Customer Reviews


295 Reviews
5 star:
 (208)
4 star:
 (54)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


78 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second season female thriller continuation
The January airing of this thrilling crime/spy investigative series' 2nd season brought back the cast's key 3 nucleus. Some of the most intelligent British women during WWII were brought to Bletchley as code breakers. They helped win the war. At that time it was a secret, hidden operation, and remained a national secret for decades afterward. This dramatic series reveaed...
Published 7 months ago by Harold Wolf

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Season 1 was so intriguing and enjoyable. Season 2 storyline was too simplistic and
really uninteresting. The characters didn't grow and they seemed
inconsistent with the characters in the first season.
Published 4 months ago by Betsy


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

78 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second season female thriller continuation, February 14, 2014
By 
Harold Wolf "Doc" (Wells, IN United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bletchley Circle: Season 2 (DVD)
The January airing of this thrilling crime/spy investigative series' 2nd season brought back the cast's key 3 nucleus. Some of the most intelligent British women during WWII were brought to Bletchley as code breakers. They helped win the war. At that time it was a secret, hidden operation, and remained a national secret for decades afterward. This dramatic series reveaed some of the history and aftermath. In the early 1950s Bletchley gals have moved on to marriage and kids. However, the stellar code breaking abilities are yet keen in the minds of these women. That can't be forgotten so easily. And now, they operate independently, without protection of the British forces.

The second season expanded to four episodes, one more than season 1. The story continued from one episode to a second. That pattern was repeated for a second lengthy two-part drama. The suspense never slowed, so expect no difference in series two. The women that found themselves caught between wartime and post-war normalcy were tough, smart, strong, and determined. Yes, it is a female focused series, but content is for all who enjoy strong thriller/suspense and a challenge to never being sure of the conclusion. Code breaking revolved around patterns, and a pattern could change in a heartbeat. So could lives. A realistic look at what it was probably like for the gals who worked at wartime Bletchley, followed by their struggle to blend into the subdued British lifestyle after the war.

It's intense period suspense with costumes, sets, and props doing the appropriate 1950s era. I know, I lived during those years.
Blood on their Hands: pt 1 & 2
Uncustomed Goods: pt 1 & 2

Link: The Bletchley Circle: Cracking a Killer's Code
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season Two of this series moves us into the Cold War years with two two-part 90 minute episodes and nice bonus on the DVD, April 1, 2014
This review is from: Bletchley Circle: Season 2 (DVD)
First off, it you have not already seen Season 1, I recommend that you do as you'll learn the background on the characters. (You can find my review on Amazon.) With that said, I will proceed with my review of this wonderful "series" but I should also point out that this is a review of the DVD version (from PBS home Video - which they sent to me) which includes bonus features. Amazon has a policy of grouping ALL review of all formats of a show (broadcast, streaming and DVD and BD). You should always sort reviews by "newest first" and then look at format the reviewer is commenting on.

A bit of background on what is here. Unlike US TV series which go on for at least 13 episodes, British TV series can be much shorter. The first season of The Bletchley Circle (TBC) was a three part story running 135 minutes. This "Season Two" DVD contains two independent "stories" (each divided into two 45 minute "episiodes"). The show was created, and aired, in the UK on the commercial ITV network (not the non-commercial BBC) and later aired on PBS in the US. To my knowledge these are the ITV originals. I did not see the US-PBS broadcast version but they are usually edited for some graphic images of violence.

I do not believe in "spoilers" and you won't find any here. Just some basic info: Season One took place in 1951 or 1952 after giving us scenes from their 1940s war years. This season bring the characters - a group of female "code breakers" who were based in Bletchley, England during World War II - up to 1953 when they are now in civilian lives during the Cold War. (There is a brief sojourn back to 1943 at the beginning to set up the story - but I can't say much more about that either. In each of the two stories this time, one of the women is a victim of a crime and the others band together to solve it.

The script is written by a male but nearly all the actors (and the directors - there are two) are female.

The DVD has one bonus feature and it's well done. It's a 27 minute featurette featuring interviews with all the cast and production crew (with a few clips from the show, but - thankfully - not many). It is bookended with a new interview with one of the actual Bletchley Project members. And for those following the series, the interview with the director of the second story on this DVD, will bring some real surprises (I said NO "spoilers" from me, remember?).
From what I can tell, there will be a third season though, as I noted above, the two stories in Season Two each can stand on their own with no "cliffhangers:.

Another fine British TV "mystery" drama.

I hope you found this review both informative and helpful.

