Customer Reviews


445 Reviews
5 star:
 (359)
4 star:
 (57)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


116 of 120 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive S&G: It Doesn't Get Much Better
Now that this Best Of has been released, one has pretty much all the Simon And Garfunkel one truly needs. This is not to say that the rest of the songs they recorded were bad--for the most part, they weren't--but nearly every vital cut is here. The collection ignores their interesting but formative debut folk album (not a big miss, except perhaps for the bittersweet...
Published on August 17, 2000 by Michael Topper

versus
38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Track Selection but Not So Great Sound!
I know that relative to the other Greatest Hits album, the sound quality here is better but it's still very poor compared to what other remastered albums out there sound like. To be fair to the record company, nowhere on the cd does it say "remastered". It just says mastered by Vic Anesini. Let's hope they truly remaster this album soon by unearthing a much better...
Published on March 15, 2006 by Frederick Baptist


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

116 of 120 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive S&G: It Doesn't Get Much Better, August 17, 2000
By 
Michael Topper (Pacific Palisades, California United States) - See all my reviews
Now that this Best Of has been released, one has pretty much all the Simon And Garfunkel one truly needs. This is not to say that the rest of the songs they recorded were bad--for the most part, they weren't--but nearly every vital cut is here. The collection ignores their interesting but formative debut folk album (not a big miss, except perhaps for the bittersweet title track "Wednesday Morning 3 AM"), and skimps a little on the sophomore effort "Sounds Of Silence" (I would definitely have included "April Come She Will" and "Kathy's Song") but every other major classic on the next three groundbreaking releases is here, including a bonus live version of the incandescent "For Emily" and the lost mid-70s reunion "My Little Town". Listening to all these songs in one shot--with superb remastered sound quality--reminds one of just how important these two guys were to the face of American pop music, no matter how many times you've heard the songs on classic-rock radio. Even supposedly dated cuts like "59th Street Bridge Song" and "At The Zoo" come off as joyous and essential. Of course, if you're a Simon And Garfunkel buff you'll probably want to get all of the albums plus the 3-disc box set, which would not be a bad idea. But with the exception of the two or three missing early songs listed above, this is one of the finest "Best Of" collections one can purchase, and supercedes 1972's Greatest Hits by some way (ah, the bonuses of 77-minute CD running times!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


70 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A best-of that will make you feelin' groovy, November 17, 1999
By A Customer
At first glance the S&G completists will note--Where is "Kathy's Song"?
First, let me explain. This collection features the S&G songs that were released as charted singles. The evidence in that is that the songs are listed in the order they debuted on the singles charts. Therefore, "The Sound of Silence" kicks it off (released 11/65) and "My Little Town" closes it (released 10/75).
Kathy's Song never charted. One may also note that the applause from "For Emily..." crossfades into the intro to "America." The reason for this is to hide the crossfade ending of Save The Life Of My Child which is underneath the fade-up of "America." The songs are not out of order ("America" was one side of the "For Emily" single).
Lastly, "Fakin' It" is the mono single mix. There is nothing wrong with its inclusion here. This single version has as yet to be released. How does it compare with the stereo remaster on the Old Friends boxed set? Different! The intro doesn't fade up, and the ending is faded out a little early. Also Paul's last verse and chorus (used before the fade-out) comes up a few seconds early after the door chime and the little girl sound effects) Thus the mono single is shorter than the stereo album mix by about eight seconds. The stereo mix is good on the drums near the end and on those sound effects (crossing from one speaker to the next) to give it a spacy, airy feel. However, the mono mix also has more punch, the drums are louder, the vocals without echo seem clearer. I guess, it's a toss up between the two. Both are good in their own way.
The remastering is excellent! This is far more superior than its predecessor. One wonders though where the remastered live "Kathy's Song" will end up. So far, it is only available on Paul Simon's boxed set!
A truly great best-of that lives up to its name. However, I would have welcomed more than two pages of liner notes! Buy this though and start feelin' groovy all over again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars try the import for more songs, September 17, 2000
By A Customer
While this is a great album, nodoubt about that, spend a few dollars more and get ALL their best songs (40 on two CD's) on the import "Tales from New York". It has the same cover art, but twice as many songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Track Selection but Not So Great Sound!, March 15, 2006
I know that relative to the other Greatest Hits album, the sound quality here is better but it's still very poor compared to what other remastered albums out there sound like. To be fair to the record company, nowhere on the cd does it say "remastered". It just says mastered by Vic Anesini. Let's hope they truly remaster this album soon by unearthing a much better master tape from the vaults. Volume levels are very low and although cleaner than the old versions, the overall sound is quite ordinary. Other than that, the track selections are very good and truly represent the best work that this dynamic duo have done. Simply great harmonies and great examples of brilliant songwriting on every track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simon and Garfunkel Fan, March 18, 2000
By A Customer
Simon and Garfunkel have that unique sound that just makes you want to listen to more. I was pleased with the amount of music and the quality of this recording over the other Greatest Hits. I did not grow up in the 60's; I'm just 15. But their music carries a flavor of that era that nothing else I have seen does. I knew some of the great hits before I bought it, "Bridge over troubled water," "Mrs. Robinson," and "Sounds of Silence," but was pleasently surprised to find I soon loved all the other "new" songs. This is, to use an overly-used expression, a must-have-CD for all lovers of the 60's music and culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poignant, Poetic, Powerful, August 24, 2002
Which one of these songs don't you know? And, better yet, which one of these songs didn't strike a poignant poetic part of you?

