Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


73 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book -- period
While it's tempting to say simply that is the best baseball book ever written (I happen to think that it is), such a statement would do a disservice to the book. It's a great book -- period.
Kahn's memoir of his life in Brooklyn and in the world beyond is really three books in one. First, it's an evocative story of growing up in the '30s and '40s in an...
Published on April 27, 2000 by Tyler Smith

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Would not recommend
The author wrote too many pages about writing for newspapers and newspaper writers. There was not enough information about the Brooklyn Dodgers In the 1950's.
Published 20 months ago by Jack


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

73 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book -- period, April 27, 2000
By 
Tyler Smith (Denver, CO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Boys of Summer (Paperback)
While it's tempting to say simply that is the best baseball book ever written (I happen to think that it is), such a statement would do a disservice to the book. It's a great book -- period.
Kahn's memoir of his life in Brooklyn and in the world beyond is really three books in one. First, it's an evocative story of growing up in the '30s and '40s in an intellectually challenging household that somehow (much to his mother's disgust) centered around the exasperating study of the Brooklyn Dodgers.
Second, it's the tale of a young writer who at an astonishingly young age found himself covering the team he loved during two bittersweet seasons ('52 and '53) that ended in agonizing seven-game World Series losses to (who else?) the New York Yankees.
Third, it's the story of how this no-longer-young writer went back to find the Boys of Summer long after their careers had ended. This is the most poignant section of the book: Kahn's finely etched portraits of the heroes of his youth, now ordinary men leading ordinary (but compelling) lives.
What sets this book apart from the vast majority of books written about baseball (sports in general, really) is Kahn's respect for his subjects. Jackie Robinson, Pee Wee Reese, Carl Erskine, Duke Snider, Roy Campanella, et al., emerge as three-dimensional characters capable of heroism and strong-willed determination as well as bitterness.
To recount the individual stories contained in this book even briefly would not do justice to the book or to its subjects. It's a book best savored slowly, allowing its resonance to work its magic. The story of a vanished world and a vanished team, "The Boys of Summer" recreates both so vividly that between its pages, neither will ever die.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic that should be required reading for any sports fan, May 18, 2003
By 
Robert Wellen (CHICAGO, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Boys of Summer (Paperback)
This is one of the books that I had considered reading since I was a young man in love with baseball for the first time. In a sense, I'm glad I waited all these years to finally read it. I think that I would not have enjoyed it at 14 the way I did at 28. The book is beautiful elegy and mediation on a time long gone and the men who made up it's glory. They bear littler resemblance to the stars of today. I grew up with stories of the '52 World Series and the Dodgers. This book gave me the gift of being able to exprience a bit of what my grandfather and father shared on that October day in 1952 as Joe Black took the mound against the Yankees. I've always held the Dodgers in awe (the BRooklyn version at least) and this book allows me to see the men who made up those times as real people. Pee Wee Reese emerges as Kahn's hero in the baseball parts. I would argue that his father, Gordon, was almost as heroic to him. It is beautiful book about boys, their fathers, and the ties that bind us to what is still, even in this day and age, the single greatest game ever invented. This is a classic that should be read by every fan. Thank you, Mr. Kahn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Boys of Summer by Roger Kahn, January 25, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Boys of Summer (Paperback)
My mother brought this book years ago in a three books for a dollar deal. The other two are long gone, unread and forgotten. Between my brother and myself we read The Boys of Summer so thoroughly the copy we had split down the middle and eventually fell apart. One of the first things i did when i visited the US a while back was buy another copy of this wonderful book. At the very core of it lay two themes,courage and frustration. It covers Jackie Robinsons team of the early 50's. They were good but never quite good enough. Like the modern day Atlanta Braves the Brooklyn Dodgers kept running into a juggernaut called the New York Yankees. They say that for every winner there is a loser. Thats not true. For every winner there are thousands of losers. Only one team/person can hold up the trophy at the end of the season. The Brooklyn Dodgers of the early 1950's represent the rest of us, the also rans. Roger Kahn brilliantly brings those days back to life and by then covering the men after their glory days are long behind them the book transcends sports and becomes a study of humanity in all its fraility. The fact that the Dodgers moved away not long after finally breaking through in the World Series only intensifies the tragedy of it all. It says something that a white boy growing up on the other side of the world can come to admire someone like Jackie Robinson, the first black man to play Major League Baseball, whos deeds and presence are discussed at some length in the pages of this book. He is my only hero. The Boys of Summer is a classic. I would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily One of the Best Baseball books of ALL TIME, November 7, 2000
By 
David Suiter (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Boys of Summer (Paperback)
Roger Kahn was the beat writer who covered the Brooklyn Dodgers of the early 1950s. This book tells the story of how Roger got the position he did and his experiences with the players. A really great depiction of basball in its hey day. Kahn really captures the essence of a simpler time in sports. The second part of the book is a great look into the life of a ball player after he has retired. Kahn tells of his visits with such Dodger greats as Pee Wee Reese, Jackie Robinson, and Gil Hodges after the end of their playing careers. And amazing book highly recomended to not only Dodger fans, but baseball fans. This book is easily one of the best wirtten works on Americas most notable past time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Golden Summer Long Ago, March 22, 2002
By 
This review is from: The Boys of Summer (Paperback)
It seems strange, looking back over the decades, to think that America seemed so close to perfect. The war was won, everyone had a job, family values ruled, and the Dodgers were in Brooklyn.
What more could you want? Off-hand I can think of any number of things, beginning with an end to racial segregation, but at least in that respect the Dodgers showed the way.
