bigfoot (a.k.a. "Scooby-Doo Meets Laurel & Hardy")

The Ghost of The Red Baron (with The Three Stooges)

The Ghostly Creeps from the Deep (with The Harlem Globetrotters)

Disc 3

The Caped Crusader Caper (with Batman & Robin)

The Lochness Mess (with The Harlem Globetrotters)

The Mystery of Haunted Island (with The Harlem Globetrotters)

The Exterminator (with Don Adams)

Disc 4

The Weird Winds of Winona (with Speed Buggy)

The Haunted Candy Factory (with "Mama" Cass Elliot)

The Haunted Carnival (a.k.a. "Scooby-Doo Meets Dick Van Dyke")

Don't forget that this has some "Stardusted" special features, probably found on the fourth disc:

Featurette: The Hanna-Barbera Kennel Club Roasts Scooby-Doo

Featurette: Uptown With Scooby-Doo and The Harlem Globetrotters

Featurette: The Girls Rock!

I am just glad they are releasing this series but if I made a best of compilation, I would have picked one episode of the returning guests (i.e. one harlem globetrotter rather than all three since these episodes have been previously released on DVD). This way I could include the great guest episodes like Sonny and Cher, Josie and the Pussycats, Phyllis Diller, Davey Jones, Addams Family, Sandy Duncan and Jerry Reed. These episodes I feel far surpass the Don Adams, Dick Van Dyke, the "Guess Who's Knott Coming to Dinner (with Don Knotts)", "The Ghost of The Red Baron (with The Three Stooges)", "The Mystery of Haunted Island (with The Harlem Globetrotters)" and the Laurel and Hardy episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


156 of 159 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The missing 1 hour episodes, April 3, 2006
By 
R. Shaw (Hanford, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best of the New Scooby-Doo Movies (DVD)
It's great they released these 1 hour scooby episodes that followed the 2 season run of scooby doo where are you?. Its just a shame they didn't continue the original 1/2 hour shows as well. The one hour "movies" were filled with a lot of filler chase scenes and seemingly senseless time fillers to stretch them to 1 hour. Many show the same scenes over and over again. I still enjoyed them when I was a kid and will order this set for my 2 year old son. I still find the original series more entertaining than the movies episodes.

Here is a listing of the missing episodes not included in this dvd:

Scooby Doo Meets the Adams Family 1972

A Good Medium is Rare 1972 starring Phyllis Diller

Sandy Duncan's Jeckyll And Hyde 1972

The Secret of Shark Island 1972 stars Sonny and Cher

The Haunted Horseman of Hagglethorn 1972 starring Davey Jones

The Phantom of the Country Music Hall 1972 starring Jerry Reed

Scooby Doo Meets Jeannie (of I dream of Jeannie) 1973

The Haunted Showboat 1973 starring Josie and the Pussycats

The Spirited Spooks Sports Show 1973 starring Tim Conway

Too bad they have release issues with the stars, the Adams Family episode was one of my favorites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


152 of 157 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GUEST STARS GALORE!, March 7, 2005
This review is from: The Best of the New Scooby-Doo Movies (DVD)
I've always been a big Scooby Doo fan ever since the show first premiered in 1969 when I was just 6 years old. In 1972, "Scooby Doo, Where are You?" became "The New Scooby Doo Movies". The show was now an hour long instead of 30 minutes and each episode had the gang meet a new guest star each week. This format lasted from 1972 through 1973 and featured 24 total episodes along with a Halloween special. Unfortunately, instead of giving us ALL 25 episodes, Warner Home Video has chosen to give us a "best of" collection of 15 episodes. Why not do all of them is a mystery for Scooby and the gang but I guess beggars cannot be choosers.

"Ghastly Ghost Town" guest stars the Three Stooges. The gang is forced to seek help on foot in the desert after their van is forced onto a sand dune by a low-flying, king-sized bat. They come across Moe Howard, Larry Fine and Curly-Joe DeRita, whose amusement park is really the one in need of help.

"The Dynamic Scooby Doo Affair" with Batman & Robin. When The Mystery Machine breaks the gang bump into smugglers, Batman and Robin, a little old lady, and a punching clown filled with counterfeit cash. A tip leads them to the carnival. . .where they find Joker and Penguin behind the kooky counterfeit caper. As is usually the case with these villainous villains, our heroes wind up in a funhouse hideout.

