Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Speed, Precision AND Thoroughness
In the oft-aired TV ads, couples extol the virtues of cars with AND rather than the unsatisfying OR. Yet again this year, The Bill James Handbook delivers the AND to baseball fans. Before the Handbook, we had to choose -- reliable season-end stats OR prompt delivery. Traditional stats OR modern advanced metrics. Flat, but comprehensive statistical reporting OR insightful,...
Published 13 months ago by Glenn Guzzo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars it's fine, it just doesn't go beyond the kind of ...
It's okay. It really bugs me that no sabermetric stats are included in the player's main listing. It also bothers me that Win Shares, of all things, is in a separate section. Otherwise, it's fine, it just doesn't go beyond the kind of stuff they used to publish before sabermetrics, except in the sections after the actual main listing of the players.
Published 3 months ago by David B. Yourman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Speed, Precision AND Thoroughness, November 19, 2013
This review is from: The Bill James Handbook 2014 (Paperback)
In the oft-aired TV ads, couples extol the virtues of cars with AND rather than the unsatisfying OR. Yet again this year, The Bill James Handbook delivers the AND to baseball fans. Before the Handbook, we had to choose -- reliable season-end stats OR prompt delivery. Traditional stats OR modern advanced metrics. Flat, but comprehensive statistical reporting OR insightful, analytical stats on key players. The Bill James Handbook gives us AND in all these ways, and countless others. In effect, we get Cy Young winner Max Scherzer's fastball (56% of his pitchers at an average velocity of 93.3 mph), his change-up (21%), his slider (15%) AND his curve (8%). That's in the Handbook showing every 2013 pitcher's repertoire. AND Scherzer's repertoire is most similar to teammate Justin Verlander. That's in the preceding insightful text, which also tells us that 72% of Major League pitchers have an average velocity north of 90 mph.

The Handbook gives us all kinds of fun stuff like this, AND it's the best single reference for fundamental data -- team stats, a complete player register, completing fielding records for every player, registers showing the tactics of every manager AND the performance of every ballpark. In the same book, we've got lefty-righty performance for every batter AND pitcher, Win Shares for every player (for 2013 AND each of his seasons the past decade), AND 2014 statistical projections. We now know which teams created the most runs with small-ball tactics, which teams used infield shifts most often and most effectively, which outfielder's robbed the most home runs AND how often replays changed umpire calls.

There's way more in this book than anyone with a life has time to list. I love baseball AND I have a life. The Bill James Handbook makes me happier with both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Been buying this for decades, December 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bill James Handbook 2014 (Paperback)
For us baseball fans/fanatics, it's always been an invaluable reference and tool. Career stats, lefty/righty splits, career leaders, etc, etc, etc. Been happy ever since Amazon started selling it at a lower price:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another year, another Bill James handbook: A treat, December 13, 2013
By 
Steven A. Peterson (Hershey, PA (Born in Kewanee, IL)) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bill James Handbook 2014 (Paperback)
I look forward to each year's new edition of The Bill James Handbook. This one is no exception.

One, there is accountability. The Handbook predicts performance of individual players in the coming year. And, afterwards, one can see how well the projections performed.

Two, record and Hall of Fame projections. Odds of pitchers getting to 300 wins? Justin Verlander ranks # 1, with a 30% chance (not very encouraging). 3,000 hits? Alex Rodriguez is listed at 98% likely (but if a suspension?). Then, Adrian Beltre at 81%. 762 home runs? Miguel Cabrera at a measly 13%. Etc.

Then, projections for pitchers. I am a White Sox fan and am curious about Chris Sale. He is predicted to have a 3.08 ERA and a 15-10 record. Hitting? Adam Dunn is projected to hit 32 home runs and 86 RBIs, with another underwhelming batting average--.211.

Leading candidates for the Hall of Fame? A score of 100 indicates a near sure thing to get into the Hall. Among those with this score: Mariano Rivera (no brainer), Manny Ramirez, Chipper Jones, Alex Rodriguez (we shall see, given the allegations), Derek Jeter, Vlad Guerrero, Ichiro Suzuki, Albert Pujols, and Miguel Cabrera.

Then the individual player statistics for 2013. And so on and so on. A myriad intriguing statistics.

Are you a figure filbert? Then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Book for Baseball Fans- Old School & New School, November 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bill James Handbook 2014 (Paperback)
Excellent book for all who love baseball, want to know the numbers, and learn more, in a very readable form, about the new wave of statistical anaylsis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only Baseball Book you'll very need to draft in your league, December 13, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bill James Handbook 2014 (Paperback)
I have collected every issue of this book since it was first published in the late 80s. It is 90% statistics and gives you every number you could possibly need, especially if you are preparing for t?he next season and your league's draft. Best of all, it's always out in Time to give for Christmas gifts. You might want to keep it out of the hands of other managers in your league! This is the kind of book that I would rate six stars out of five!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bill James Delivers Again, December 1, 2013
By 
Pawpaw Bruce (Asheville, NC United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bill James Handbook 2014 (Paperback)
This is something I look forward to every November 1, complete stats for every major league player about a month after the regular season ends. While all of these numbers are available online, it still feels good to have this hard copy record in my hands. I keep the current edition of the Handbook beside my chair and refer to it often while watching games or reading about baseball.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another good publication, April 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bill James Handbook 2014 (Paperback)
Excellent detail as always. Have purchased for the last 3 years. It is always top - notch and very good reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars it's fine, it just doesn't go beyond the kind of ..., September 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bill James Handbook 2014 (Paperback)
It's okay. It really bugs me that no sabermetric stats are included in the player's main listing. It also bothers me that Win Shares, of all things, is in a separate section. Otherwise, it's fine, it just doesn't go beyond the kind of stuff they used to publish before sabermetrics, except in the sections after the actual main listing of the players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for any fan who wants to go below the surface of the great game, June 9, 2014
By 
Jerry K. Smith (Sweetwater, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bill James Handbook 2014 (Paperback)
I have heard about new metrics for years, but never researched them much until after "Moneyball." Now I have purchased and read many books on the subject (Baseball Prospectus, Baseball Forecaster, and now the Bill James Handbook.) Each has similarities, but there are also several differences. I spent many hours last off season digging deeper and learning more about the game I have enjoyed so much. If you love baseball and have the time during the winter months, I highly recommend these books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars so cool, April 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bill James Handbook 2014 (Paperback)
bill james is truly one of the smartest people in the world, i wish i had this book before fantasy baseball started
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Bill James Handbook 2014
The Bill James Handbook 2014 by Bill James (Paperback - November 1, 2013)
$26.95 $2.81
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.