Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Best Of Sheena Easton (The Collection)
Safety Month botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars15
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$19.41+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 1, 2002
So many of Sheena's bona-fide hits are omited from this album that people looking forward to a true "Greatest Hits" collection from this marvelous artist will be disappointed. The REAL greatest hits album from Sheena Easton is entitled "The Singles Collection: The World of Sheena Easton". Check it out.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2001
I only heard of the 80's pop diva Sheena Easton, born in Scotland, when I watched the 007 James Bond film "For Your Eyes Only", in which she sang the title song. I truly loved her beautiful voice so I decided to get this album. And it's GREAT!!
*Modern Girl* - The first song on this album and very interesting to listen to. About the 'modern girl' who 'doesn't build her world 'round a single man, whose free to be what she wants to be, a modern girl'. This song hit the top 20 charts in the U.S. while it hit the top 10 charts in the U.K. This song was also one of her first single along with "Morning Train (Nine to Five)".
*Strut* - One of the best songs on the whole album! Love the beginning with a neat drum beat, then when the lead guitar comes on. "~Strut I'm cutting out, I'm takin' with no givin', watch me baby while I walk out that door~"
*Wind Beneath My Wings* - A very quiet song with Sheena Easton singing it beautifully.
*We've Got Tonight" - The piano is played very nicely throughout the whole song. Very nice harmony with Kenny Rogers.
*Morning Train (Nine to Five)* - This song was originally called "Nine to Five" but when it made it to America, was changed to "Morning Train" to not confuse it with another song by Dolly Parton's song. A jolly fun song, loving singing along!
*For Your Eyes Only* - THE best song on the whole album, from the 007 James Bond Film "For Your Eyes Only". Love the aquatic sound in the very beginning. Sheena Easton can certainly sing!
*I Wouldn't Beg For Water* - Quiet song with a nice piano in the background.
*When He Shines* - Another very quiet song, one of her weak songs on this album in my opinion.
*Sugar Walls* - This song certainly has a pretty cool beginning! Sheena Eastong sings interestingly in "Sugar Walls". "~My sugar walls~"
*Telefone (Long Distance Love Affair)* - Another song which was on the top 10 charts. Bass and drums is pretty neat. "~I called you on the telephone, but you're never home~"
*Amost Over You* - The beginning of the song really reminds me of "We've Got Tonight" with the piano. The harmony is very beautiful.
"The Best of Sheena Easton" certainly does contain some pretty terrific songs and I totally recommend this CD to anyone who love the 80's type of music.
11 comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 1998
This cd has real musical variety, flowing ballads and upbeat tunes. She discovered 'Wind Beneath My Wings' long before the divine ms.m. I can believe it when Sheena sings it. An excellent cd.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2000
It almost sounds like Sheena Easton is actually triplets, and none of them share the same musical taste. This collection highlights the incredible diversity of styles Sheena has tried in her brief career, some with better results than others.
Her earliest hits, Modern Girl and Nine to Five, sound a bit too contrived and plastic today. She is excellent in the disco paean Strut, but never followed up on that success.
The best track on this disc from a vocal perspective is the angst ballad Almost Over You, which takes full advantage of Miss Easton's tremendous range, but also reveals the limitation's in her voice.
There are two very steady mid-stream pop cuts, the James Bond theme For Your Eyes Only and an early version of Wind Beneath My Wings.
The most unfortunate inclusion in this collection, despite its commercial and critical success, is the Prince collaboration Sugar Walls. While at the time of its release, the overtly suggestive lyrics were seen as some kind of breakthrough for the sultry singer, the approach quickly reached near-pornographic dimensions and effectively derailed her career.
In fairness, this disc is a very good representation of Sheena Easton's musical career; no continuity, no discernible individual style and an almost schizophrenic lack of direction. Still, beneath all the confusion and distractions is a marvelous voice and a talented artist.
Those who add this disc to their collection won't find it gathering dust in a rack.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
most of her material is just catchy.strut for instance was better in 85 but is very dated sounding now.Morning train&for your eyes only are solid Adult-COntempary stables.only The Prince Penned Sugar Walls showcases Her Youth and that song hasn't dated well either.but it was catchy just like most of her stuff in the 80's.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2013
She has a voice like a nightingale and is very easy on the eyes. She is perhaps, the greatest female artist of all time and can take a mundane song and upon performing it, bring tears to your eyes. Simply stated, shes the best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2012
I loved Sheena in the day! She's not cute and tiny anymore and she can't hit the high notes anymore either, but, it's okay. I still have her CD's and I'll remeber her the way she was. I especially love the Kenny Rogers duet.
You'll like this collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2005
OK! So this 11-track EMI compilation-CD realised in 1989 doesn't include "You Could Have Been With Me" or "Do It For Love".

And one can wonder why "Wouldn't Beg For Water" is included.

But so what!

A full 20-track compilation would be for die-hard fans only anyway. For others it would be too many songs.

But for anyone who's just curious about Sheena Easton, or once where small fans, this CD gives a perfect impression and reminder of Sheena Easton.

Most of her 80's hits and fine radio-friendly songs (mostly ballads) on EMI are included.

It also shows the different styles Easton pursued during her career; the light catchy pop songs ("Morning Train", "Modern Girl"...), AC ballads ("For Your Eyes Only", "When He Shines"...), dance songs ("Strut"), country ("We've Got Tonight"), and R&B ("Sugar Walls").

I highly recomend this CD!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2014
I bought this in 1991. To tell the truth I didn't really know Sheena Easton's music that well. About the only songs I knew from her were Strut. Which is my favorite song by her. She seems like the kind of girl that can pull that type song off. And she sings it with the right attitude. And I knew We've Got Tonight. I am a big Kenny Rogers fan. He is one of my 5 favorite male singers.
I didn't know any of the rest of these songs. Modern Girl is a disco dance type song. And depending on if your country or pop you either identify Wind Beneath My Wings by either Gary Morris or Bette Midler. She does a good version of it also. For Your Eyes Only and Morning Train are also good. This isn't really my style of music. But it's okay.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2004
I really enjoy this compilation. Includes the sassy side of Sheena with songs like "Telephone" and "Mordern Girl" as well as the soft side with songs like "For Your Eyes Only" and "When He Shines". An excellent cover version is included here. "Wind Beneath My Wings" is by far the definitive version of the song. Sheena's voice is much more pretty than Bette Midlers. I gave this 4 stars rather than 5 because the song "You Could Have Been With Me" should have been included.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.