Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3 stars for the fun film and 5 stars for the Criterion production
While I hadn't seen this movie in years, I remember it fondly from my youth. This is one of those that I saw several times on Friday Night Fright TV. Unfortunately I've been stuck with a VHS copy until now with Criterion's Blu ray update. The best that can be said about the film is that it represents the "B" movie genre of the day in good fashion. Bad acting prevails. I...
Published 17 months ago by M. Oleson

versus
7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beware The Blob, all right
Let me begin by saying The Blob is one of my favorite '50s monster flicks, one I've watched more times than I care to admit. Love the creepiness of it, the aura, Steve McQueen, the evil thing oozing into the movie theater and of course the scene in the very cool diner.
As someone who loves this film, I have it on old VHS somewhere and on DVD, and I even own the...
Published 15 months ago by Ed Norton rules


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3 stars for the fun film and 5 stars for the Criterion production, February 26, 2013
By 
This review is from: The Blob [Blu-ray] (1958) (Blu-ray)
While I hadn't seen this movie in years, I remember it fondly from my youth. This is one of those that I saw several times on Friday Night Fright TV. Unfortunately I've been stuck with a VHS copy until now with Criterion's Blu ray update. The best that can be said about the film is that it represents the "B" movie genre of the day in good fashion. Bad acting prevails. I don't recognize any of the actors either by name or by face with the obvious exception of Steve McQueen.

McQueen got a lot of recognition for his role as "Steve" and became a breakout star on TV and in the movies. The special effects are nothing special. Essentially an object falls from space and lands in a rural part of Pennsylvania. After some poking and prodding, an ooze is released and slithers its way into town. As it grows it becomes even more menacing. That's pretty much it other than Steve and the other teens lead the battle against The Blob. The film has a certain cult status and is fun to watch. The Blob was remade thirty years later as an R rated horror film starring Kevin Dillon and Shawnee Smith.

The Blu ray is a dramatic upgrade over the tape of course and from what I remember on TV. I've not seen the DVD version that I recall. Criterion transfers the film with a 1080p resolution and uses a 1.67:1 aspect ratio. The restoration looks great. Rich colors prevail and the close ups look natural. Clarity is excellent including the many scenes shot in low light. I could detect no effects of aging (scratches, floating debris, etc.) This is really well done.

The audio has only an uncompressed LPCM mono track available. It has been nicely cleaned up and is clear with good range. This film also features an early collaboration between Hal David and Burt Bacharach on the title song. Extras are generous including 2 commentaries. One features the producer and the other the director, Irvin S. Yeaworth Jr. There is also a trailer, an essay by film critic Kim Newman and a host of memorabilia called "Blobabilia." I really like this movie but can't rate it much more than 3 stars from a production perspective. Criterion deserves 5 stars for bringing the movie back to life in such a memorable way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Awesome Work of Incredible Cheese, August 29, 2013
This review is from: The Blob [Blu-ray] (1958) (Blu-ray)
Steve McQueen was in his late 20s when he starred in The Blob but you can't help but think he looks much older. He had that old school Hollywood characteristic of looking much older than any 28 year-old man of today, but ultimately looking completely believable in any role he grabbed. Though it was his first starring role, and the picture might not be the best film ever made or anything, he definitely knew how to command the screen.

I grew up in a household where science-fiction pictures (especially B-esque pictures) were welcomed with open arms. I have many memories of watching War of the Worlds (1953), Forgotten Planet (1954), and of course, The Blob. I lived in the Tampa Bay area during my childhood, and during that time, a local television host (aptly named Dr. Paul Bearer) who used to show many of these types of pictures on Saturday afternoons. It was my film school, before film school.

But back to The Blob. The film centers on two teenagers (McQueen and Aneta Corsaut) witnessing a shooting star crashing down a few miles away from them. It lands close to a local hermit living in solitude in the woods, where he soon discovers the rock that crashed. Upon further investigation, the rock cracks open, unleashing a strange ooze that soon envelopes the old man's arm. He rushes to the aid of the teenagers, who bring him to a local doctor. Once there, the ooze continues to spread before fully covering the man. It then gets bigger and bigger, before continuing to devoir some of the town's citizens.

The film, though not understandable upon first viewing, is layered in paranoia. Steve (played by McQueen of course) is the only person who sees this red/pink menace, and only his girlfriend seems to believe him. None of the other townspeople seem to take his word for it (as the story of a blob consuming people is rather strange) even though everyone in this small town knows he isn't a kid known for lying or pulling pranks. Some have written about the subtle context to communism but I am just not sure that the filmmakers really had that in mind during the time of production.

