Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Book of Rowing
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars11
5 star
91%
4 star
0%
3 star
0%
2 star
9%
1 star
0%
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 19, 2003
Now in an new and completely updated edition, The Book Of Rowing by rowing expert D. C. Churbuck presents just about everything any aspiring rower wanting to successfully engaging in this strenuous yet highly enjoyable sport and pastime needs to know. From sculling to off-the-water workouts to rowing clubs, international rowing, the Harvard-Yale Regatta and more, The Book Of Rowing is thoroughly "reader friendly" and enhanced with a bibliography, a glossary, a list of rowing teams and organizations, more than 60 black-and-white photographs, a list of races and regattas and more. The Book Of Rowing is a superbly organized and presented resource for rowers of all skill and experience levels -- and highly recommended reading for rowing enthusiasts past and present!
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2000
This is a classic overview of a classic sport, written from a ground-up perspective for the complete novice as well as experienced rowers looking for a good history. Churbuck takes the reader from the basic and mechanics of rowing to the history and traditions of the sport. There is some good how-to advice from rowing machines to sculling.
Great demonstrative and historical photography and line art. It is good to see this book back in print.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2002
Such a great book. The history lesson alone makes it all worth while but even an experienced rower will find things to learn. Well written and an easy read. Looks like it's hard to find but give it a shot. I just found it at one of those sidewalk stands in New York and was looking to pick up a copy for an old college friend. Guess I'm stuck with a used copy for him.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2000
Praise to Overlook Press for getting this back in print. I have the hardcover first edition from 88, and it is one of the best designed books on my shelf. Unlike the usual blood and glory books on the sport: Halberstam and Kiesling, this one gets the job done in explaining a pretty opaque sport to the layman as well as the novice. Good history for the avid oarsperson too.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2008
As a parent of a new rower, I found this book to be very informative. You will learn the unfamiliar terms your rower uses and come to understand just what their training on the water (where you can't necessarily see)entails. The history of the sport, boat design and types of races are explained. So much information in an easy read.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2015
Very nice book. Well written and informative. Not overly technical, so people interested in rowing can read it, learn a lot, and understand everything. Our book did not have the dust jacket, though, but I think I bought it used.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2013
It is a great gift for a young boy who is interested in rowing. He found facts about his team. He said thank you to me .
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2014
Book sold didn't come with the dust cover. Inside graphic images are okay. Decent rowing book if you're looking to add to your book collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2014
This was given as a christmas gift and was a big hit. Good for any rower that would like to know more about how it was started.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2015
A good basic for every oarsman!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse