Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Rhyming Berenstain Bears book
This is one of the earlier type of Berenstain Bears books, that rhymes in a very simple style perfect for new or early readers. The great theme is that the father, in teaching his son how to ride a bike, makes mistake after mistake, and after each disaster tells him, "this is something you should NOT do" while the son patiently and wisely watches and learns. Delightful;...
Published on September 12, 2007 by D Darkman

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "The Bike Lesson" is a fantastic story, but this recent reprint leaves a lot to be desired
I have two sons, one five and a half and the other two and a half years old, and they LOVE this story. Almost every few weeks, I have to journey back to the library and check it out as it's one of their favorite bedtime stories. Granted, it gets them a little wound up because they love to laugh at seeing Papa Bear take all his silly tumbles and pratfalls, but they...
Published 14 months ago by J. Menard


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Rhyming Berenstain Bears book, September 12, 2007
By 
D Darkman (New York State) - See all my reviews
This is one of the earlier type of Berenstain Bears books, that rhymes in a very simple style perfect for new or early readers. The great theme is that the father, in teaching his son how to ride a bike, makes mistake after mistake, and after each disaster tells him, "this is something you should NOT do" while the son patiently and wisely watches and learns. Delightful; your young child is sure to love it. Sadly, later Berenstain rhyming books are flat and dull; then they stopped rhyming entirely. This book is lively, clever, and pure delight. (Kenneth Higbee has a useful "list" of rhyming Berenstain Bears books -- this is not on that list as of this writing.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous book takes you down memory lane!, April 12, 2006
By 
csm (The great Midwest!) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Bike Lesson (Hardcover)
If you've ever read the Berenstain Bears as a child, then you'll recognize the pictures in this book! The newer books have the bears a little fatter and with more children. But in this book, they're pretty thin bears and there's only "Small Bear" who is now Brother Bear. When he gets a new red bike, his dad desperately tries to teach Small Bear the lessons of riding. True to the Berenstains, Papa gets into trouble and shows Small Bear all the things he's NOT supposed to do - like landing upside down in someone's chimney! I particularly appreciated this book since I recognize it from childhood - it was first published in 1964. It's a great lesson for little ones too on what not to do when you are riding a bike. But, it's also great for beginning readers - humorous to keep their attention but also, very easy to read. Highly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Bike Lesson, March 9, 2006
This review is from: The Bike Lesson (Hardcover)
Great book for beginning readers. All 3 of my children loved this. My second grader read it for school. Easy reading and easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How not to learn how to ride your bike., May 22, 2004
By 
...Loggie... "Loggie-log-log-log" (I live on the earth, in the western hemisphere, in North America, in the country of the United States of America, in Illinois in the town of Champaign) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Bike Lesson (Hardcover)
This book is one of the most humorous books I've read by the Berenstains. A father bear brings home a brand-new bike for his son Small Bear, but before Small Bear is allowed to ride it, Father Bear has to show him how. "First come the lessons, then the fun. How to get on is lesson one." Of course Father Bear promptly falls off the bike, and covers up by saying "That is what you should not do. So let that be a lesson to you."
This lesson sets the pattern that the other six lessons follow. Each lesson ends with Father Bear in some sort of trouble, which Small Bear always manages to get him out of. Of course, when Father Bear actually lets Small Bear ride the bike, he does so perfectly.
I believe these characters are a primitive form of the now well-known Berenstain Bears. Father Bear and Mother Bear are certainly wearing their outfits, and the tree house looks pretty much the same. The pictures themselves are very cute, bold and colorful. (Mama Bear's expressions are great.) The words flow well and rhyme, which adds a certain charm to the book. In short, I think it is a great book.
Loggie-log-log-log
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "The Bike Lesson" is a fantastic story, but this recent reprint leaves a lot to be desired, July 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bike Lesson (Hardcover)
I have two sons, one five and a half and the other two and a half years old, and they LOVE this story. Almost every few weeks, I have to journey back to the library and check it out as it's one of their favorite bedtime stories. Granted, it gets them a little wound up because they love to laugh at seeing Papa Bear take all his silly tumbles and pratfalls, but they listen and look at every page as I read it. My youngest calls it the "Oooooh, daddy!" book because he loves to shout that out every time Papa Bear falls off, catapults over, or submerges on the bike. Needless to say, its a big hit in our house. :)

So, I finally had enough and decided "They like it that much, I'm just gonna buy the darn thing!" I just got it in from Amazon and everyone in the house (my wife included), was totally disappointed. There must have been a recent "updated" reprint, because the copy that Amazon is selling is lacking in comparison to the original. For starters, it does not have the classic cover from 1964 as the item page shows above. Instead, if you want to see what you'll get if you buy this, choose the "Kindle Edition" to see the new cover. Also, the colors in the book are either completely different or totally washed out. It's as if someone forgot to load the 'Red' into the printing press and the 'Green' was on its way out. For example...

Rocks which were chocolate brown in '64 are now stone grey.
The bears which were a deep tan in '64 are now a pale beige/creamy, sickly yellow
And in this version the greens are all desaturated and washed out
etc. etc. etc.

If you want to get a copy of this fantastic book that still retains the vibrant richness and heart as Stan and Jan originally made it, then I suggest that you try to find it in a store in person, or via a site such as eBay, where you can see what you're actually going to be getting.

Again, the story is beautiful and fun and I can't recommend it enough to kids and parents alike; but this current edition is literally a poor copy of what a great experience this book is to enjoy. And no amount of silly voices while reading it can compensate for bland colors and washed-out pages. ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That Papa Bear's Done It Again!, May 30, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Bike Lesson (Hardcover)
Oh, that Papa Bear! He just can't help himself! He just has to "help" his son. My son loved this book 30 years ago. Again and again. So wonderful it is still in print. His son will love those rascals just as much, and my son will love reading it-again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars School Book Review, March 3, 2005
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Bike Lesson (Hardcover)
Would you like to hear a story about a bear who gets a new bike but has crazy lessons? I read a book called: The Bike Lesson By Stan and Jan Berenstain. Small Bear got a new bike and Papa Bear is trying to teach Small Bear how to ride a bike. But Papa Bear keeps messing up with the bike. This is a great book. One of my favorite parts is when Papa Bear goes down a hill and lands up ending in a chicken yard. I also like it because every time Papa Bear messes up Small Bear has to help him. I think the author's message is always be careful riding a bike. Read this book to see if Papa Bear will get through his lessons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That's What Not to do Small Bear, August 31, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Bike Lesson (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful book. My mom used to read this to my brother nearly 25 years ago, and he loved it. I later got that copy and have always enjoyed it. I'm only 15, but I know a good book when i read one. Whenever I make a mistake, my mom says "and that's what NOT to do small bear", because of Papa Bear's line on most of the pages in this book and other older Berenstain Bear books. Readin this book is "What TO do small bear!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a classic!, October 4, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bike Lesson (Hardcover)
My 4 year old loves this book and kept asking for us to read it to him. He has heard it so much that he now has it memorized and "reads" it to himself! I would highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bike Lesson by Stan and Jan Berenstain, December 15, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Bike Lesson (Hardcover)
This is a delightful book. Children enjoy its rhythm and rhyme. It tells an absorbing story of a loving father's sometimes misguided attempts to teach his child about bike riding and bike safety.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Bike Lesson
The Bike Lesson by Stan Berenstain (Hardcover - September 12, 1964)
$8.99 $7.19
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.