It must have been some lucky fate that guided Roger Kahn over the Brooklyn bridge all those years ago. He could have written a series of articles and forgotten all about the time he spent with the Dodgers. But he didn't. He revelled in the team, got to know the players, manager, staff and owner. The way the dynamics worked, the internal politics, the inside information.
And then he recalled those golden days for us, along with the players, years and years later, in what has got to be the best baseball book ever written. We look back through his eyes, and the eyes of those boys of summer, at a magic moment in America's history.
Were they just doing their jobs, those golden boys? Just throwing and hitting a ball around? Or were they conscious of their role in history? Do we read things into this book that weren't there? Do we see that season through misty watercolour memories of the way we were?
Up to the reader, I guess, but for me, I go back time and again to Brooklyn and that great team, so superbly described by Roger Kahn.
If you love baseball (and who doesn't?) then you must read this book. To understand what once was, and will ever be so long as summer comes and young men gather to throw a baseball around a diamond.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than a baseball book, July 29, 2002
This review is from: The Boys of Summer (Paperback)
To use a bit of a cliche, saying that is just a book about baseball is like saying Moby Dick is just a book about a whale. The Boys of Summer deals with one man's different perceptions of baseball players over time, as they change from demigods to mere mortals.
The book starts with Kahn's recollections of childhood, when the Brooklyn Dodgers were heroes. As he reaches adulthood, he is lucky enough to get an opportunity to report on his favorite team, and he learns that these players are more flawed than they seem at a distance. In the second half of the book, it is years later, and Kahn sees what retirement has done to the players.
There was a time that baseball was the dominant sport in the U.S., and there is something sad in seeing these idols - worshipped by kids and adults alike - forced into mundane existences by age. There is more: a lot of insights into racism and various players reactions to integration in baseball.
This is a great book about the Boys of Summer, those Brooklyn Dodgers who played great ball from 1947 to 1957. For fans of baseball, this book is a must-read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This great book is not about baseball --it's about Life., June 18, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Boys of Summer (Paperback)
This is easily one of the best 5 books I've ever read. Although the book is obstensibly about the 1955 Brooklyn Dodger World Champions it is really about what happens to people (not just ballplayers) after they've reached their peak. The names are well known to anybody who follows baseball and one --Jackie Robinson-- to anybody who is familiar with American culture. Those names and their exploits are the hook, but what happens to the team members after their glorious victories are funny, sad, inspiring, depressing, poignant and always moving. Roger Kahn beautifully captures the sunsets of the lives of the people who were the '55 Dodgers. I'm a bit biased because I'm a lifelong Dodger fan (born in the year the Dodgers moved to L.A.) and I, of course, love baseball, but whenever I put down this book I felt I wasn't reading a "sports" book (a genre unfairly looked down upon). I was reading about Life. I cannot recommend this book highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Authentic as it Gets, February 9, 2002
By 
William Hare (Seattle, Washington) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Boys of Summer (Paperback)
As a former sportswriter who once covered the Dodgers, I can vouch for the authenticity of Roger Kahn's excellent book about the fabulous Brooklyn days and the tenacious loyalty of Dodger fans. While I did not cover the Dodgers until they reached their next and current home of Los Angeles, I had heard and read much about the great Brooklyn heritage and was delighted to read a book by a talented sportswriter who covered the Dodgers during that glorious period when New York City had three exceptional major league teams, the indomitable Yankees, likened to General Motors for efficiency, and who were situated in the Bronx, the Giants located a short trip from Yankee Stadium over the East River bridge in the Coogan's Bluff area of Manhattan, where they called the Polo Grounds home, and the Dodgers, who played to packed throngs of 35,000 roaring fans at Ebbets Field on Bedford Avenue in Brooklyn.
One of the most informative portions of this book was Kahn's revelations about the man who changed professional sports, Jackie Robinson, who broke the color line by becoming the first African-American to play in the major leagues. A fiercely proud man who fought hard for civil rights, through Robinson's lobbying Southern parks where the Dodgers played exhibition games abandoned Jim Crow policies of forcing African Americans to sit in separate sections. Robinson is described in one instance reprimanding thankful African Americans who thanked ushers for allowing them to sit with the general populace. "Don't thank them," Robinson called out from the field. "It's your right."
Kahn describes the tensions of tough pennant drives in the dog days of summer. On one occasion he is concerned that the combative Eddie Stanky, who has taken exception to what Kahn has written, will attack him physically. In another instance he does his best to calm an angry Duke Snider from attacking a writer with whom he has become upset. Kahn expresses concern that the strong, athletic Snider might seriously injure the writer and get himself in a great deal of trouble.
The fifties period described by Kahn was one where three great centerfielders in one city would all be honored with induction into the Baseball Hall of Fame. Snider was a fixture in centerfield for the Dodgers, while Willie Mays played the position for the Giants, with Mickey Mantle assuming it for the Yankees. All possessed great power with the bat and the exceptional fleet footedness of players playing a position where covering a great deal of ground defensively is a must.
Kahn knowledgeably addresses the qualitative factor with the Dodgers and the Yankees. During the fifties the Yankees and Dodgers met in the World Series in 1952, 1953, 1955 and 1956. During the forties the teams had met in the post-season classic in 1941, 1947 and 1949. The Bronx Bombers won every series save one, the 1955 showdown when 22-year-old rookie lefthander Johnny Podres blanked the vaunted Yankees 2-0 in game seven, which marked the first and only World Series victory for the Dodgers during their Brooklyn existence. Kahn breaks down the two teams, concluding that the Dodgers rated a close edge among the regulars but that the Yankee advantage stemmed from superiority in the pitching department.
If you love great baseball writing, this is one book you do not want to miss. Kahn sets down his interesting facts with a thoroughly readable lucidity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We are all "Boys of Summer"., June 12, 2008
By 
How often do you read a book that you don't want to end? "The Boys of Summer" is one of them.

