The Boleyn Deceit: A Novel (The Boleyn Trilogy) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $15.00
  • Save: $3.08 (21%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Cart
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by Johndevv
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Very clean like new copy.
Add to Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Boleyn Deceit: A Novel (The Boleyn Trilogy) Paperback – November 5, 2013


See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$11.92
$8.31 $3.00

Frequently Bought Together

The Boleyn Deceit: A Novel (The Boleyn Trilogy) + The Boleyn King: A Novel (The Boleyn Trilogy) + The Boleyn Reckoning: A Novel (The Boleyn Trilogy)
Price for all three: $33.43

Buy the selected items together

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Hero Quick Promo
Browse in Books with Buzz and explore more details on selected titles, including the current pick, "The Good Girl" by Mary Kubica.

Product Details

  • Series: The Boleyn Trilogy
  • Paperback: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Ballantine Books (November 5, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0345534115
  • ISBN-13: 978-0345534118
  • Product Dimensions: 7.9 x 5.2 x 1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 10.4 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (89 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #130,399 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

The second part of a trilogy that began with The Boleyn King, this entertaining work of alternative history offers plenty to savor for both fans of historical romance and those whose passion is political intrigue. The premise: rather than leaving Henry VIII without a male heir, thereby permitting Elizabeth to ascend the throne, Anne Boleyn actually bore Henry a son, named William, who, at the novel's opening, has recently become king. William has also been promised in marriage to the much younger princess of France, a move calculated to appease England's Catholics. Secretly, however, William hopes to marry Minuette, Elizabeth's confidante who has been raised alongside the Boleyn children. Romantic complications—Minuette's heart belongs to William's closest friend, Dominic—arise alongside political scandal, as Minuette researches the cause of the bloody events that closed the previous title in the series and William struggles to retain control of the throne, despite those who would challenge the authority of the young but self-assured Protestant king. Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and Allison Weir, Andersen's novel admirably takes artistic license with history while remaining true to many aspects of real-world history. The romance plot builds gradually, while the political one comes to a more rapid (and, for those who have not read the first volume, perhaps confusing) head—but both seem to foreshadow a mesmerizing conclusion to the trilogy. (Nov.)

From Booklist

*Starred Review* Picking up immediately after where trilogy opener The Boleyn King (2013) left off, this speculative foray into Tudor England resumes Andersen’s plausible reimagining of an England ruled by young King Henry IX, aka William, son of Henry VIII and Anne Boleyn. Bolstered by the unshakable loyalties of his sister; his confidante, Dominic; and his childhood friend, Minuette, William faces further entangling intrigues as he juggles an impending, politically motivated betrothal to a 10-year-old Catholic French princess, betrayals and possibly even treason by some at court, and the reckless depth of feelings he has for Minuette. Dominic and Minuette continue their love affair, resolutely hiding it from everyone, but especially from William, whose reaction would likely be a monstrous personal hurt or even a kingly decrying. Elizabeth struggles with the realization that she can never marry for love and also with the possibility that she might grace the throne herself as queen. Minuette draws danger closer to her as she insists on investigating a death from the series opener that haunts her still, despite escalating warnings to back off. Dominic battles with his loyalty to his king and his attraction to the one woman the king wants. Detailed and quick paced, this will have series fans devouring it and emerging eager for the final book. An excellent recommendation for Phillipa Gregory fans. --Julie Trevelyan

More About the Author

Laura Andersen has one husband, four children, and a college degree in English that she puts to non-profitable use by reading everything she can lay her hands on. Books, shoes, and travel are her fiscal downfalls, which she justifies because all three 'take you places.' She loves the ocean (but not sand), forests (but not camping), good food (but not cooking), and shopping (there is no downside.) Historical fiction offers her all the pleasure of visiting the past without the inconvenience of no electricity or indoor plumbing. After more than thirty years spent west of the Rocky Mountains, she now lives in Massachusetts with her family.

