Customer Reviews


246 Reviews
5 star:
 (198)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


99 of 107 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Season 2 gets organized
THE BORGIAS is back on screen and Season 2 is a welcome return. As last season progressed the series became a bit fragmented, but those seeds of subplots are now coming to be fleshed out. The cast remains the same (except some of last season's actors have already been knocked off, like poor Paolo). Neil Jordan still is the major influence and he is ably served by Jeremy...
Published on April 13, 2012 by Grady Harp

versus
19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Borgias: The Second Season
I have watched the first season and was looking forward to the second...Preordered. Have had to return the set TWICE because,
as others have commented, there are Flashing White Lines on the disc and I am disappointed that I have not been able to watch
this wonderfully photographed movie. No guarantee that I won't be sent a THIRD DEFECTIVE DISK. What has...
Published 22 months ago by Martha L. Maust


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

99 of 107 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Season 2 gets organized, April 13, 2012
By 
This review is from: The Borgias: Season 2 (DVD)
THE BORGIAS is back on screen and Season 2 is a welcome return. As last season progressed the series became a bit fragmented, but those seeds of subplots are now coming to be fleshed out. The cast remains the same (except some of last season's actors have already been knocked off, like poor Paolo). Neil Jordan still is the major influence and he is ably served by Jeremy Irons, (Rodrigo Borgia) the wonderful François Arnaud (Cesare Borgia), Holliday Grainger (Lucrezia Borgia), Lotte Verbeek (Giulia Farnese), David Oakes (Juan Borgia), Colm Feore (Giuliano Della Rovere), et al. One major change that is very positive - the art of the opening credits are truly creative and historically informed and simply fine graphics. Here is to another season with the cruelest family that ever lived! Grady Harp, April 12
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deeper and Deadlier, January 16, 2013
This review is from: The Borgias: Season 2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The Borgias' second season builds on the strengths of its first: plotting, acting and characterisation on the artistic side, costumes, sets and spectacle on the technical; this is a season in which everyone involved seems to have hit their stride, and whilst a production of this scope and ambition could always be better, consider me satisfied.

Here in Australia it's been out since late 2012, so I've watched every episode and some of the Special Features. With this sort of historical drama I'd happily watch a ten hour documentary of the times. It certainly wouldn't hurt the producers credentials if, in these behind-the-scenes docos, they highlighted more those events in history faithfully dramatised by the show (naturally glossing over the inaccuracies).

Overall this show has turned out better than I thought it would and is at least one star better than its closest rival, The Tudors, thanks in large part to a more charismatic lead in Jeremy Irons and a wonderful supporting cast. It may help that I'm less familiar with Rodrigo and Cesare Borgia than I am with Henry VIII, but even so, The Borgias has a natural energy and emotion The Tudors often struggled to achieve. It looks like a show made by people who wanted to tell its story rather than cynically cash in on its forerunner's success.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Borgias: The Second Season, April 3, 2013
By 
Martha L. Maust "Martha" (Lancaster, PA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Borgias: Season 2 (DVD)
I have watched the first season and was looking forward to the second...Preordered. Have had to return the set TWICE because,
as others have commented, there are Flashing White Lines on the disc and I am disappointed that I have not been able to watch
this wonderfully photographed movie. No guarantee that I won't be sent a THIRD DEFECTIVE DISK. What has happened to Customer "Service"? Amazon's communication system is lacking and I am sent to the UPS facility to return yet another one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars DVD set is defective, April 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Borgias: Season 2 (DVD)
I have already received two sets and all are defective. There is a white line running on the top of the screen and it is on all the disk's. . I email and get no results. Who wants to keep sending DVD's back that are defective and no one will even check there stock. I have already received two sets and all are defective.

I wish someone at Amazon would take the time and view these DVD's, then they would see what the problem is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great series. DVD's are defective., April 27, 2013
By 
Arben Hasa "emperorhasa" (Hayward, California United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Borgias: Season 2 (DVD)
The second season is amazing. Amazing beyond words.

However, there is a huge problem. Showtime screwed up. DVD's are defective. Not just from Amazon, and I've gone through 8 sets of the show. From retail, to online.

If watching on Widescreen, there are flashing lines that show up and will continue to keep flashing and are very easy to notice. It's horrible.

Amazon has stopped selling the product, so hopefully it will be fixed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great show!, April 2, 2013
This review is from: The Borgias: Season 2 (DVD)
While I enjoy the show, there is a problem with the discs, there are white lines above the border on the top of the letterbox. Need to return it and hopefully get a copy without the problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Writing, February 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Borgias: Season 2 (DVD)
Historical fiction at its best! Excellent cast! Excellent and accurate clothes and equipment! Well paced episodes. Over all some fo the best production to come out of Hollywood this year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brittanica, March 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excellent acting one and all. Made us feel we were right there, just hiding behind a screen! A history lesson that will always stick in my head from now on. Wish those historic lessons had always been this way, years ago. Whoever thought this up, and put this story on the screen, is brilliant. Thanks for the pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Borgias are getting worse, August 7, 2013
This review is from: The Borgias: Season 2 (DVD)
It seems I'm in minority here, but I think Season 2 started the downfall of the series. Apparently, the writers decided that even the scant amount of history on display in Season 1 was much too binding for them. As it often happens, their dull, uninspired and predictable storylines are no match for the real historical events. The actors are doing what they can but don't expect any intriguing character development here.

Cesare, who showed some ambition and cynical attitudes in Season 1, is starting to become a knight in the shining armor who only acts out of vengeance or to protect his family. And he is not particularly adept at that. Aut Caesar, aut nihil? Forget about that. Rodrigo continues to be a vengeful idiot (points for having a busier sex life than his eldest son). Juan, who was a wastrel, but an easy-going one, inexplicably become so mean and overbearing that everyone wants to kill him. Lucrezia... she just wants to be loved. And to give cooking lessons to the cardinals. Della Rovere, tired of the assassination attempts on his life (who can blame him), decides to stick it to the Borgia and become a master assassin himself (I guess he could be a good character on Assassin Creed). Sancha and Joffre... they're not there anymore. And I mean, at all. They will never show up again. Not even when Lucrezia marries Sancha's brother. (Ok, I admit Joffre is not the most interesting Borgia man, but they could have at least mentioned him a couple of times). You can see how well they're paying attention to detail here.

What was good, aside from the production values? Cesare + Lucrezia is still going strong and the only reason I kept watching the series through Season 3. I also liked seeing Francesco Gonzaga who, surprisingly, resembled his portrait quite a bit. I'm still at a loss to explain why they gave him a fake wife instead of Isabella d'Este (sister of Alfonso d'Este, Lucrezia's third husband) who had a famous rivalry with Lucrezia. And Savanarola scenes were decent, although, again, they changed details for no apparent reason.

In the end, the second season of The Borgias is just a pseudo-historical soap opera with vaguely medieval costumes and sets and with one-dimensional characters who bear little resemblance with their famous Renaissance prototypes.

Once again, I recommend checking the other Borgia show (run by Tom Fontana with the European channels) if you want to see at least something that resembles history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Blood, guts and sex, August 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Maybe the rest of of the season 2 is ok, but first hour we watched was so over the top that we are turned off the show.
We watched the first season but there is a limit to blood/guts, sex, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Borgias: Season 2 [Blu-ray]
The Borgias: Season 2 [Blu-ray] by Jeremy Irons (Blu-ray - 2013)
$65.99 $29.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.