Customer Reviews


205 Reviews
5 star:
 (145)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the show.. HATE IT'S BEEN CANCELED!!!!
A must have if you like historical dramas! This show has everything, except a channel to keep airing it on! So disgusted with Showtime for cancelling this series. It was magnificent! Join our fan campaign to bring about a season 4! We want more! We want our ending, and the finale was not IT! facebook.com/bringbacktheborgias! And sign our petition!!!!
Published 13 months ago by Miss Regina A

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Series
Sadly, I found the ending a bit strange. It was almost like the writers gave up and said, ok it is over, so big deal. For a final chapter in a series, the ending was poorly defined and left me thinking there must be more to it than there was. Seasons 1 & 2 were far better in writing and story-telling.
Published 11 months ago by Gemma Finds


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

75 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the show.. HATE IT'S BEEN CANCELED!!!!, June 18, 2013
A must have if you like historical dramas! This show has everything, except a channel to keep airing it on! So disgusted with Showtime for cancelling this series. It was magnificent! Join our fan campaign to bring about a season 4! We want more! We want our ending, and the finale was not IT! facebook.com/bringbacktheborgias! And sign our petition!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, one of the best historical series you will ever watch, June 10, 2013
This review is from: The Borgias: Season 3 (DVD)
The third season of The Borgias has concluded on Showtime and what a ride it has been!

The Spaniard pope, Rodrigo Borgia, is reeling from the revelation that his eldest child, Cesare, is responsible for the murder of his beloved son, Juan (Cesare confesses during the second season finale!). A rift is formed between the Borgia patriarch and his heir, leading Cesare to seek advancement through defiance, intrigue, and warfare. Rodrigo is, reasonably, fearful of Cesare's actions, but he finds himself dependent on his son's cunning stratagem to create a Borgia empire. Meanwhile, Lucrezia Borgia finds herself married to a naive, young prince from Naples who offers very little aid when she deals with his troublesome relatives who look down on her bastard Borgia (aka Spanish) lineage and illegitimate son. If that's not enough, Cesare and Lucrezia are on the cusp of finally consummating their unspoken sexual attraction. Is incest a taboo even a Borgia would refuse to commit?

This season simply left me breathless!

The scenery, the props, the costumes, the cinematography, the direction, the acting are all sumptuously (yes, sumptuously in the most decadent, delicious way) and expertly handled. Very few television shows give their audience such a cinematic viewing. Taking in an episode of The Borgias is a heady experience that leaves me craving the next installment. This season is must have for any TV lover!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bring back the Borgias, June 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Borgias: Season 3 (DVD)
Francois is great in the Borgias. I am part of Bring Back the Borgias group and we have a page on Facebook. If you wish to help us get our 4th season then visit our page!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BORGIAS worlds 1st crime family, May 28, 2013
By 
Chazermann26 (SAINT PAUL, MINNESOTA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Borgias: Season 3 (DVD)
This is in my humble opinion one of the finest SHOWTIME series ever made! If you like intrigue, spying, lust, murder & down right nastiness! How true to history this series is I don't know but what I do know its acting is superb, scripts keeps the viewers interest! This show makes you want to come back for more! Also see seasons one & two this show just gets better & better as it goes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Season yet of The Borgias, July 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Borgias is IMO the best TV Show ever produced. It has everything. Best writing, beautiful costumes, makeup and hair, scenery, lighting, music and choir and not to forget a fantastic group of amazing actors to carry it off. Jeremy Irons (Rodrigo Borgia - patriarch) who becomes Pope Alexander V1, Francois Arnaud as his highly intelligent and ambitious son Cesare Borgia, Holiday Grainger, his beautiful and savvy daughter Lucrezia, Sean Harris as the loyal and dangerous Michelletto, Cesare's bodyguard and friend, Joanne Whalley as Vanozza dei Cattenei, Rodrigo's ex mistress and mother of the children, and Lotte Verbeek as Julia Farnese, Rodrigo's younger mistress, David Oakes as Juan Borgia in S1 and S2 but not in S3. These group of outstanding actors are the glue that holds together the fabric of the storyline from 1492 to about 1501 - ably assisted by Peter Sullivan as Cardinal Sforza and Gina McKee as Caterina Sforza, the Borgia's enemy and Colm Feore as Guiliano della Rovere the Borgias arch nemesis. Not to forget Julian Bleach's marvellous portrayal of Niccholo Machiavelli and Simon MacBurney's Johann Burchardt.

Neil Jordan has brilliantly plotted a storyline close to actual history in the telling of The Borgias. There is never a dull moment, the scenes build beautifully and the editing is superb. Action scenes with Renaissance weaponry is amazing as are the scenery and props. Direction in Season 3 has been a lot tighter too and all the threads are well linked between episodes.

The Borgias is a visual feast, providing passion, plotting, curruption, ambition and politics all wrapped up in the marvellous package of Neil Jordan's visionary expose of Renaissance Italy.

