Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun example of a type of horror not made anymore.
The Boogens is a 1981 horror flick that has become a bit of a cult classic partially due to it's unavailability for almost 2 decades and partially for it's amusing title. It's just fun to say "Boogens". The film also has sentimental importance to me, as it was one of the horror flicks I saw with friends at the legendary Oritani grind house in Hackensack, N.J. A time when...
Published on August 9, 2012 by MonsterZeroNJ

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Boogens
The Boogens, despite its name, is a well paced horror film which pays justice to the cult monster movies of the 1950's. The editing style gives the viewer a well balanced blend of suspense, shock and gore to make the film both eerie and frightening. I originally saw this movie on cable about 18 years ago and was equally entertained after watching the VHS copy I recently...
Published on October 20, 2000 by Myksmynd@aol.com


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun example of a type of horror not made anymore., August 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Boogens [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The Boogens is a 1981 horror flick that has become a bit of a cult classic partially due to it's unavailability for almost 2 decades and partially for it's amusing title. It's just fun to say "Boogens". The film also has sentimental importance to me, as it was one of the horror flicks I saw with friends at the legendary Oritani grind house in Hackensack, N.J. A time when B movies were still released in a theater, where they belong, and a time I now cherish in this direct to DVD and VOD age. Now being given the chance to revisit this low budget chiller, it's time to answer the question of whether it's as fun as I remember or has time and nostalgia created a far better memory then it was a movie. And I'm happy to report it still is a fun flick, although 80s nostalgia does play a part. In a way, "Boogens" is a quintessential horror for the late 70s, early 80s with it's slow burn, creepy old man with ominous warnings, and nubile girls in skimpy bathrobes investigating noises in dark cellars. This is exactly the type of movie Ti West paid homage to in the recent "House Of The Devil". A few months later Evil Dead would arrive and crank horror flicks up to 11 and Jason was just getting started on his body count.
This 1981 horror stars Rebecca Balding ("Silent Scream") and takes place in rural Silver City, Colorado, a small mining town where the mines are being reopened for the first time since a supposed cave-in 70 years previous. But, unknown to two college grads (Fred McCarren and Jeff Harlan) working on the re-opening and their two nubile young ladies (Balding and the equally cute, Ann-Marie Martin), the mines were caved in on purpose and unsealing the tunnels unleashes our title creatures and they are quite hungry.
Boogens is well directed by James L. Conway who also directed pseudo-documentaries like "Hanger 18" and "In Search Of Noah's Ark" and who went on to direct a lot of genre TV including episodes of all the post-original "Star Trek" series and the current, "Supernatural". He directs with a leisurely pace but, builds some nice suspense and also knows to keep his monsters hidden until the very end. And when we do see them, they are good old fashioned prosthetics, there's something charming about prosthetics that CGI rarely matches. He gets good performances out of his cast and the fact that they are all very likeable helps add suspense when they are in danger. There is some nice gore but, it is used sparingly and the body count is low. This movie was made just as the slasher sub-genre started to gain momentum and before body count became crucial to the proceedings.
Sure, by today's standards "The Boogens" is tame, slow and cheesy but, it is the type of horror that they made when I was in high school and I will always have a soft spot in my movie geek heart for them. The transfer on blu-ray is absolutely beautiful and it`s worth a look for horror fans, especially those who enjoy horror from this era. Welcome back, "Boogens".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Our VHS version wore out a long time ago...finally a DVD!!, July 11, 2012
This review is from: The Boogens (DVD)
Well, I wasn't exactly a kid when this gem of a film came out, and it didn't give me nightmares or make me afraid to go in the basement, but it was one of the most enjoyable movie dates ever with my future husband in December 1981. We liked it so much that we bought the VHS version as soon as we found that it was available in the 1990's, and made an anniversary tradition of sending the kids to grandma's, lighting a fire in the fireplace, turning out the lights and popping some Boogens into the VCR (we even brought it along to a hotel once). The tape lasted about a decade before becoming unwatchable a few years ago, so it will be terrific to be able to revive the tradition for our upcoming 30th anniversary. Thanks for releasing this long-awaited treat in DVD format!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rare, shining gem in a tired, boring market, June 19, 2000
By 
"ithios2" (Silverton, Colorado (The film's Locale)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Boogens [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Wow! That's all I can say about this one. I first saw the Boogens when I was nine years old and it scared me so bad I couldn't even look under my bed for a week. I had to wait more than half a lifetime to find the movie again on VHS, but when I did it hadn't lost any of its gruesome charm whatsoever. Set in the majestic Rockies (my native territory) The Boogens focuses on four twenty-somethings who move into a nice, if somewhat sinister cabin in the woods which was the site of a brutal killing in the beginning of the film. The four soon split up for various reasons and go about their own ways. The story kicks into overdrive when the first of them is dragged under his vehicle and sliced open by the nasty claw of the Boogen. We see this only in quick flashes of ingenious editing that gives us only a "taste" of the real thing. Dark, cramped, sometimes unbearably spooky, the Boogens sent a message to us in the early eighties: Horror is not dead, not even sleeping, we just have to know which cave to look in to find the scariest monster, and The Boogens provided it. I thank the director and the cast for giving a nine-year-old boy the scare of a lifetime!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THERE IS NO ESCAPE!, August 14, 2012
This review is from: Boogens [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
In the small mining town of Silver City, an evil has been unknowingly unleashed on its unsuspecting residents. The old mine has been sealed up and abandoned for over seventy years but now some outsiders are about to make a big discovery and it isn't silver or gold. What unspeakable horror lives in the mine? Is there any way to escape it? What is a Boogen?

