Customer Reviews


334 Reviews
5 star:
 (134)
4 star:
 (74)
3 star:
 (44)
2 star:
 (43)
1 star:
 (39)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A class mystery thriller
If you like films like kiss the girls, copycat and silence of the lambs you will like this movie. The basic plot, Denzel plays a paralysed expert in police forensics who was injured in the line of duty. He is asked by his old colleague Ed o'neil to work on a new serial killer case and he accepts but requires that a young rookie cop help with the forensics, they then...
Published on March 6, 2000 by Jamie Bouadana

versus
20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching if you haven't read the Deaver novel of the
same name.
If you have, do not, I repeat, do not plan to enjoy the movie. I've no problem with the scripting changes necessitated when films are made from great books (although they usually don't work!)....but in this case, a truly unique first appearance of Lincoln Rhyme, a quadriplegic forensic specialist, is spoiled by some deliberate and wasted alterations of...
Published on July 5, 2002 by L. Quido


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A class mystery thriller, March 6, 2000
This review is from: The Bone Collector (DVD)
If you like films like kiss the girls, copycat and silence of the lambs you will like this movie. The basic plot, Denzel plays a paralysed expert in police forensics who was injured in the line of duty. He is asked by his old colleague Ed o'neil to work on a new serial killer case and he accepts but requires that a young rookie cop help with the forensics, they then form a terrific partnership trying to solve the case by Denzel teaching his gained knowldege to his young apprentice. The acting is good along with an excellent storyline. The DVD has a few special features with the usual DVD superb picture and sound quality. Well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching if you haven't read the Deaver novel of the, July 5, 2002
By 
L. Quido "quidrock" (Tampa, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bone Collector (DVD)
same name.
If you have, do not, I repeat, do not plan to enjoy the movie. I've no problem with the scripting changes necessitated when films are made from great books (although they usually don't work!)....but in this case, a truly unique first appearance of Lincoln Rhyme, a quadriplegic forensic specialist, is spoiled by some deliberate and wasted alterations of the characters and the plot.
The changes? Rhyme's nurse in the novel was a cynic, gay harpy...the perfect person to try to control Rhyme. In the movie, a big-hearted, dedicated career nurse is played by Queen Latifah. Why? The ending of the film was completely changed by the scriptwriters, and I urge you to read the novel to see the shocking conclusion that played so much better than the film ended.
I blame Noyce, the director, for the script annihilation, the "too dark" filming sequences outside of Rhyme's apartment, and the waste of a pretty cohesive cast.
I'm giving 3 stars instead of less because the cast does a fine job, and the sets are outstanding. Angelina Jolie may not have been excellent here, in Amelia's first appearance, but you can believe that she would be perfect for the part if filmakers chose to continue the Rhyme theme and film some of the later, greater novels. Supporting players are all strong, and Denzel is outstanding as Lincoln Rhyme, with his electronic life-giving toys, his attitude, and his willingness to give up life as every seizure (well played!) rocks his world. The chemistry between Jolie & Washington is strong and well-played, and, had the film been shot a little differently and been more of a success, Washington might have had the continuous role as Rhyme that Harrison Ford keeps winning in films...oh, well.
Read the novel, but then don't watch the DVD!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MOVIE ENTERTAINING AND SUSPENSEFUL.,, January 4, 2005
By 
Debra A. Jean (New Hampshire, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bone Collector (DVD)
It's unfortunate that both Jonathan and Victor didn't care for the film. I found the storyline to be very suspenseful right to the end. I thought Denzel did a great job in the film and he and Anjolina Jolie worked well together. The film did what it was intending to which was to entertain. Sure any film made could always have had a better ending or a better plot, but it's pure entertainment. And on that level, it was a good movie which I would highly recommend.

