Automotive Holiday Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Ed Sheeran egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Get Ready for the Winter Martha Stewart American Made Amazon Gift Card Offer minions minions minions  Amazon Echo Starting at $84.99 Kindle Black Friday Deals Classics and Essentials in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now Tikes
Listen for $0.00 with
Join Amazon Prime now
You get unlimited access to over a million songs, curated playlists, and ad-free stations with Amazon Prime.

The Blessed Unrest

July 16, 2013 | Format: MP3

Join Amazon Prime to get unlimited streaming of this album.
$5.00 to buy
Song Title
Popularity Prime  
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).

Product Details

  • Original Release Date: July 12, 2013
  • Release Date: July 16, 2013
  • Label: Epic
  • Record Company Required Metadata: Music file metadata contains unique purchase identifier. Learn more.
  • Total Length: 50:36
  • Genres:
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (472 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #169 Paid in Albums (See Top 100 Paid in Albums)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful By S. LeMay on July 19, 2013
Format: MP3 Music
I am a huge Sara B fan, ever since Little Voice came out. I own pretty much all of her recordings and have had the fortune of seeing her in concert three times (completely worth it - she is better live than in the recording studio!).

The music and production is different from her last two full length albums - there's less outright piano, more electronic touches and a "produced" sound, but as an artist, you have to grow and change, so I respect that. Her lyrics are still as complex /layered as always and the melodies are singable.

Song by Song:
Brave - the most "radio friendly" of the album. It does the job with its perky sound, upbeat tempo. The lyrics send a good message. It's not my favorite song on the album, but it will be popular with folks who want to hear top 40 pop. 4/5
Chasing the Sun - I love this song - great lyrics and message, almost an anthem but a melancholy premise of being in a graveyard.
Hercules - Probably the darkest, moodiest song on the album - Fiona Apple-ish. 3.5/5
Manhattan - The slow ballad, piano driven song about heartbreak with jazzy undertones. Simple and beautiful. 5/5
Satellite Call - Electronica, outer space feel, about sending out a message of love to those lost. The vocals and production are ethereal. Very different from her previous work. 4/5
Little Black Dress - A very catchy tune, with do-whop sounds, like Gonna Get Over You. Very fun song that you can bop to on a Friday night, with your PJs and hairbrush mic. 5/5
Cassiopeia - Another electronic, outer spacy song, but I like it 4.5/5
1000 Times - Has a country twang to it! Could be played on country radio for sure - one of those "see you from the other side of the room at the country bar and I want to walk over and meet you" ballads.
Read more ›
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
60 of 69 people found the following review helpful By book_thief on July 16, 2013
Format: Audio CD
As a long time fan of Sara Bareilles, I would say that this album is another solid win. It's not much different than her previous albums, but I still enjoyed the new songs. There's just something great about Bareilles' smooth and raspy voice that makes her songs the perfect listening experience. Her songs are always accompanied by a strong beat presence that I really like. In addition to that, there's always a great variety between upbeat songs and slower peaceful songs, both of which turns out to be great experience when you listen to the album in its entirety. The lyrics and messages of the songs are also something that's become a rarity in today's music. Highly recommend listening to the album without skipping around, it'll be an awesome journey.

1. Brave (4/5) - This one has probably already started to be overplayed by the radio, but I'm still loving the upbeat melody and the empowering lyrics.
2. Chasing the Sun (5/5) - Another solid song. One of my favorites for its perfect tempo and mesmerizing beats.
3. Hercules (4/5) - A slower song carried mostly by a few distinct piano notes.
4. Manhattan (5/5) - Slow song accompanied by the piano. Simple, peaceful and beautiful.
5. Satellite Call (3/5) - Not exactly my cup of tea, but still a good listen.
6. Little Black Dress (5/5) - An upbeat and fun song with a sassy tone that makes me happy just listening to it. I would say it's much like 'King of Anything'.
7. Cassiopeia (4/5) - Another fun song with a futuristic sound theme that makes me feel like it could be a song in Star Trek.
8. 1000 Times (4/5) - Nice slow song with a steady beat.
9. I Choose You (5/5) - Another great song and one of my favorites.
Read more ›
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful By Madeline on July 16, 2013
Format: MP3 Music Verified Purchase
A few years ago I saw Sara in Chapel Hill performing with Greg Laswell. I realized there that Sara was simply just the real deal. She has both a magnetic joy onstage as well as the actual vocal talent to make her live performances sound as good as if not better than her studio albums. Something I've always found really special about her music though, is how accessible yet a little left of mainstream it tends to be. Its equal parts catchy and heartfelt--yet I never feel like she's trying too hard.

This album builds upon that by incorporating some new elements like jazz and electronic into her special brand of aware piano driven pop music. While listening to the exquisite ballad "Manhattan", I could see a dark smoky jazz club from the 1940s with Sara lying across a piano, crooning about a lost love to a hushed audience. Another more upbeat jazz influenced album standout, "Little Black Dress" sees the appearance of Sara's older sister doing Motown inspired pitch perfect background vocals which just mesh perfectly with Sara's voice. "Satellite Call" on the other hand, with its slight reverb and haunting melody makes me feel like I'm somehow underneath the Northern Lights just staring up at the stars lit up in swirling colors.

"I Choose You" starts with a subtle stringed bass line and understated vocals, yet builds into a very sweet and honest love song. It's the type of song that you could see being used in one of those lip synched marriage proposal extravaganzas on YouTube. Overall, this album probably is a bit more upbeat--not so much in tone (as many of the songs sound like breakup songs), but musically than her past two albums. "Eden" especially embraces this driving electronic sound.
Read more ›
15 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for Similar Items by Category