Customer Reviews


454 Reviews
5 star:
 (291)
4 star:
 (99)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WALKING THE "GRID" WITH LINCOLN AND AMELIA
In The Bone Collector, the first in a series featuring Lincoln Rhymes, we are introduced to probably one of the best criminalist minds that have ever been written about. Perhaps it's because the main character, Lincoln Rhymes, does not have the day to day trivialities that cloud up one's mind on a daily basis. Rhymes is a quadriplegic and can only move one finger. He...
Published on June 17, 2000 by TheReader23

versus
42 of 56 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars starring a dehumanised quadriplegic
in 2010 I had an accident that left me a quadriplegic. One of the first books I was encouraged to read when, months later, I could access ebooks was The Bone Collector, with its central character, Lincoln Rhyme, a quadriplegic. there are already enough comments on this site assessing its quality as a work of crime fiction. In this review, I will respond to its...
Published on April 1, 2012 by Shane Clifton


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

67 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WALKING THE "GRID" WITH LINCOLN AND AMELIA, June 17, 2000
By 
TheReader23 (Pennsylvania (orig. NY)) - See all my reviews
In The Bone Collector, the first in a series featuring Lincoln Rhymes, we are introduced to probably one of the best criminalist minds that have ever been written about. Perhaps it's because the main character, Lincoln Rhymes, does not have the day to day trivialities that cloud up one's mind on a daily basis. Rhymes is a quadriplegic and can only move one finger. He is a former NYPD criminalogist whose spine was severely injured while working a crime scene. Now he is confined to his townhouse apartment in Manhattan where, with the help of some state of the art electronics and equipment, he is still able to help the NYPD solve some gruesome crimes.
Enter Amelia Sachs, a beautiful policewoman, who becomes Lincoln's protege, possible love interest and eyes and ears on upcoming crime scenes. I read this book after the movie trailers were out so it was easy to picture Denzel Washington as Rhymes and Angelina Jolie as Sachs. Deaver is a master at explaining and detailing police procedure and is so adept at analyzing a crime scene that by the time I was finished, I felt as if I could "walk the grid" and "bag the evidence". The homicidal maniac in this book is as evil as they come but Lincoln is able to stay one step ahead of him. If there is a book that can honestly be termed a "page-turner", this is it. Upon its completion, however, I don't know if I'll ever be able to ride in a NYC cab and, if I do have to and I see some little toy hanging from the rear view mirror, "I'm outta here".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book will Blow You Away!, February 15, 2000
Jeffery Deaver is one the great writers of today -his thrillers are wonderfully twisted, intelligent and fast paced.
This was recently made into a movie which did not do the book justice. Lincoln Rhyme, the NYPD's best and considered to be the world's foremost criminalist - is paralyzed in an accident and seeks solace in silence yet the police desperately need him.
Walking the beat, Amelia Sachs discovers a body buried beneath an overpass (all but his ring finger) and she seals the area off in hopes of salvaging what clues might be left. This action brings her to the attention of Lincoln. The NYPD teams them up to hunt down what might be the cities most deranged killer.
This book was fabulous - but it had a major flaw -it ended! I fell in love with Lincoln Rhyme and Amelia Sachs and I couldn't put the book down. It was thriller through and through - and as a bonus it was well written and the characters were so real that you almost felt like you were there with them.
I can't wait to see where Jeffery Deaver takes us next
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For those who truly like the gruesome and creative, May 16, 2000
This review is from: The Bone Collector: The First Lincoln Rhyme Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
Wow-- a top forensic police officer working from his bed as a quadriplegic. Such a great idea that has NEVER been thought of before!
And from the very beginning, where police find a man buried alive with one hand sticking out of the ground, a finger shaved of skin and wearing a woman's ring, the depraved of New York City shine through this book about a serial killer/kidnapper. A beautiful woman must help our "crip," as he calls himself, solve each crime, for which the killer leaves clues to the next victim, before the victim dies.
A great suspense novel, one which I wanted to read before I saw the movie with the gorgeous Denzel Washington playing the quadriplegic and newcomer Angelina Jolie playing the red-headed "partner" for this forensic, bedded genius.
Deaver has created two superb characters who work together with superb sexual tension between them. Readers should check out the next book, "The Coffin Dancer," which features the same players. Hopefully Deaver has more coming for us.
Deaver is Patricia Cornwell caliber, a hard task to accomplish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NO BONE TO PICK WITH THE BONE COLLECTOR..., July 27, 2000
This review is from: The Bone Collector: The First Lincoln Rhyme Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
This is an especially suspenseful thriller made more so by the personal angst of the main character, Lincoln Rhyme. A quadriplegic, forensic ex-detective for the New York City Police Department, Rhyme is brought out of retirement by the police department to assist them in the apprehension of an apparently psychopathic killer who is loose on the streets of New York.

