Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Companion Piece to "Parachutes"
I stumbled onto "The Blue Room EP" after diving into Coldplay's mind-blowing debut album "Parachutes". This EP was recorded in summer of 99 and released a few months later. This EP contains 5 songs and runs 20 min. I suspect that most of you, as did I, will listen to this after having fallen for "Parachutes".
The EP starts off with its...
Published on February 2, 2001 by Paul Allaer

versus
1 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Regan was right! Just say no.
Stick with X&Y for your one-hit-wonders. This EP sucks. Maybe they just need to switch to Coplandia, as this effort is one bad trip.

-Dr.Q
Published on August 25, 2006 by W. Quickel


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Companion Piece to "Parachutes", February 2, 2001
This review is from: The Blue Room E.P. (Audio CD)
I stumbled onto "The Blue Room EP" after diving into Coldplay's mind-blowing debut album "Parachutes". This EP was recorded in summer of 99 and released a few months later. This EP contains 5 songs and runs 20 min. I suspect that most of you, as did I, will listen to this after having fallen for "Parachutes".
The EP starts off with its strongest song, "Bigger Stronger", which has all the elements of why "Parachutes" would be the best "new" album of 2001 (it was released in Nov. 2000): great melody, smart lyrics, and that hard to resist lead vocal.
Track 2 is "Don't Panic", which is also featured on "Parachutes", but here on the EP in a different, cleary earlier version: the intro is a fascinating mumble of guitars, which is not found on the album (where it is the lead off track); it also comes in a different guitar orchestration. Track 4 is "High Speed", which is featured "as is" on the album, the only track from the EP to make it onto the album without any changes.
Track 3, "See You Soon", is a charmingly, soft-ridden track. Track 5, "Such a Rush" starts off very gently but eventually builds up to an outburst of the band's instuments. It is the best song after "Bigger Stronger"
If you like "Parachutes", by all means BUY THIS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm so glad I bought this, April 22, 2004
By 
David (somewhere, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Blue Room E.P. (Audio CD)
This is a pretty rare EP that was released before their breakthrough album, Parachutes, came out. It is definitely worth your money. I found it in Tower Records Import/Singles section for 6 or 7 bucks after I had got A Rush of Blood to the Head. Well, this release is somewhat different from AROBTTH in that it is extremely mellow. While their latest album leans more to piano ballads and U2-ish pop songs, Blue Room EP's 5 tracks are very laid-back and beautiful. I wish they could have kept on making songs like "Bigger Stonger", the first track on the EP that stuns me every time.
In short, this EP is pure magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent release, December 24, 2003
This review is from: The Blue Room E.P. (Audio CD)
Released in 1999 before they even had released a proper debut LP, "The Blue Room EP" shows a young band with truly great potential (which they would later capitalize on with Parachutes and Rush of Blood). The first of the five tracks, 'Bigger Stronger' burns with some guitar fire and some uplifting vocals. Track 2 'Don't Panic' is the same song that would later be on Parachutes but in a slightly different form. Still, it's a great song. The first of the two real highlights is the next song, which is entitled 'See You Soon'. Simply put, this is one of the most beautiful songs that Coldplay have ever written. It can compete with any album track they have and when you stumble across it here on this little-owned EP you really feel like you have found a rare gem. It features little more than vocals, an acoustic guitar and some organ. It also has some interesting lyrics. This is one one of those types of songs that makes it worth it to buy an entire album. Next is 'High Speed'which is in the exact same form as it is on Parachutes. The closer 'Such A Rush' is the other highlight of this too-short EP. It wanders on slowly and dirge-like for it's first two minutes and it seems to be made of not much. But then it begins to build and build and then it explodes in a wonderful haze of emotion.
A great purchase, you can't go wrong with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars short, but VERY sweet, August 19, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Blue Room E.P. (Audio CD)
Why are you reading reviews? You should have already ordered this passionate and creative EP by Coldplay, a prequel to it's longer sibling, Parachutes. I reccomend buying Parachutes first, however, but once you have, and aquired a taste for their natural, comforting style, the blue room EP is a must get. Parachutes is more polished, high-fidelity recording, with more emphasis on the making of a solid, popular album, whereas the blue room EP is lo-fi, spontaneous, somewhat deeper, though I don't mean to diminish the beauty and depth of Parachutes in any way. Track 2 on the EP, which appears as track one on parachutes is sheer poetry. Simple, inspired by the beauty and mortality of Earth, it is the one song which I come back to every day and listen to out of a CD collection in the 500s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bleak excellence, June 15, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Blue Room E.P. (Audio CD)
The introductory EP by the radiohead-esque band Coldplay is an original fusion of mellow accoustic sound and uplifting melody. All five of its tracks stand out as being refreshingly different from a very repetitive indie music market, which is why it doesn't fit comfortably into this genre. This is an outstanding EP, which although closely follows the style of Radiohead, offers a new sound to complement this. Coldplay are definitely, upon listening of this debut, a promising talent for the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a new bittersweet symphony, September 7, 2001
By 
This review is from: The Blue Room E.P. (Audio CD)
with all the brit pop stars shining out there, coldplay's sad, melodic tunes seem to stand out more than all the others. Labled into a new category "sensitivity" coldplay is more than just that. With beautiful tunes on the blue room EP you'll fall in love with "see you soon" and if you've ever felt cheated "such a rush" is a perfect track. If your're already familiar with coldplay and love parachutes, you are not a true fan until you own the Blue E.P. coldplay are a true wonder, and its great to hear some Real tunes out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See you soon..., October 4, 2002
This review is from: The Blue Room E.P. (Audio CD)
If you needed a reason other than Coldplay being an amazing band to just buy this to donate money to their efforts and keep them alive as a band...I'll give you another reason, "SEE YOU SOON." This song gives me chills every SINGLE time I listen to it. I think that it should not simply have been limited to an EP, but, perhaps they wish to tease the fans with this outrageous EP, and not a full LP. Try it, you'll like it ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars COLDPLAY at their finest, June 6, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Blue Room (MP3 Music)
this is some top level work that anyone that is a true coldplay fan would enjoy. this is coldplay when we listened to them because they were self deprecating, mildly hopeful, but always resolute. this is definitely the pre-Parachutes album. sounds and all compliment perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars always a coldplay fan!!, March 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Blue Room (MP3 Music)
There is no cd that you could ever buy of Coldplay that you won't like!!! This one is no different!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Some oldies but goldies, November 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Blue Room E.P. (Audio CD)
This EP has the original version of "Beautiful world". I would highly recommend any Coldplay to get this EP. It also has other songs that didn't make the album and all of them are great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Blue Room E.P.
The Blue Room E.P. by Coldplay (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.