Automotive Holiday Deals Up to 50% Off Select Books Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Prime Music Sweepstakes egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grooming Deals Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals Cyber Monday Video Game Deals Outdoor Deals on HTL

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

217 of 227 people found the following review helpful
on April 8, 2014
I have been in contact with the author for a few years now, and on a personal level - she is the REAL DEAL!!!! My son was dx with cancer at the age of 5 in 2007 - after all treatment, he was having dietary issues along with being grossly underweight, as well as losing his taste for certain foods which provide essential nutrition. Well, I happened upon Tess Masters and without hesitation she not only responded via mail, she personally called me and gave me some of the best advise. To date, my son is 6 years cancer free - and still has no idea that we are sneaking veggies into a lot of his food via the Vitamix and Tess' recipes!!! I'm looking forward to trying many more recipes in this book. Thanks Tess xxxxx
66 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
80 of 83 people found the following review helpful
Tess Masters delivers an incredible, inspiring book that contains a variety of mouth-watering recipes, helpful tips on health advice, and much more. The Introduction begins with her own personal story of her journey of discovery on flexibility, a key factor to healthy living. This book is packed with information on proper, healthy diets and the golden key to success in losing weight, and staying healthy.

The author includes delicious recipes on:Appetizers; Snacks; Salads; Main Dishes; Smoothies; Dressings; and more. Tess Masters discusses the power of whole foods, balance, choosing the right blender, and other important information. We learn how to Soak, Chop, Mince, and Grate. The author also discusses why the Spatula is Queen, Types of blenders and performance, raw power, and the colorful photos are inviting.

There is a section on Increased Energy, Prevention Of Disease, and discussions on the well-being of a healthy life. We also learn about Superfoods, Vitamins, minerals, and Antitoxidants. There is interesting information on soaking nuts, cheat charts, how to make homemade milk, and how to Store and Freeze.

The author includes facts on Vegetables, Fruits, and Sweeteners, such as Stevia. She begins Recipes with delicious Smoothies and Shakes such as: Raspberry Lemon Cheesecake, Pineapple Salsa, Creamy Orange C, and other yummy recipes that make your mouth water. We made thus far, the Apple Pie In A Glass And the Chock-Full Chocolate Surprise, both were delicious, and my daughter requested those again. In addition, there is information on:Juicing Versus Blending, Nuts and Seeds, Dips and Spreads, and more.

The desserts are amazing, and we had fun making the Ginger-Apple Pear Butter, which we love on toast. I've tasted Apple Butter once and loved it, so we were anxious to make this. Next we will make the Raspberry Jam, and the Rich But Simple Tomato Soup. My daughter selected the Butternut Bliss soup for tomorrow. I also made the Pear And Candied Walnut With Raspberry Vinaigrette Salad Dressing, very light, refreshing, and tasty. I will be making this again-and-again.

We also learn how to make homemade Vegetable Broth, and the Main Dishes are fantastic. Some Recipes include: Pizza; Tacos; Lasagna; Creamy Mushroom Stronganoff; and other inviting recipes. This book is a delightful addition to my cookbook collection, and I will be gifting it to friends and family on special occasions. Highly recommended!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
on April 14, 2014
This book, and truthfully Tess Masters, the beautiful chef and author, have honestly changed my life. I had the luxury of discovering Tess and her fabulous website [...] two years ago this month. I fell immediately in love, went out and bought a Vitamix based on her inspiring recipes and personal encouragement, and off I went into the kitchen. I eat better, I sleep better, my kids are healthier, my family and I ALL have more energy. We get sick less often. We are more FULL OF LIFE from following the recipes on her website and in this fantastic book!

Have you seen the movie "Julie and Julia" about a young writer attempting to test each and every one of Julia Child's recipes in her first cookbook? Well, that's me and this book (and website, truth be known, but that's a lot of material!) I absolutely love every single Tess Masters recipe I have ever tried, and interestingly, I don't even tweak them. I tweak EVERY recipe, honestly, but not these - they're PERFECT the way they are.

