Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value For Your Money If...
Probably, the best way to begin here is to ask: "Who needs this DVD?"

If you're an avid "Star Trek" fan, the answer is no. Because you're probably just going to buy all the seasons anyway. And in this case, the DVD offers nothing new.

On the other hand, if you're just a casual "Star Trek" fan or a 60s buff looking for a little bit of nostalgia, this...
Published on February 1, 2013 by King Dimholt

versus
29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Standard episodes from a standard-setting series
This is a good -- but not great -- single-disc compilation for Star Trek newbies and cheapskates (such as myself) but not nearly as essential as its companion volume, The Best of Star Trek: The Original Series. That first volume contained four of the Original Series' most vital entries, including the Vulcan adventure, "Amok Time," the amusing "The Trouble With Tribbles"...
Published on November 21, 2009 by Señor Spook


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Standard episodes from a standard-setting series, November 21, 2009
By 
Señor Spook "Spooky B" (Charlottetown, PEI, CANADA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best of Star Trek: The Original Series, Vol. 2 (DVD)
This is a good -- but not great -- single-disc compilation for Star Trek newbies and cheapskates (such as myself) but not nearly as essential as its companion volume, The Best of Star Trek: The Original Series. That first volume contained four of the Original Series' most vital entries, including the Vulcan adventure, "Amok Time," the amusing "The Trouble With Tribbles" and the immortal "The City on the Edge of Forever." This time around we're given two bona fide classics, a jolly adventure story (on a mob-run planet, no less) and the second pilot episode commissioned by NBC which, while historically important, is a bit of a snoozer in the adventure-and-suspense department. Regrettably, the space (no pun intended... well, maybe just a little) taken up by these two latter episodes could've been occupied by other, better examples (the two-parter, "The Menagerie," comes immediately to mind).

Should you decide to buy this, get it for the tightly paced, well acted "Space Seed" and for "Journey to Babel," which will give you the quick-and-dirty tour of Gene Roddenberry's impressively diverse universe. Beyond that, you may wish to consider purchasing the series boxed sets as any further Best Of collections would only be superfluous to your introduction to -- and enjoyment of -- one of the most innovative and important Science Fiction shows in television history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still not all of the best..., November 17, 2009
By 
This review is from: The Best of Star Trek: The Original Series, Vol. 2 (DVD)
Like many reviewers, when Best of Star Trek TOS came out this past summer, I was confused why SPACE SEED didn't make the cut, but TROUBLE WITH TRIBBLES, AMOK TIME, CITY ON THE EDGE OF FOREVER, and BALANCE OF TERROR definately rank as top episodes. So when it was announced a second Best of volume was being released, I crossed my fingers yet again and this time, it worked.

Volume 2 does include SPACE SEED, the first appearance of Khan, as well as WHERE NO MAN HAS GONE BEFORE, A PIECE OF THE ACTION, and BABEL. This is where I disagree with the selections. I'd have gone for MIRROR, MIRROR and ARENA instead of BABEL and A PIECE OF THE ACTION, but then again, who knows - maybe there'll be a Volume 3. Then they could include the two part MENAGIRE or THE GALILEO SEVEN.

From the back of the case:

WHERE NO MAN HAS GONE BEFORE - Warp speed goes wild when a Starfleet propulsion expert and his alien assistant come aboard the Enterprise to increase efficiency.

SPACE SEED - Kirk discovers a ship carrying cryogenically frozen survivors of the 1990s Earth war known as the Eugenic Wars.

A PIECE OF THE ACTION - Kirk, Spock, and McCoy beam down to a planet run like 1920s gangster America.

JOURNEY TO BABEL - The USS Enterprise is transporting a delegation of diplomats, including Spock's parents, to a conference on Babel when Kirk is stabbed and the ship attacked.

As a fan of Next Generation and Deep Space Nine more than the TOS, these volumes are great for me and anyone else who just wants a sample. But I begin to wonder if it's more practical to suggest buying the entire seasons if they continue to issue best ofs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad value if you want to see remastered shows, January 20, 2011
By 
T. Hawkes (Salt Lake City, Utah) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best of Star Trek: The Original Series, Vol. 2 (DVD)
I bought this and the other volume for a gift at Christmas. The receiver has the complete TOS collection that was released several years ago (before the "remastering" and new special effects). So, I thought these two collection discs would be a nice taste of the updated episodes. They were. I could see a significant improvement in picture quality (makes me wonder why the older set was even offered). The new special effects (mostly exterior shots of the Enterprise and the planets it visits) are convincing, tastefully done (not extravagant), and consistent with the originals (e.g., the phaser shots in the "Balance of Terror" episode---a very early show---were improved but left as a sort of torpedo effect rather than a beam effect, thus preserving the original intent/experience).

I'd have chosen a few other episodes as the "Best", but hey, for the cost how can I complain?

