Customer Reviews


272 Reviews
5 star:
 (166)
4 star:
 (49)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


109 of 115 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STUCK TO THE BOTTOM OF YOUR SHOE
When I saw that the CRITERION COLLECTION was bringing THE BLOB to DVD - I have to admit I was shocked. This effective and classy little 1950's monster flick was getting the kind of star treatment that most films released on DVD are begging for. And for good reason... THE BLOB is an excellent movie. It hits all the marks, it stands it grounds, it never bores you and it...
Published on November 27, 2000 by Thomas E. O'Sullivan

versus
27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, Poor Quality DVD
This DVD has a great price, but the quality doesn't compare with the brilliant Criterion release. The picture is soft and the color murky in this print. After having watched this edition numerous times, I was amazed when I watched the Criterion release and saw all sorts of details that simply aren't visible here. This version also is missing a few bits of the film, though...
Published on August 4, 2005 by K. Brubaker


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

109 of 115 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STUCK TO THE BOTTOM OF YOUR SHOE, November 27, 2000
This review is from: The Blob (The Criterion Collection) (DVD)
When I saw that the CRITERION COLLECTION was bringing THE BLOB to DVD - I have to admit I was shocked. This effective and classy little 1950's monster flick was getting the kind of star treatment that most films released on DVD are begging for. And for good reason... THE BLOB is an excellent movie. It hits all the marks, it stands it grounds, it never bores you and it provides you with a original (and even credible) monster that to this day is still more sinister than most that cross the screen (and yet remains the most fun - really, if gum chewed back, it would look like the BLOB). CRITERION again shines here... period style box art (including in the lower left corner a warning that the producers of THE BLOB can not be held libal for heart attacks or faninting from watching the film), a fact based booklet featuring the orginal poster art from the release for it's cover, plus a half sheet poster of the box art that is high quality and all glossy... a beautiful touch. The disc features an excellent transfer of the film. The colors are crisp and the sound is still effective and well balanced. Two audio commentaries are included with the disc, and each are insightful and entertaining. Both remain pretty much screen specific, but do branch out from time to time to explain a host of inside details (like why McQueen wished had had taken a percentage of THE BLOB, and how the leading lady wasn't cast until the very last second... which was the very first day of shooting). Trailer is included, as well as what is really a excellent addition... a photo collection of behind the scene stills, effects (even what the real BLOB looked like off camera and just how big it really was... little hint: not very), and rare BLOB props and BLOB memorabilia - overall CRITERION has given us yet another must have for DVD owners. If you're a fan of the period and the genre, then THE BLOB is a must, I can not recommend it enough... it's pure fun. And if you know someone this holiday season that is getting a DVD and into 50's shockers... start them off right and pick up the BLOB.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A technical perspective...., December 13, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Blob (The Criterion Collection) (DVD)
THIS IS THE WAY DVD IS MEANT TO BE! When I purchased this DVD, I was originally taken aback by the high price. I knew nothing of "The Criterion Collection" until this disc. What they have done is nothing short of a miracle...restore THE BLOB to its original cinematic glory. The digital remastering is the most pristine I have seen for any movie, THE BLOB or no. The mono soundtrack is so clean, I could have sworn it was dimensional. The extras are a real treat. This is a fully-loaded DVD and one worth every penny. Fans of THE BLOB will rejoice with this DVD. All others will probably shrug their shoulders. This is eye-popping fantastic, from a technical standpoint. Buy with confidence!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "THE BLOB" IS ABOUT PEOPLE BEING KIND TO THEIR NEIGHBORS!!, November 9, 2005
Here it is, the main event -- "THE BLOB" starring Steve McQueen!
I saw this film when it first came out in 1958 and I have lost track of how many times I have seen it since, but it has been at least 200 times.

WHAT IS IT ALL ABOUT?:

A gelatinous mass of growing, flesh-eating goo is released on the Earth by a meteorite that has crashed near a small town in Pennsylvania. Steve Andrews [Steve McQueen] and his girlfriend, Helen [Aneta Corsaut] witness the event from their convertible and then come across an old man in the road who has something resembling a glove of jello on his hand. Steve takes him to Dr. Hallen and from there the blob begins ingesting humans and growing as the night progresses.