My kids are now slurping all things raw and full of nutrients: hemp seeds, chia seeds, almond milk and kale, gazpacho and cauliflower soup, among other things. They eat flax seeds, coconut and more - sometimes knowingly, sometimes - HA - not! That's the beauty of some of these recipes! You can honestly sneak in the healthy stuff and since the recipes are THAT GOOD the kids don't ask too many questions! We served the "Spicy Gazpacho Grab" and the ridiculously perfect "Pineapple Vanilla Sangria" at a fairly large party one evening and EVERYONE (not the kids) asked for the recipes. I told them all to go buy the book!

There are smoothies, dips, spreads, pancakes, soups, desserts, salads and so much more - but it's not just the recipes that make this book seriously amazing. The educational, loving, teaching aspect makes me want to read and reread this book many times over. “The Blender Girl” cookbook has claimed a permanent spot on my kitchen counter. It's absolutely gorgeous, with stunning photography and outstanding information on how to do things I thought were "too difficult" before reading this. Make my own almond milk? What?! It’s Easy! Tonics? What are those? Fixer-uppers, that's what. Try them, you'll like them. Seriously. Yup, it's really that easy.

Tess Masters breaks down healthy eating and blending to a simple step by step "how to" - it's really rather easy when you have a good teacher. Spend some time in this book and on her website and you'll find yourself hooked too.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
on June 28, 2014
Blender Girl, by Tess Masters, is a book of blender based, vegan recipes. Far from just a smoothie book, there are recipes for soups, salad dressings, snacks, main dishes, and desserts.

There are some good smoothie recipes, of course, but they are not the highlight as far as I’m concerned. What really makes the book unique is the “how to” sections for everything from sprouting grains to making cheese substitutes. Blender Girl really seems to contain everything one would need to know to adopt a healthy, balanced, vegan diet… which is a lot more difficult than one might think.

Of course, for those (like me) who are not interested in a full dietary overhaul, the book still has a lot to offer. I may not sprout my own grains every day, but knowing how to soak cashews to add creaminess to a soup is information I can use. The book is well laid out, and thus I have found it to be a handy reference which I open on a nearly daily basis, even if I am not actually making one of the recipes.

What’s good:

Aside from all the tips and tricks and dietary information, all of which I have found very useful, some of the recipes are phenomenal! The watermelon gazpacho was absolutely perfect during last week’s heat wave. The dream of spinach soup was equally amazing (although I think I will use a little less garlic next time… my piece was especially large). The salad dressings are also excellent. I have not had a chance to try the appetizers or entrées, but I am sure they will not disappoint.

What’s not so good:

I was actually a little disappointed in the smoothies. They are almost all really fruit heavy, with ice as a base. The pineapple salsa smoothie was tasty, as was the fruit curry, but neither of them made much of a meal. I need more than fruit and ice to hold me from 6:00 to snack time. She does have a handy “build your own smoothie” table, and the recipes have provided inspiration for improving my own smoothie making intuition.

It is also worth noting that there are plenty of ingredients that will require a trip to Whole Foods. Raw nuts and miso paste are not on my normal grocery list. The book may contain all of the information needed for a food lifestyle change, but that change will come with a hefty price tag and often a time expense too. It may be true that “anyone can make their own nut milk,” but I for one do not have the time or cash flow to soak and squeeze $20 per pound macadamia nuts each morning.

Bottom Line:

Overall, I would recommend this book for its educational and inspirational value. However, I would approach this with the same mantra with which I implement all attempts at health/diet/life improvement: Something is better than nothing! Blender Girl is really a book advocating an entire way of life, not just a collection of recipes. The reader should be prepared to honestly decide how much of this lifestyle they are able/willing to adopt, and then be okay with that decision.

I know that sounds heavy for a cookbook, but this is the health food movement we are talking about. I have found that, no matter how many changes I make to my diet, there is always someone way more extreme just delighted to tell me all the ways I am poisoning myself and thus not living up to my full health potential. That being said, I want to make it clear that Tess Masters is not at all preachy or dictatorial in her tone! She has a wealth of knowledge that can be incredibly useful, as long as the reader doesn’t allow it to become overwhelming.