The Boogens is a slow paced horror film that relies on its ability to build up the suspense for most of the film and then unleash everything it has on the viewer in the last 20-30 minutes. If you're a horror fan looking for a high body count and plenty of gore and nudity then this film may not be for you. There isn't a high body count, there's very little gore and barely any nudity to speak of. Fans get a brief glimpse of Rebecca Balding's butt in one scene and her breasts in another, that's it. As for the creatures; we never really see them until the last 20-30 minutes of the movie.

Thanks to Olive Films the "Boogens" has finally seen daylight on Blu-ray and DVD. I don't know what type of restoration Olive Films did to the print if any, because the film still suffers from embedded artifacts, speckling and a certain amount of graininess throughout. Don't get me wrong, the video image is clear and definitely viewable.

Aside from the old school non CGI creatures and effects this film also benefits from an eerie music score, so the mono soundtrack provided on this release was a bit of a disappointment for me. The mono sound is clear and crisp but I had hoped for a 5.1 sound option as well. I expected this Blu-ray release would be filled with tons of bonus features and extras, it isn't. The only extra included is an audio commentary from director James L. Conway, screenwriter David O'Malley and actress Rebecca Balding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Boogens, October 20, 2000
By 
Myksmynd@aol.com (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Boogens [VHS] (VHS Tape)
The Boogens, despite its name, is a well paced horror film which pays justice to the cult monster movies of the 1950's. The editing style gives the viewer a well balanced blend of suspense, shock and gore to make the film both eerie and frightening. I originally saw this movie on cable about 18 years ago and was equally entertained after watching the VHS copy I recently purchased. The "Boogens," themselves, are a bit cheesy looking and were designed after a sheep's brain with slashing tenticles for legs (I learned this from the make up effects person in charge of creating the creatures for this film). The directing coupled with the editing style are what save this movie by giving us only a glimpse of the the creatures, keeping us on the edge of our seat for the majority of the film. This is one of the few real monster movies that are a credit to the monster genre.
I know 3 stars may not seem like much but only the best films are worthy of 4 and above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One creepy little movie., May 23, 2000
By 
"kaijuking54" (Odenville, Alabama United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Boogens [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Stepping from the memories of horror fans of years past comes The Boogens, a very effective monster tale. Old, forgotten evil and shunned places have informed some of the best horror ever since H. P. Lovecraft first set foot in haunted Arkham. Therefore, The Boogens, with its errie mine shafts and mysterious creatures has a lot going for it. Thankfully, the director doesn't saddle the film with dumb-as-dirt characters and goofy cliches. We actually come to care for these people(a titanic achievement for many of today's filmmakers). A great emphasis is placed on generating suspense in lieu of tiresome "pop-ups." A product of budgetary concerns, this nonetheless works in the film's favor. If the titular monsters are less than life-like, at least the smart editing obscures this. Fans of older horror films will no doubt enjoy this movie, as will younger fans looking for a little heart and creativity in their horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blu ray review- a howl of 80's horror, August 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Boogens [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This blu-ray of THE BOOGENS is a treat. Though a low-budget affair with an extremely simple story, the film was skillfully made, with some creepy music, effective locations, and creatures' point-of-view shots. The anamorphic image is quite bright and grainy in both daylight and night shots. It's interesting to finally see what 'the boogens' really look like (for better or worse), as my old VHS copy was never too clear when the creatures finally appeared near the movie's climax.

The only extra is a running commentary from director James L. Conway, screenwriter David O'Malley and actress Rebecca Balding- it was interesting to hear their frequent friendly conversations about the chilly six-week shoot in Utah, who married who in the production (one actress married writer Michael Crichton), the origin of the term 'Boogens', the nudity issue, and comments about the creature effects (including the producer's reaction to the creatures' appearance). This film was also the first adult/horror film to be financed by the now-defunct Sun Classic Films, which produced a number of religious and documentary films during the 70's.

Watch the film without commentary the first time, then replay it with the commentary- enjoy it both ways, especially you viewers who were ever intrigued by the original BOOGENS poster. THE BOOGENS is a simple, not-too-demanding horror flick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's a Boogen! And that tissue ain't gonna help!, December 14, 2008
This review is from: The Boogens [VHS] (VHS Tape)
It's a Boogen! And that tissue ain't gonna help!

