Customer Reviews


687 Reviews
5 star:
 (417)
4 star:
 (125)
3 star:
 (79)
2 star:
 (37)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


98 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It gets better every time you see it...
Alfred Hitchcock apparently spent the better part of two years trying to find subject matter that he felt would be worthy of a follow up film after 1960's PSYCHO. He bought Daphne duMaurier's short story, "The Birds", and very quickly decided that he would only retain the title, and the bird attack plot point. Evan Hunter and Hitchcock crafted the...
Published on March 27, 2000

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missing parts...
I love this movie. The odd thing is that a part I remember seeing in the theaters is not there. When the children leave the schoolhouse there is a very tense part where they walk quietly by the birds, who become more and more menacing, and then attack. It is one of the best scenes in the movie. Strangely enough, it skips that entire part and just starts with the kids...
Published on April 23, 2012 by Jraptor


‹ Previous | 1 269 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

98 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It gets better every time you see it..., March 27, 2000
By A Customer
Alfred Hitchcock apparently spent the better part of two years trying to find subject matter that he felt would be worthy of a follow up film after 1960's PSYCHO. He bought Daphne duMaurier's short story, "The Birds", and very quickly decided that he would only retain the title, and the bird attack plot point. Evan Hunter and Hitchcock crafted the screenplay structure, and after a staggering amount of technical pre-production, Hitchcock made THE BIRDS. It opened to huge acclaim from the public, if not critics, and is one of the master of suspense's best remembered pictures. As it should be. And with the stunning new DVD edition, this terrific movie at last gets the home video treatment it so richly deserves.
The transfer is immaculately sharp and clear, letterboxed at the 1.85:1 ratio used for theatrical exhibition, and the mono digital sound is clean and vibrant. The letterboxing actually gives the film more breathing room, and some of the sequences, especially the complex technical passages such as the attack on the school, and the spectacular attack on the town, have a visceral punch that's ratcheted up by the clarity of the digital image and sound. Don't be put off by the many sodium process shots that were necessitated by the demands of the screenplay; they are perfectly cut into the film, and give the movie a primitive realism that is perfectly in keeping with Hitchcock's stylized view of reality. His films are all designed within an inch of their lives, and the audience is all the better for it.
The extras on this collector's edition are quite valuable. A featurette entitled "All About The Birds" presents interviews with actors Tippi Hedren, Rod Taylor, Veronica Cartwright, along with various technical personnel, and is lively and full of information about the film's production. Also featured are Tippi's screen test, production notes, a trailer, and web links. This is one package that beautifully showcases a film which gets better each time you see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sure to Ruffle Your Feathers, May 10, 2000
By 
J. Michael Click (Pineville, Missouri, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Hitchcock's macabre classic finally gets its due on this DVD Collector's Edition. The film, which by turns thrills (the various bird attacks) and amuses (the frequently bantering dialogue), is presented in all its widescreen glory -- an important consideration for Hitchcock enthusiasts, given the director's meticulous planning of his films' visual compositions. "The Birds" features some great cinematography, a nerve-wracking soundtrack, and some finely wrought performances (particularly those of Jessica Tandy, Suzanne Pleshette and Ethel Griffies); all are well-served by the film-to-DVD transfer. There are a wealth of bonus features, including newsreel footage of Hitchcock and Hedren publicizing the film, an extensive stills gallery, and a fascinating behind the scenes production documentary. Especially intriguing are the ad-libbed screen test clips pairing Hedren with "Psycho" player Martin Balsam while Hitchcock provides verbal instructions off-camera! All in all, a most welcome addition to my DVD collection, and one I'm pleased to recommend for yours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


