Buy New
$16.74
Qty:1
  • List Price: $17.95
  • Save: $1.21 (7%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Cart
Trade in your item
Get a $2.61
Gift Card.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

The Book of Hadith: Sayings of the Prophet Muhammad from the Mishkat al Masabih Paperback – November 1, 2008

ISBN-13: 978-1904510178 ISBN-10: 1904510175 Edition: 0th

Buy New
Price: $16.74
24 New from $13.98 13 Used from $14.87
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback, November 1, 2008
"Please retry"
$16.74
$13.98 $14.87
Free%20Two-Day%20Shipping%20for%20College%20Students%20with%20Amazon%20Student


Frequently Bought Together

The Book of Hadith: Sayings of the Prophet Muhammad from the Mishkat al Masabih + Muhammad: His Life Based on the Earliest Sources + The Qur'an (Oxford World's Classics)
Price for all three: $37.85

Buy the selected items together

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Save up to 90% on Textbooks
Rent textbooks, buy textbooks, or get up to 80% back when you sell us your books. Shop Now

Product Details

  • Paperback: 100 pages
  • Publisher: The Book Foundation (November 1, 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1904510175
  • ISBN-13: 978-1904510178
  • Product Dimensions: 9 x 6 x 0.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 10.4 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (11 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #220,682 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Charles Le Gai Eaton is the author of Islam and the Destiny of Man, King of the Castle, Remembering God, and The Richest Vein.

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
See all 11 customer reviews
This step is one worth taking.
Klemens Metternich
The introduction is extremely well written and definitely worth a thorough reflection upon.
BrianW36
I highly recommend this book to Muslims, Christians, and Jews alike.
Robert M. Flegal

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

49 of 50 people found the following review helpful By A. Living Creature on December 31, 2008
I just finished reading this volume of Hadith selected by Charles Le Gai Eaton. It is a real treasure! A great book for readers of English or Arabic (this volume is bi-lingual) to enter into studying the enormous body of collected oral traditions in Islam. The twenty page introduction by Jeremy Henzell-Thomas is excellent, and well-suited to preparing those who wish to endeavor in studying Hadith to proceed with necessary discernment. Here is a passage from his introduction, reprinted on the back cover:

"In the process of discovering and exploring the profound utility of these Prophetic sayings, we discover many levels. They show the deep humanity, kindness, and beneficence of the Prophet at a time when there is a pressing need to correct not only the many distortions about him, whether motivated by ignorance or malice, but also the widespread misconceptions about the intrinsically beautiful Islam which he revealed to us. We also find that the Hadith enunciate and clarify doctrine and offer commentary upon it. They offer guidance for the deepening of knowledge, the improvement of conduct and character, and the strengthening of faith. Finally, and above all, they remain a luminous spiritual source of inspirational material for the transformation of Hearts, for without the Heart no injunction can ever be fully internalized, lived and embodied."

The selections of Hadith are very well chosen and arranged. The English translations are clear and beautiful.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
38 of 38 people found the following review helpful By M. Himed on January 19, 2009
I read this book in one day and it was an enjoyable read. Many times I have read negative things when it comes to Hadith and sayings of the Prophet which talk about war and fighting. There is also a humanistic side of Hadith which encompasses all of things we do in life and this book brings it out to some degree.

The chapters that describe the behaviors of the Prophet Muhammad are the most enjoyable and refreshing to read. But it is the introduction by Jeremy Hezel Thomas that I think is the most important part of the book, especially when he talks about two of the most controversial topics; apostasy and offensive jihad. The one verse from the Quran that is dissected is 9:29 and Muhammad Asad is quoted as saying that it does not command unprovoked aggression against non-believers. Even Ibn-Tamyia, one of the most conservative Muslims in history, said that apostasy is only punishable by death when it involved "enmity and aggression towards Muslims."

After the Prophet died, Abu Bakr did not start a war for the sake of waging war and forcing people to convert to Islam or gaining territory. "Rebellious tribes marched on Medina" and rejected paying the zakat and rejected the authority of Abu Bakr because they refused to follow anyone besides the Prophet. War was waged to uphold the authority of the state and to keep the Islamic ummah intact.

Lastly, the book tells us that Muslims are a community of the middle way which is quoted from verse 2:143 and also a hadith and that should draw us to be moderate in every respect of life and this is exemplified when the Prophet told Abu Bakr to raise his voice while Umar was told to lower it.
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful By Robert M. Flegal on February 15, 2013
Verified Purchase
I'm a Muslim who relies on the Qur'an alone for my understanding and practice of Islam. I'm not a big fan of the various Hadith as the Qur'an states that it alone is sufficient (45:6 These are God's revelations that we recite to you truthfully. In which Hadith other than God and His revelations do they believe?).

However I so enjoyed this collection of the saying of the Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) as they point to his compassionate character, his incredible wisdom and the sweet spirit of Islam.

I highly recommend this book to Muslims, Christians, and Jews alike.
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful By marlon jay cook on December 28, 2012
Verified Purchase
Muhammad was a real person, and he actually had a funny sense of humor. Yes, he was inspired. Yes, he changed the world. These are stories collected by his friends and families.

My favorite: Muhammed sent his wife to get his prayer mat from the temple. His wife commented that she was during menses, (and it might not be appropirate for her to go to temple, and touch his prayer matt, while she was on her period. She was "unclean". "Typical Jewish Red Tent Thinking.") Mohammed's answer, "You aren't menustrating with your hands, are you? Go get my matt."

Very enlightening treatment of women at a time, when women weren't always treated well. Not what we think of in Islam. Funny sayings for everything from kids stealing from his garden, throwing rocks at his house, dealing with relatives. dealing with drunk servants.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful By BrianW36 on March 4, 2013
Verified Purchase
The introduction is extremely well written and definitely worth a thorough reflection upon. The Hadiths are sayings from a igniter of Truth-but they happened almost 1400 years ago so there may be some inevitable errors in them. I feel like this book can assist anyone's understanding of the character of Muhammad and help them in their path of spirituality and self-realization. 5 stars for the intro and Truth contained.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?