This wonderful show has been cruelly cut off at the knees without a proper conclusion by ending it at Season 3. So much story still to tell and much left unfinished. The decision by Showtime to cancel, is short sighted and left so many of The Borgia's fanbase furious and upset. Including me.

A Season 4 or the two hour wrap up movie "The Borgia Apocolypse" as written by Neil Jordan is absolutely vital to finish this epic story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you loved in the last 2 seasons continued..., August 11, 2013
By 
Elizabeth Reilly Cain (SAUNDERSTOWN, RHODE ISLAND, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A continuation of the Borgias' story and in the end all you want is Cesera and Lucretia (Not sure if I spelt that right) to end up together, regardless of the blood relationship "issue." Remember it's the 1500s and that wasn't such a foreign thing, hence, the "crazy" monarchs. I would have loved a more endearing ending, with more romance but still a great series, sorry to see it end. Hollywood make more historical fiction films. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I wish they had a directors cut - oh they do for s2 but don't be fooled for s3, June 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Borgias: Season 3 (DVD)
I'm ready for The Borgias:The Third Season but make sure you look at the number of discs, the amount of time, what extras you get IF they ever do a Directors cut so you don't just get a similar product. I've bought both the regular version of The Borgias Season 2 and the Directors Cut Season 2 thinking that there would be extra footage that didn't make it into the 56 minute format on Showtime. The regular Season 2 actually has 4 minutes more than the Directors cut. Go figure.

Let's talk about Season 3 of the Borgias: Without direct spoilers but to let you know what's coming in this season You'll get to see the Pope alive after S2's cliffhanger and how he manages to clear out the sneaky betrayers, Lucrezia's wedding to Alfonso and the aftermath, Micheletto helping everyone but himself, Cesare gaining an army and a wife, Lucrezia manipulating situations without the cunning to see 2 steps ahead in the Chessboard game of life, Cesare and Father having an all out confrontation about past and future actions, Alfonso (from S2) a pawn of just about everyone, Guilia saying goodbye to one and hello to another, the close bond between Rodrigo and Vanozza, the dangerous ego of Rodrigo/Pope Alexander VI w/plans for his family, the dark dance of Lucrezia's desire fulfilled, Catarina Sforza - the Tigress of Forli make pointed appearances, what "happened" to the Hebrews during the time of Alexander's rule of Rome, Cesare taking command of one thing he's always wanted but hesitant, still, until the very end, about taking it all.

There is something about each episode in season 3 that stands out but episode 10 with Lucrezia's opening soliloquy only to end as it does w/an almost ecstasy arch of her neck as she's next to certain characters leaves us all wanting more.

I really am sad to see that this series ended but after watching Season 2 and Season 3 you could tell that something was going on. The dresses were almost the same in Season 3 vs. Season 2, that had each episode with a different dress, different surroundings. They skimped on the sumptuousness and lavishness that was Season 2 vs. Season 3 which was, IMO, more focused to storylines that pertained close to home. S2 was had a wide open feeling in contrast with many players on the chessboard compared to the more intimate S3 season.

Of course, S3 has its detractors: Where is DellaRovere? Too much time was spent on the military aspect of 1 castle: Forli when in S2 the French marched through Italy all the way to Naples. On the whole S3 is needed for the more intimate storylines per episode to move the arc of the Borgias along the timeline as we all thought there would be season 4. It was a shock then to everyone that quickly changed to unhappiness that the flower would not bloom again in fullness like season 2 because Showtime cut off the show after episode 7, leaking episode 8 and 9 online and then making the announcement that it was Neil Jordan's fault for only writing enough for a 2 hour movie vs. Neil Jordan's people saying no, they just wanted to do a movie to wrap it up, countered by Showtime saying it was too expensive.

Even though it steams me that the money goes to Showtime - I wouldn't be without this Season 3 pack for my collection of The Borgias because there is an ending w/episode 10.....We'd just like more and if they ever get it together and there ever is a Season 4 you'll need this in your library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best incomplete TV series, November 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The whole series was great, so I was very disappointed to find out the 4th season was cancelled. The acting, costumes and scenery were superb. There are historical inaccuracies, but no more so than other TV series and movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Am bitterly disappointed they didn't finish this show properly!, April 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Borgias: Season 3 (DVD)
I adore costume dramas and though I know liberties are always taken with shows like this, that doesn't keep me from loving it to death and wishing there would be more episodes! I am EXTREMELY disappointed that they didn't finish the show properly, with a fourth season or at least some kind of made for TV movie to wrap it up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, November 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Borgias: Season 3 (DVD)
Just plain wonderful...but, so sorry there won't be a fourth season. Great acting, exciting plots, beautiful costuming and locations..don't miss it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Borgias: Season 3
The Borgias: Season 3 by Neil Jordan (DVD - 2013)
$39.98 $20.16
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.