Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Crown the Empire Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 26, 1999
This book is well organized with detailed patterns and examples. They are both eye catching and productive for learning. The kids have so much fun using them, that it is not dificult at all to engage them in planning and organizing their story or report. I love this very helpful book!
0Comment| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2001
This book is awesome for extending Four Block and Guided Reading activities to older classrooms (4-6) without devoting your whole day to Language Arts instruction. It is full of kid-friendly organizers and samples of how each one might be used. They are extremely easy to understand and implement. This price is a great buy too. Most book stores sell it for over $15.00.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2008
This is a very useful book that you will always want to have handy. It contains 50 graphic organizers for Reading and Language Arts, Social Studies, Science, Math and Study Skills. Some of the graphic organizers are based on the traditional ones but with a fun twist. For instance, you will find a Venn Diagram in which the circles are actually part of two snowmen. Other graphic organizers are really innovative and original, like the "River Flowchart" for Social Studies or the "Robot Rules" for Math. You will find lovely graphic organizers for almost everything you want to teach, ranging from the basic reading skills all the way through planning your science fair project, teaching kids equivalent fractions with a pie-shaped chart, or analyze the sequence of historical events with the "Climbing the Mountain" graphic organizer.

If you want your kids to assimilate concepts through graphic organizers, you should always try to present these with a different appearance to get kids interested, and this book will definite help you achieve this.

Highly recommended for all levels.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 26, 2004
I have a tendency to create my own graphic organizers, however, this book has many generic organizers that I find very useful. Sometimes using a variety of organizers for the same skill increases an educator's ability to reach and hook the diverse population found in today's classroom. I will be attending a workshop by this author and it will be interesting to get new ideas for using these organizers.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The graphic organizers featured in this slim but practical volume are easily adaptable for use in most grade levels and for subjects such as language arts, social studies, science, mathematics, as well as study skills. Although graphic organizers appeal primarily to visual learners, I feel they can also be adapted for auditory/kinesthetic/spatial learners by supplementing with other materials as well as using different teaching strategies.

The graphic organizers can also be used for various learning situations such as whole class, pair-work, group-work, etc and adapted for use in inclusive classrooms. All of the graphic organizers in this book are reproducible, making it convenient for teachers to use in the classroom or in tutorial sessions. The graphic organizers range from the very easy to more complex, and help promote critical thinking skills in students. It is also value for money. Highly recommended!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2016
I was looking specifically for graphic organizers that would help my 3rd grader strengthen his story/paper writing...Intro, main ideas, conclusion. You know like a hamburger (bun is intro/conclusion, and middle is main ideas) That "type" should be a pretty common graphic organizer and there's not a single one like this in it! Some ok ideas, but not what I wanted. Its going to collect dust. I will say it came fast and in good shape.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2012
I let our language specialist borrow this to work with her ESL students and it is helping her and them. I found only a couple in there that are not too elementary/middle school to use with high school students. So that is something to consider if you teach high school.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2013
I used this book in my sixth grade classroom and it was an asset to the students' learning. Now I'm using it for adults I teach who are new to the USA and they are learning English. It is a good book for my learners. It was in perfect condition and the price was very good. It arrived quickly and I'm a very happy customer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2011
An excellent resource to have. Not only does it give great graphic organizers to print and use but it also tells how to use each one and gives examples of how children have used them. Well worth the purchase. Totally recommend. I was pleasantly surprised.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2011
I immediately found seven or eight organizers that I plan to use the first month of school. Each organizer shows examples of how it could be used for different grade levels, or differentiating within your own grade. I love that there are so many for different subjects as well. This is a great resource for any teacher. I plan to buy more for student teacher gifts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse