Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 Stars... Excellent overview of Radiohead's EMI studio albums
Music: 5 Stars... Compilation: 4 Stars

When Radiohead decided with the "In Rainbows" album not to re-up with EMI, it was only a matter of time before the label would squeeze a few more drops out of the money machine that Radiohead was for EMI. The label simply had to find a good time and excuse to do so, and that time has come (new tour!). The band has made...
Published on June 3, 2008 by Paul Allaer

versus
55 of 66 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why Bother?
Each of these songs is fantastic, so if you're the kind of person who would like to be able to say that you've "heard" Radiohead, this purchase will be ok. You will at least have 17 great songs that you didn't have before. On the other hand, if you listen to the samples and notice that you like what you hear, you might be interested in knowing that Radiohead now have...
Published on June 5, 2008 by Patrick Kennedy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Stuff, June 9, 2008
This review is from: The Best of (Audio CD)
This is a very good sampler if you are new to radiohead and want to check them out. If you like it, it will send you deeper into there catalog for some of there other works. Not sure what a couple of the other reviewers are referring to for $70.00. This is a $14.00 CD. I think they wanted to review the LP's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Radiohead's greatest hits, January 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best of (Audio CD)
Many reviewers have slated this CD suggesting that the original CDs from which this compilation was made would be a better bet. I have The Bends, Hail to the Thief etc so I have the original CDs. My view is that this compilation is terrific and there's not a duff track on it. It is, as some, reviewers have pointed out a great taster of Radiohead. I really like it and would recommend it wholeheartedly, sorry to disagree with the Radiohead die-hard fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 2 good songs, December 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best of (Audio CD)
paranoid android and creep are both awesome songs, but i didn't like any of the other songs on here. i always heard karma police was cool, but i didn't really like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All in One CD, March 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best of (Audio CD)
If you like Radiohead, youll like this CD. Its like an All-in-one CD with all the coolest of their hits. I like the fact that they included the Creep song there. I did grow up listening to that song a lot, so kinda brought back some cool nostalgia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Radiohead Cd, February 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best of (Audio CD)
Let me just say i purchase this cd after watching the Fake plastic trees video. Boy was I stunned when i found not only that sone but quite a few more excellent songs off of this cd. I would highly encourage you to purchase and give Radiohead a listen. I sure you like them too if you do!
Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't Get This, October 1, 2011
This review is from: The Best of (Audio CD)
The best part about Radiohead is how good the albums flow together. Mixing the songs up just kills the atmosphere. This is OK for new fans, but I still wouldn't get it. If you're new to the band, get OK Computer or The Bends.

I gave it 3 stars instead of 1 because it's Radiohead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insight and impoverishment, October 7, 2010
By 
Magic Lemur (Somewhere in Madagascar) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best of (Audio CD)
A lot of people take real offence to the idea of a 'best of'. They see it as selling out, giving-the-plebs-what-they-want, etc. Personally, I'm not bothered either way as most bands are in the business of making money these days & Radiohead are no exception (given their tendency to label every album after OK Computer as 'OK Computer 2' in NME interviews...)

If what you're after is the 'Best of Radiohead' then the first CD of this double album does the business.

Slightly biased in favour of The Bends, it feels like it breaks free of the ethos surrounding everything since 'OK Computer' via its selection of the more textured tracks off of all the albums. Who'd have thought Just flowed so well into Paranoid Android? Furthermore, who'd have thought the rich darkness of 'Street Spirit (Fade Out)' would work so well with Pyramid Song, 'The Bends' and 'Everything in its Right Place'?

If there's one thing to be said about 'Best of's it's that they can play games with a bands back catalogue and blend them in interesting new ways. True - this could be done better by something like the Beatles Love - but in the first CD of this album, I felt that something different was achieved with old things.

However, move to the second CD and you'll experience a similar effect to switching from a Great novel to its stodgy appendix. CD 2 is dreary and filled with all the bland, second rate stuff Radiohead have done.

Admittedly there are exceptions, such as Planet Telex, although where CD one's ethos made the songs better, CD 2's makes them all the worse.

It reminded me of the Red Dwarf* episode 'Demons & Angels', where one clone of Red Dwarf was made Heavenly, and the other Hellish. So it is true of this CD that, although the songs are merit-worthy in their place, the bland ones seem to have landed on CD2 and the great ones on CD 1!