"The Frickert Fracas" with Jonathan Winters. Hoping they will have a vacation from haunted houses and spooky characters when Jonathan Winters invites them to stay at Maude Frickert's farm, Scooby-Doo and company soon learn differently when the place becomes overrun with vandalizing scoundrels and living scarecrows.

"Guess who's Knott Coming to Dinner?" with Don Knotts. When the gang stop at Moody Manor to get directions, they find themselves mistaken for Captain Moody's neices and nephews by an assortment of characters who all resemble Don Knotts.

"The Spooky Fog" - with Don Knotts. A spoof of Knott's show Mayberry R.F.D, wherein a unique form of small-town hospitality is in store for Scooby-Doo and pals when officer Don Knotts invites them to spend the night at the best hotel in Juneberry: the local jail!

"The Ghost of Bigfoot" with Laurel & Hardy. While visiting a ski lodge, the gang run into bellhops Laurel and Hardy, who attempt to help the gang uncover the mystery of the ghost of Bigfoot... but Laurel and Hardy are even more cowardly than Scooby and Shaggy.

"The Ghost of the Red Baron" with the Three Stooges. The gang re-teams with the Three Stooges to ground the ghost of Baron Ludwig von Richtofen, The Red Baron, the evildoer of daring who has scared off all of Mr. Sawyer's crop dusting pilots in an effort to pressure the farmer into leaving his land.

"Ghostly Creeps from the Deep" with the Harlem Globetrotters. Scooby and the gang run across the clown princes of basketball, The Harlem Globetrotters on the eerie banks of a haunted swamp so that their boosted team spirit might protect them from the supernatural spirits being released by the ghost of Redbeard The Pirate.

"The Caped Crusader Caper" with Batman & Robin. In Batman and Robin's second appearance on this series, Scooby and the gang try to foil Joker and Penguin's attempts to steal a flying suit from a goofy scientist.

"The Lochness Mess" with the Harlem Globetrotters. The Gang travel to a small New England town to visit Shaggy's Uncle Nathaniel but walk into the middle of a mystery complete with the ghost of Paul Revere and a spooky sea serpent. With the aid of The Harlem Globetrotters, they uncover a plot whereby Morgan, a local crook, is trying to scare the townsfolk into moving away in order to hide his discovery of a treasure ship.

"The Mystery of the Haunted Island" - The Globetrotters are back again. The gang and the Trotters are taken by a spectral ship to a deserted island. They take refuge in a deserted mansion where statues come to life, books fly off the shelves, and ghosts and secret passages are everywhere.

"The Exterminator" with Don Adams. The gang pick up Don Adams who is running an extermination business and take him to his next job at Horror Hill, an eerie, foreboding-looking ramshackle which is also the home of old horror film star Lorne Chumley.

"The Weird Winds of Winona" - with Speed Buggy! The Mystery Machine breaks down and the gang find themselves running into Speed Buggy and his friends. It's up to the two gangs to discovery the mystery of the winds that blow through the town that they've been stranded in.

"The Haunted Candy Factory" with Mama Cass. Mama Cass, Scooby-Doo and company are caught in a "sticky mess" at her namesake candy factory when two green cotton candy globs attempt to "cover" stolen gold bullion with caramel, chocolate and nuts.

"The Haunted Carnival" with Dick Van Dyke. The gang takes a trip to the carnival to escape their ghost-chasing troubles, only to find Dick Van Dyke owns and operates the park. . .which is haunted.

