Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always the Best
Hundreds of baseball books have homes on my shelves. The book that most often comes off the shelf is The Bill James Handbook, the must-have annual that is the earliest, most comprehensive and most innovative review of the just-completed season.

The 2013 edition offers 550 compact pages - all the information I can find elsewhere and a whole lot of insight that...
Published on November 7, 2012 by Glenn Guzzo

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting for stat hounds
Would have liked more essays. Bill James is a great writer--not just a great baseball writer. The projections for this year make this a 'keep it by the armchair' staple for baseball fans.
Published 20 months ago by Gerard A. Palmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always the Best, November 7, 2012
This review is from: The Bill James Handbook 2013 (Paperback)
Hundreds of baseball books have homes on my shelves. The book that most often comes off the shelf is The Bill James Handbook, the must-have annual that is the earliest, most comprehensive and most innovative review of the just-completed season.

The 2013 edition offers 550 compact pages - all the information I can find elsewhere and a whole lot of insight that I can't find anywhere else. Traditional stats and modern metrics. Every player, manager and ballpark, with layers of info, each revealing a deeper understanding of talent and tendencies. Projections for fantasy leagues. Lefty-righty breakdowns for my Strat-O-Matic play. And new this year: Productive/unproductive outs by team and player; a dozen new categories to analyze pitchers, and career totals for player baserunning efficiency.

As a baseball reference for the 2012 season, the Handbook is in a league of its own.

Instinctively, I'd say that this all-in-one book spares me the hours of moving between websites and other volumes. But the truth is, I spend more time with The Bill James Handbook, because it's cover-to-cover enjoyment.

Here's the handy register of every player who appeared in 2012, complete with minor-league data for recent Major Leaguers. I wish my old Sporting News and MacMillan registers had so many stat categories ... Here's the best of John Dewan's unique Fielding Bible - the modern-metric version of Gold Gloves, plus the leaders by position for runs saved and plus/minus performance, all backed up by the most comprehensive 2012 Fielding Register available anywhere ... Here are Leader Boards like you've never seen elsewhere: 90 categories each for AL batters, AL pitchers, NL batters and NL pitchers. Basic stats, situational stats, and such fun stuff as longest (and shortest) home runs, and swing-and-miss percentage ...

Here's a Handbook original: Individual-player breakdowns of baserunning efficiency (extra bases taken and baserunning gaffes) ... And such other Bill James specialties as Win Shares, Career Targets, Hall of Fame Monitor, and Team Efficiency (which teams over-performed/underperformed their stats).

If you share my passion for pitching, here's the mother lode: Every pitcher's performance hitting, fielding and holding base runners; the new Pitcher Analysis shows totals for groundballs, fly balls and line drives and how many times each pitcher got ahead or behind in the count; each man's pitch repertoire and how often they threw each pitch. (Top starters like Justin Verlander, Clayton Kershaw, Felix Hernandez and Roy Halladay have four pitches each, while R.A. Dickey gets by, quite well, with 85 percent knuckleballs. Lights-out closers Aroldis Chapman and Craig Kimbrel rely on two pitchers. That may be a hint about whether Chapman will become a starter, or how effective a starter he will be if he gets the chance.)

There's more. But that's the fun of having the treasure box that is the Bill James Handbook. Everywhere you search, there's another gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Stat Fans Stat Book, November 8, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bill James Handbook 2013 (Paperback)
I have every copy of the Bill James Handbook that has ever been printed for over 20 years. Each year they expand the coverage of statistics. Want to know about managers? Want to see projections? Want to see by ballpark? It's all here. Then, since the beginning, they publish the book by the Holidays. If you have a baseball fan, especially a stat person, this is a great Christmas gift! If you don't get this book for Christmas, you should put in your order with Amazon the day after Christmas. Personally, I can't wait, so I have pre-ordered this book for years! Bill James is the best Sabermetrician I've ever known. The Bill James Handbook is the single best stat book in print. It may not be the only stat book you'll buy this year, but if you only buy one, this is the book you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bill James Delivers Again!, November 2, 2012
This review is from: The Bill James Handbook 2013 (Paperback)
Each year at this time many baseball stat geeks, myself included, feel that temporary sense of depression that comes with the end of the season. The Bill James Handbook is that "port in the storm" that thaws that depression as it helps bridge the gap between the end of the World Series to the start of spring training. Bill, John Dewan, Greg Pierce and their staff at Baseball Info Solutions have again delivered the ultimate compilation of statistics derived from the recently concluded MLB season. All statistics, all the time! No opinionated player reviews here! If you are a baseball afficionado, a fantasy or sim player, or simply the aforementioned stat geek, this is the book you'll need to review the stats of every individual player who set foot on the field, hitters and pitchers, during the just concluded 2012 MLB season. Replete with current and season-by-season stats for 1000+ players, the book also offers other statistical analysis such as team stats, defense ratings (team and individual), pitching breakdowns (or breakouts!) and much, much more!

