Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FABULOUS!
This is one of the greatest recordings in history!! These songs came out in the 1980's, when disco had died, along with our sex lives. These songs are total F.U.N., they're so wonderfully devoid of any real meaning. Dale Bozzio was the only girl Pop singer besides Debbie Harry who could instill such a campily knowing wink unto each song. And that squeak!, the first time...
Published on June 13, 2003 by F. Gentile

versus
14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good collection of songs.
Missing Persons is a pretty cool pop rock group. They are one of those bands that includes a nice dose of both guitar and keyboard playing in their music. The Best of Missing Persons contains some nice and energetic tunes throughout. There's a total of fifteen tracks altogether. Their songwriting and musicianship skills are tight and melodic. Terry Bozzio,...
Published on September 1, 2000 by sauerkraut


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FABULOUS!, June 13, 2003
By 
F. Gentile (Lake Worth, Florida, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of Missing Persons (Audio CD)
This is one of the greatest recordings in history!! These songs came out in the 1980's, when disco had died, along with our sex lives. These songs are total F.U.N., they're so wonderfully devoid of any real meaning. Dale Bozzio was the only girl Pop singer besides Debbie Harry who could instill such a campily knowing wink unto each song. And that squeak!, the first time we'd heard it, it sent us ALL running to our telephones. She inserts that little trademark falsetto squeal in just the right places, without over-doing it. "Words", which is included here, was the song that introduced them to the public. I'll never forget seeing her sing it on "The Merv Griffin Show", all wrapped in silver & plastic, it was a defining moment in my life! These songs were among the first "techno-pop", with tons of wavering synthesizer, and they remain timeless. "Destination Unknown", "Windows", all so great. And, "Walking In L.A". Has there EVER been a musical homage that so perfectly captures the scathing indifference of that wonderful town, where everything is so beautifully, unapologetically fake? It gets me so excited everytime I hear it, it makes me want to jump off the Hollywood Sign! Miss Bozzio spews out her venomous paean to Tinsletown as only someone who loves it could truly understand, knowing that we'd all trade our 40 years at the factory for a few snippets of celluloid immortality, as would any sane person. She leaves the devestated victims in her wake as she blurts out the last notes of her pitiless spite! Most Pop music today is so cornily self-conscious. If you want to hear a perfect example of what the 80's were about, with songs that will make you want to bounce up & down, you MUST get this recording! Pop it in, blast the volume, lock yourself in the bathroom, & make funny faces in the mirror while you spike your hair. You'll feel great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars still one of the best .., June 9, 2006
By 
Bozzio1fan (GardenCity,Kansas) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best Of Missing Persons (Audio CD)
This band should have produced more music for the masses following their last release and and left too soon ..one hit away from that commercial breakthrough that would have truly made them a household name. This is one of the best 'Greatest Hits' cds out there ..with the 2 obvious omissions being 'Noticeable one' (never released as a single but as a video) and 'Surrender your heart' (SYH is included in the EMI music release Missing Persons: 10 best series) All the hits are here .. 'Words' introduced the band (and Dale Bozzio) to the world, 'Destination Unknown' in all its synthesized glory will forever remain their signature song. My definitive 80s years will be forever linked to this great band. 2 of the 4 single releases from Rhyme and Reason are included, 'Right now' will catch you immediately with its hook, reel you in and have you reminisching about that silent crush that may or may not have gotten away. The inclusion of 'Color in your life' and 'No secrets' (2 of the best non singles) from their final album is the proverbial icing on the cake; it offered a new sound (and look) and most assuredly left you wondering what 'could have been' had the band worked out their differences and remained together for a least 3 more albums. The songs stand the test of time even to this day, Terry Bozzios drumming is incomparable to anyone else on the planet; Dale will remain the new wave icon of the 80s for many years to come. This cd is the best repersentation of the band over 4 albums; str8 forward rock, new wave bliss, drum machine magic, and more. Hit the road, put the top down, put on your sunglasses, turn up the volume and relive the 80s all over again ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If for no other reason..., May 20, 2004
By 
Rollie Anderson (Forney, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of Missing Persons (Audio CD)
Get this cd for the drumming. Bozzio is just one of those stickmen who can play perfectly on the beat while smashing the holy fire out of his tubs. The first 4 songs in particular are absolutely ablaze with the ferocity of the musical movement that swept the late 70s and early 80s. Dale is one sexy singer, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Among the Strangest Sounds Produced by the 1980s New Wave, August 14, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Missing Persons (Audio CD)
Formed about 1980, Missing Persons bounced around the California music scene, cutting a four song album under the ageis of Frank Zappa but without making much of an impression until 1982, when the band released SPRING SESSION M. The album went gold, and with Dale Bozzio's sexy-quirky voice and style the band became a popular television and early video favorite. Even so, Missing Persons was essentially an east-coast/west-coast band, a shade too bizarre for mainstream popularity. The 1984 RHYME AND REASON was a critical success by a commercial flop and the 1986 COLOR IN YOUR LIFE had even less impact. Tensions within the band caused it to dissolve about the same time, and although their have been brief reunions none have been significant. And so Missing Persons has slowly but surely entered the halls of relatively obscurity, a musical memory of the 1980s that fades a bit more with every passing year. Which is a pity.