I'm not sure how Warner's chose these particular episodes. Maybe there was something to do with obtaining the rights to shows with other guest stars. I would have preferred to see the episodes which featured the Adams Family, Phyllis Diller and Tim Conway myself as opposed to all the Globetrotter shows, Speed Buggy and Mama Cass. This set is aimed at us baby boomers since most kids today are not going to have any idea who people like Don Adams and Mama Cass are but they are still fun and I've not seen many of these in over 30 years. Great to see these on DVD! Actors doing voices for animated films and shows is quite common today but it wasn't so common back then and it's fun to see animated versions of these great comics with their own voices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This could have been better, April 6, 2005
This review is from: The Best of the New Scooby-Doo Movies (DVD)
Ok - I was a sucker - I was looking forward to this set, but was somewhat dissapointed. If you look at the opening titles, they are not the original titles, like many speculated, WB/HB probably do not have the DVD rights from the likeness of the stars...so the Addams Family, etc are edited out of the opening...With the vast vault of HB material, it would have been nice to get a bunch more extras...maybe features on how the series came about, what it was like working with the celbrities..etc. Other than that, being a 3 Stooges fan, it is nice to see them on DVD but would like to see the other stars...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Globetrotter Get no scooby snacks, October 13, 2005
This review is from: The Best of the New Scooby-Doo Movies (DVD)
I ran into Curly Neal at a supermarket opening and asked him about "appearing" in the Scooby Doo Cartoons. he said that he gets nothing from the DVDs since he didn't do the vocal work and his likeness was covered under promotional appearances as a Globetrotter. But he didn't seem too bitter about it since a lot of small kids knew who he was from these cartoons - doesn't hurt that he still looks young.

I get a kick out of watching these adventures although not the same rush as when I was a kid - seeing Don Knotts and Shaggy together, that was star power.

For anyone wondering about the missing 9 episodes - they are:
Scooby-Doo Meets The Addams Family ?(1972) ?
A Good Medium Is Rare ?(1972) ?Phyllis Diller
Sandy Duncan's Jekyll And Hyde ?(1972) ?Sandy Duncan..
The Secret Of Shark Island ?(1972) ? Sonny and Cher.
The Haunted Horseman Of Hagglethorn Hall ?(1972) Davey Jones
The Phantom Of The Country Music Hall ?(1972) ? Jerry Reed.
The Haunted Showboat ?(1973) Josie and the Pussycats
Scooby-Doo Meets Jeannie ?(1973) ?Jeannie, Babu,
The Spirited Spooks Sport Show ?(1973) ? Tim Conway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why this is a Best Of collection, April 5, 2005
By 
C. Wadsworth (Fort Myers, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best of the New Scooby-Doo Movies (DVD)
It seems a lot of the previous reviewers have been upset with Hanna-Barbera for not releasing all 25 "Scooby Doo Movies" episodes, instead opting for a "Best of" collection.

My understanding is that H-B had no choice. When stars agree to guest on a special, they usually sign long, thick contracts that stipulate how the material can be used. The company that owns these shows usually must get "clearance" from stars if the materials are going to used in some way that was not part of the original agreement.

In the case of the Scooby Doo Movies, there was no way to anticipate the release of DVD collections 30 years later. Thus before H-B can release any of these episodes they must "clear" them with the individuals involved. I have read several reports that H-B could not get clearance from all the celebrities (or their estates) involved. Thus some episodes of the Scooby Doo Movies are still in limbo, until they get clearance for them.

I hope this helps clear up the questions about H-B's approach to this release, which despite the missing episodes, is really a fantastic collection for anyone who fondly remembers Saturday mornings in the early 70s. My kids love watching these shows, even though they unfortunately have no idea who many of the great guest stars are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How about a Vol 2 "The REST OF the New Scooby-Doo Movies?", March 30, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best of the New Scooby-Doo Movies (DVD)
This is a great series, but I believe I speak for a lot of people - "WE WANT THE REST OF", not just the Best of. There are 9 missing episodes plus the Halloween Special from this release. The Addams Family, Phyllis Diller and Sonny and Cher to name a few!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An ok Scooby-Doo Set., August 12, 2009
By 
Ricky Bryant (Fairborn, Ohio) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best of the New Scooby-Doo Movies (DVD)
This is how a failed attempt to obtaining rights can go. This "The Best of 'The New Scooby-Doo Movies'" DVD set was released because Warner Bros. could not get the rights to use the images of the following characters: The Addams Family, Sonny & Cher, Josie and the Pussycats, Phyllis Diller, Sandy Duncan, Davy Jones, Jerry Reed, the cast of Jeannie (the animated sitcom), & Tim Conway. All together the complete 2 seasons of "The New Scooby-Doo Movies" would have a total of 24 episodes all running an hour long each.

