Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


244 of 249 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A WEALTH OF INFORMATION AND INSIGHTS!
An excellent source for information and guidance. The book's three main parts cover: how to plan, lead and manage outsourcing initiatives; a guide to finding an outsourcing career; and a guide for outsourcing entrepreneurs. Some specific topics include: making decisions to outsource; what is needed to be known before starting; assessing cost, benefit, and risk;...
Published on July 23, 2005 by Gerry Stern

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cursory Overview at best
This book does not offer any significant value to anyone seriously considering the detailed aspects of outsourcing. Was extremely dissapointed in the acaademic approach to SLAs and contractual issues instead of real tangible insights into these areas. Can find better resources in free options. Will not advance your ability to execute this type of model. Not a book I would...
Published on February 16, 2012 by JMack


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

244 of 249 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A WEALTH OF INFORMATION AND INSIGHTS!, July 23, 2005
This review is from: The Black Book of Outsourcing: How to Manage the Changes, Challenges, and Opportunities (Hardcover)
An excellent source for information and guidance. The book's three main parts cover: how to plan, lead and manage outsourcing initiatives; a guide to finding an outsourcing career; and a guide for outsourcing entrepreneurs. Some specific topics include: making decisions to outsource; what is needed to be known before starting; assessing cost, benefit, and risk; outsourcing options; selecting suppliers and vendors; and much more. Includes an annotated, extensive vendor directory. Offers a wealth of information and insights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


136 of 137 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive survey, December 21, 2005
This review is from: The Black Book of Outsourcing: How to Manage the Changes, Challenges, and Opportunities (Hardcover)
Authors Douglas Brown and Scott Wilson offer a good, elementary introduction to outsourcing. They present a comprehensive survey of how to decide whether to outsource and how to select an outsource vendor, deal with contract negotiations and prepare for the reality behind the hype of outsourcing. Many business readers may be surprised to learn that, notwithstanding the great difference in pay between Indian and American engineers (for example), first-year savings on outsourcing contracts may be as little as 15%, and company productivity may fall by this amount or more because of the time you must invest in knowledge-transfer and training. The book includes a lengthy directory of firms involved in outsourcing services and provides several chapters to guide employees who are facing the possibility of having their jobs outsourced. We recommend this book to managers whose companies are considering outsourcing and to those who hope for careers in the burgeoning outsourcing industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


141 of 145 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this Book if you're going to buy Just ONE book on Outsourcing, September 7, 2005
This review is from: The Black Book of Outsourcing: How to Manage the Changes, Challenges, and Opportunities (Hardcover)
A 'must read' for serious companies considering outsourcing.

Outsourcing is a $6 trillion global industry and is a hot topic not only in business but in the daily papers, where workers displaced complain and employers saving money face the pros and cons of outsourcing. Several books have appeared on the topic, but THE BLACK BOOK OF OUTSOURCING: HOW TO MANAGE THE CHANGES, CHALLENGES & OPPORTUNITIES differs in several ways. It's written by a team of experts on the topic who's been coaching executives on outsourcing practices for over a decade, it explains the values - when conducted properly - of outsourcing, and it tells how to identify the right partners and fine-tune outsourcing relationships. It speaks to the user - not in theoretical or highly technical jargon as most the other outsourcing books available want to do. Full of actionable plans and items. Its like a consulting engagement in a book at a very affordable price. Go for this one if you're shopping for an outsourcing book. Trust me, its that much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


101 of 103 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE OUTSOURCING BIBLE!, September 18, 2005
This review is from: The Black Book of Outsourcing: How to Manage the Changes, Challenges, and Opportunities (Hardcover)
This book was entitled "The Outsourcing Bible" in publishing circles for the year it was being edited and anticipated. I am not sure why the name changed, because I think it perfectly defines what you'll find inside.

Brown & Wilson are entrepreneurial motivators who share their years of outsourcing experience around the world in areas far beyond just IT (as many of the other outsourcing books available seem to center on).

BPO, RPO, PEO, HRO, ASO, MSO, CRO, and APOs are just some of the acronyms business owners need to become acquainted with - not just ITO (Information Systems Outsourcing).

Haven't heard of them? You better get yourself this book quick! I thought they did a great job deliverying what they promised. AMEN!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


100 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Academic's Choice: Used As the Outsourcing Text by Several College Instructors, September 18, 2005
This review is from: The Black Book of Outsourcing: How to Manage the Changes, Challenges, and Opportunities (Hardcover)
This book brings outsourcing theory to life in a way that allows you to hit the ground running. Its pragmatic approach offers frequent and hidden insights into actions to take and, more importantly, what mistakes to avoid. MBA students are using this book currently at dozens of US colleges.

