Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Blues Rolls On
Safety Month botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars29
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 18, 2008
This is a great album and I really like the nod towards the new up and comers. If you have bought other albums from Elvin Bishop this one deserves to be included in your collection. I hope the guy lives for another 20 years just to hear what he's up to. He never grows old to these ears.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2012
This is the true essence of Elvin's style. For those who remember his performances at the Fillmore West and while playing with the Paul Butterfield Blues Band, this is right up your alley !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2014
I heard his Struttin' My Stuff and really liked it and now in my CD Player in my car as perfect driving songs when I'm not in range of any decent FM Stations
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2013
I love the blues, but this one didn't ring my bell, I thought he should done better, I didn't like too much...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2012
I LOVE THE MANY SETS FROM GUEST MUSICIANS WITH ELVIN. A GREAT BLUE CD..A MUST FOR YOUR COLLECTION FO TUNES.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2008
Say "Elvin Bishop" to anyone weaned on 1970s pop radio, and they'll answer "Fooled Around and Fell in Love." The 1976 single's vocal was so indelible that many listeners never realized it wasn't Bishop, but instead soon-to-be Jefferson Starship vocalist Mickey Thomas. Bishop wrote the autobiographical lyrics, however, as well as an album (Struttin' My Stuff) full of soul, pop, funk and even reggae. But his one trip to the upper reaches of the pop singles chart did little to reveal the depth of his musical credentials. In contrast, his previous solo outings had featured more direct helpings of the electric blues he'd developed as a founding member of the Paul Butterfield Blues Band. Struttin' My Stuff's pop leanings weren't unprecedented, as Bishop had been mixing rock, country, soul and R&B into his blues for years, but its upbeat vibe borrowed more heavily from bicentennial euphoria and the party atmosphere of Bishop's stage work than the Chicago scene in which he'd been musically bred.

Since Bishop's chart breakthrough, he's released over a dozen albums that have ranged from straight blues and country-tinged soul to humorous party-time sides. His latest, for Delta Groove, pulls together many of those elements for a guest-filled celebration of the blues. The title track opens the album with Bishop's declaration of faith, recounting myriad influences and heroes and affirming the music's future. The Fabulous Thunderbirds' Kim Wilson adds his fine harp playing to the electric slides of Bishop and Allman Brother/Govt Mule's Warren Haynes. A cover of "Night Time is the Right Time" is offered in tribute to Ray Charles, with John Nemeth and Angela Strehli sharing vocals and Bishop's guitar playing call-and-response. Nemeth also provides a terrific vocal on the little-known Berry Gordy/Smokey Robinson blues "Who's the Fool," augmented by a bed-spring guitar solo from Kid Andersen.

Bishop revisits the Butterfield era "Yonder's Wall," slowed here to a muscular mid-tempo for vocalist Ronnie Baker Brooks, and updates the funk of "Struttin' My Stuff" with the addition of a bluesy rap. B.B. King provides sophistication on "Keep a Dollar in Your Pocket," though Bishop's broad vocal keeps it light. A pair of Junior Wells covers include the low and steady "Come on in this House," and the strutting "I Found Out," the latter featuring James Cotton on harp. Bishop picks a howling, distorted solo backing for the autobiographical "Oklahoma," and George Thorogood amps up "Send You Back to Georgia" to a battle between flatpick and slide. The album closes with an emotional, instrumental cover of Jimmy Reed's "Honest I Do," with John Nemeth providing the high, slicing harmonica and Bishop's slide guitar doing the talking. By stacking his guest list with veterans and rookies, and picking tunes both historical and, Bishop's love letter connects the blues' history with the vitality of its future. 3-1/2 stars, if allowed fractional ratings. [©2008 hyperbolium dot com]
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2016
Elvin is a pro that is appreciated by his peers and myself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2015
Fast shipping great price will buy again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2016
Excellent mix of classic Elvin.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2015
Great addition to collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.