Customer Reviews


1,648 Reviews
5 star:
 (444)
4 star:
 (421)
3 star:
 (299)
2 star:
 (183)
1 star:
 (301)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch and form your own opinion!
I thought this movie was great! It made me smile and laugh a lot. I definitely think it is worth watching! I love movies that make me feel good and this was one of them!!!
Published 14 months ago by Bethany Davenport

versus
114 of 129 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh come on, it wasn't THAT bad
The reviews here are pretty funny, I think these people thought they were looking at the next big award winning comedy or something. It is just a grab some popcorn and relax for a couple hours type of movie. Nothing amazing, nothing terrible. Should it have been better with all the stars in the cast? Perhaps. But at least if you know this going in maybe you can enjoy it...
Published 14 months ago by PD


‹ Previous | 1 2165 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

114 of 129 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh come on, it wasn't THAT bad, August 17, 2013
This review is from: The Big Wedding (Amazon Instant Video)
The reviews here are pretty funny, I think these people thought they were looking at the next big award winning comedy or something. It is just a grab some popcorn and relax for a couple hours type of movie. Nothing amazing, nothing terrible. Should it have been better with all the stars in the cast? Perhaps. But at least if you know this going in maybe you can enjoy it more and not be set up for failure like these other folks.

It had its funny, it had some heart tugs, it had some raunchy, and a few yawning moments. All in all it was a decent comedy and I did not think I wasted my time with it. It is a slow paced comedy, won't have you jumping out of your seat in laughter but you should smile throughout most of it.

If you need a lighthearted movie night flick and nothing else is jumping out at you, this will do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch and form your own opinion!, September 1, 2013
By 
This review is from: The Big Wedding (Amazon Instant Video)
I thought this movie was great! It made me smile and laugh a lot. I definitely think it is worth watching! I love movies that make me feel good and this was one of them!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Big Cliche, April 5, 2014
This review is from: The Big Wedding (DVD)
At the outset, the house is gorgeous! The food looked okay. Diane Keaton wore some nice outfits. Kathryn Heigl's clothes weren't as attractive. Robert DeNiro's red blazer after taking a dunking was fabulous. Other than that, I would be interested in your assessments.

Diane Keaton and Robert De Niro star as divorced parents with three children. De Niro, is a sculptor and recovering alcoholic, now lives with his girlfriend, played by Susan Sarandon, who secretly wants to be married. Everyone is meeting at their house for the youngest adopted son's wedding. Ben Barnes plays , Alejandro, the bride, Amanda Seyfried. Alejandro's real mother is coming to the wedding,and everyone must play a part to fool her. Why and how these talented actors came together for this film is the big question. Anyone have any ideas, except they did it for the money?

Not worth your money folks, people should pay us to watch it. prisrob 04-05-14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining, August 20, 2013
This review is from: The Big Wedding (Amazon Instant Video)
This is a very entertaining movie with a top shelf cast, and I found myself laughing quite a bit. I thought the casting was on the money and all concerned rose to the occasion. If you enjoyed Meet The Fockers, this should be your cup of tea. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rented it for the actors, hated the story, August 21, 2013
This review is from: The Big Wedding (Amazon Instant Video)
Where to begin? Within the first five minutes, Robert DeNiro is performing "c" (except they say the word) on Susan Sarandon on the kitchen counter, and the dirty innuendos/just flat out nastiness just keep on coming. Don't waste your time or money on this one. I read the reviews and rented it anyway, and regretted it. Aren't these people a little old to be acting this way? Geesh! These people have never heard of restraint, or morals, in their life. A particular favorite is when DeNiro cusses in the church. Please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars COULD WE PLEASE JUST SKIP TO THE HAPPY ENDING,, May 18, 2013
This review is from: The Big Wedding (DVD)
The theme of this film is that "there are different kinds of love." Alejandro (Ben Barnes) was adopted from Colombia by Don (Robert De Niro) and Ellie (Diane Keaton). Alejandro is getting married to Missy (Amanda Seyfried) whose parents (David Rasche/Christine Ebersole) are embarrassingly white. Don is divorced and married his mistress Bebe (Susan Sarandon). After a decade his wife and ex-wife get along very well. Robin Williams plays the priest that will preside over the ceremony. There are also two siblings. Dr. Jared (Topher Grace) is a 29 year old virgin. Lyla (Katherine Heigl) just left her husband. Just about everyone in the group has a dirty little secret that comes into play, but for the most part doesn't mesh well.

If this wasn't enough, Alejandro's biological mother (Patricia Rae) is coming up from Colombia for the wedding. She is very Catholic and considers divorce a sin. She doesn't know Don and Ellie are divorced so they will pretend they aren't (yawn). She shows up with a daughter (Ana Ayora) who has designs for Jared.

The film has great stars and a great indie style plot and characters. The secrets make for a great story. However it didn't come together. The dialouge failed to create on screen chemistry. Too much of the film seemed fake, the characters never hooked you. The humor consisted of embarrassment more than anything. Attempts to make fun of the Catholic Church were weak. It would make for a decent one night rental, but not the heart warming indie keeper we love.

Parental Guide: F-bombs. Brief sex, brief nudity (Ana Ayora).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I liked it!, April 11, 2014
This movie was funny, and quite enjoyable. It had a great cast. I didn't see it in the theater because of some unfavorable reviews. I'm glad I watched it. I'd recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just a down right fun movie!, April 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Big Wedding (DVD)
Enjoyable movie. An all-star cast that is great and a good story line for a Saturday morning chick flick afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, June 19, 2014
With all the acting talent in this movie, it was boring and not very funny. I would not recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Found It On Netflix Streaming, June 14, 2014
This review is from: The Big Wedding (DVD)
Thought I would give a try. The house, scenery was beautiful. Other than that I simply did not care about
any of the characters or what happened to them. They were boring, irritating, annoying despite the actors
portraying them. Katherine Heigel cannot act her way out of a paper bag and HOW did she get billing over
Diane Keaton? Really not a good movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2165 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Big Wedding
The Big Wedding by Justin Zackham
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.