Who should read this book:

If you want to consume a raw-foods or vegan diet, this book is definitely for you! The novice will gain the necessary know how, and the experienced will get some really tasty recipes. For those who aren’t interested in specialty stores or just want to know how to make a descent kale smoothie, this book will likely be more work than you bargained for. For all the rest of us, this can be a great resource. Just be willing to substitute where necessary and decide how you will compromise to make this work for you. I give this book 4 out of 5 stars.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
47 of 53 people found the following review helpful
on April 8, 2014
Every now and again you come across a cookbook that is both inspiring and exciting. The Blender Girl, of the eponymous blog, has created such a cookbook. It is filled with vibrant color, brilliant flavors, and tantalizing combinations. The recipes are packed with healthy ingredients, and each involves a high powered blender in the process of creating the masterpieces.

Tess Masters takes the time to walk readers through the ingredients and how to make the most of your blender (on any budget). It is in the recipes, however, that Masters (a.k.a. The Blender Girl) really shines. The recipes highlight raw and superfoods and are all vegan with a number of gluten-free options. With creations like Raspberry-Lemon Cheesecake Smoothie, Apple Pie in a Glass Smoothie, Artichoke and White Bean Dip, and Awesome Almond Crackers, there are multiple ways to start off a snack session. Amazing options like Basic Creamy Cheeze, Pine Nut “Parmesan:, and Macadamia “Feta” are great accompaniments to dozens of entrees, and recipes like Green Smoothie Fruit Leathers, Glowing Greek Salad, Mushroom Magic Soup, Savory, Sweet and Spicy Crepes, and Baked Caramel Apples round out a wonderful selection. The ingredients are readily available and the book is packed with diverse flavors, all of them getting a special touch with the help of the blender.

The sauces, soups, dressings, and toppings made with the help of a blender and some great recipes are all consistently tasty and a great way to expand the range of your Vitamix beyond just smoothies. Mix on!
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
35 of 41 people found the following review helpful
on April 8, 2014
I'm not vegan or gluten free and this is (by far) my favorite cookbook of 2014.
The photographs are stunning and it is full of recipes you actually WANT to make.
Tess Masters has managed to demystify vegan food with a cosmopolitan attitude.
I plan to keep this cookbook out on the counter for healthy inspiration.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on July 19, 2014
Recently, I have been talking to friends about juicing and blending. Several of my friends told me blending is better because you save all the fiber in your fruits and vegetables. I have always been really bad at blending. I always get frustrated with the fact that the blades get stuck or smoothies don't get as smooth as I would like. So, when I came across this book, the Blender Girl, by Tess Masters, I was eager to read it.

the Blender Girl is a recipe book with using your blender as the focal point. Inside there are recipes for smoothies, appetizers, soups, desserts, drinks, and much more. You will also find nutritional information, a guide to choosing a blender, how to make your own milk from nuts, seeds, and grains, and resources on where to find products used in the recipes in the blender.

Two things that helped me in the book were instructions on the order in which to put items in your blender for efficient blending and a "build your own smoothie chart", which lists items in a variety of categories to include in your smoothie. The instructions about what to put in your blender first were very helpful to me since one of my problems has always been getting things smooth. I have been practicing with the tips she gave and it works! I have also used her chart to create my own recipes for smoothies and the ones I have created have not tasted as scrumptious as I would like. Maybe I need to stick to Tess's recipes in the book for now...

Because my family has been moving towards gluten free and eating whole foods, the recipes were not too intimidating which can sometimes be the case with a new cookbook. They seem simple and easy, and extremely healthy, a wonderful way to change your diet. I bought some papaya this week at the grocery store and am looking forward to making the "papaya pleasure" smoothie found on page 59.

I recommend this book to families who are trying to switch to a gluten free diet or anyone who wants to eat more whole foods. There is so much educational information about food in the book that it is difficult for me to share it all. If you are interested in using your blender more frequently, but don't know where to start, this book is for you. The recipes in the book can even be modified to your taste; some ingredients are optional.

Many blessings as you endeavor to live a more healthy lifestyle! Happy blending!


To learn more about Tess Masters, visit her blog here at

Disclaimer: I received this book free from Blogging For Books for this review. I was not required to give a favorable review. The thoughts and opinions expressed here are entirely my own.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on May 19, 2014
Tess Masters, author of a popular recipe blog, offers a cookbook of 100 gluten-free, vegan recipes. All of the recipes can be made utilizing a blender or food processor. The recipes are based on whole foods, with no artificial sweeteners or processed ingredients. Although most of the recipes include nuts, some of them do not. Masters offers recipes for any meal of the day, whether breakfast smoothies, sauces, soups, or pudding.