I learned to write, in some ways, by hearing the meter and phrasing of these songs. Pop music? Sure, but it is great pop music.

From the lonesome "Homeward Bound," to the desparate, "Boxer," to the cogent "My Little Town," to fun, "Feelin' Groovy" to the rocking "Hazy Shade of Winter", S & G are all the way in the song. The music is perfect for the song, yet doesn't overcome the lyrics.

Their cover of the old Celtic folk song, "Scarborough Fair" has become to most people the definitive version.

There really is no better collection of Simon and Garfunkel's tunes. This is the one. I fully recommend "The Best of Simon & Garfunkel" by Simon and Garfunkel.

Anthony Trendl
editor, HungarianBookstore.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great compilation, November 30, 2000
By 
David E. Levine (Peekskill , NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I purchased this CD in August the day after I heard Art Garfunkel in concert at Croton Point Park. Parenthetically, I had quite a summer for great duos, having also seen the Everly brothers in concert. As the "voice" of the duo, Art gave a comprehensive retrospective of Simon & Garfunkel's greatest hits and this CD does the same. Unless your favorite song is some obscure album track, your favorite is sure to be included here. My own particular favorite is El Condor Pasa. However, I know some people who literally choke up when they hear "Sounds of Silence." Whichever Simon and Garfunkel song moves you is likely to be included here. To be sure, there is a double CD and I suppose (but don't know for sure) there's a boxed set, however, if you are looking for their top 40 hits, go no further than here. Simon & Garfunkel are very evocative for many baby boomers and I believe that those who remember the duo in their heyday will find the particular cut, on this CD, that brings a lump to their throats. This is a fine, single CD collection and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Treat yourself to the No. 1 DUO!, December 18, 2000
DON'T FORGET GARFUNKEL! Hey, Paul Simon has had a great solo career, but you need a greatest hits album that includes Garfunkel also, for this harmony has been oft-imitated but never duplicated in such grandeur.
Garfunkel adds that extra special something that made MRS. ROBINSON, CECELIA and 59TH STREET BRIDGE SONG sing-along favorites, and revived the traditional favorite SCARBOROUGH FAIR.
Of course, Simon still gets top billing for his phenomenal singing and songwriting skills and works his solo magic on two of the album's greatest cuts, FOR EMILY WHEREVER I MAY FIND HER and BRIDGE OVER TROUBLED WATER.
It's a real testament to the duo's tremendous appeal that a 20-song "greatest hits" CD can only marginally capture their music. Still, the selection is one that will keep old fans happy and win over a few new fans along the way. It's too bad that their inspiring cover of THE TIMES ARE A'CHANGIN' wasn't included. This album is still guaranteed to stay in your player for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great new sound, August 21, 2000
By 
s&glover (Massachusetts, USA) - See all my reviews
This cd is a must for any simon and garfunkel fan. I am only 15, and i love them. My parents introduced me to simon and garfunkel. This cd offers a new sound. It is wonderfully remastered, replacing some live versions with studio versions. This gets rid of loud applause. This all blends nicely with S&G's terrifically talented singing and songwriting. If you love simon and garfunkel, you should own this cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sound Quality Poor, April 1, 2011
By 
S. Salem (Manhattan Beach, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very, very disappointed in the quality of this CD. The hiss was like listening to an old cassette tape from 30 years ago. On quieter songs, it is horribly noticeable. And the same loud hiss is not there when listening to previews of the songs on the Amazon product page, meaning that the hiss shouldn't be attributable to the source material being older recordings. If I'd known there was this difference in quality, I would not have ordered the CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Best Of Simon & Garfunkel
The Best Of Simon & Garfunkel by Simon & Garfunkel
Buy MP3 Album$7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.