The forays into bits of arcane New York history, as well as the sleuthing done almost entirely through the application of forensics and deductive reasoning, make for a very interesting read. While at times it seems that no one could be as uncannily accurate as Rhyme in deciphering the meaning of the physical evidence, this contrivance does serve to move the plot along. With the story line so engrossing and the crime scenes horrific, as well as ingenious, it is the kind of book that is hard to put down, because you simply cannot wait to see what happens. The surprise ending is the icing on the cake.

Assisting Rhyme with his work is Police Officer Sachs who, while not as compelling a character as Rhyme, is essential to the story. It is her character who does the 'heavy lifting' so to speak. Highly intelligent and resourceful, with an innate appreciation of the importance of physical evidence, she inspects and preserves the crime scenes, as well as gathers the physical evidence from which Rhyme ultimately weaves his magic. She also serves as somewhat of a Deus Ex Machina in that she saves the day in more ways than one.

Sachs is a wonderful foil for Rhyme in that she runs hot to his cold. She is driven by her desire to help others, as well as by her own personal demons, while he is ever the calm, cool, collected clinician, whose desire to preserve a crime scene may supercede the milk of human kindness latent within his emotionally atrophied soul. The personal connection that Rhyme ultimately develops with Officer Sachs is one that leaves you hoping that they will be teamed up again in yet another novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, February 4, 2000
By 
Sean MacMillan (Bernardsville, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bone Collector: The First Lincoln Rhyme Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the first Deaver book I read. Now I'm on a mission to read them all. The story behind this book is simple. A madman is on the loose in NYC, kidnapping victims and leaving clues behind for the police to find the victims. If they are not found in time, they meet with a horrible death.
Knowing this, the police turn to an ex-cop, Lincoln Rhyme, famous criminalist who was retired after a spinal column injury. Now a quadriplegic, he is forced back into service knowing he is the only one who can catch the madman. With the assistance of a team he assembles, including the beautiful Patrolwoman Amelia Sachs, they set out on the villians trail.
This book was a page-turner. The charcters are developed quickly and in depth. You are immediately swept up into action and it doesn't end until the end. I didn't find one thing boring about this book. The only disappointing part was the ending which seemed a little far fetched. But I still recommend this whole-heartedly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NO BONE TO PICK WITH THE BONE COLLECTOR..., August 1, 2005
This review is from: The Bone Collector (Paperback)
This is an especially suspenseful thriller made more so by the personal angst of the main character, Lincoln Rhyme. A quadriplegic, forensic ex-detective for the New York City Police Department, Rhyme is brought out of retirement by the police department to assist them in the apprehension of an apparently psychopathic killer who is loose on the streets of New York.

The forays into bits of arcane New York history, as well as the sleuthing done almost entirely through the application of forensics and deductive reasoning, make for a very interesting read. While at times it seems that no one could be as uncannily accurate as Rhyme in deciphering the meaning of the physical evidence, this contrivance does serve to move the plot along. With the story line so engrossing and the crime scenes horrific, as well as ingenious, it is the kind of book that is hard to put down, because you simply cannot wait to see what happens. The surprise ending is the icing on the cake.

Assisting Rhyme with his work is Police Officer Sachs who, while not as compelling a character as Rhyme, is essential to the story. It is her character who does the 'heavy lifting' so to speak. Highly intelligent and resourceful, with an innate appreciation of the importance of physical evidence, she inspects and preserves the crime scenes, as well as gathers the physical evidence from which Rhyme ultimately weaves his magic. She also serves as somewhat of a Deus Ex Machina in that she saves the day in more ways than one.