People need to lighten up on their criticisms
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Uninvolving film from great mystery novel, March 20, 2002
This review is from: The Bone Collector (DVD)
It is rare that my reading habits coincide with what I see at the movies. I just happened to read Jeffrey Deaver's novel, The Bone Collector, just a few weeks before the film adaptation opened. I found Mr. Deaver's book to be scary, original and well researched. It is a page turner, and I highly recommend it to mystery fans. And the movie? Read on!
I am fairly well educated on the subject of transferring books into films. I don't want to get too deep, but what we have to deal with is too different mediums. Writing is a linear art. Movies are a visual art. Simply put, it is not possible to precisely translate a book into a film. When people read, each person visualizes the text differently. A film is a singular vision. Assuming work of fiction is reasonably well written, only the plot and some descriptions will come out approximately the same to all readers. For movie purposes, plots often must be altered. There are two main reasons. One is time constraints. You may not care how long it takes you to read a good book, but would you sit through a faithful movie version if it ran six hours? The other is the idea that what engrosses people in a book is often different from what intrigues them in a movie.
I prefaced my review of The Bone Collector with these remarks because there is something screen writers often do that both irritates and confuses me. It is easy to see why this book was bought for the screen. The story is highly cinematic, the kind that movie executives fight over the rights to produce. So what was the screenwriter thinking when deciding to rewrite key elements of the plot in order to create a weaker movie? I'll never know, but that's what seems to have occurred in this case. I'll get back to this in a minute.
The movie stars two of this year's Oscar nominees, Denzel Washington and Angeline Jolie. It was directed by Phillip Noyce, a competent fellow who has directed such action hits as Clear and Present Danger and Patriot Games. Washington plays Lincoln Rhyme, a top notch forensic detective who has been paralyzed from the neck down for three years. Despondent over the tedium of his life, he has consulted with a doctor about ending his life. When some of New York's finest come to his apartment to ask for his help in solving a particularly gruesome and clever murder, he is reluctant. As the case proceeds and becomes increasingly complex, he is given, at least temporarily, a reason to live. Jolie is Amelia Donaghy, a bright young cop who is the first at the scene of the killing. Impressed by her professional handling of the crime scene, he enlists her to be his eyes in the world beyond his apartment and his computers. Amelia also wants nothing to do with the manhunt at first, but as she becomes familiar with forensic science, she finds that she is a natural detective. What follows is a harrowing cat and mouse game between Lincoln, Amelia and the diabolical killer, who leaves bizarre clues at each crime scene. This planted evidence can tell a clever detective when and where the next crime will occur.
Splendid story possibilities, right? Sounds like a great movie. Well, it's not, and this is due to that scriptwriter. I suppose it's okay to change Lincoln's nurse from a hip and funny [but no nonsense] gay guy to a warm and compassionate [but bland] woman named Thelma, a part wasted on the vibrant Queen Latifah. In the book, the nurse was an integral part of the story. Thelma mostly wanders around trying to help. Maybe it's also okay to change the nurse's ultimate fate. As in the book, the movie's villain is obsessed with old New York, particularly locales dating to around 1890. The movie, however, fails to capitalize on these visual treats, even though New York is still filled with such places. It is in the identity of the killer and in the reason why the killer is doing his deeds that the movie goes totally off the track. The book's ending could have made one of the most surprising and shocking film finales in years. It all made sense and had a great twist. The movie changes all this. As a result, the ending is warmed over Hollywood nonsense. I think I will write a book in which a screenwriter is done in for sabotaging a great novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, August 27, 2001
By 
Ryanst (Southern Calif.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Bone Collector (DVD)
I read over some of the other reviews putting this movie at an "average" rating, but I kinda disagree. First off, I think the director and producer put this movie together perfectly. In case you do not know about this movie, Ill start off by describing it a bit... The main theme lies in the thriller/mystery department, so if you like these kind of films, you will most definitely like this movie. The two main charactors in the movie are Denzel Washington and Angelina Jolie. Denzel plays a disabled Crime Scene Investigator and Angelina plays a rookie police officer who laters finds out her talent as a crime scene investigator. The setting of the story takes place in New York City (which is a perfect spot for this type of movie) and is cast in modern day life. Basically, the plot of the movie is about a phsyco murderer who, very strategically, plans killings by using his job as a taxi cab driver to kidnapp people. I dont want to get too in depth, but the good guys would be Denzel and Angelina and a few other police bureau workers who try to solve the mystery behind all the kidnappings and hopefully get to the crime scene in time to save innocent people. You might have preconcieved notions about this movie being kind of average, but what makes this movie stand out is its outstanding film features. By features I mean, great music and excellent effects (everything such as lighting, settings etc). If your going to watch it, here are some VERY recommended suggestions...
1. Make sure its dark- 50% of the movies general "effect" comes from the ambience in which you watch it. 2. Watch on a fairly large television with a fairly good sound system. - try to get the best TV and sound system to watch the movie otherwise dont even bother with the movie. 3. Must get it on DVD! - Dont watch the VHS version, I saw it and its horrible. Film quality is bad and it doesnt include all the extras which tell about the Bone collector. Sound is also improved on DVD version. Any way you look at it, you need to give the Bone Collector a try. Great movie for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 50 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Se7en knock-off, March 18, 2000