Steve and Helen go to the police to report the incident and the apparent murder of Dr. Hallen, but the police don't believe the wild story. At this point, it was nice to see some diversity on the police force. The hard-nosed Sergeant was ready to throw the kids in jail, whereas the Chief was much more of a listener.

Not getting any satisfaction from the police, Steve and Helen go out and try to warn the whole town about the danger they are in with the help of other teens but no one is listening ... UNTIL!

Yes, until ... and that's when things really start cooking. We have "The Blob" finally revealing itself at its public debut in its famous "movie theater patrons get eaten" scene. From this point on, everybody believes the kids' story, but it's a little late to do anything about it, or at least it seems so. The climax is right around the corner and I am always sorry it doesn't go on when it's all finally over. This, I'm sure, is why they have made two sequels/remakes of "The Blob".

THE LOW DOWN ON THIS DVD:

I have heard a lot about the Criterion edition of this film. I have seen that edition and it is a great transfer, but this edition is not bad. Until recently, it was often available for $1-4, versus $30-35 for the Criterion edition. This particular edition runs 82 minutes which means it does include several extended scenes compared to the TV and VHS editions. These extended scenes are as follows:

1]- When the old man [played by Olin Howland] is with Dr. Hallen [Stephen Chase] in the examining room, the scene where he is giving him an injection is extended to reveal an enlarged blob that is up to the old man's elbow. This is about an extra 12 seconds, but it is an addition that shows "The Blob" in an intermediary stage not usually seen.

2]- There are a couple of add-ons at the police station, like when Helen's father [School Principal Martin] arrives and declares, "This is the last time you're going out with my daughter," and Steve's dad replies, "Let's just all stay calm Mr. Martin." It all adds up to about 24 seconds more than the video.

3]- During the scene when Dave the Police Chief [Earl Rowe] is lamenting with Deputy Richie [George Karas], he goes on beyond the point of discussing Sergeant Jim Bert's animosity toward 17-year-old kids because of his wife being killed by a drunk teen in a car wreck and expands the subject by about 20 seconds.

4]- When the blob has encompassed the diner, there are several additional sequences. There is one when Dave sends the sergeant to get more fire extinguishers and there are a couple of add-ons in the last three minutes, altogether totalling 14 seconds.

In all, almost a minute and a half is added to the standard video releases. The Criterion edition DVD does have these additions as well.

"THE BLOB" IS ABOUT PEOPLE BEING KIND TO THEIR NEIGHBORS:

This is a 50's creature-feature classic, and it does credit to its genre. Steve McQueen is a delight and the cast is believable. But that is not what sets this film above the rest. Throughout the film, there is a sense that people care about each other in this town. Steve and Helen start the movie by stopping to help the old man and take him to the doctor. The doctor who is already out the door and on his way to a medical convention stops and returns to his office to treat the injured old man. The police chief doesn't see any point in giving the kids a hard time and releases them to their parents. The kids want to warn their neighbors so that others do not meet the same fate as Dr. Hallen and the old man. Hard-nosed Sergeant Birtie puts his hand on Chief Dave's shoulder to comfort him despite their clashing over how to handle the incident when it looks as though Steve and Helen may perish in the diner at the end. A pervasive sense of community spirit and a common bond was apparent between all the members of this community at one time or another during what had to be the town's most stressful night which is quite rare in this or any other genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It crawls.... It creeps.... It eats you alive!, May 12, 2003
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Blob (The Criterion Collection) (DVD)
I hadn't see this movie in quite awhile, so when I saw it out with the 'Criterion Collection' treatment, I picked it up pretty quickly. The transfer is really good, and the colors come through brilliantly. Just seeing the blob oozing around, all bloated on the blood of it's victims is quite creepy. I do wish I could have seen this at the drive in, as that seems to be it's perfered format of venue, but this is the next best thing. I loved the part where the old man finds the small meteor and starts poking it with a stick. You just know something bad is going to happen. And then when he starts playing around with the blob on that stick, the ooze sliding down, getting closer to his hand....and the theme song...I had almost forgotten about that. It's so unlike a horror movie theme, but very catchy. Reminds me of that song 'Purple People Eater'. Anyway, the movie is a great piece of 50's sci-fi with great effects that's a lot of fun. Also included with this editon is a poster, and a few extras on the disc, but a lot less than I would have thought. I was expecting a little more, but what are you going to do? It seems odd that the Criterion Collection edition of Carnival of Souls should have as many extras it did and there not be more for The Blob. Anyway, if you like classic sci-fi, this one is a no brainer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Blob: 5 stars for the movie, 1 star for Criterion., December 16, 2006
By 
This review is from: The Blob (The Criterion Collection) (DVD)
First of all, I want to say that 1958's The Blob is a landmark picture and a fantastically fun sci-fi/horror film. Steve McQueen is perfect in it, and it's quite possibly the best sci-fi cheese to come out of the 50s.