88 of 101 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hitchcock's masterpiece..., June 3, 2005
By 
Wil-n-Tally "bavabuff" (Tallahassee, FL United States) - See all my reviews
The Birds is Hitchcock's masterpiece. It is my official selection for the best Hitchcock movie EVER...It is so much more than just a horror movie - especillay when you start asking yourself why the birds attack. Could the bird attacks be fueled by female sexual hysteria and competition for the only virile male (Rod Taylor) in the film? Or could it be just mankind's payback for abusing the fowl of the animal kingdom? This film is loaded with haunting images and symbolism which deserves multiple viewings and discussion among serious film buffs. Not only is the film worth 5 stars but there is an impressive flock of DVD extras. The film itself is a beautiful widescreen presentation with very nice sound; the extras should thrill Hitchophiles with a "making of documentary", vintage newsreels of the film's theatrical release, a very witty original trailer, deleted scenes, and Tippi Hedren's original screen test. YES!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whenever I'm Near A Lot Of Birds ..., January 27, 2000
Although I don't think that The Birds is Alfred Hitchcock's greatest film, it is probably my favourite of his movies. I've seen the trailer for the film, and it's very humourous, and obviously Hitchcock wanted to have a lot of fun with his audience. The trailer suggests that the birds attack as a response to all that man has done to them over the years. It's an interesting idea, especially since the reason for the attacks is omitted in the film, which is one of the things that I like about it. I like the way the film looks at the reaction of people to bizarre events, especially as some of the townspeople connect the arrival of the birds with the arrival of Tippi Hedren as though she somehow brought this on them. I didn't even notice that there wasn't a musical soundtrack the first time I saw the film, because the sounds of the birds attacking amidst the silence is really effective. The performers are good, especially Suzanne Pleshette, and although I don't think Tippi Hedren was the greatest actress to appear before a camera, I think she's better than most people give her credit for, especially considering that the actors are secondary to all that is happening in the film. She looks great, and projects a certain detached coolness, which is appropriate for the character. The special effects are good (condsidering the time), and the tension slowly builds with each attack. I particularly like the scene where Tippi Hedren waits outside the schoolhouse, and the birds slowly gather behind her without her knowledge. For me, this is a fun movie to watch, well made and very effective for its purpose. I've seen a lot of other suspense and horror films and they generally don't stay with me. But I have to admit that there have been a few times when I have gone by a large group of birds perched somewhere, and I've flashbacked to this movie and walked a little faster!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Birdy num num., January 17, 2002
By A Customer
Thoroughly mean-spirited (just ask Ms. Hedren) Hitchcock film about a sudden, senseless bird-attack in a sleepy Northern California town. For my money, *The Birds* is Hitchcock's best movie -- an opinion probably not shared by many, but why be typical? Why do I think *The Birds* to be the Master's best? Perhaps it's the rigorous special effects, way ahead of their time. (And so complicated that Hitch never attempted anything like this again.) Perhaps it's the creepy little touches like, for example, no score . . . except for the experimental electronic sound effects that sound remarkably like avian screeches in Hell. Perhaps it's the force of Hitchcock's fury at America's mid-century complacency: people like you and me die in very ugly ways in this movie. (Significantly, children are attacked several times.) Perhaps it's the Oedipus subtext: when one character dismisses Rod Taylor's momma-fixation with the throwaway phrase, "Apologies to Dr. Freud, but that's not the problem," well, there's your clue -- it is indeed the problem. Perhaps it's the rather unnerving sadism that could conceive the scene near the end when Tippi's attacked in a besieged house. Perhaps it's the final shot -- one of the most grim, somehow, in movie history. Nothing else in the Master's canon is quite so fundamental in its brutality, doubtless because there are no maguffins here, no tawdry human motivations . . . just death and destruction. A chilling masterwork. Universal's DVD is excellent: superb picture, good sound, somewhat overly-technical "Making Of", and Tippi Hedren's screen test . . . during which you can hear Hitch (and Martin Balsam as well) well-nigh pant from lust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Birds of many feathers may flock together, February 15, 2005
Strangely enough, or maybe not strangely at all, the film has aged. The building of the suspense, the progression from one strange behaviour of one bird to a mass attack from flocks, schools and shoals of birds is still perfect. We are also observing the building up of the hysterical attitudes of human beings in front of this situation, in all the shades and hues we can imagine. The bird-lover who does not want to believe it and turns against the stranger as the one who caused the disturbance. The drunkie who finds in the Bible the perfect explanation of the end of the world brought by birds. The rational policeman who refuses to believe it and tries to find some more criminal explanation. And then ordinary people who lose all sanity and become agressive, paranoiac and even psychotic under the shock when they realize that they cannor do anything against thousands of birds who are the perfect uncatchable army. Then Hitchcock goes a little bit further by showing how one or two people can remain sensible and resist the attack and run away without causing a new attack. But there is no hope, except to run away and hide. Against such a mass of assailants there is no real protection or defense. They can break windows, peck through roofs and doors. They are all-powerful. Hitchcock of course mixes a dose of humour in this drama, particularly in the first half with the meeting of his « Jane » and « his « Tarzan » in a bird shop where Tarzan, sorry Mitch, is looking for two lovebirds. Love indeed will come out of it, but on how many corpses and victims. Humour turns sour and bitter. But the ending is kind of flat : running away on tiptoe in a car after the battle lacks luster and shine, the flight of powerless people who cannot stand tall in front of danger. This is a new way of looking at the world. No fight is proper when you deal with a nearly invisible, innumerable and massive attacker. This is maybe a lesson about our modern world : we are very helpless in front of terrorism when it moves masses of warriors who do not fight according to standard war rules, methods and laws. How can you catch such enemies who are always on the move and are a multitude of unpredictable kamikazes ?

