Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eddy during his prime years with many stereo remakes
This collection does contain 12 of his biggest hits from the 1944-1967 but many of the early songs are not in their original hit versions on this CD but rather they are stereo remakes but they are well done. The 1960's hits are the original recordings though. The early tracks represented here by stereo remakes are Cattle Call, Bouquet of Roses, Just a Little Lovin'...
Published on July 5, 2000 by Bradley Olson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad CD
This CD is really bad. Sound goes up and down. Really can't tell if it is Eddy Arnold singing. Does not sound like him.
Published 20 months ago by Bob217A


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eddy during his prime years with many stereo remakes, July 5, 2000
By 
Bradley Olson (Bemidji, MN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best of Eddy Arnold (Audio CD)
This collection does contain 12 of his biggest hits from the 1944-1967 but many of the early songs are not in their original hit versions on this CD but rather they are stereo remakes but they are well done. The 1960's hits are the original recordings though. The early tracks represented here by stereo remakes are Cattle Call, Bouquet of Roses, Just a Little Lovin' (Will Go a Long, Long Way), I'll Hold You In My Heart, Bouquet of Roses, Anytime, You Don't Know Me, and I Don't Really Want To Know, but the rest of these tracks are the original hit versions. For the original versions of his early hits there are other CD's available that offer them but for the new fan this is a great introduction to his talent but for a comprehensive view of his early hits in their original versions, you can either get the Bear Family boxed set or ASV's "Early Hits of The Tennessee Plowboy" and for the hits that were released after this collection was released, DCC has reissued "The Best of Eddy Arnold Vol. II" and "Essential Eddy Arnold" is still a great collection to get no matter what despite the duplicates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original cover art, stellar sound!, November 2, 2000
This review is from: The Best of Eddy Arnold (Audio CD)
Yes, the previous reviewer was right, there are quite a few stereo re-makes on here, but that doesn't take away from the collection a bit. This album speaks volumes of what Country Music was during the height of the "Nashville Sound". Eddy never sounds buried amongst the strings & vocals, but thrives from them. Here is a true musician-he can handle the unadorned vocal style of the likes of Hank Williams, or he can get all uptown and smooth like Perry Como or Dean Martin. If this set doesn't give you everything you want, search for the out of print LP's "My World" and "Pop Hits From The Country Side" which are excellent compliments to this collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Eddy Arnold, January 1, 2005
By 
Stephen L. Smith (Greensboro, Alabama USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best of Eddy Arnold (Audio CD)
This is an excellent compilation of some songs most associated with Eddy Arnold. Yes, some complain that some of these songs are remakes. So what's wrong with that? In my view, Eddy got better and better as his career developed, so I enjoy hearing some of his early hits recorded again when he had reached maturity as a singer. Also, some are also original recordings, and they continue to be good. Eddy Arnold is special. His warm, straight forward and melodious way with a song, plus his unique way of presenting the lyrics make his music very believable and loveable for those who enjoy unpretentious warmth in a song. Eddy charms a song. That's not everybody's kind of music, but for those who like their music that way, really ought to give Eddy Arnold a try. This album is a good place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my wifes gift, January 15, 2006
By 
Donald West (Dillard, Or United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best of Eddy Arnold (Audio CD)
This cd almost duplicated the lp record my wife had and enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Bouquet of Roses, April 27, 2014
This review is from: The Best Of Eddy Arnold (MP3 Music)
One of the very best, if not the best, country crooners (yeah, I know Jim Reeves, too) from a bygone era. With any Best collection there's always one or two some folks think are missing or shouldn't be on the CD. Whatever...(Note: I own the CD not the MP-3 download.) Bouquet of Roses, Make The World Go Away, The Last Word In Lonesome Is Me, of course - What's He Doing In My World, I Really Don't Want To Know and other classic and timeless Arnold songs are here waiting for you. Any Eddy Arnold compilation or album is a treasure and this one is worth each and every one of five stars and more. A note: Some CD players just don't take some older CD's - don't go sour on them all. And yeah: This does not have the greatest sound quality on every cut - it does have one of country's greatest voices on every cut, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eddy I Miss You, April 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Best of Eddy Arnold (Audio CD)
Hey. I just love Eddy Arnold.When I was in high school, before most of you were born, radio station KRLD in Dallas Texas had a show from 11 to 12 o'clock each night called hillbilly hit parade... The 10 best hillbilly music of the day... Now for several years it was Usually the same 10 songs simply switched around in different order. But you can bet that Eddy Arnold had a song every night for the five or six years that I religiously listened to that program. Any other questions? I just love him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am not sure what to put here., December 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Best of Eddy Arnold (Audio CD)
My father loved this cd. Good music from a person with an exceptional voice.

These are his comments. Hope you liked the response.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality good, September 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Best of (Audio Cassette)
This is much better quality than expected. Enjoying it. The packaging appeared to be new. The sound is good and recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Eddy Arnold, June 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Eddy Arnold (MP3 Music)
I have this recording in vinyl, love it, and wanted it on my Kindle.These old songs are the best ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, May 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Best of Eddy Arnold (Audio CD)
I like his music and consider him to be one of the greatest of all time. would recommend this to anyone who enjoys easy listening of country music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Best Of Eddy Arnold
Buy MP3 Album$9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.