Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Mouse that roared
This is one of those screwball comedies that you find yourself watching in reruns every time you catch it on TV. The premise of the movie centers on Betty Lou, a rather mousey, small town librarian who is married to a cop. One day, while in the park, Betty Lou discovers the gun that was used in a recent murder. She takes it to the police, but no one will pay any...
Published on June 2, 2002 by Cheryl Richter

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Betty Lou's coming out tonight
Although it has its good points, this film is generally of the quality of a made-for-TV film--not something I'd recommend buying or renting.
Betty Lou is a librarian who's not getting the attention she wants and arguably deserves from her police officer husband. He's more interested in his work than her.
There's a murder in their town involving a travelling man...
Published on June 17, 2003 by rballjones


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Mouse that roared, June 2, 2002
This is one of those screwball comedies that you find yourself watching in reruns every time you catch it on TV. The premise of the movie centers on Betty Lou, a rather mousey, small town librarian who is married to a cop. One day, while in the park, Betty Lou discovers the gun that was used in a recent murder. She takes it to the police, but no one will pay any attention to her. In frustration, she fires the gun and winds up confessing to the crime!She wants to prove that she isn't as mousey and predictable as everyone seems to think she is - especially her husband!While in jail she is given a transformation into a sexy bombshell by several of the other women inmates. When she appears for her arraignment no one (least of all her husband), can believe it's her.
Once out on bail, however, Betty Lou realizes that she must discover who the real killer is before it is too late. What follows is an adventure that only a once mousey librarian can have -- an adventure that reveals not only Betty Lou's hidden beauty, but her smarts and cunning and style.
Granted, this isn't the funniest movie to come around the pike, but that isn't it's allure. No, what makes this so appealing is Betty Lou's transformation. She stands in for every woman who has ever been underestimated,taken for granted, pigeon-holed, and ignored. She decides to take charge of her life in a very dramatic way and in the process she saves her marriage, she saves the day, and, more importantly, she saves herself.
Watching Betty Lou rise to the occasion is reason enough to watch this movie. Seeing her take charge of her life is reason enough to enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Early 90's Touchstone Picture, November 19, 2004
"The Gun in Betty Lou's Handbag" falls under the same category as other beloved late 80's/early-90's films put out by Touchstone Pictures such as "Adventures in Babysitting" or "Don't Tell Mom the Babysitter's Dead." Certainly not enduring works of cinematic brilliance to be studied by film students forever, but charming little films that hold a ton of entertainment value nonetheless. Not to mention these films also serve as windows into what life was like in the late 80's and early 90's, a much more innocent and light-hearted time in American pop culture. Penelope Ann Miller is delightful in the title role. And the supporting cast is brilliant as well. Eric Thal plays her less-than-appreciative cop husband who will mend his ways by the end of the film. Ray McKinnon is the cop sidekick who reassures Betty Lou's husband that Betty Lou will definitely learn plenty from a night behind bars and that his own wife Joan could use the same. Julianne Moore plays Betty Lou's kooky sister. Cathy Moriarty is brilliant as the hooker Betty Lou meets in prison. And Alfre Woodard delivers a delightfully comic turn as Betty Lou's novice attorney. The violent scenes are a little heavy-handed, but I think it serves the plot well as it shows just how much trouble Betty Lou stirs up for herself and the people she cares about. Overall, just a great, feel-good, early 90's comedy that definitely rewards repeated viewings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delightfully Smooth and Fun, February 2, 2004
By 
Big-Z (Heavenly Valley, NV United States) - See all my reviews
This flick suprised me as I was not expecting much. And I did not get much, but what I got was light, fun, well acted, and well-written with likeable, attractive and believable characters. It is good for an evening in with popcorn. Laughs in several places and some suspense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There is only one reason to see this movie!, August 11, 2011
By 
Robert M. Khoury (Across the street from Central Park) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Gun in Betty Lou's Handbag [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Penelope Ann Miller. She has played lots of parts and made lots of movies. A movies. Carlito's Way. B movies. Relic. And even a couple of C movies. That dumb movie about the bottle of wine. I've been following her career ever since dinosaurs roamed the earth and she has never given a bad performance. This film is one of her early efforts. It didn't get much attention or make a lot of money. But she is so charming and so engaging. It must be difficult to be an actress with big talent and small boobs as opposed to one with little talent and big boobs since you know who seems to get all the best parts these days. Nevertheless, Penelope Ann is consistently good in every role she plays, and this film is no exception. While she may not be Meryl Streep, Miller definitely has Streepiness. Trust me. All the guys in my cell block were cheering at the end. I don't think it was just because a guard got stabbed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Betty Lou's coming out tonight, June 17, 2003
By 
Although it has its good points, this film is generally of the quality of a made-for-TV film--not something I'd recommend buying or renting.