Sachs is a wonderful foil for Rhyme in that she runs hot to his cold. She is driven by her desire to help others, as well as by her own personal demons, while he is ever the calm, cool, collected clinician, whose desire to preserve a crime scene may supercede the milk of human kindness latent within his emotionally atrophied soul. The personal connection that Rhyme ultimately develops with Officer Sachs is one that leaves you hoping that they will be teamed up again in yet another novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My First Deaver, and I loved it !, November 17, 1999
This review is from: The Bone Collector: The First Lincoln Rhyme Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
I'm always skeptical of starting new mystery/thrillers, because most of them are never what they are cracked up to be. However, I thoroughly enjoyed this book ! The characters were interesting - flawed, but, nevertheless, interesting, and I never suspected ONCE who the actual killer was. For that, the book gets 5 stars. It was refreshing to read of a hero and heroine who have feet of clay (like all of us), and yet manage to function beautifully despite their obvious and not-so-obvious shortcomings. I will definately read more of Jeffery Deavers's novels, especially those with the Rhymes/Sachs characters. The book was well-written and informative - especially for forensic science buffs. I hope the other books by this author are as satisfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scares you silly, November 20, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Bone Collector: The First Lincoln Rhyme Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is one of the best I have read. I was in need of a good book since I had finished my others. I picked this one up due to the new movie, I could not put this book down. I was turning pages non-stop. I was in suspense the whole time that I was reading this book. Jeffery Deaver is one of the best writers I have ever read. Since reading this book I am hooked on Jeffery Deaver. I am currently reading the Coffin Dancer. In the Bone Collector there are many interesting twists and turns that will leave you reading till the end. If I could give this ten stars I would gladly give it that, and would recomend this book to anyone who likes thrillers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Duo Since Holmes and Watson!, February 26, 2003
This review is from: The Bone Collector: The First Lincoln Rhyme Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
"The Bone Collector" is the first in the riveting Lincoln Rhyme-Amelia Sachs series, and it leaves the reader gasping for more.
Take one handsome and brilliant forensic scientist--who now happens to be a quadriplegic who can move his head and exactly one finger. Team him with a gorgeous redheaded cop with a chip on her shoulder and a propensity for biting her nails to the quick. Present them with a serial killer to end all serial killers. And then hang on tight, because this plot has more twists and turns than the most sophisticated roller coaster.
As the book opens, a despairing Rhyme is methodically planning his own suicide, with the help of a Kevorkian-type doctor. Trapped in his useless body, the former criminalist feels he simply cannot go on. Then he is asked to help solve one more case--and his brilliant mind simply cannot resist the tantalizing and baffling clues.
With a slew of high-tech gadgets (fascinating) in his bedroom, and the unwilling Amelia Sachs acting as his stand-in at the various crime scenes, Rhyme tracks a killer whose twisted mind jumps back and forth from the real world to that of Old New York. This is one heck of a perp: He thinks he's living 100 years ago, and his murders have everything to do with that delusion.
No way can the reader guess the end; no way is the reader going to be satisfied with only one Rhyme-Sachs novel. Fortunately, there are more--and I've ordered them all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pageturner that keeps you guessing, June 8, 2000
By 
This review is from: The Bone Collector: The First Lincoln Rhyme Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
This was one of the best thriller novels I've ever read, and I've read too many to count. The plot centers around a brilliant retired police detecitve whose mind is trapped inside of a body that is paralyzed, save one finger. The detectives name: Lincoln Rhyme, and this book begins a series of novels written by Deaver with Rhyme as a central character. Amelia Sachs also appears as his beautiful, but self-doubting Watson to his Holmes. This book moves very quickly and the clues are sprinkled throughout the book in such a way that your mind never stops pondering "Who is the Bone Collector and who is his next victim?" This book gets good early and keeps you hooked. There is very little "down-time, except perhaps, the sub-plot of Rhyme's planned suicide, but even that adds to the story in the end. This is the kind of book you stay up late trying to finish because you just can't go to sleep not knowing how it will end. A VERY good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Bone Collector: The First Lincoln Rhyme Novel
The Bone Collector: The First Lincoln Rhyme Novel by Jeffery Deaver (Mass Market Paperback - April 1, 1998)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.