"The Black Book of Outsourcing: How to Manage the Changes, Challenges and Opportunities" is without a doubt, the finest outsourcing book available including the newcomer copy cats. It covers a complex subject in a comprehensive manner and does not just focus on Information Systems (IT) outsourcing. That alone makes it an outstanding investment for all business managers and support staff including Accounting, Audit, Marketing, Sales, Purchasing, Materials Management, Human Resources, Administration, QA, Finance and Outsourcing Governance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


110 of 113 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "This is, without question, the most comprehensive publication on outsourcing. It's destined to become the most regarded source", September 8, 2005
This review is from: The Black Book of Outsourcing: How to Manage the Changes, Challenges, and Opportunities (Hardcover)
I READ THIS BOOK COVER TO COVER. IT IS EXACTLY WHAT PEOPLE ARE SAYING ABOUT IT.

Robert Reich

"This book will help you gain an understanding that in the new global, high-tech economy, there's no cruising altitude."

- Former U.S. Secretary of Labor, Clinton Administration

John Steele

"The code for outsourcing management has been broken and the secrets for success are here in this book. The Black Book of Outsourcing has it all. This book will surely be a classic."

- Group Director,British Telecom/Yahoo

Joseph P. Quinlan

"An exhaustive, in-depth look at one of the most pressing competitive issues of our time. Required reading for all executives who hope to survive in the global economy."

- -Chief Global Economist, The Johns Hopkins University

Joann Martin

"Brown & Wilson deliver on the best, most innovative, new practices all aimed at helping one and all survive, manage, and lead in this new economy."

- Corporate Vice President, Pitney Bowes Management Services

Ashish Arora

"The Black Book of Outsourcing offers fresh, organized thinking on one of the most vexing and emotionally charged business challenges."

- -Professor, The Heinz School of Public Policy and Management, Carnegie Mellon University

Thomas J. Donohue

"The Black Book of Outsourcing moves beyond the rhetoric and offers specific strategies for those choosing to outsource and for those whose careers have been impacted by outsourcing. Outsourcing is a reality. This book shows companies and workers alike how to turn it into an opportunity."

- -President and CEO, United States Chamber of Commerce

Terry Jost

"Outsourcing is not a fad, but an important shift in how business is done in the global economy. As a global outsourcing leader, Capgemini understands the importance of being informed in making any outsourcing decision. The Black Book of Outsourcing provides a wealth of information on how to get it right."

- -North American Outsourcing Leader, Capgemini

J. Brian Quinn

"This book challenges readers to re-evaluate their preconceived notions about outsourcing."

- Buchanan Professor of Management Emeritus, Tuck School of Business, Dartmouth College

Ward Holland

"This is, without question, the most comprehensive publication on outsourcing. It's destined to become the most regarded source of essential outsourcing information and practice. The Black Book of Outsourcing is the most important outsourcing investment you can make."

- Vice President, Strategic Initiatives and Corporate Development,Wachovia

Shiv Nadar

"Outsourcing is a business imperative in our interconnected and interdependent world. Organizations who successfully leverage its power create value for their stakeholders. This book will help you master that destiny."

- Founder and Chief Executive Officer, HCL Technologies

Dilip R. Vellodi

"Business leaders hoping to understand the concerns, challenges and motivating forces behind the subject of global sourcing will find The Black Book of Outsourcing to be an extremely valuable and important tool."

- Chief Executive Officer, Sutherland Global Services

Juergen Rottler

"Oracle-On-Demand (formerly Oracle Outsourcing) is the future of how we will develop, deliver and support technology, a service that eliminates the challenge of managing IT. The Black Book of Outsourcing captures how to get outsourcing results and provides invaluable advice for leaders who are trying to drive tighter execution within their organizations."

- Executive Vice President, Oracle Corporation

Raj Patil

"As more and more companies embrace offshoring solutions, The Black Book of Outsourcing should become a useful aid to the business person looking to navigate the industry with success."

- Senior Vice President, Marketing and Sales Strategy, MphasiS Corporation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


93 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is The "Smart Business-Person's Outsourcing Book", September 18, 2005
This review is from: The Black Book of Outsourcing: How to Manage the Changes, Challenges, and Opportunities (Hardcover)
Two big thumbs up for this outsourcing how-to book. The value is extraordinary as it contains more information that you'd get in the average consulting engagement. If you're smart, savvy and motivated, this single selection will take you farther than the stack of other outsourcing books combined.