How often do you read a book at exactly the right time in your life, at a time when you are the most in tune with what the book is really about? For me, "The Boys of Summer" and I have met at just the right time.

It's not like I've been unaware of this book. Being a baseball fan, it's presence is just about as constant as it could ever be. As a lifelong New York Yankees fan, "The Boys of Summer" has always been "that old book about the Brooklyn Dodgers, who the heck cares?" Well, score that a two base error.

Waking up to the realities and disappointments of middle age is not all that much fun, nor is it frequently reckoned on it's own terms with necessary insight. It's usually a lot easier to go to sleep, get up, go to work, and watch those ballgames nearly every day. Now that's something to hold onto. The daily cacophony of two children is a great distraction, particularly if one is happy to be distracted.

But what of the inevitable changes wrought by the inexorable march of time? How long should one dwell on realizing that not only are you as old as the ballplayers you watch on TV, but that it was twenty-five years since you realized it? When in the world did our favorite players become coaches and hall of fame candidates, to be seen only at old timers days? Am I an old timer now? What...???

"The Boys of Summer" does us a great and timely favor. It's a powerful reminder. It's a gentle and insistent reflection of ourselves and what our lives have done to us, and where we find ourselves now. What have we lost along the way? What have we gained?

The game of baseball has long endured. It is both unchanging and ever changing. It can be a great distraction. Author Roger Kahn shows how it can teach as well.