HOWEVER, I'm fed up with the Criterion Collection. What this company seems to intend to do is snatch up the rights to many, many great movies, "class" them up with minimal special features, and sell them at obscene prices. This edition of The Blob has ONE DISC, and the only special features are two commentaries. And we have to cough up $40 to have it.

There are no other options; If you want to own this masterpiece, you have to be able to fork up forty dollars to do so.

Criterion is trying to target great films that should be enjoyed by everyone to a wealthy group of people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, Poor Quality DVD, August 4, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This DVD has a great price, but the quality doesn't compare with the brilliant Criterion release. The picture is soft and the color murky in this print. After having watched this edition numerous times, I was amazed when I watched the Criterion release and saw all sorts of details that simply aren't visible here. This version also is missing a few bits of the film, though not enough to really alter the story.

For those just interested in checking out The Blob, this low priced DVD may be fine. If you love the film, by all means spend the extra money and pick up the beautiful Criterion Collection print.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the definitive DVD version of 1950s classic, September 4, 2001
By 
Robert Huggins (Suburban Philadelphia, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Blob (DVD)
Those expecting a pristine copy of this 1958 sci-fi classic should seek out Criterion's DVD (which Amazon also carries) rather than this no-frills budget version. For serious fans of "The Blob," the Criterion version is the only way to go and includes two separate audio commentaries from producer Jack Harris and director Irvin Yeaworth, among others. Also included is a photo stills gallery of collector Wes Shank's Blob collection, including the famous red silicone masquerading as a man-eating monster from outer space.
For casual fans of the film, however, this version (from Beverly Wilshire Filmworks, distributed by Front Row Video) is serviceable enough with VHS-like viewing quality. The source material isn't terrible, but is certainly nowhere near as crisp and clean looking (and sounding) as the Criterion version. It is the full-length version, however, and is presented in full screen (pan & scan). But that's all you get, there are no extras to be had, not even chapter breaks. You just slip the disc into your DVD player and it plays automatically.
Residents of Chester County, Pennsylvania (west of Philadelphia) may recognize a few of the film's locations including the Colonial Theater in Phoenixville and the Downingtown Diner, both of which are featured prominently in the film's climax. These cinematic "landmarks" are still in existence today, well over 40 years after the film was made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The greatest drive in film ever but a bare boned DVD edition, January 2, 2006
By 
Amazon Customer (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (COMMUNITY FORUM 04)   
This review is from: The Blob (1958) (DVD)
First off, be aware that this is a cut-rate DVD version of "The Blob," the greatest 1950's camp science fiction film. There is a Criterion Collection edition of "The Blob," and that is all that needs to be said to indicate to you which one you want to pick up. The Criterion Collection edition of "The Blob" is loaded with enough DVD extras to make watching the film itself only half the fun. So if you are a big fan of this classic horror flick, then this is not the DVD edition that you want to pick up (unless, of course, you just want to watch the movie; but why would you want to do just that?). Not only is the Criterion version superior, this DVD could be judged inferior all by itself without another point of reference, so be warned. The film is a five, but this DVD is a three (at least it is widescreen), so split the difference and make the right choice instead of flipping a coin to decide which version to get.