Even a new opening was created to uphold the rights by removing the following characters from the opening: The Addams Family, Batman & Robin, The Globetrotters, The Three Stooges, and Laurel & Hardy. The interesting thing is the last 4 mentioned (Batman & Robin, The Globetrotters, The Three Stooges, and Laurel & Hardy) were in this DVD set.

All in all this is an okay DVD set with great mysteries containing 15 episodes of the characters that were still able to be used (Don Knotts, The Three Stooges, Batman & Robin, Laurel & Hardy, The Globetrotters, Dic Van Dyke, Cass Elliot and Don Adams.) Some of the guest stars appear in more then one episode but still fun to watch.

It is more then likely that this will be the only DVD released of the series so if you are a Scooby-Doo collector this is something you want to include in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars They Cut out Sonny and Cher, Phyllis, Davey and Jeannie!?!?!?!, February 25, 2005
This review is from: The Best of the New Scooby-Doo Movies (DVD)
I grew up watching the Scooby-Doo Movies and I was so happy to hear that the series was finally coming out on DVD....that is until I found out that they only included 15 out of the original 25 episodes. Some of the episodes Warner Bros decided to omit were my favorites...including the ones with the Sonny and Cher, Addams Family, Phyllis Diller,Davy Jones and Jeannie. Instead what they did was include 4 episodes that they had already released on DVD 2 years ago( the Harlem Globetrotters and the Batman episodes). What a rip off! People at Warner Bros. if you're reading this , I just want to say one thing.....in the future when releasing the other scooby doo series on DVD, don't give us another "Best of" just give us the complete series! And please do release the rest of this Series sometime soon...I still ccan't believe you edited out Sonny and Cher!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic Doo, July 28, 2010
By 
mg! (Northern California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best of the New Scooby-Doo Movies (DVD)
Who is this for?
Die hard Scooby Doo fans who have already acquired the original Scooby Doo Where Are You, The Scooby Doo Show, Scooby Doo Dynomutt Hour, and What's New Scooby Doo, and a series of DVD films.

What is best thing to appreciate about this collection?
The animation style and quality most near Scooby Doo Where Are You. Its an extension of that series before its gradual changes first noticed in The Scooby Doo Show before its present ADD friendly pacing with What's New Scooby Doo.

What is the worst thing about the collection?
The script and voice acting are repetitious and often a bore. There is a lot of silence between lines to stretch out running time while many of the gags and jokes are lame by the original Scooby Doo Where are You? standards. Some cuts seem looped and I can take so much Mama Cass food jokes, rest her soul.

What makes this collection different?
As the theme of the series, the angle was the use of guest stars, from real actors (such as Don Knotts), real actors late in their careers or near death (Three Stooges), real actors that have long passed on (Laurel and Hardy), fictional characters (Batman and Robin), to talking race cars.

Rate the collection
As novel and wonderful to see the gang, the episodes struggle to fill an hour of TV time. The writing gets bogged down in repetitive scenes and dialog that goes nowhere. There are painful pauses between lines of dialog that evaporates the mystique experienced in any other Scooby series. Still, some episodes such as the Batman and Robin are mildly entertaining.

Why the Best of? Where's the rest?
Lawyers, those wonderful people who make sure we live in a world with a level playing field. You don't know it, but you really do benefit by having episodes erased from history as if they never existed. The truth lies in rights and monies involving the episodes with certain characters not getting enough dough-ray-me. So bad, the opening sequence was re-edited. No, Scooby wasn't scared of the Adams Family, he was running from a ghostly knight with a lance.

How much is this worth?
Not the original $55+. An executive, too delusional, was wearing a tie too tight. He probably hated Scooby. Anyhow, the price has dropped considerably. Though, at the time of this review was posted, it has climbed up a few dollars. If you wonder why, there is a Cartoon Network promotion inside that is at least seven years old! Seven years. My DVD was in a warehouse unsold for seven years before it made it to me. Talk about an inflated price point! (The promotion has expired BTW)

If you love Scooby Doo, its time to get and relive your childhood while sharing it with your children.

The "Best of the New Sccoby-Doo Movies" is the best lawyers can do for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Best of the New Scooby-Doo Movies
$64.92 $29.47
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.