I only saw this movie once during my childhood (probably around 6 or 7) but I remember definitely being creeped out by the giant mass of murdering ooze. Upon another viewing now in my adulthood however, my mind is pretty perplexed as to how that could have even been an issue.

Just like all of their other blu-ray releases, Criterion did a phenomenal job with the transfer. The images are crisp and the sound is flawless (as flawless as sound from that time period can be of course). Perhaps the best extra on the disc would be a collection of props and collectables from Blob fanatic Wes Shank. He seems to have it all, including the original blob itself.

The Blob is also just as short as it needs to be without over staying its welcome (unlike current disguised Hollywood B-pictures that never seem to end). And the ending perhaps deserves the most conversation. After the town learns the only to stop the blob is to freeze it, it is then sent somewhere to the Artic. Lt. Dave seems to think that they have it stopped by sending it there, but Steven knows better. He says, "As long as the Artic stays cold," followed by a "The End" title which transforms into a question mark. Could this have been a message from the past about global warming?

The world may never know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kids find themselves in a sticky situation, February 14, 2013
This review is from: The Blob [Blu-ray] (1958) (Blu-ray)
The Criterion Collection version of The Blob is worth the purchase as they took great effort to give you al the DVD goodies that enhance your viewing pleasure. Be aware that there are other DVD and VHS versions that are not up to par.

Steve McQueen as Steve Andrews and Anete Corsaut as Jane Martin (also Helen Crump in The Andy Griffith Show) are supposed to be teenagers; they are negotiating in a quiet parking place in a convertible, when a shooting star lands quite close. Naturally this is more interesting to them than what they were about to do; so they go to investigate. An old man gets to the site first and poking around with a stick gets blobulated. And maybe his little dog too. Things really get sticky from that point with no one to believe them as kids don’t know nothing.

If you like this movie then the next one to see is a variation called “Killer Klowns from Outer Space” It takes the same theme to absurdity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Look Out for the BLOB, October 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Blob [Blu-ray] (1958) (Blu-ray)
good blu-ray edition, excellent transfer for a movie from 1958
as far as the movie: interesting, not overly frightening
good for a night to just relax
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Horror Flick, October 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Blob [Blu-ray] (1958) (Blu-ray)
Classic Horror flick with Steve McQueen ... has some very interesting extras about the making of the movie.
Story stands up well to time ... the special effects are dated, but to me that adds rather than detracts from the appeal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cult classic, October 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Blob [Blu-ray] (1958) (Blu-ray)
A cult classic in horror. A must own for any fan of the horror film genre. Beware of the blob
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Blob, September 14, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Blob [Blu-ray] (1958) (Blu-ray)
This is a "B" movie. I have it on DVD which is as GOOD as the Blu Ray version that I recently purchased. The sound is mono and is supposed to be enhanced but I can't detect the improvement! The acting and special effects are typical of the late 1950s. If you have the DVD, don't bother getting the Blu Ray version. But if it's NOT in your library and you do enjoy 1950s horror films, GET THE BLU RAY version!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved the Blob, September 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Blob [Blu-ray] (1958) (Blu-ray)
Steve McQueen was great, he was down to earth and loved his acting. The creation of the blob was almost believable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Movie, August 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Blob [Blu-ray] (1958) (Blu-ray)
I've seen this movie in every format made. The Blu-Ray version is by far the clearest version available. The details are clean and crisp. If you like this classic horror movie, it is a must have in Blu-Ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Steve McQueen stands out in this 50s gem, August 25, 2013
By 
John "bsharp" (Bellevue, WA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Blob [Blu-ray] (1958) (Blu-ray)
Your standard 50s monster b-movie? Kinda. Only this one has an a-grade actor elevating it well beyond expectations. Steve McQueen, an actor I took for granted until recently, shows what real talent can do for a movie. He plays a teenager (of course, he's in his mid-to-late 20s at the time--but that's the way Hollywood did it in the 50s) whose smarts and charms take on the local hooligans as well as the local authorities and win them both over. Great performance, great movie. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Blob [Blu-ray] (1958)
The Blob [Blu-ray] (1958) by Irvin S. Yeaworth Jr. (Blu-ray - 2013)
$39.95 $25.17
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.