From a S-O-M player of 38 years and a baseball fan from the womb, I couldn't do without this book each and every off-season!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another in a long series of excellence, January 12, 2013
By 
Steven A. Peterson (Hershey, PA (Born in Kewanee, IL)) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bill James Handbook 2013 (Paperback)
Another in a long line of Bill James' handbooks. Publication of each volume tells us that a new baseball season is coming. And the statistics included in this volume always provide focus for the upcoming season.

One of the features that I especially like is the estimates of the most likely players to enter the Hall of Fame or to break key records. Hall of Fame? A scoring system is developed, with a score of 100 or more meaning that the player has a good chance of entering the Hall. Who are the 100-pointers? Trevor Hoffman, Mariano Rivera, Ken Griffey, Jr., Ivan Rodriguez, Chipper Jones, Manny Ramirez, Ichiro Suzuki, Derek Jeter, Alex Rodriguez, Vlad Guerrero, and Albert Pujols. Will all of these make it? Most will, but we shall see. . .

Any likely 300 game winners? Not looking so good. Justin Verlander has a 37% chance and CC Sabathia a 36% chance. A lot less than 50-50 for the best bets. Are the days of 300 win pitchers done? What about the all time home run record? A-Rod's chances went from fairly good to less than 1% over the past few years. Injuries have taken a toll on him. Top shot? Pujols at a low 10% chance.

Hitter and pitcher projections for performance are also cool to consider (because one can check out the projections after the 2013 season is over). I'm a Chicago White Sox fan, so let's take a look at a couple of their players. Adam Dunn? 33 homers and a wretched .207 batting average. Is Paul Konerko going to begin a decline? His projection--30 home rune, 92 RBIs, and a .281 average. Not too shabby. Pitchers? I am intrigued by the potential of Chris Sale. His won loss prediction--14-8. ERA? 3.09. 214 strikeouts in 198 innings pitched. Let's see how well these pan out.

Another fine volume!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting for stat hounds, March 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bill James Handbook 2013 (Paperback)
Would have liked more essays. Bill James is a great writer--not just a great baseball writer. The projections for this year make this a 'keep it by the armchair' staple for baseball fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars King James, February 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bill James Handbook 2013 (Paperback)
Been using BJ's annual pronouncements since the early 2000's. He is right on the money most all of the time and I set my entire draft based on his numbers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of great data if I could read it without a magnifier, February 2, 2013
By 
Melrin (West Texas) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bill James Handbook 2013 (Paperback)
As everyone noted the book is full of every stat - relevant to arcane - that anyone could ever want and more than most will ever need. If you've never seen one in person I suggest you find a copy to look at before you buy it because parts of it can be excruciatingly difficult to read. I wish I had looked for a spiral bound copy but that's the past. I do wear glasses but I have no trouble reading fine print on web pages or other stats books like Baseball Prospectus Prospect Handbook. This book however really should be offered in digital format to make it easier to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of its kind!, December 5, 2012
By 
Quisp500 (Staten Island, NY USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bill James Handbook 2013 (Paperback)
This is the perfect companion to the conclusion of the baseball season. Every year I dig into this book and am amazed at how much I learn about baseball. If you love stats and want to be more informed on what you're watching, this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT STATS, November 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bill James Handbook 2013 (Paperback)
A must have EVERY season--the day it comes out!

It's filled with great stats and of course, players' career stats
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much info packed into it!!, November 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bill James Handbook 2013 (Paperback)
This book has been published for a number of years now. It's like the old Baseball Register or Who's Who in Baseball, but with a lot more information, and it comes out in November right after the World Series ends. They have year by year stats for every player, plus hundreds of pages on fielding, baserunning, relief pitching, ballparks & much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Bill James Handbook 2013
The Bill James Handbook 2013 by Baseball Info Solutions (Paperback - November 1, 2012)
$26.95 $10.44
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.