By 
M. Gleason (Omaha, NE USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bone Collector (DVD)
I admit I was suckered into purchasing this DVD because another site said it was "reference quality" audio. The audio, while good, doesn't make this movie a disc you throw in to impress your friends. I am impressed that both DTS and DD5.1 audio is included, along with a few extra features. For that, Universal is commended. The video is sharp also; it's good enough that you wonder if Angeline Jolie's lips have been augmented with collagen.
However, the problem with this movie is that it just isn't very suspenseful or scary. The cast is good, but it can't help the fact that script is sub-par and the dialogue forced.
Denzel Washington ("Lincoln Rhymes") stars as a former forensic expert who has been paralyzed in the line of duty. He becomes involved in a case anyway when a young NYPD cop ("Amelia Donaghy", Angeline Jolie) stumbles onto a gruesome murder scene.
The movie doesn't draw in the viewer into caring about the serial murders being committed because it focuses more on Rhymes tutoring Donaghy in the art of forensics rather than the victims or crimes itself. The movie doesn't bother to develop the murderer's character, so a viewer doesn't fear him nor really feel interested in the case.
To make matters worse, the sappy character development made me roll my eyes a couple of times. In fact, there isn't any other that of Rhymes or Donaghy's character and even that seems awkward. For example, it's just not believable when Donaghy suddenly is enamored of and friendly with Rhymes when until then Donaghy had no respect for Rhymes at all.
This movie might be worth a rent, but definitely not a buy. Try Silence of the Lambs or Seven instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The ending rates a NO STAR, January 28, 2009
By 
James May "JMay" (Gorham, ME United States) - See all my reviews
The Bone Collector. What a great idea for a movie. Then cast Denzel Washington in the lead. PERFECT. This had all the makings of a great movie. The acting was good, and the storyline was interesting. What happened?? The ending. When you invest the time, energy and money to create a movie that suckers in viewers, you should have a slam-bang finish. This one failed miserably. It broke the biggest rule of the Who-dun-it mysteries. You NEVER make the villan someone that the reader, or in this case, movie-viewer could never in their wildest dreams have figured out. In the end, we have the villan - someone who amounted to, at best, a walk on role up to the point he was revealed. It leaves the viewer saying, "HUH?" And the reason he wanted to kill our hero? He wanted to make him suffer for some deed he had done prior -- which was never revealed or discussed in the movie to that point. The laughable part was his rationale for wanting to kill him - he wanted him to suffer for what he had done to him. Ok, so kill him - then what? Its over. The Denzel character was a paraplegic, for Pete's sake. He suffered from seizures, etc. How could death be more suffering than that? I would have thought that the villan would have been MORE than satisfied to watch this daily suffering. In the end it was lame, lame, lame. Such a shame, too, when it had so much potential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Almost unwatchable, May 11, 2000
By 
Nathan Bailie (Huntsville, AL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bone Collector (DVD)
This movie was bad. It was so bad that it made the good actors in it look bad by proxy. The plot was simplistic, dull and forced. The suspense was found in spots that must have read on the script as "(Insert suspense here)". Denzel Washington acted like Denzel washington acting as a cop. The tired 'foil' detective they tried to use as a red herring was so obvious it was painful to watch. The identity of the serial killer was so pathetic that it made me throw stuff at my TV. The clues left behind by the killer weren't all that subtle, I've seen smarter clues in Encyclopedia Brown mysteries. It's a boring predictable hollywood hack job. bad bad bad. Don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A solid, emblematic and first-rate thriller!, July 22, 2006
This review is from: The Bone Collector (DVD)
Philip Noyce is a very smart filmmaker. And once more he confirms it through this intense and intriguing psychological picture around a notable expert forensic (Denzel Washington) sadly a bedridden quadriplegic who joins forces with a witty female agent (Angelina Jollie) to intend by all their means to get a mysterious serial killer around the low belly of NYC.

Smart clues, notable shots, first rate direction, kinetic script make of this movie one of the five most solid thrillers in the Nineties according the tradition of Silence of the lambs as well as an underneath homage to "The rear window", if you carefully establish the visible connections, due if James Stewart was a visible peeping tom at those times, Denzel Washington is the scrutinizing cyber eye. The paradigm remains, and just the form changes.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great performances from Washington, O'Neill, and Latifah . . . and that's about it, June 22, 2009
By 
Eric S. Kim (Southern California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Bone Collector (DVD)
This movie could have been so much better, but they just had to ruin it, didn't they? With the exception of very fine performances from Denzel Washington, Ed O'Neill, and Queen Latifah, the rest of the film just falls flat. The plot seems so ridiculous that I can't help but look away. Angelina Jolie's acting is below average, but she did her best. The twist ending wasn't very disappointing, but it did fall flat because of its exaggerated (or lack of) suspense. I didn't really enjoy watching this thriller. There are better ones like Se7en, and The Usual Suspects. Watch those two, and you'll see how a real thriller should be.

Grade: D+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Bone Collector
The Bone Collector by Phillip Noyce
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.