Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful book, November 26, 1999
By 
This review is from: The Big Book of Reproducible Graphic Organizers: 50 Great Templates to Help Kids Get More Out of Reading, Writing, Social Studies and More (Paperback)
This book is well organized with detailed patterns and examples. They are both eye catching and productive for learning. The kids have so much fun using them, that it is not dificult at all to engage them in planning and organizing their story or report. I love this very helpful book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kid Friendly, September 10, 2001
By 
Rob P. (Schererville, IN U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Big Book of Reproducible Graphic Organizers: 50 Great Templates to Help Kids Get More Out of Reading, Writing, Social Studies and More (Paperback)
This book is awesome for extending Four Block and Guided Reading activities to older classrooms (4-6) without devoting your whole day to Language Arts instruction. It is full of kid-friendly organizers and samples of how each one might be used. They are extremely easy to understand and implement. This price is a great buy too. Most book stores sell it for over $15.00.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, easy to use, amazing graphic organizers, May 20, 2008
This review is from: The Big Book of Reproducible Graphic Organizers: 50 Great Templates to Help Kids Get More Out of Reading, Writing, Social Studies and More (Paperback)
This is a very useful book that you will always want to have handy. It contains 50 graphic organizers for Reading and Language Arts, Social Studies, Science, Math and Study Skills. Some of the graphic organizers are based on the traditional ones but with a fun twist. For instance, you will find a Venn Diagram in which the circles are actually part of two snowmen. Other graphic organizers are really innovative and original, like the "River Flowchart" for Social Studies or the "Robot Rules" for Math. You will find lovely graphic organizers for almost everything you want to teach, ranging from the basic reading skills all the way through planning your science fair project, teaching kids equivalent fractions with a pie-shaped chart, or analyze the sequence of historical events with the "Climbing the Mountain" graphic organizer.

If you want your kids to assimilate concepts through graphic organizers, you should always try to present these with a different appearance to get kids interested, and this book will definite help you achieve this.

Highly recommended for all levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very handy resource, January 26, 2004
This review is from: The Big Book of Reproducible Graphic Organizers: 50 Great Templates to Help Kids Get More Out of Reading, Writing, Social Studies and More (Paperback)
I have a tendency to create my own graphic organizers, however, this book has many generic organizers that I find very useful. Sometimes using a variety of organizers for the same skill increases an educator's ability to reach and hook the diverse population found in today's classroom. I will be attending a workshop by this author and it will be interesting to get new ideas for using these organizers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent educational resource and easily adaptable for most grade levels, October 19, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Big Book of Reproducible Graphic Organizers: 50 Great Templates to Help Kids Get More Out of Reading, Writing, Social Studies and More (Paperback)
The graphic organizers featured in this slim but practical volume are easily adaptable for use in most grade levels and for subjects such as language arts, social studies, science, mathematics, as well as study skills. Although graphic organizers appeal primarily to visual learners, I feel they can also be adapted for auditory/kinesthetic/spatial learners by supplementing with other materials as well as using different teaching strategies.

The graphic organizers can also be used for various learning situations such as whole class, pair-work, group-work, etc and adapted for use in inclusive classrooms. All of the graphic organizers in this book are reproducible, making it convenient for teachers to use in the classroom or in tutorial sessions. The graphic organizers range from the very easy to more complex, and help promote critical thinking skills in students. It is also value for money. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Graphic Organizers, July 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Big Book of Reproducible Graphic Organizers: 50 Great Templates to Help Kids Get More Out of Reading, Writing, Social Studies and More (Paperback)
An excellent resource to have. Not only does it give great graphic organizers to print and use but it also tells how to use each one and gives examples of how children have used them. Well worth the purchase. Totally recommend. I was pleasantly surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, November 15, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Big Book of Reproducible Graphic Organizers: 50 Great Templates to Help Kids Get More Out of Reading, Writing, Social Studies and More (Paperback)
This is a really nice book of nicely illustrated and easy to use graphic organizers. My students enjoy using them! I would recommend this to any teacher who wants to help their students organize their thoughts in a simple way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful for visual learners, October 5, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Big Book of Reproducible Graphic Organizers: 50 Great Templates to Help Kids Get More Out of Reading, Writing, Social Studies and More (Paperback)
I started using this book the day it arrived. It's full of fun organizers for all the core subjects plus study skills. They are very useful for helping my kids organize their thoughts before writing, keep track of important math concepts, or record their science observations. I especially like the blank templates for graphing and the assignment organizers. A really great resource!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Working well for ESL's, April 30, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Big Book of Reproducible Graphic Organizers: 50 Great Templates to Help Kids Get More Out of Reading, Writing, Social Studies and More (Paperback)
I let our language specialist borrow this to work with her ESL students and it is helping her and them. I found only a couple in there that are not too elementary/middle school to use with high school students. So that is something to consider if you teach high school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Resrouce!, February 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Big Book of Reproducible Graphic Organizers: 50 Great Templates to Help Kids Get More Out of Reading, Writing, Social Studies and More (Paperback)
I ordered this book because graphic organizers are essential for kids to learn new material. As a future educator, I have used the organizers for lesson plans and other fun activities. They have an organizer for each subject which makes it easier to use!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.