Baseball is youth. Enthusiastic, ebullient, exciting, entrancing. Baseball will always retain it's youth. as that is it's nature. But not us. Youth passes and passes away, as it must. Life goes on. We must make do, and my oh my, isn't that a bit sad?

I wasn't around for the Golden Age of Baseball, the 1950's in New York with the Yankees, Dodgers and Giants fighting for supremacy in New York, although the team from the Bronx seemed to mostly come out on top. "The Boys of Summer" is wonderfully evocative of that era, and I really appreciate the human dimension that Kahn so ably weaves into the book. The old ballplayers really come alive in full color, and of course black and white. Who cares about the Brooklyn Dodgers? Well, bless my soul, now I do!

I look forward to when my two young children are old enough to watch baseball with me. I miss talking baseball with my now dead father.

Holy cow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Book That Made Me A Baseball Fan, November 11, 2007
By 
Konrei "Everything I need is right here" (Boca Raton, Florida and Brooklyn, New York) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Never really a dedicated sports fan, but a voracious and eclectic reader familiar with its reputation, I approached THE BOYS OF SUMMER fully expecting an excellent book about the Brooklyn Dodgers, but unprepared for what I found.

Less a team history than a memoir of the best of times and the worst of times, author Roger Kahn, a former sportswriter for the late NEW YORK HERALD TRIBUNE, has accomplished the nearly impossible task of preserving an era in amber.

At the outset, we are introduced to Kahn's endearingly pretentious and unusual family: The father, Gordon, called "Gore-DON" by his wife, Olga, both teachers; the maternal grandfather, Dr. Rockow, a refugee of the Russian Revolution who obtained his Doctorate of Dentistry in Bern, Switzerland; the deceased grandmother, who, before her death at forty, had acheived a European M.D. Degree in an era when most women in her world were barely literate, much less successfully professional; the younger sister, Emily, stricken with polio; and Roger himself, a well-educated young man whose passion was Dodger baseball.

[A previous reviewer is critical of the "Marxism" of the book, but obviously, s/he did not read past page thirty; in painting us a living portrait of his family, Kahn tells us that they read, among many others, "Karl Marx and Freud," and refers affectionately to his Russian-Jewish immigrant grandfather as an "old Marxist toothpuller." Kahn's family was somewhat unusual for its time in being stolidly and successfully middle-class and firmly dedicated to Middle European humanist intellectualism in Depression-era, overwhelmingly blue-collar Jewish Brooklyn; but to call this book "Marxist" or equate it with DAS KAPITAL is to say that THE CAT IN THE HAT is equivalent to GRAY'S ANATOMY because it was written by a Dr. Seuss.]

Living within view of Ebbet's Field, baseball was central to Roger's summer universe. This centrality was reinforced by his erudite father, who, when not discussing Joyce and Flaubert at the dinner table, was playing endless games of catch with his son and regularly taking him to games. With no appreciation of sports, Olga, "who had pretentions toward atheism" pleaded with God to intervene: "Please let him read one book; just ONE book." God's choice for Roger was FUNDAMENTALS OF PITCHING, which he carried around with him for weeks.

Whether Olga appreciated it or not, Roger was developing a Love For The Game, and he became the HERALD TRIBUNE's point man at Ebbet's Field just as the Dodgers emerged from a decades-long obscurity to become not only one of the preeminent franchises in baseball history, but also an historic team.

The Brooklyn Dodgers had always been iconoclastic. The only Major League team representing only a portion of it's home city (granted, Brooklyn had been an independent city until 1898), the team members lived locally and were well-known in their various Brooklyn neighborhoods.

From 1921 to 1938, the Dodgers were barely competitive. A chronically bankrupt franchise locally beloved but belittled as "dem bums," the fog began to lift in the War Years. The Dodgers captured a pennant in 1941. From 1941 to 1945 they played hard, but wartime manpower needs kept the team from truly excelling. It was not until 1947 that the Dodgers blossomed.

And as they blossomed, they made history as well, being the first modern Major League team to sign a black player, Jackie Robinson. Despite being vilified by certain elements, Robinson was MVP and led them to stellar heights. And despite a plethora of personal opinions about Robinson, the team as a whole responded positively to Robinson's amazing energy, and played magnificently for the next decade. Though not every Dodger was dedicated to Civil Rights, only one, aptly named Dixie Walker, asked to be traded, and was. The rest eventually accepted Number 42 as a teammate, and either liked him or loathed him for himself.