Not to say that the band ever had a chance of what you might call "top 40" success. Missing Persons has a sound that provokes a love it or hate it reaction, and many people find them an acquired taste at best. But love them, hate them, Missing Person was never less than interesting. As might be expected, the bulk of the cuts on THE BEST OF MISSING PERSONS comes from the 1982 SPRING SESSION M, and the great "loss" on the CD is the failure to include the delicate and beautiful "Surrender Your Heart" from RHYME AND REASON. Even so, BEST OF contains the band's most obvious recordings, and since their recordings are becoming increasingly difficult to find it is very likely the best one can do unless you're a die-hard fan willing to spend hundreds on largely out-of-print material.

Although the band had strong musicianship (both guitarist Warren Cuccurullo and drummer Terry Bozzio have had solid solo careers), Missing Persons is basically "about" singer Dale Bozzio, whose voice is a mixture of the elegantly etherial and the downright peculiar. Her most famous quality, or infamous depending on your point of view, was her "squeek," a sudden high bat-like sound with which she punctuated her vocals. To her credit, Dale Bozzio never over-used it, and when it occurs it is always fun. Everyone has their favorite (and mine is the afore-mentioned "Surrender Your Heart," which is NOT on this recording), but the best-known cut here is "Destination Unknown," with its funky beat and heavy synth matching Dale Bozzio's funky vocal to perfection.

Missing Persons' sound is every bit as unexpected today as it was in the 1980s--and then as now, it won't be to everybody's taste. But if you are looking for something completely different, Missing Persons is all of that. Recommended for those who remember them fondly--and for those who are curious.