Customer Reviews

Popular Discussion Topics

beta: what do you think?
  • "Characters" 24
  • "Writing" 23
  • "Romantic" 9
  • "Suspense" 5
  • "Emotional" 5
  • All Topics

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Heidi on November 11, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition
Henry IX, William, the son of the infamous Anne Boleyn and Henry VIII, is the royal heir to the throne of England. At eighteen, he is one of the most powerful men in Europe. Yet he is surrounded by treachery and deceit as those around him try and usurp his power. The country is still squabbling over religious differences, thanks to his father and his lustful desires. The loyal Catholics still believe that Henry's half sister Mary should be crowned Queen, and they will stop at nothing to see that she reaches the throne. Meanwhile, William is trying to maintain a shaky peace with the French by entering in an engagement with the nine year old French princess. Truth be told, William has no intention of marrying the French girl, his heart belongs to another, Minuette, the orphan ward of his late mother. The problem is Minuette's is taken by someone else. William is surrounded by people who are bent on their own desires, even those he trusts the most. Will William keep his throne and marry the girl he loves?
What I Liked:
*I am fascinated by the torrid, bloody and treacherous history of the Tudor family. Henry VIII remains an interesting and despicable villain even today. I enjoyed delving into a book that takes the written history and turns everything upside down by presenting an alternate version of the events. In Ms. Andersen's vision, Henry and Anne's son is not stillborn, instead he survives to ascend to the throne. At eighteen, William rules the country with an iron fist, while getting what he wants. He is his father's son after all. In this alternate version of history, Anne was not executed, instead she died of illness. Her brother, George Boleyn, Lord Rochford and his wife Jane survive, and in fact, George remains a closer advisor to William.
Read more ›
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful By mickey71 VINE VOICE on October 17, 2013
Format: Paperback Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
This is the second book in a trilogy that follows an alternate reality in which Anne Boleyn gave Henry VIII the son he so desperately needed. I loved the first volume, and wondered if this one would hold up.

Intrigue abounds in this volume. It appears to be Catholics versus everyone else...but who is the real enemy? Minuette and Dominick continue to hide their love from William (aka Henry IX), who firmly believes he will be able to abandon his betrothal to the French princess to marry childhood friend-turned-true-love Minuette, no matter what it costs the kingdom. Meanwhile, Elizabeth uses her renowned intellect to figure out what's going on, and keep her brother and friends safe.

I love how the skewed reality marries with true history in this world of Andersen's. I hate to say it, but I get the most enjoyment from watching Elizabeth's activities and personality develop in a world where she's always been a beloved royal princess, never lost her status, and appears to be merely a royal sister to be married off in the best diplomatic bargain rather than a future queen (even though at this point she's still heir presumptive to the throne).

I was delighted to read on Andersen's website that there will be a second trilogy that takes place in this reality. I won't give spoilers; you can check her page yourself if you want to read the plot of it. It looks like something I feared would happen will, indeed, happen, but that it will be the catapult to the second trilogy, so maybe it's okay. Or maybe we'll learn a long-hidden secret that brings about the second trilogy. Either way, I'm looking forward to it!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By AntKathy on December 2, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition
I receveived "The Boleyn Deceit: A Novel" as an Advance Reader's Copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest personal review.

Historical fiction as a genre asks the reader to believe that the story presented in the novel is close to the truth, but with some creative license taken with historical fact. "The Boleyn Deceit" by Laura Anderson is the second novel in a trilogy. I did not read the first novel, and as of this writing, the third has not been released.

Anderson has written an alternate history based on the idea that King Henry VIII of England and Anne Boleyn had a male child, William, who succeeded his father as king. After a regency period, William, reigns as Henry IX, while his sister Elizabeth remains a princess, and his half sister, Mary is detained in a palace away from court. William's courtier Dominic and Elizabeth's lady-in-waiting, Minuette, a ward of the court, are involved in a secret romance/engagement. It is necessary for members of the court to seek permission from the king to marry, and William has his eye on Minuette. She, however, does not return the feelings for William.

Although the story is well written, and the love triangle is intriguing, a fan of Tudor history may find the story hard to get into. "The Boleyn Deceit" is not historical fiction, it is historical fantasy. Although some people, places and events existed at the time this novel takes place, it is not at all what actually happened in history. You will enjoy the book If you are willing to explore an alternate history for Tudor England. If you would rather read historical fiction based on fact, this is not the book for you.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Search

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?