I will say that seeing these much-improved DVD copies of 8 episodes almost (but not quite) make me want to buy the Blu-Ray versions of all three seasons. But, because I paid a crazy amount for the older ones, I'm not quite ready to take that plunge again. In most ways, I like seeing the TOS episodes as I remember them from my childhood, warts and all. It is wonderful to see that the original quality of the film is intact and that the Blu-Ray conversions will preserve this landmark series for posterity, but I'll wait to buy until the Blu-Ray's are dumped on the secondary market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value For Your Money If..., February 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best of Star Trek: The Original Series, Vol. 2 (DVD)
Probably, the best way to begin here is to ask: "Who needs this DVD?"

If you're an avid "Star Trek" fan, the answer is no. Because you're probably just going to buy all the seasons anyway. And in this case, the DVD offers nothing new.

On the other hand, if you're just a casual "Star Trek" fan or a 60s buff looking for a little bit of nostalgia, this DVD will really give you a lot of "Star Trek" power and value for your money.

It begins with the episode "Where No Man Has Gone Before." This is a very early episode with some characters that would not become regulars. But Kirk, Spock, Scotty, and Sulu are still there. Kirk has to watch a friend become more and more powerful (through an accident that left him with ever growing powers), and degenerate into evil. And the ever logical Mr. Spock has to confront Kirk with his only choice: "Kill him while you still can."

The next episode is "Space Seed." Kirk encounters a ship full of genetically superior beings lead by a man named Khan. It isn't long before Kirk and his crew are repulsed by Khan's superiority complex. And having seduced an unappreciated member of the Enterprise, Khan makes plans to take over the Enterprise. Anyone who knows anything about "Star Trek" should know that this story was continued in the 2nd "Star Trek" film. ("The Wrath of Khan")

The third episode "A Piece of the Action" is a defining episode in that it shows the crew landing on a planet that embodies one very specific culture we can identify. (In this case, the gangs of the 20s.) Through a book on these gangs, the people of the planet have formed their culture. Interestingly, Spock can identify what is productive and good about the Chicago gangs. (Their intention is unity.) Another good thing about this episode is that while it has a great story, it also offers us a generous amount of comedy.

Finally, we have "Jounrney To Babel" where we meet Spock's parents. We can see that Spock and his father have not been on speaking terms for some years. And when there is a murder on the Enterprise, Spock's father becomes the prime suspect. Soon afterwards, he has a heart attack and with Kirk out of action, Spock must deal with the difficult choice. Can he relinquish control of the Enterprise (even though there are important ambassadors aboard, that there has been murder on the ship, and that they are being chased by a hostile ship) to take time to give blood to his critically ill father?

Summed up, if you're an avid fan who is just going to just buy all the seasons anyway, you don't need this DVD.

But if you are just a casual fan looking for a bit of nostalgia, this DVD will really give you a great taste of "Star Trek" and offer excellent value for your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just a word of warning..., January 3, 2011
This review is from: The Best of Star Trek: The Original Series, Vol. 2 (DVD)
While I like the selection of episodes presented on this disc (particularly Space Seed - which looks terrific - and Journey to Babel), I was a bit disappointed to find that these are the remastered episodes WITH the CGI replacement effects. Had there been an indication of this on the packaging, I probably would have taken a pass on this one. Don't get me wrong, the remastering on the episodes is brilliant; each one looks crystal clear. I just prefer the show as originally broadcast. Personally, I think the model effects look better than the rather dinky CGI Enterprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great gift for the Trekkie in your life!, January 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best of Star Trek: The Original Series, Vol. 2 (DVD)
I bought this as a gift for my girlfriend and she is thrilled with it. We have spent many hours enjoying this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection!, January 4, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best of Star Trek: The Original Series, Vol. 2 (DVD)
You won't be disappointed. The images are crisp and clear, bright and amazing. The sound is wonderful. And the show, well- this is a classic. The fricking box sets are so damn expensive but these "Best Of" collections are cheap and fun. I own both sets and watch them often. I also have other Star Trek themes collections like TIME TRAVEL, ALTERNATE UNIVERSE & CAPTAIN'S LOG. I advise all Trekkies to BUY THESE dvds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must for Trekkies, but............., July 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best of Star Trek: The Original Series, Vol. 2 (DVD)
I watch it all the time, but was disappointed to find out there were only 6 episodes on the DVD. It leaves you wanting much more, but it gives you a fix if you don't want to spend big bucks for seasons collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable--Wish there were more episodes, July 18, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best of Star Trek: The Original Series, Vol. 2 (DVD)
I hadn't seen the original series since I was a kid. It is still fun to watch even now.

It holds up well and the playful interactions between the cast is what keeps it fresh. My only complaint is I wish they had more episodes available in this format.

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Liked the Wrath of Khan, June 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Best of Star Trek: The Original Series, Vol. 2 (DVD)
I am a big Star Trek Fan. This is a good way to see the original series for people who need the background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Best of Star Trek: The Original Series, Vol. 2
$14.98 $8.99
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.