Betty Lou is a librarian who's not getting the attention she wants and arguably deserves from her police officer husband. He's more interested in his work than her.
There's a murder in their town involving a travelling man who's having an affair with a local married woman.
Betty Lou (with her dog) happens to discover the murder weapon. To gain attention she proclaims herself the murderess. Betty Lou, of red hair, is a sympathetic character and it's fun to see her snub all the interrogating male cops (including her husband) who take her for granted. She also befriends a local prostitute while in jail and otherwise asserts herself as she hasn't before.
It's not all fun, however, for there are some southern Mafia characters about led by a particularly evil man named Bodine (how original). There are a few scenes of gratuitous violence that were a big turn off.
The climax is somewhat improbable but something you might expect in a TV movie.
Also, there's a scene in a country bar where the singers (names unknown) recreate faithfully the great Gram Parsons/Emmylou Harris duet of "Love Hurts."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Delicious Treat!, March 22, 2010
By 
The Dude (Lakewood Washington) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a Saturday night movie if I've ever seen one.
A Screwball comedy.
All the actors seem to be having a ball starring in it.
Penelope Ann Miller is cute, sexy and dynamic as Betty Lou.
Her transformation from frumpy plain and timid to cute, hot and dynamic is worth the price of the movie.
Other than Other People's Money, maybe her most fun and entertaining role.
Lucille Ball would have been the star if it was made in the 1930's.
Alfre Woodward and Julianne Moore show a surprisingly tremendous comic talent.
Quite a change from their usual serious and troubled characters.
This movie is fresh, fun and frenetic.
William Forsythe is still menacing, but with just the right comic touch this movie needs.
He would have been even better than Billy Crystal in "Analyze This".
I saw this movie on cable at least twice.
Jumped at the chance to make it a permanent part of my DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'll buy the DVD just for the bar scenes., August 25, 2005
By 
JBM (Southern California) - See all my reviews
The singer in the bar scenes (mentioned by a previous reviewer) is Steve Pryor, the "best guitarist you'll never hear". He is from Tulsa, Oklahoma and has an impressive list of accomplishments including his own CD's. Apparently there's no soundtrack CD from this movie available. Too bad. Also, there are several good shots of the keyboard player, David Busey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent movie on the relationship of men and women., May 12, 2014
By 
T. Willardson (Salt Lake City, Utah) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Gun in Betty Lou's Handbag [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is a movie that every man and every woman should see. It does an unusually excellent job of showing the difference between men and women.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this movie, September 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Gun in Betty Lou's Handbag [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I love this movie ,I think it is so funny and romantic. It has plenty of action and suspense. Ihave been looking for a copy for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An amusing trifle, August 4, 2013
By 
D. R. M. "wicmar" (Minneapolis, MN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Gun in Betty Lou's Handbag [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is a modest and silly early 90s comedy starring a very good comic actress, Penelope Ann Miller. The whole plot about the depressed housewife coming alive after confessing to a murder she didn't do is, well, pretty silly. But so what? There are lots of good laughs here. And the supporting cast is pretty amazing for such a trifle--Cathy Moriarty, Stanley Tucci, Alfre Woodard, and pre-star Julianne Moore. I found the quality of the blu ray to be okay, esp. for my cost of $1. No complaints there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Gun in Betty Lou's Handbag [Blu-ray]
The Gun in Betty Lou's Handbag [Blu-ray] by Allan Moyle (Blu-ray - 2011)
$9.98 $5.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.