Dr Jacques COULARDEAU
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite Hitchcock film, June 9, 2000
By 
THE BIRDS has always been my favorite Hitch film. All the wonderful traits we've come to love and expect in a Hitchcock film are here: suspense, moments of terror, and counter-balancing those, needed moments of humor. The plot has been outlined many times already in other reviews, so I'll skip that. What I do need to point out concerning this Collector's Edition DVD version is the outstanding "extras" that come with. Included is the telling of Hitchcock's original ending, an example of Hitch's story-boarding a scene, Tippi Hedren's screen test, and the inclusion (via photos and commentary) of a deleted scene.
The highlight of the entire DVD however, is the most superb "Behind the Scenes" documentary of the making of this film that I've yet seen on a DVD release. Almost everything you want to know about the making of this film, including how all the bird attacks/tricks were done, comes from interviews with Rod Taylor, Tippi Hedren, Veronica Cartright, Patricia Hitchcock (Hitch's daughter) and many others. Simply a fantastic documentary. Even if you might not consider purchasing the DVD because you don't really care for the movie, the documentary alone makes it worth the price. Never before have I learned so much about the making of a movie, and in particular, one of Hitchcock's. Not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Birds Of A Feather Stick Together!, September 30, 2005
By 
Anthony Nasti "Tony" (Staten Island, New York United States) - See all my reviews
Alfred Hitchcock finished off his quartet of masterpieces between 1958 and 1963 with this classic thriller about birds run (or is it flown?) amok. It was his last film before many feel he hit a decline, as many feel everything after "The Birds" was weak.

Beautiful blonde Melanie Daniels ("Tippi" Hedren in her film debut) has arrived in beautiful Bodega Bay, where she falls in love with Mitch Brenner (Rod Taylor). One day, a seagull attacks her without reason. Soon, bird attacks are reported around the town, as our feathered friends target school children and residents in horrifying strings of attacks. Mitch and Melanie must rely on their wits and each other before it's too late.

"The Birds" is truly a masterpiece. edren excels in her first film role, and the rest of the cast is great. Hitchcock directed this film with fist clenching assuredness, and some of his finest camerawork is present on this film. The extras are great. If you don't own "The Birds", then what are you waiting for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'The Birds" soar with suspense!, October 29, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you remember seeing this movie at your theatre or on television a long time ago then you should have this DVD in your collection! It is still one of Hitchcock's masterpieces after 42 years. It has a quiet beginning but picks up the pace later on. Good entertainment!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hitch's Most Under-Rated Film, December 3, 1999
By 
The Birds is a HORRIFYINGLY MAGNIFICENT film, and deserves more appreciation than it gets. Even though it is one of Hitchcock's most famous, many people find the plot completely empty. Wrong! This film is more than meets the eye, the birds-eye, if you will. You must watch closely to find the messages, so that you can fully enjoy it. No, The Birds may not be as complex as Psycho or Vertigo, but it is the symolism and sheer TERROR that sets it apart. It's a movie you will watch over and over, and find new things each time. In my opinion, that is the best quality of a film, and there is no film I see it more in than The Birds. That is why it is MY FAVORITE ALFRED HITCHCOCK MOVIE. Don't listen to those who can't get past the literal plot, but look deeper into the messages of the film, and SCREAM your way through it again and again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 269 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Birds
The Birds by Alfred Hitchcock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.