Steve Ramm
"Anything Phonographic"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "I'm Afraid Something Awful has Happened...", March 17, 2014
By 
R. M. Fisher "Ravenya" (New Zealand = Middle Earth!) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bletchley Circle: Season 2 (DVD)
During the Second World War, Bletchley Park was the headquarters of the UK's decryption organization, where various codes and cyphers were translated by a staff that was made up of 80% women. When the war came to a close they went back to ordinary life, keeping their activities during the war a secret even from their closest family members. They were extraordinary women, who not only saved lives with their diligence but were some of the world's first computer programmers.

Although "The Bletchley Circle" (rather sadly) takes place well after the war has come to a close, the protagonists are all former-Bletchley members who use their puzzle-solving skills to ferret out answers to various mysteries. In the first series Susan Grey, a wife and mother, was feeling stifled by her current life-style and eager to recapture what she considered the glory years by catching a serial killer. Alongside her former comrades (outspoken Millie, quiet Lucy, no-nonsense Jean) they managed to hunt him down, though not without a significant psychological toll.

As with the first series, the second begins with a brief prologue that takes place in the midst of the war before moving forward ten years. Another of their old colleges is in serious trouble - having been found guilty of murdering her former lover, Alice Merren now faces execution for his murder. Having gone to see her in prison, Jean is certain that she's not only innocent, but also hiding something - but what on earth would you keep secret when you're about to be hanged?

This time it's Jean who rounds up the old crew, finding it easy enough to bring Lucy and Millie on board, but discovering that after her traumatic experience in series one, Susan wants nothing to do with the investigation, especially when she thinks it'll threaten her own family.

Unlike the last series, which dealt with the fairly straightforward hunt for a serial killer, series two has the women embroiled in espionage, where military secrets and government cover-ups form the basis of the first two episodes. The final two involve Millie getting into trouble over her under-the-table business dealings. She ends up kidnapped as a result, leaving Alice, Jean and Lucy to track her down before all four women try to bring down the cartel that's profiteering off stolen goods and young prostitutes.

On that note, the format of series two is a little different: whereas the first series was a straightforward three-part miniseries, this has two storylines divided over the course of four episodes. Furthermore, the last two episodes do not involve Susan, with the focus shifting to Millie and Alice instead.

Along with the attention to detail in visualizing the 1950s (the fashions, the cars, the lingo), I hugely appreciated the emphasis that's put on paperwork. These women don't have access to computers or databases; if they want information they have to sit down and trawl through endless files in order to get it. There's a real sense of the intelligence and patience of these women, traits that would have served them well during the war years.

Personally I was not quite as riveted by the second series as I was by the first, but "The Bletchley Circle" continues to be a unique crime-drama starring compelling and sympathetic female characters. Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, May 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bletchley Circle Season 2 (Amazon Instant Video)
Season 1 was so intriguing and enjoyable. Season 2 storyline was too simplistic and
really uninteresting. The characters didn't grow and they seemed
inconsistent with the characters in the first season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Last Season So Enjoy, April 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bletchley Circle Season 2 (Amazon Instant Video)
The news has just come out that ITV will not be giving us Season 3 of this terrific series. I love these feisty women and their lifestyles, clothes, homes. I thought Season 1 was perfect but didn't like losing Susan in this Season. Well, no matter, the series is done. Too bad ITV doesn't think a show about four whip smart females is worth keeping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It started out with a bang!, May 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bletchley Circle Season 2 (Amazon Instant Video)
The first season was five stars but the second season is weakened by the loss of the main character. She was, in my opinion, the best actor in the group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars cliche anyone ?, April 15, 2014
This review is from: Bletchley Circle: Season 2 (DVD)
I love the first season but this new one is a little lackluster. Hate that they made millie so stupid. I couldn't stay interested.The plot for the second season has been used about a hundred times and felt forced. I can understand susan's lack of enthusiasm for it all. I did really like the commentary from some of the actual codecrackers from the real bletchley circle afterward. The one lady with the intense eyes reminded of susan personality WISE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Quite as Good as Season 1, June 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bletchley Circle Season 2 (Amazon Instant Video)
I really liked Season 1 and the whole premise of the show. With Susan no longer being a prominent character, to me, the show lost some of its snap. However, if there is a Season 3, I will watch it too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well Done Story Which takes Us Back to Times We can Remember, May 31, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bletchley Circle Season 2 (Amazon Instant Video)
As an older person, I can well remember the time period when these two stories were told. The stories themselves were interesting and relatable and they held my attention. The lead actors were excellent and I recognized two of them from "Downton Abby" which was fun for me as I watch that series religiously. I will be looking for more from these Bletchley Girls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bletchley circle season two, May 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bletchley Circle: Season 2 (DVD)
Bletchley circle had me on the edge of my seat and I would recommend it anybody as a great watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.