GFT, Amazon Reviewer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good collection of songs., September 1, 2000
This review is from: The Best Of Missing Persons (Audio CD)
Missing Persons is a pretty cool pop rock group. They are one of those bands that includes a nice dose of both guitar and keyboard playing in their music. The Best of Missing Persons contains some nice and energetic tunes throughout. There's a total of fifteen tracks altogether. Their songwriting and musicianship skills are tight and melodic. Terry Bozzio, Warren Cuccurullo, and Patrick O'Hearn are talented musicians. Lead singer Dale Bozzio also is a likeable and efficient vocalist. Some of the songs that I like are "Windows," "Destination Unknown," and "Words." It's too bad that the ballad "We Don't Know Love at All" from the album Color in Your Life wasn't included--it's a really good song. This album is a solid and listenable collection of songs. Worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their destination was known, November 30, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Missing Persons (Audio CD)
I remember the first time I saw "Missing Persons" perform on TV; I think it was "The Merv Griffin Show". Lead vocalist Dale Bozzio strode out onstage in the most outrageous/revealing costume: It was little more than small TV sets---two covering her chest and one encasing her dainty hips! She made quite a first impression with that look. Then her and the band launched into "Words".
Here is another rock band which was very instrumental in carrying the banner of New Wave music through the 80's. They are definitely unsung heroes of the genre; they're slick, polished & fun to listen to, but like many artists of the time, lack the respect they so richly deserve. Yet, they were savvy enough not to take themselves and their songs too seriously, giving a satirical wink here & there. And Bozzio's signature high-pitched squeak is fun to hear without becoming tedious or annoying. Just listen to her insert it at the right moments during the infectious rocker "Words". "Destination Unknown" is another great song, a quirky & winding excursion which chants that "life is so strange".
The first time I heard the bouncy "Mental Hopscotch" was in the soundtrack of an 80's flick---I can't remember which one. And I remember cranking up the car stereo when I first heard "Walkin' In L.A.", a mean-driving rocker paying homage to the glamorous fakery of the city. They even dare to tread on classic rock territory, doing a cover of The Doors' "Hello, I Love You" with bopping rythmns & synthesized hooks that make the song sound totally cosmic.
Bozzio & company have put together a compilation that's a fun, spiked-haired, neon-tinted 80's blast-from-the-past! Definitely worth the listen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REMASTER THIS CD, July 27, 2005
This review is from: The Best Of Missing Persons (Audio CD)
What an awesome cd... it reminds me of my high school days with my best bud. This cd is such a classic of this era.... Please Dale, if you are reading this, you have another sale if the cd gets remastered! PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars some classics here. missing persons-underrated 80's band, February 17, 2009
By 
This review is from: The Best Of Missing Persons (Audio CD)
I don't usually listen to much of the early '80's pop music like MP and others,but my brain latched on to Missing Person's "Words" and "Destination Unknown" when it first heard them and would not let go,so I caved and bought this CD. Most if not all the cuts on this CD are good,but the first two mentioned above are true classics. I could listen to those songs 24/7 and never tire of them. it seems that the "'80's"-label (with the commonly known disrespect that is directed towards most early '80's "synth"/"dance" music like missing persons),has made these songs something to be not taken seriously. i would go see Missing Persons in concert if they were ever to take the "X" road and regroup for a tour...they would make a lot of people happy and make a lot of money. the music and singing,guitar and drums and synths on MP's records are second to none. everyone should hear those "Words" and live positive on the Journey to the "Destination Unknown"-wise songs....wise philosophy and advice....thanks dale and terry bozzio and missing persons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST HAVE ALBUM - THE DEFINITIVE '80s POP BAND, April 13, 1999
By 
Ben Siebert (sidexside@hotmail.com) (Wherever my boat is (currently FLA, USA)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best Of Missing Persons (Audio CD)
Best musicians, all Zappa alumni. Interesting songs, with Terry Bozzio and Warren Cucorulo (drummer and guitarist respectively) interacting and blurring the line between the intruments. Vocalist the wife of drummer, obvious the only reason she got the job, but her lyrics and voicings convey the personal and emotional trials in her life, and are a window into the dynamics of the group. This album has all the songs you want from this group, and has it all; enough vituosity to keep the jazz fan interested, yet trivial enough for the masses. I can't live without this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DON'T OVERLOOK THIS, December 15, 2008
By 
Baddstuff "music junkie" (astoria, ny United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best Of Missing Persons (Audio CD)
I don't know how many people aside from the ones here who will actually admit to liking this band but I raise my hand. I actually saw this band perform back in the day and they were very good. Some people were put off by Dale Bozzio's vocals but they didn't bother me one bit. This is some good, well crafted pop with an edge. Not only that but the musicians in this band are no slouches. Terry Bozzio is one of the most well respected and best drummers around. The little touches and quirky accents he adds to the songs are priceless. Let me tell you, I'll take this over a lot of the stuff that's being pumped out today. These guys can actually play their instruments and then some. Give it a go!
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Best Of Missing Persons
The Best Of Missing Persons by Missing Persons (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.