The Boogens (1981) To answer that question right off...they have nothing to do with nasal mucus deposits, but instead they are mean little dog sized subterranean critters crawling up out of a re-opened silver mine in this fairly obscure monster movie from the early 80's horror boom. The story has two veteran miners moving into a small Colorado town to reopen the long closed silver mine. Luckily for us, they have also hired two young guys to assist who just happen to be the right age and disposition to be the lead and sidekick of an 80's horror movie. Unluckily for them, reopening the mine also involves opening up tunnels long closed, including one right underneath the house the young guys are renting and sharing with their girlfriends. This brings out a mysterious old man who starts skulking around the mine and the house, and from underground, some nasty little critters who proceed to eat the cast one by one. I had never managed to see this particular horror flick, missing it in the theater and never finding it on any of my cable channels or on VHS for rent in any of the years since its original release. As it turns out, the movie is only okay. It starts off well, introducing four likable main characters and starting the setup of the main plot with the original mine's closing being shown through newspaper clippings over the credits. From there though things slow waaay down as the Boogens claim only one victim in the first 50 minutes, though they do provide a constant threat to one character's dog in several scenes. And speaking of the Boogens, that is another big problem with the movie. Despite getting their appellation into the title, the creatures are only name checked in the movie once by that mysterious old guy who mumbles it during an attack scene, making even the one vocalization easy to miss. And along with never explaining why these creatures are called Boogens, the movie pretty much drops the ball entirely on filling in any back story at all. We get hints along the way that these creatures caused the mine to close 70 years before, and we expect that the old guy is going to eventually open up and spill the answers to all the questions. About the time we realize that this man, though elderly, is too young to have been an adult involved in a mining disaster 70 years before, he does finally stop skulking, but he barely has time to say he is the son of the single survivor of the mine's collapse, yell "You've let them loose again!" and mumble "It's the Boogens!" before one pops up to shut him up permanently. So the questions of what the Boogens are, where they came from, and how they survived 70 years closed off in the mine are never answered. On the plus side, the cast is kind of fun, with recognizable faces Rebecca Balding (Silent Scream and TV's Soap) Fred McCarren (Xanadu), Anne-Marie Martin (Dori Doreau on TV's Sledge Hammer!) and veteran character actors John Crawford (all over 60's and 70's television, like Batman and Mission Impossible) and Jon Lormer (Creepshow). The Boogens themselves are mostly represented through low to the ground point of view shots for the first hour or so in classic pre CGI monster movie style until they are finally revealed in all their early 80's animatronics glory near the climax. Of course, special effects critters are expensive, so there is really only one, but he plays several Boogens in the last twenty minutes or so. It is an effectively designed and nasty looking octopus type thing, though the lack of movement hinders the chase scenes since the movement is restricted to waving tentacles and growling. Luckily those low down point of view shots can still fill in for the chases. All in all, this one almost succeeds, but the draggy middle and lack of exposition end up making it only for 80's horror completists in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scared for years, March 29, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Boogens [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I was dating in high school when I saw this movie at the local drive-in. It scared me so much that I slept with my mother for a week...and never attempted to see it again. It is now 21 years later and I have never forgotten the title or the entire movie...it is vivid in my mind. I am going to purchase it, watch it again to see if my more mature mind will be as scared as the kid left in me. Mind you, I am not a slasher movie fan, and this was perfect. Just enough suspense without the gore. A must see for those of you that wish to be scared for years...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 STARS FOR THE IMPACT FELT FROM A VERY WELL-CRAFTED HORROR STORY!!, February 16, 2006
This review is from: The Boogens [VHS] (VHS Tape)
IN A NUTSHELL: SIMPLE WELL-CRAFTED TALE FROM A STAR TREK VETERAN

Boogens is NO epic, filled with eye-candy and wild thrills that come at you a mile a minute. It is a taut, slow, pressure cooker of a film that uses the unknown and unseen to build suspense which frightens and entertains. It's not surprising that the Director, James Conway, also directed a slew of Star Trek Voyager, Deep Space Nine, and The Next Generation episodes.

WHAT IT'S ALL ABOUT: AT THE "IMDB" 35% RATED BOOGENS AN 8/10 OR HIGHER!

After 70 years, a Utah silver mine which had been closed after a tragic cave-in is being reopened. What exactly happened to cause that long-ago cave-in has remained the town's biggest mystery. Now, as the mine is being reopened, people are vanishing again.

Now that the stage has been set, this is when it starts to get scary. Without spoiling the plot, let me just say that I have 5 children and each one of them, though most are adults now, literally gets up and runs when I mention this movie and the creatures that we gradually get to see at night. This is the kind of film that has you looking over your shoulder and watching to be sure nothing is crawling toward you in the dark. The best part about it is that explicit gore is almost completely absent, yet it is scary nevertheless.

BOTTOM LINE: "TREMORS" & "THE CRAWLING EYE" are similar and recommended!

This is scary in the same way an "Outer Limits" adventure might be. A great deal is implied and promised, but the delivery comes in a different form than we are accustomed to or expect.

ABOUT THE VIDEO:

Simply put, I wish this were available on DVD. Most of the out-of-print videos available are old and/or worn, so getting to see this film on a decent video is problematic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Boogens
The Boogens by James L. Conway (DVD - 2012)
$24.95 $14.31
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.