So, if you want a new experience of Radiohead, I suggest buying CD 1 and seeing the tracks from a new & enlightening perspective. And if you've never heard Radiohead before, then I suggest skipping CD 2 and getting a copy of 'The Bends' and 'OK Computer'. By experiencing their finest works and rogueing the bad you will see them for how they really are, and not as some blinkered fans do...

* - Red Dwarf is a popular British Comedy Sci-Fi series. Kinda like Galaxy Quest, but as a TV series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Best Of or The Most Popular?, July 29, 2008
This review is from: The Best of (Audio CD)
There always is that fine line that must be toed to determine when it is best to put out a "best of" album. If it is done too soon then the band risks the appearance of being pompous while if it takes too long the disc could likely turn into a rather superficial touching of what the best music of a band really is. And while there is certainly no science behind knowing when is the right time to put out a best of compilation, there are certain factors that need to go into the decision making to ensure that the timing is indeed as good as it should be.

With several successful albums now under their belt, Radiohead's latest release The Best Of is a seventeen track album that is an interesting way to do a best of album. Rather than focus on simply the purely best music of the band, it seems as though perhaps this album instead has gone the route of taking the most popular Radiohead songs and placing them almost in a mix-tape sort of way on this album.

It seems as though the band likely had little oversight in the production of this best of album because really there are no surprises on the album. The songs that you would expect to see on this album simply based upon a perception of popularity do in fact make the track listing for the album. It would be much more interesting to have the band's insight shown on the album relative to which tracks they have produced that they themselves feel are their best music. As is often the case, the band's take on their best songs often varies greatly from what the mainstream radio crowd might think of the band's music.

Again showing no surprise, the majority of the songs, totaling six, on The Best Of come from The Bends album which, again, is perhaps the most popular album the band has released in terms of the general mainstream music listener. Then you have four tracks from OK Computer, three tracks from Kid A and one track each from Pablo Honey, Amnesiac and Hail to the Thief.

Though the music of Radiohead sort of really needs no explanation as it relates to The Best Of, the music on this album is nothing more than the studio recordings of the songs listed in the track listing. The lack of creativity shown in the production of this album is rather troubling since realistically most people that like Radiohead for one reason or another more likely than not have each one of these tracks already on their Ipod. A little originality perhaps even in throwing in a live track or two could really have gone a long way for The Best Of.

Radiohead is comprised of Thom Yorke, Jonny Greenwood, Colin Greenwood, Ed O'Brien and Phil Selway.

Track listing:

1. Just
2. Paranoid Android
3. Karma Police
4. Creep
5. No Surprises
6. High and Dry
7. My Iron Lung
8. There There
9. Lucky
10. Optimistic
11. Fake Plastic Trees
12. Idioteque
13. 2+2=5
14. The Bends
15. Pyramid Song
16. Street Spirit (Fade Out)
17. Everything In Its Right Place

Though the music on this album is indeed some of Radiohead's best and most popular works, The Best Of falls grossly short in convincing the listener as to why there was any need to purchase the album. The lack of originality and band input is evident and it is a shame that it appears that the only motive for releasing this The Best Of is simply to reap additional quick profits.

The Best Of is on the Capitol Records label and was all of Radiohead's music was produced by Nigel Godrich, John Leckie, Sean Slade and Paul Kolderie.

For more information about Radiohead, check out their website at [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OK Radiohead, July 3, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best of (Audio CD)
This is a nice "macro" collection for the uninitiated Radiohead fan. It's neither all-encompassing or groundbreaking but it's a great disc to throw in your car player for that trip to the beach. You needn't bother buying it if you already own most of Radiohead's mainstream stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All the classics on one handy CD, June 16, 2008
By 
Guy Rogers (Calgary, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best of (Audio CD)
This is going to be an 'Indiana Jones 4' of on an album, you're either going to love it or hate it.

Its a great compilation of their best songs, the order is interesting, but any Radiohead fan will already have the majority of these tracks. Its just on one handy CD. For the newbies to Radiohead it's a great listen.

Yes, it's an EMI cash in since the band have left the label. All the classics are on disc one, if you can get hold of the 2 Disc edition I would recommend that more, as it holds some of the more offbeat tracks and gives you more of a rounded impression of their music.

An alternative though would be to buy the Limited Edition Box Set and get them in all their glory, that's minus 'In Rainbows' mind.

This is getting 5 stars for the music. But 4 for the single disc version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Best of
The Best of by Radiohead (Audio CD - 2008)
Click for more info
Usually ships in 9 to 11 days
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.