Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "more double the pleasure ~ The Big Chill"
This is one of the best compilations to come out as being re-mastered "The Big Chill, featuring the Deluxe Edition with an expanded booklet with liner notes that will give the listener an insight to the film as well as the music.
Take a look at what you're in for ~ Original Soundtrack Album (released in September 1983), featuring The Exciters, Aretha Franklin,...
Published on March 25, 2004 by J. Lovins

versus
53 of 58 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Great Big Deluxe 2CD "INCOMPLETE" set....
As many of you know, the original soundtrack was split into 2 separate CDs - Soundtrack to Big Chill and More Songs from Big Chill. I was annoyed years ago when I discovered I could actually compile every song heard in this movie - including the Stones' "Can't Always Get What you Want" - into a single CD, while Motown decided it was a good idea at the time to...
Published on March 31, 2004 by Hank


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 58 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Great Big Deluxe 2CD "INCOMPLETE" set...., March 31, 2004
By 
Hank "YankeeHank" (Alpharetta, GA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Big Chill - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
As many of you know, the original soundtrack was split into 2 separate CDs - Soundtrack to Big Chill and More Songs from Big Chill. I was annoyed years ago when I discovered I could actually compile every song heard in this movie - including the Stones' "Can't Always Get What you Want" - into a single CD, while Motown decided it was a good idea at the time to make consumers pay for 2 CDs instead of one by adding a bunch of songs that were not even in the movie. So now that they have a chance to redeem themselves, why is Motown releasing a 2CD "Deluxe" set that is still missing a vital track from the "More Songs" soundtrack such as Quicksilver Girl? I can understand copyright issues with the Rolling Stones' song, which was probably why it was left off the original soundtrack, but Quicksilver Girl was on the "More songs" soundtrack! I think the song list on the new Deluxe package is good, but the omission of 2 of the key songs that actually appeared in the movie was disappointing and dropped this review a couple of stars. That having been said, I still bought this set. Guess I'm just a sucker for repackages!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "more double the pleasure ~ The Big Chill", March 25, 2004
This review is from: The Big Chill - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
This is one of the best compilations to come out as being re-mastered "The Big Chill, featuring the Deluxe Edition with an expanded booklet with liner notes that will give the listener an insight to the film as well as the music.
Take a look at what you're in for ~ Original Soundtrack Album (released in September 1983), featuring The Exciters, Aretha Franklin, Marvin Gaye, Procol Harum, The Rascals, Smokey Robinson & the Miracles, The Temptations and Three Dog Night ~ high steppin', low steppin' and rhythm takes an aggressive leap into the decades that gave us music with soul.
Next stop is ~ 'More songs From The Big Chill,' (released in March 1984), featuring The Band, The Beach Boys, Creedence Clearwater Revival, The Spencer Davis Group, The Rascals, Percy Sledge ~ artist bring back some wonderful times in you life.
Film Instrumentals serve up "STRANGERS IN THE NIGHT" (Bert Kaempfert), "YOU CAN'T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU WANT" (Church Version) and the "J.T. LANCER" (theme) - can't go wrong with any of the three selections, especially the Kaempfert cue.
Disc Two starts things off with ~ Blues Magoos, James Brown, Joe Cocker, Wayne Fontana & The Mindbenders, The Four Tops, Marvin Gaye, Lesley Gore, Isley Brothers, The Mamas & The Papas, Martha & The Vanellas, The Marvelettes, Moody Blues, Jimmy Ruffin, Spanky & Our Gang, The Supremes, Howard Tate, Tammi Terrell, J.R. Walker & The All Stars and The Zombies ~ each performer reached the top-ten-smash hit phase during their reign.
Compilation under the guidance of Harry Weinger and Hip-O Records, a job well done ~ good to hear classic sounds for listeners old and new...gotta love it!
Total Time: 2-CD-Set ~ Hip-O/Motown 6 02798 16228 6 ~ (3/23/2004)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A review from New Zealand, September 26, 2005
This review is from: The Big Chill - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
Even though i am too young to have experienced these songs when they were first released, they are classics that will never die. What a great collection, that has all of the songs from the movie plus others that follow along the same themes.

Definitely worth the price (even when you take into account currency conversion and freight costs to New Zealand!!)

I haven't stopped playing it since it arrived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT Gift!, December 5, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Big Chill - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
I bought this CD as a gift for my wife. She loves music from the 60's and the film. I took a chance when I bought the "Deluxe Edition" instead of just the sound track. the up side is the second CD is even better than the sound track first CD. Good ahead...Go Deluxe!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The original plus more, August 18, 2005
By 
This review is from: The Big Chill - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
I had the original soundtrack, but typically there were several songs missing. This one has EVERYTHING on the movie and a few bonus cuts. There's hardly a song on here that isn't great. Well, the JT Lancer theme...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Songs by Fantastic Artists, March 9, 2007
This review is from: The Big Chill - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
This is truly one of the best soundtracks ever compiled for a movie. Every song is a classic, with both power as a standalone song as well as meaning within the timeline of the movie. "A Whiter Shade of Pale" by Procol Harum is one of those songs that still sends chills through me when I hear it.

Aretha Franklin sends power and strength through her rendition of "You Make Me Feel like a Natural Woman" - while The Temptations lay it all on the line with "Ain't Too Proud to Beg". You've got the sweet songs of "My Girl", the happy-go-lucky songs of "Good Lovin'" and "Joy to the World", and much more.

These were songs that inspired a whole generation of new songmakers, and for good reason. They had great lyrics, intricate harmonies, and melodies that worked their way into your heart.

Highly recommended! These are great to listen to as a set, to capture the essence of an era, as well as working into your other playlists you have, as cornerstones for groups of a variety of song types.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Big Chill - Deluxe Edition, January 20, 2012
By 
Sandra Bandurski (PITTSBURGH, PA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Big Chill - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
My husband has been asking me for a long to get him this so I finally ordered it for him this Christmas. He was extremely pleased with the music on this CD. He listens to it all the time. I would definitely recommend this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great album, March 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Big Chill - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
Got this to replace a worn out vinyl recording of The Big Chill soundtrack. Love that it's got the additional 10 songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars There are still lots of good songs on this one, July 7, 2014
This review is from: The Big Chill - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
I ordered the deluxe edition but got the standard edition, but I didn't care. There are still lots of good songs on this one. I have not seen the movie but will one day. It looks not bad, but will probably enjoy the soundtrack more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great music, July 2, 2014
By 
Charles W. Ambrose (Tucson, Az United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Big Chill - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
Great songs all together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Big Chill - Deluxe Edition
The Big Chill - Deluxe Edition by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.