Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First rate a bit radical
I read this book yesterday in one sitting, along with the Rober Alter translation from his book "The Wisdom" book. The book was actually written by two people, spererated in time. The first part, which he calls the fable, is short and focuses in on God's bet with Satan. The second part he calls the poem and deals with the extended discussions between Job and his three...
Published 19 months ago by Michael P. Maslanka

versus
28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of a study of Job than a casual read
I expected this to be more like "When bad things happen to good people" and was a little disappointed that this was more of a play by play study of the book of Job. Kushner's insights are brilliant and his warmth brings the scripture to life, but I would recommend this more as a Bible study guide than a discussion of God's role in man's life. This is not a casual read...
Published 21 months ago by Nancy J. Mumford


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First rate a bit radical, December 26, 2012
This review is from: The Book of Job: When Bad Things Happened to a Good Person (Jewish Encounters) (Hardcover)
I read this book yesterday in one sitting, along with the Rober Alter translation from his book "The Wisdom" book. The book was actually written by two people, spererated in time. The first part, which he calls the fable, is short and focuses in on God's bet with Satan. The second part he calls the poem and deals with the extended discussions between Job and his three friends. Rabbi Kushner writes thoughtfully and graciously---he has his view of the meaning of Job but never impugns other views(the next to last chapter provides a useful summary of divergent views. I understand the Rabbi to be saying this:God is all powerful but in the realm of Nature(floods, hurricanes etc) and in the realm of nature with a small "n"(some being genetically blessed, others not) he has ceded control to a random universe. But, and here is the key, in these areas God expects us to be collaborators(my word, not the Rabbi's). He movingly talks about a sermon he gave in New Orleans, where he explained that the residents should not take the calamity as a sign of God's hate because it simply is what it is:a Natural disaster. The more important point is what animated so many to sacrifice for others, using their own boats to rescue their neighbors. He answers:It comes from God and his expectation that we collaborate with Him in buiding a word of justice and decency. The Creator gives us the opportunity to do so. We need only take it. Rabbi Kushner's book is challenging and strecthes the reader, but it is not obtuse nor high handed. A beautiful book to be read again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Good Thing, November 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Book of Job: When Bad Things Happened to a Good Person (Jewish Encounters) (Hardcover)
The Book of Job, while well known as a book in the Bible, is not at all an easy book to unravel, and Rabbi Kushner gives us an excellent reading of the book, which untangles a great many difficulties, making it both understandable and relevant. Kushner's insights gleaned from many Jewish as well as Christian sources are insightful and inviting.
The Book of Job: When Bad Things Happened to a Good Person rewards the reader with both fresh understanding and challenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very engaging book, November 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Book of Job: When Bad Things Happened to a Good Person (Jewish Encounters) (Hardcover)
This is actually the first Kushner book I have read and I found it most enlightening. Anyone on a spiritual journey would find it well worth reading, I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of a study of Job than a casual read, October 20, 2012
By 
This review is from: The Book of Job: When Bad Things Happened to a Good Person (Jewish Encounters) (Hardcover)
I expected this to be more like "When bad things happen to good people" and was a little disappointed that this was more of a play by play study of the book of Job. Kushner's insights are brilliant and his warmth brings the scripture to life, but I would recommend this more as a Bible study guide than a discussion of God's role in man's life. This is not a casual read but something that requires thought and study - not really what I was looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent discussion of of a facinating book of the Bible, January 19, 2013
By 
This review is from: The Book of Job: When Bad Things Happened to a Good Person (Jewish Encounters) (Hardcover)
The Book of Job is one of my favorite books of the Bible and I have accumulated about a dozen commentaries on it over the years. My wife bought this one for me for Christmas and, after reading it, I can say that this book is among the best. In particular, if I was going recommend one book for someone looking for a place to start in learning about the Book of Job, this would be it.

The Book of Job addresses perhaps the most fundamental question people wonder about God: if God is all-powerful and loving, why do good people suffer? Kushner dives into this issue as addressed by the Book of Job in a very clear and concise fashion, discussing traditional interpretations of Judaism and Christianity as well as his own opinions and those of others to provide a well-rounded discussion of the issues involved.

Kushner discusses all of the major areas of controversy in the interpretation of Job including: Was Job a real person or is the book a parable?; Would God allow a person's life to be ruined over a bet?; Who is the Satan in the book? Is God responsible for evil? Why do some good people suffer while some wicked ones prosper?, etc. While one may not agree with all of Kushner's conclusions, you will have, at a minimum, obtained a much better understanding of the various ways in which the issues discussed in the Book of Job can be interpreted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars evil or good? how and why does it happen?, November 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Book of Job: When Bad Things Happened to a Good Person (Jewish Encounters) (Hardcover)
The best answer I have read or heard. From an 87 year old. I have struggled with this question for some 60+ years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent study, June 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Rabbi Kushner is the best at de-ciphering the mysteries of the Old Testament. This book is a wonderful in depth study of one of the most important books of the Bible. Kushner has helped many people understand the mystery of why good people suffer. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful exposition of a thorny subject, May 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Book of Job: When Bad Things Happened to a Good Person (Jewish Encounters) (Hardcover)
Many will remember that this same author wrote When Bad Things Happen to Good People decades ago, and it has become a classic on the subject. He returns to look at the topic from a more scriptural standpoint, and again hits the nail on the head. With a certain amount of good humor and an enviable writing style, Rabbi Kushner visits the Book of Job and sets out the many issues connected with the text, and the thoughts and conclusions of the great minds throughout the ages on the subject. Readers will almost inevitably come to see bad times in a new light after reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kushner Fan, March 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Book of Job: When Bad Things Happened to a Good Person (Jewish Encounters) (Hardcover)
I m a huge fan of Harold Kushner and am always looking for books by this author. Unlike other Kushner books I have read this is a true study. The book of Job is so difficult to understand. I find Kushner's interpretations and insights extremely helpful. This book helped me when I was questioning Gods love for me. I would highly recommend this to anyone questioning the difficulties of the world around them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intense reading - not light!, February 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Book of Job: When Bad Things Happened to a Good Person (Jewish Encounters) (Hardcover)
Must read the real book of Job along with these thoughts. Some thoughts are not necessarily in agreement with my Christian background. It is written by a Jewish rabbi. However, much food for thought and well worth the study. Thought provoking and will make you think deeply about the book of Job and how it is relevant to how we think of God .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Book of Job: When Bad Things Happened to a Good Person (Jewish Encounters)
$24.00 $17.67
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.