I recommend you compare the tables of contents available through Amazon "Look Inside" as well as sample excerpts and indexes. The resource directories alone in this book will make you an expert just by having it as a reference on your desk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


89 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Preparation for Executives by Good Guy Authors, September 22, 2005
This review is from: The Black Book of Outsourcing: How to Manage the Changes, Challenges, and Opportunities (Hardcover)
I bought this book several weeks ago when I learned I would be taking over our corporate outsourcing initiative (without much outsourcing governance education besides an MBA and purchasing experience).

Brown & Wilson's book took me step by step in actionable phases that brought me and our $148M company into the age of successful outsourcing. We no longer guess what outsourcing programs and projects are profitable or sensible. We no longer have vendors leading us into agreements we are unfamiliar with. Our service level agreements are tight and our relationships have true benchmarks.

I also recently read via Associated Press that Brown & Wilson's consulting firm is donating community economic re-development advice to the regions hit hard by the Hurricanes to attract outsourcing jobs to US areas rebuilding businesses.

Their efforts seems to be atruistic in bringing outsourcing jobs back, not advocating offshoring as most the other outsourcing authors do. The article said they have a track record of helping revive areas of US employment (Indian reservations, inner cities, rural poor) by orchestrating the events necessary to accomplish such a huge feat.

I highly recommend the book and expect we'll hear more about how these good guys are making business sense where we most need it.

Bottom Line on The Black Book of Outsourcing is you'll be surprised how far you can go with what you'll learn very rapidly. Thank you very much for allowing my opinion. MG
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Two Books on Outsourcing & Global Economics I Found, March 13, 2006
This review is from: The Black Book of Outsourcing: How to Manage the Changes, Challenges, and Opportunities (Hardcover)
Kudo's to Thomas Friedman for bringing the much needed attention to the impending business issues of offshoring, globalization and outsourcing. Through interviewing influential executives at top technology companies in India and the US in particular, he has crafted a first-person journalist's trip report intertwined with personal anecdotes. The book has been critiqued as being a "how I spent my summer vacation" treatment of this serious subject of globalization which takes several hours to move through, this book is for you.

A more practically written and concise new book that I couldn't put down until I finished -- in just 2 hours is THE BLACK BOOK OF OUTSOURCING by Doug Brown & Dr Scott Wilson. I dog-earred and highlighted and post-it noted this perfect outsourcing reference manual and it sits directly on my desk for regular user.

THE BLACK BOOK OF OUTSOURCING has just been released in the last six months through Wiley Publishers, and it begins where Friedman left off. Not only does it encapsulate Friedman's message in just a few short pages, it goes on to provide thought-provoking ideas for action.

It's written by a business and technology experts and has contributions from a dozen other experts from the outsourcing and offshoring hot spots, including Shanghai, Taipei, Bangalore, Sydney, London, Singapore, and more. If you don't have the time to wade through Friedman's almost 500 pages, or if you have already and want to know more, I highly recommend THE BLACK BOOK OF OUTSOURCING.

Actually, together, they may an awesome team of books in your business arsenal.

Most Importantly, you don't have to be a globalist or economist or a free tank thinker to get this topic to you may think... "why bother reading such high brow stuff?"

Here's why.

Globalization will leave no nation, company or person untouched, including you and me. So, we'd better get ourslves ready for extreme competition. Friedman's Flat World and Brown & Wilson's THE BLACK BOOK OF OUTSOURCING will get you in a place of knowledge, history, business changes, effects, challenges and opportunities.

Botton Line: Buy both books together at discount. No better career advance training is so ready to lead you to a new global business player and executive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Book on Outsourcing, September 29, 2005
This review is from: The Black Book of Outsourcing: How to Manage the Changes, Challenges, and Opportunities (Hardcover)
The Black Book of Outsourcing is an exhaustive guide for the promising arena of outsourcing, providing expert advice on how to outsource, the political complications of outsourcing and about finding a career in this field. A topic of discussion among global citizens, outsourcing is on its way to becoming one of the greatest industries today. Outsourcing experts Douglas Brown and Scott Wilson plot a route for business leaders empowered with organization outsourcing ideas and provide a wealth of job possibilities for people who want to be included in this field. (Site Editor Koeyli Jaluka)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Black Book of Outsourcing: How to Manage the Changes, Challenges, and Opportunities
$45.00 $29.80
Usually ships in 1 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.