Customer Reviews


2,479 Reviews
5 star:
 (968)
4 star:
 (672)
3 star:
 (469)
2 star:
 (254)
1 star:
 (116)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


93 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Legacy continues!
I confess I am addicted to this series of movies, but this one is quite different as it delves into the science behind the agents in the 'Program'. Don't expect Jeremy Renner to replace Matt Damon, as this is not the intent. Renner is quite a good actor in his own right, and has risen in the ranks of action stars recently, most notably as 'Hawkeye' in the Avengers. The...
Published on December 15, 2012 by redwings90

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bourne Legacy
This film should not be associated with the bourne films. It seemed as if someone created a script that just had one thing after another happen and then they put bourne in the title..
Published on December 20, 2012 by Dana


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, November 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bourne Legacy (Amazon Instant Video)
Great movie! ...especially loved the "outcome" which is treadstone without the inconsistency; larx with a soul (larx3 was a single-minded terminator but NOT indestructable :-). Faithful to the storyline of the series; you'll only be disappointed if you're hung up on Matt Damon. Jeremy Renner is not Matt Damon and Aaron Cross is not Jason Bourne, but this latest installation is an upgrade that retains all the original features while providing fresh enhancements (including Rachel Weisz)... go with the flow, its Bourne 2.0! Very well thought out and scripted; no mindless action here, its edge-of-the-seat all the way through. Final scene is exhilarating as Mobi's tune kicks in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Action, Adventure But Short On Story Is This Bourne Story!, August 25, 2012
The fourth film in the Bourne Legacy series (originally authored by Robert Ludlum), was written and directed by Tony Gilroy (Michael Clayton, Extreme Measures), along with his brother Dan Gilroy (Real Steel, City of Light), and has a simple but direct approach to making the entire film about eliminating everything that was set up in the first three films. The entire organization of specially programmed people with double agendas is cancelled and this includes killing everyone involved.

Taking the seat front and center now is Jeremy Remer (The Avengers, The Hurt Locker) playing Aaron Cross, a character who starts out with one idea of what his purpose is and then suddenly realizes that he has to avoid the very people who are programing him with drugs. He does a great job as the impartial, intelligent and super-athletic man-killer he is programmed to be while realizing he's now the target of the organizations destruction.

Ironically he finds a friend in the very medical community that is inducing him with his super-human drug addiction, artfully played by Rachel Weizs. Her initial ignorance to the big picture of what she is actually contributing too changes abruptly and she soon learns that Jeremy's character is sincere in his attempts to beat the system that built him.

The movie is filled with fights, killing snipers, running and car chases of incredible detail but with a wonderful visual flow that makes some of these sequences seem a little too unlikely to actually happen in real life.

Some other notable performances include Stacey Keach (American History X, The Bourne Legecy) and Edward Norton (The Incredible Hulk, Fight Club) as the people in charge of the agency that decides it needs to shut down its super-spy program. Donna Murphy (Star Trek: Insurrection, Tangeled) put in a small put tough character who realizes Jeremy has figured out that they are after him and he in turn goes after them.

The film is completely more action than story and has some good moments of double jeopardy that you really can't guess which way the action is going. Overall the feel was different from the original Matt Damon series of films which, for me, worked better overall. But this film has some interesting and intense moments and, if you like action, it's here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie!, September 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
When I found out that Matt Damon wasn't attached I was upset, but after watching this film I understood and saw the light! Jeremy Renner's character isn't Jason Bourne, which came at a relief for me. Jeremy plays Aaron Cross, another soldier who was just like Bourne. Anyhow, watch it for yourself and see, this movie is awesome and won't come at a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes!, June 20, 2013
This review is from: The Bourne Legacy (DVD)
This movie surpasses the previous ones by far. Jeremy Renner is a much better (and believable) covert agent than Matt Da-mon. The fact that this is not Ludlum's work is a sore spot, but overall this movie delivers where the previous ones did not. The story is intriguing, the acting is phenomenal, and the continuity to the previous movies works very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome change up, September 8, 2013
By 
Maegan (Fairbanks, AK USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bourne Legacy (DVD)
Normally I hate it when movie series bring in a new character to focus on, but in this case it works. I like how the timeline of this movie is interwoven with the previous 3 movies, and yet it doesn't overlap so much that it's annoying. Jeremy Renner and Rachel Weisz do a great job and this is a fast paced action packed movie. I really enoyed it a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Addition to the Bourne Trilogy, March 19, 2014
By 
This one is my favorite. I thought the lead characters were more likable. Bourne seems a robot compared to Aaron Cross. Rachel Weiss did an excellent job as a bewildered doctor caught in circumstances totally beyond her control, but with her partners help becomes equal to the task of escaping their killers and helping Aaron Cross as well. The camera work and location shooting was fantastic. Especially the scenes shot in Canada. I've heard they have a sequel planned for 2015. Looking forward to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, May 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bourne Legacy (DVD)
Another great Bourne 'ride'. Requires a 'suspension of belief' WRT genetics (for a start !) but aficionados of Tony Gilroy's work will not be disappointed.
In Renner and Weisz the film offers two protagonists who do a good job of conveying evolving understanding as their worlds are thrown into disarray and then, working together, the strength to try and survive. Norton is excellent as the adversary in what seems to be an unusual role for him.
The many references to earlier 'Bourne' mean that it helps if you have seen 'Ultimatum' but in any event expect a top quality espionage thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great acting and action scenes, May 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you're looking for great actors and action, this Bourne follows in the footsteps of the others. You won't find over the top romantic scenes that some directors use as filler. As a matter of fact, the lack of overly indulgent romantic scenes leaves that question hanging for a decent portion of the movie.

The female lead - Rachel Weisz - is also portrayed as a strong character and has some very courageous portrayals in quite a few scenes.

Even with all the action, there are deeper issues raised and the character played by Ed Norton and others highlight some interesting and provocative items.

I liked it and I'd recommend it to others looking for action with great actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars er... run that by me again..., January 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Well, it's just not really about anything is it. Most of the movie is taken up with Ed Norton trying to explain to everyone they could persuade to come back from the original movies, why they had to kill the operatives. They all looked bemused, as they might, I certainly was. So, its better to wreak havoc and carnage with news crews and emergency services everywhere than allow people to - this is where I got really confused - see a video clip on YouTube of two old men drinking wine (which, even more bewilderingly, they already would have as its... duh! ...on YouTube)? If you "did" recognized these guys and joined the dots then you would already be in the know right? Who knows? Who cares? Anyway, Jeremy Renner runs away, and that pretty much sums it up. Was it just me or did anyone else think it turned into Terminator II at one (brief) point?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bourne Legacy review, December 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I gave this movie 4 stars because it unexpectedly fits very well with the rest of the Bourne series, which is my favorite action series. Jeremy Renner does not replace Matt Damon but he wasn't meant to as his character is that of another agent serving during the same timeline as Jason Bourne. Renner's character does not have the same range of emotional vulnerability nor the feeling of mental toughness as the Jason Bourne charactor but that is okay as the movie makes it clear that the two characters are not competing in any way.
Rachel Weiss' character does an excellent job in this movie, even better in my opinion than the female actors in the Matt Damon movies, and that adds needed dimension in this movie. Overall very good movie for fans of the Bourne series if you watch with no preconceptions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Bourne Legacy
The Bourne Legacy by Tony Gilroy
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.