Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Been There, Done That... Got the Shirt
Mr. Geary... my hat is off to you, sir!
"The Borden Tragedy" is near perfect in all it's pictoral details and facts. I can attest to this as I have actually stayed the night in the infamous guest room where dear ol' step-mommy's bludgeoned body was found, had a lengthy conversation with the Borden historian in Fall River, read the interrogation notes and...
Published on February 7, 2002 by Amazon Customer

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All docu, no drama.
Rick Geary, The Borden Tragedy (Nantier Beall Minoustchine, 1997)

I've always been intrigued by Geary's Treasury of Victorian Murder, and I've read one in the past (his treatise on H. H. Homes, natch), but it took me quite a while to get round to my second dip into this particular pool. Now that I've read The Borden Tragedy, I have a firmer idea of why that...
Published on May 12, 2010 by Robert Beveridge


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Introduction to the Case, June 19, 2000
This review is from: The Borden Tragedy: A Memoir of the Infamous Double Murder at Fall River, Mass., 1892 (A Treasury of Victorian Murder) (Paperback)
This book provides a quick introduction to this controversial case. It could be described as the "Classics Comics" version, or the "Borden Murders for Dummies". A very good summarization.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murder In The Horse & Buggy Era. Well-Drawn/Written/Documented Book, August 11, 2008
By 
The Mystic Eye Of The Hipster (Murfreesboro, TN United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Borden Tragedy: A Memoir of the Infamous Double Murder at Fall River, Mass., 1892 (A Treasury of Victorian Murder) (Paperback)
Too often, comics are thought of as "kid stuff". But Rick Geary has created a well-researched account of the infamous Borden murders in cartoon format, & it is useful for adults & children alike.

Filled with illustrations dervived from old photos, maps & blueprints, the reader gets an excellent feel for the events.

It is also well-written. Geary makes plain many features & details, such as the oppressively hot Summer temperatures (this kept most people off the street), the single eyewitness that saw Lizzy in the yard, clean & un-bloodstained, & many other documented facts that are neglected or ignored by careless or less objective authors.

This early era in American History come across well, & the cartoon approach makes the "horse & buggy" period comprehensible to the Internet Generation.

The Hipster gives it a Big Thumbs UP!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Detailed introduction to a baffling case, December 12, 2007
By 
Jean E. Pouliot (Newburyport, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Borden Tragedy: A Memoir of the Infamous Double Murder at Fall River, Mass., 1892 (A Treasury of Victorian Murder) (Paperback)
Detailed introduction to a baffling case

I'll bet that most Americans have heard of Lizzy Borden, and know something about her reputation of having killed her parents with a hatchet. Beyond that, not so much.

"The Borden Tragedy" tries to cover all bases in the case, introducing the reader to the major actors and the theories behind the murders, which occurred (I'm embarrassed to admit) in my own backyard -- Fall River, MA, barely half-morning's drive from my home. In the sweltering, mid-morning hours of August 4, 1892, someone brutally murdered Andrew and Abby Borden inside their cozy home with multiple blows from a weapon. A maid, a grown child, a border and neighbors scurried about, seemingly oblivious to the grisly drama unfolding inside. Suspicion fell, naturally, on those closest to the tragedy. But hard evidence was equally hard to find. Were the Bordens done in by those of their own household? Was this s revenge crime related to Mr. Borden's business ventures? Or was a madman on the loose?

The book reconstructs in fascinating detail the movements of the many individuals on that fated day, but also in the days preceding. The Bordens were odd, in their way, but not seemingly bizarre. Father Andrew was a quite stern and forbidding man, though not unsentimental. He wore a ring Lizzie gave him as a gift years before. Stepmother Abby was hardly beloved, but seems not to have been detested. Daughters Emma and Lizzie, in their 40s and 30s respectively, were unmarried and still lived at home with their parents. If there were resentments, they were kept carefully in check. But was there more to the family drama than met the eye? While the speculation of moderns minds may tend toward the lurid (weird dad + 2 single women = ?) , the author follows the lead of his 19th century subjects and leaves this promising territory unexplored.

The book does a nice job of laying out the rather confusing facts of the murders the subsequent trial, and the aftermath for the involved parties. Though the murders were brutal, involving extensive injury to faces and heads, the wounds are always hidden by shadows, except for a display of the skulls in the trial scene. This minor mercy makes the book appropriate for kids about 10-12 and up who have an interest in the story.

The author's only stumble was in what must have been a marketing gimmick on the back cover -- a comparison of the Borden case with the more recent OJ Simpson case. Oh well. At the back of the book, the author does include a few newspaper clippings of the day, giving the interested reader the chance to get a feel for journalistic styles of the late 19th century.

"The Borden Tragedy" gave me a good grounding in the case. Next time I swing (!) through Fall River, I'll have to pop by their home (still standing) and their family grave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good.. but not enough dialogue, August 20, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Borden Tragedy: A Memoir of the Infamous Double Murder at Fall River, Mass., 1892 (A Treasury of Victorian Murder) (Paperback)
best part is on the back cover where it compares oj simpson to the borden girl! very fun book to read although id have put more dialogue in it. but it does cover the murders nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Geary is great., June 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Rick Geary's retelling of the case of Lizzie Borden is enhanced by his strong graphic style. He doesn't dwell on the grotesque, but his. Illustrations are nonetheless eerie. Perfect nonfiction read for a middle schooler, too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars summary, June 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Borden Tragedy: A Memoir of the Infamous Double Murder at Fall River, Mass., 1892 (A Treasury of Victorian Murder) (Paperback)
I have always had an interest in the subject. The cartoon like presentation was interesting and the text was informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun Book on this century old murder mystery, March 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Borden Tragedy: A Memoir of the Infamous Double Murder at Fall River, Mass., 1892 (A Treasury of Victorian Murder) (Paperback)
I loved this book. When I first received it, I had no idea the whole book was written in a cartoon form. I was thinking, oh this is going to be silly and not to be taken seriously. As I started reading, it intrigued me immediately. Being a long time follower of the Lizzie Borden murders, I started realizing all the facts were correct and everything fell into place.

It also become fun, after I succumbed to the strange cartoon drawings. The cartoons were interestingly drawn and added a nice aspect, while you went along and read each caption. As the saying goes, don't judge a book by its cover. The cover comes across as being childlike, but it is definitely worth the read and makes a nice keepsake, if you are fan of the Borden mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars compelling story, March 11, 2014
I've been a fan of Rick Geary's art for a long time and this graphic retelling of the Lizzie Borden story does not disappoint. Pictures and words combine to give a clear account of what happened. Whether Lizzie did it or not is still debatable but Mr. Geary lays out the case for both sides in a very entertaining and informative manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book..., January 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I loved the concept of a comic book style for this book along with the the facts...the author shows a lot of detail with his drawings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Came as expected, November 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Borden Tragedy: A Memoir of the Infamous Double Murder at Fall River, Mass., 1892 (A Treasury of Victorian Murder) (Paperback)
I needed this book for a college English class. It came at a decent time and was new. The book is well written in my opinion and the graphics are well illustrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Borden Tragedy: A Memoir of the Infamous Double Murder at Fall River, Mass., 1892 (A Treasury of Victorian Murder)
$9.99 $8.99
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.