Perennial Pennant winners, they nonetheless could never overcome the dominance of their crosstown American League rivals, the Yankees, even in 1953, when they statistically outplayed the famed Murderers' Row team of 1927. The Dodger lament was always "Wait 'Til Next Year." It was not until 1955 that they could proudly claim, "This IS Next Year!"

But by then, the team had aged, Robinson was gone, and Kahn, too, had moved on. The last trolleys ran in Brooklyn in October of 1956, and with no more trolleys to dodge, the Dodgers vanished from Brooklyn in 1957 and took up residence in Los Angeles. Kahn ends the first half of his book by recounting the death of his father, but it is only one ending among many in that time.

Part Two of THE BOYS OF SUMMER brings us The Boys of Summer" in their autumn. Written in 1971, the book provides a series of encapsulated snapshots of each of the former team members in their fifties, some fat, some thin, some embittered, some wistful, some successful and some lost in time. The Boys in their age largely returned to their roots, most of them to little towns in the South and Midwest where they ran lumberyards, coached Little League, and were Presidents of their local Rotaries. Each has a story to tell, and so much of what made the Dodgers a truly great team is revealed in these pages.

Jackie Robinson stands out. It is hard, sixty years later, to realize how daring owner Branch Rickey was to sign Robinson at that time, and how difficult Robinson's journey was. "Brown v. Board of Education" was still seven years in the future, Jim Crow was rampant, Dr. King's Montgomery Bus Boycott was a decade away, and still Robinson overcame all obstacles, mostly because of his iron determination off the field and his spectacular talent on the field, attributes which his teammates, and then his opponents, came to respect.

The team's sudden, unexpected departure from Brooklyn is still lamented, and then-owner Walter O'Malley is still hated for it: "If a Brooklynite with a gun has only two bullets and Hitler, Mussolini and O'Malley are his targets, who does he shoot? O'Malley---twice."

Although some reviewers accuse Kahn of revisionism in his treatment of O'Malley, a close reading of the last chapters reveals something different. While most Brooklynites' long-standing hatred of O'Malley is real, it is the hatred of the townsman for the corporation that closes the mill, throwing the factory town into crisis---personal, and yet remote.

The bitterness remains. The Los Angeles Dodgers are still often referred to as the Los Angeles Traitors. In this reviewer's family, Dodger defeats, particularly to the Mets at Shea or to the Yankees, are greeted with, "Take that! That's what you get for leaving!" And it's been fifty years since they've gone. Of course, the Dodgers were in Brooklyn for seventy years beforehand.

Kahn's hatred of O'Malley is more immediate and visceral than the average fan's. He so clearly utterly despises O'Malley, who comes across as a self-proclaimed Manhattanite, a rude, self-righteous, pompous, wealthy and greedy snob, a businessman with no interest in baseball, a seeker only of the greenback who cared not at all for fan affections, and who dismissed Brooklyn as the Provinces; in short a man who deserved, and perhaps even wanted, to be hated.

The Irish Catholic O'Malley proclaimed himself a "Tory." He fined staffers a dollar each time they mentioned Branch Rickey by name. Robinson was a showboater in his estimation, and it was New York's fault the Dodgers left---if Brooklyn had wanted the team Brooklyn should have met his demands for a new stadium and other concessions.

With no Love of The Game, O'Malley's decision to move the team was based, solely and selfishly, on his desire to line his own pockets (he was always notoriously cheap with fans, players, and staffers), and to create his own power dynasty far from the interference of the New York Elites, to whom he was an also-ran.

Many people have written that the Dodgers left because "Brooklyn was changing" as "white flight" drove the middle classes to the suburbs. This ignores the fact that many areas did not change demographically, and that the process was neither sudden nor total. It also discounts the fact that minorities are not immune to an appreciation of the National Pastime. It ignores the fact that the Dodger departure was not so much an effect as a cause of these changes. Local historians mark 1957 as the end of an era in Brooklyn history.

Lastly, although the Borough was changing, it was also remaining the same, as the home of newly-arrived immigrant minorities. Brooklyn could (and should) have remained the home of this beloved team. It was thriving and would have continued to thrive. As Kahn says: "In a perfect world, Brooklyn would have the Dodgers and the Mets would be in Los Angeles."

Would that it were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.