Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Bounty Hunter Code: From the Files of Boba Fett
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Billy Talent Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports STEM

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$59.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon October 29, 2013
From its Tatooine orbit, the Alliance Forces acquired Boba Fett's starship. Within Slave I's cockpit, a treasure of secret materials were discovered. Finally shedding light on the shadowy underworld of bounty hunting, the contents can now be yours! "The Bounty Hunter Code" is the newest in a line of hybrid goodies that combine expanded universe books and high-end toys. Here we have the guide to the Bounty Hunters' Guild. The beautiful hard cover book comes in a 'blast proof strongbox.' As with the vault editions of "The Book of Sith" and "The Jedi Path," it lights up and makes cool sounds when activated. First, two buttons must be simultaneously pressed to trigger the opening of the front panel. This movement reveals the data slot. Second, when the accompanying data card is inserted, the lid finally opens. The event's fanfare is a tapestry of sound bites that include a thermal detonator, a Geonosian sonic blaster and a seismic charge. It is disappointing that operation of the strongbox is temperamental. Button performance can be flakey and there are times when the entire fanfare won't play. As with the outside of the strongbox, the book is handsomely embroidered with a Mandalorian skull. It comes with surprises like Boba Fett's driver's license and a wanted poster for Han Solo. Don't worry, if you can't read Galactic Basic, the poster has an English translation. The book itself was initially owned by Bossk and Greedo. Most recently, it was Boba Fett's. All three owners marked up the book with hand written notes. It is especially entertaining to read Boba's responses with regards to the original text and the previous owners. Topics include a history of the profession, the creed, tools of the trade and suggested techniques for capturing and disintegrating targets. The monograph is beautifully written and illustrated. As a bonus, it is accompanied by "Making A Killing," a paperback memoir by Gradossk, head of the guild. Last but certainly not least, the package comes with one of the most notorious symbols of the trade, a Kaminoan Saber Dart. Ever wonder what it takes to be a bounty hunter? Now you can read all about the galaxy's most dangerous profession thanks to the deluxe edition of "The Bounty Hunter Code."
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2015
For adult SW fans who enjoy a book that puts them "in-universe" into the Saga, I highly recommend this book as well as the related Jedi Manual, Book of Sith, and Imperial Handbook. These books are immersive and really give the reader background into the SW universe. The deluxe editions have super-worth-it bonuses like the mechanically opening case with lights and sound, plus various little removable artifacts that enhance the feeling of getting to read a book that's from the library of Boba Fett.
These books are fun to read and also nice collectibles.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2015
I bought the book of the Sith and was actually rather impressed with the amount of content they fit into the little thing. It was pretty intriguing and well enough written for the avid Star Wars fan. This book on the other hand is just boring. Lists of equipment from the Star Wars universe isn't much to read. Very little of the book (less than half) has to do with the Bounty Hunter's guild. The only worthwhile section was on the Deathwatch, but it was still less than twenty pages.

Very, very dull.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2013
These books are amazing and enrich the Star Wars expanded universe. Let us hope J.J. Abrams and Disney read them.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2016
I don't even know how to express how cool this was. I didn't even realize the container actually did something either. This thing comes with a key card on the bottom. You insert it into the little slit and the things lights up and opens by itsel! Plus the books are awesome. One contains little personal notes and the other has a bunch of pieces that come out. I geeked out over this so hard. I can't wait to actually read the books!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2013
Most people, maybe more males than females have always been just as drawn to the anti-hero as they are the hero. Why else would everyone be so caught up on Boba Fett after just a few minutes of screen time? Sure he had cool armor and great gadgets, but wouldn't we all want to be on the fringes, bringing people to justice while all the while straddling the line between law and lawlessness? Now we get a little insight into what it's like to be a bounty Hunter from the man himself. The Bounty Hunter Code is filled with lots of information on what it takes to be a bounty hunter. Techniques, advice and information on various vehicles. You also get little inscriptions from various other bounty hunters as well. These are written in the margins and are fun to read. You also get the small book (this one is paperback the code book is hardcover) written by Cradossk (father of Bossk). Written from his perspective it tells you what he does and how he does it, as well as tells you his feelings towards what he is doing.

Now on to the fun stuff, the books are packaged in a "strongbox" that you open with the plastic keycard on the back. In order to insert the card you need to press the two buttons on the left and right, it opens with a nice display of colors and sounds. Insert the card into the revealed slot, and the main compartment opens. Slowwwwwly. My only issue with this is how slow the lid opens. This isn't anything major cause it's still cool. I was afraid it would be a cheap latch that just pops open, but it is actually motor driven. just wish it was a bit faster lol.

Once open you'll see the slots for the two books and another area which houses the Kamino saber dart (as seen in Episode II). In the Bounty Hunter Code book you will find four inserts, one is Boba Fett's Id/license the other is a load out document, and then there is the registration for slave 1 (which is funny since if anyone played the Bounty Hunter Game, we find that Slave 1 was originally a ship stationed at a penal colony...so how can you license a stolen ship? I guess if you are a bounty hunter you can figure out how to do that). Last but not least (and totally cool) is the Wanted poster for Han Solo which also features a smaller bounty for Chewbacca. I was surprised at how low the bounty was on Han since everyone was after him I had assumed it would be higher. Maybe their cost of living is lower in this galaxy far far away:). What is nice is one side is in English and on the flip side it's the same poster but in alien writing. This is definitely a frameable item. Though most collectors hate taking things out of the original package to frame them. But the way it's printed and the type of paper it would be easy to frame it in an 8x10 frame and then take it out if you decide to put it back where it goes.

Overall, I am really pleased with this item. It has a very high fun factor. This is like a toy for adults. Most children will probably damage it too quickly to make it worth buying for them or they'll lose the inserts. Probably a good gift for anyone 13 and up but it depends on the child. But for the older kids like me, it's a great gift. No Star Wars fan should be without this. Also might I suggest getting the deluxe versions of The Jedi Path as well as The Book of Sith, both are done in the same vein as this book. Very cool, very necessary for any true fan/collector. There is also one like this for Star Trek that is a history of the first 150 years of the federation with a cool stand. When you press the button on that one you get an introduction by George Takei as Sulu. Very nicely done. in that book though it's more of a history book with no margin comments, but it has inserts in an envelope in the back of the book.

So get this before they sell out or go up in price, you won't be disappointed. All of us older kids/Star Wars fans will love to own this.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2015
review image
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2016
If you are a fan of Boba Fett, this is a must-have collectible. Just make sure you buy it on sale, or you may feel a little cheated. This is very plastic-y, and mine does not always open without a little help.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2015
This is the perfect gift for any fan of Boba Fett and the rest of the bounty hunters! Everyone who comes over always comments on it because it just looks so cool! There are some issues with it not always opening right away when you push the button, but it usually works by the third button push and it's just so awesome that I don't even care. The books are well written, and Boba Fett's inscriptions are true to character and very amusing. Excellent item!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2016
Ok this item is perfect for Jango/Boba nuts like myself out there!!! I probably read this book in about 1 day and I really liked how Boba, Jango and other awesome bounty hunters comment on the different codes of conduct. I also really enjoyed the part at the end with all the mandalorian history and the death watch. This is definitely a must have for bounty hunter fanatics in the Star Wars world!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.