My favorite part of the book was the "lowdown" section at the very beginning of the book. In the first 39 pages, Masters provides a brief overview and education about the benefits of eating raw foods, food-combining, an alkalizing diet, and even growing your own sprouts and making your own plant based milks. I learned so much!

The recipes are all very easy to follow and live up the the promise of super-healthy foods. The pictures that accompany the recipes are helpful to show what the end result will (should) look like. I also really enjoyed seeing the author in so many of the pictures, demonstrating the food for her readers. On a side note, the cover has flaps that were really helpful in keeping place of my favorite recipe to make.

Finally, the author's humor shines through in different places throughout the book. In the introductions to the recipes, Masters sometimes shares how the recipe was developed, or what she uses it for. Sometimes, they made me laugh, which is probably the first time I've ever laughed while reading a cookbook.

The only thing I did not like about the cookbook was the fact that none of the recipes provided the nutritional information. Obviously the recipes are healthy because they consist of natural ingredients and whole foods. However, different people have different dietary needs, and knowing the nutritional information is a necessity.

If you are looking for healthy recipes, look no further than the offerings of the Blender Girl, Tess Masters.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
I had stomach surgery recently and I've stopped eating greasy processed foods, I thought I should buy some cookbooks with healthy recipes for my blender to kick-start my new diet. This book has everything you want from a cookbook, soups, salads, smoothies, dips, desserts, spreads and so much more. Yesterday I made the creamy mushroom stroganoff recipe and my family devoured it in minutes, ooh la la delicious! This book makes using a blender fun and easy, and the pictures are gorgeous. I thought change would be too difficult, but The Blender Girl has helped me make significant changes and introduced me to new ingredients. If you want to eat more vegetables in your diet then I highly recommend this book.

Another book I found and really love is called Superfruit Smoothies: 50 Healthy Smoothie Recipes for Weight Loss, Energy & Optimum Health. it's a fantastic book packed with delicious recipes and lots of nutritional information. I can already feel the difference in my overall health.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on June 28, 2014
I’ve been trying to find ways to make use of my Ninja Master Prep that my hubby bought me before Mother’s Day and so when The Blender Girl came up for review, I knew I had to grab it and see what it was all about – especially since I’m wanting to get back on track with healthy eating. Inside this book are 100 gluten-free and vegan recipes however they are good even if you’re not vegan (I’m not, I’ll admit I do love my steak) or gluten- free (I’m not but wondering if I should be) so be assured anyone can use the recipes in this book and they are quite easy to make. The beginning of the book walks you through choosing a blender (although the Ninja isn’t mentioned) and how to care for it and also how to use it with some care tips such as not over-filling your blender. After that Tess goes over things to blend in that are healthy and why those things are healthy, even going into detail about whether to soak or not to soak and why one should soak their nuts, seeds and grains before using them – I really appreciated this chapter as I’ve heard of soaking but never understand why or even how to do so unless it was with expensive equipment. She also goes into how to make your own milk from nuts and seeds, which can be a money saving venture if done right, as well as natural sweetener choices (I disagree with agave nectar, I’ve read too many negatives about this especially for diabetics) preferring Stevia over blood sugar raising choices.

There are recipes for:

smoothies and shakes
appetizers, snacks, dips and spreads
the main event
drinks, juices and tonics
condiments, sauces and creams
as well as resources and more reading

As a mom on a limited budget I couldn’t make all the recipes as some call for items not readily available at our local market or even in my budget such as macqui powder (thankfully it’s usually an optional) although sometimes it’s something easily substituted such as the sweetener I can add Stevia to a recipe that calls for molasses or agave. Apple pie in a glass, onion and herb socca and key lime pudding is just a sampling of some of the delicious recipes you’ll find in this book – if you want to substitute a healthy drink for breakfast to get your day started right this is the book to get you going. If you want to substitute one vegan meal to save money on meat products and get a healthier meal on the table for your family, this book will have you heading in the right direction – of course some recipes will need double or tripled depending on your family size! Overall, this is a great book full of recipes for giving your blender a run for it’s money and I do recommend keeping it close at hand as a go-to source for using your blender to get health or healthier.

**I was provided a copy of this book through Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest opinion, no other compensation was given.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.