"The Blob" is quite simply a cult classic film, with Steve McQueen (!!!) in his first starring role taking on a Jell-O like creature from outer space out to eat everybody in its path. Or, as the tagline put it in 1958: "Indescribable... indestructible... insatiable!" You cannot do much better than that. McQueen is young Steve Andrews, who leads his friends against the Blob when the local sheriff and the other adults refuse to listen to the truth (just think of him as rebel with a real important cause). The movie ends with a climactic confrontation at the local movie theater. No wonder everybody wanted to see this one at the drive-in; you were safer there. Then again, this would have been a great date movie either place as it would be sure to send your creeped out girl friend into your arms for safety.

"The Blob" has always had a special place in my heart because they actually showed us this movie in high school (along with "Carousel" and "Thoroughly Modern Millie"--please do not try to find a common denominator between those films, you might hurt yourself). I have no idea why they would do show us this film from an educational standpoint (Bad things happen to bad kids? Do not go to the movies to make out?), but it remains a cherished memory of those halcyon days. Larry Hagman directed a lousy sequel/spoof in 1972 and then there was a less than distinguished remake in 1988. Taken together they are not as much fun as the original Blob. But then what in this world would be?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CAMPY SONG! CLASSIC SCI - FI FROM THE 50'S!, March 6, 2008
This review is from: The Blob (The Criterion Collection) (DVD)
Watching the Criterion version of 'The Blob' I am amazed how vivid and brilliant the colors are on this very clean print of the film. This classic movie would look incredible in HD! The film itself is one of the best 50's Sci-Fi features of all time. From the opening title song which makes you tap your toes and wanna take bosa nova lessons to the "teenagers" who are clearly in the late 20's! You think your in for a typical teen movie, but...It doesn't matter......because the movie just works! Even the obvious miniatures don't take away from this classic 50's gem. Olin Howlin a great character actor has the honor of being in two on the best 50's Sci-Fi movie ever made....'The Blob' and 'Them' you remember him in 'Them' don't you?? "Make me a sergeant in charge of the booze! Make me a sergeant in charge of the booze!" This edition is very good, but it should of had some more features on it. This is a film that deserves a feature-ette at the very least and many of these actors are still around. I'm giving it 5 stars anyway because it does have a wonderful stills gallery, two commentaries and a beautiful DVD transfer. This is a must have for any Sci-Fi/Horror collector! "Beware The Blob"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Criterion Does It Again - Delicious!, October 17, 2001
By 
Jason N. Mical (Kirkland, WA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Blob (The Criterion Collection) (DVD)
One of the few pulpy movies that survived the 1950s Sputnik/Atomic glut of monster scares to become a true classic, The Blob comes to us on a packed, digitally pristine Criterion DVD. With a compelling commentary and a supurb transfer, The Blob never looked better. Really.
Starring B-Movie-Meister Steve McQueen as a 35-year-old high school student, The Blob details the adventures of a pile of Jell-O stranded on Earth after its spaceship, which looks like a pockmarked bowling ball, crash-lands outside of Smallville, USA. The Blob exists to do nothing but eat people, which leads to a slight interplanetary misunderstanding after it begins devouring the denizens of the town. McQueen and the girl he was trying to score with at the local "parking" place are the only two who know what's going on, and attempt to convince the town's adults, obviously influenced by propaganda films such as Reefer Madness, that a lump of cheesy monster effect is really eating everyone and growing larger.
From the campy music to the campy dialogue, The Blob practically oozes the essence of films like Plan 9 and Them!. Criterion has seen fit to give us a worthy addition to their library and ours, offering two commentary tracks and a transfer that makes the movie look and sound like it just came out of Skywalker Ranch. They also pack the case - literally - with an extremely thick (and entertaining) book, and a smallish, folded movie poster. And, of course, the usual Criterion "colored bars" option.
As far as discs go, this one is highly recommended, for the content as well as the obvious care taken with bringing this film to the DVD format. Sci-Fi fans and movie fans alike will want to add this release to their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Blob (The Criterion Collection)
The Blob (The Criterion Collection) by Russell S. Doughten Jr. (DVD - 2000)
$39.95 $21.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.