Customer Reviews


1,878 Reviews
5 star:
 (520)
4 star:
 (488)
3 star:
 (339)
2 star:
 (199)
1 star:
 (332)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch and form your own opinion!
I thought this movie was great! It made me smile and laugh a lot. I definitely think it is worth watching! I love movies that make me feel good and this was one of them!!!
Published 17 months ago by Bethany Davenport

versus
129 of 145 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh come on, it wasn't THAT bad
The reviews here are pretty funny, I think these people thought they were looking at the next big award winning comedy or something. It is just a grab some popcorn and relax for a couple hours type of movie. Nothing amazing, nothing terrible. Should it have been better with all the stars in the cast? Perhaps. But at least if you know this going in maybe you can enjoy it...
Published 17 months ago by PD


‹ Previous | 1 2188 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

129 of 145 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh come on, it wasn't THAT bad, August 17, 2013
This review is from: The Big Wedding (Amazon Instant Video)
The reviews here are pretty funny, I think these people thought they were looking at the next big award winning comedy or something. It is just a grab some popcorn and relax for a couple hours type of movie. Nothing amazing, nothing terrible. Should it have been better with all the stars in the cast? Perhaps. But at least if you know this going in maybe you can enjoy it more and not be set up for failure like these other folks.

It had its funny, it had some heart tugs, it had some raunchy, and a few yawning moments. All in all it was a decent comedy and I did not think I wasted my time with it. It is a slow paced comedy, won't have you jumping out of your seat in laughter but you should smile throughout most of it.

If you need a lighthearted movie night flick and nothing else is jumping out at you, this will do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch and form your own opinion!, September 1, 2013
By 
This review is from: The Big Wedding (Amazon Instant Video)
I thought this movie was great! It made me smile and laugh a lot. I definitely think it is worth watching! I love movies that make me feel good and this was one of them!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars COULD WE PLEASE JUST SKIP TO THE HAPPY ENDING,, May 18, 2013
This review is from: The Big Wedding (DVD)
The theme of this film is that "there are different kinds of love." Alejandro (Ben Barnes) was adopted from Colombia by Don (Robert De Niro) and Ellie (Diane Keaton). Alejandro is getting married to Missy (Amanda Seyfried) whose parents (David Rasche/Christine Ebersole) are embarrassingly white. Don is divorced and married his mistress Bebe (Susan Sarandon). After a decade his wife and ex-wife get along very well. Robin Williams plays the priest that will preside over the ceremony. There are also two siblings. Dr. Jared (Topher Grace) is a 29 year old virgin. Lyla (Katherine Heigl) just left her husband. Just about everyone in the group has a dirty little secret that comes into play, but for the most part doesn't mesh well.

If this wasn't enough, Alejandro's biological mother (Patricia Rae) is coming up from Colombia for the wedding. She is very Catholic and considers divorce a sin. She doesn't know Don and Ellie are divorced so they will pretend they aren't (yawn). She shows up with a daughter (Ana Ayora) who has designs for Jared.

The film has great stars and a great indie style plot and characters. The secrets make for a great story. However it didn't come together. The dialouge failed to create on screen chemistry. Too much of the film seemed fake, the characters never hooked you. The humor consisted of embarrassment more than anything. Attempts to make fun of the Catholic Church were weak. It would make for a decent one night rental, but not the heart warming indie keeper we love.

Parental Guide: F-bombs. Brief sex, brief nudity (Ana Ayora).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars waste of talent, June 3, 2014
By 
What a waste of a great cast. Who broke a sweat trying to make his/her performance appear real? Certainly not Annie Hall or Robert De Niro. Susan Sarandon possibly could have gotten slightly damp under her arms for a couple of moments. And the script! They all should of stood in bed (and I should have spent the two hours doing something entertaining--like playing Sudoku).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Big Cliche, April 5, 2014
This review is from: The Big Wedding (DVD)
At the outset, the house is gorgeous! The food looked okay. Diane Keaton wore some nice outfits. Kathryn Heigl's clothes weren't as attractive. Robert DeNiro's red blazer after taking a dunking was fabulous. Other than that, I would be interested in your assessments.

Diane Keaton and Robert De Niro star as divorced parents with three children. De Niro, is a sculptor and recovering alcoholic, now lives with his girlfriend, played by Susan Sarandon, who secretly wants to be married. Everyone is meeting at their house for the youngest adopted son's wedding. Ben Barnes plays , Alejandro, the bride, Amanda Seyfried. Alejandro's real mother is coming to the wedding,and everyone must play a part to fool her. Why and how these talented actors came together for this film is the big question. Anyone have any ideas, except they did it for the money?

Not worth your money folks, people should pay us to watch it. prisrob 04-05-14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just something to watch., April 14, 2014
This movie is not the best of this type I have ever watched but if you want to kill time this is your movie. It is just a fluff movie with a great cast. Unfortunately they waste it but still it is nice to watch for something to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars stupid story, September 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Big Wedding (Amazon Instant Video)
very predictable plot and not funny. I did not laugh once. I think the previous rating that swayed me to rent this was off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just a down right fun movie!, April 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Big Wedding (DVD)
Enjoyable movie. An all-star cast that is great and a good story line for a Saturday morning chick flick afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, June 19, 2014
With all the acting talent in this movie, it was boring and not very funny. I would not recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A mad rush to the bottom, August 6, 2014
I can't believe so many talented actors said yes to this terrible movie. Maybe this is the kind of On Golden Pond or Big Chill that amoral baby boomers create. Totally devoid of redemption, transformation, or even realism. There's no one to root for and nothing to hope for. Sad. A few laughs, for sure. And you wonder if the whole debacle will lead to people learning something - but they don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2188 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Big Wedding
The Big Wedding by Justin Zackham
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.