Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A brainy introduction, but not picture perfect
O'Shea's book provides a very broad overview of the structure and function of the most complex object known to Man. The biochemical and physical interactions of neurons, the formation of memory, brain-machine interaction, and a range of other topics, are all touched upon in a readable and informative manner, pitched at the level of an intelligent beginner, and requiring...
Published on September 15, 2007 by Peter Reeve

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A little bit too technical for an intro
After reading the reviews on this page, I was excited to read a book that would provide a "layman" like myself an easy introduction to the workings and ways of the brain. But I was disappointed with what I read. The first two chapters were great, and truly were introductory and easy to read: the first was a basic introduction to the brain, and the second provided...
Published 21 months ago by Greg Hovanesian


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A brainy introduction, but not picture perfect, September 15, 2007
By 
Peter Reeve (Thousand Oaks, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Brain: A Very Short Introduction (Paperback)
O'Shea's book provides a very broad overview of the structure and function of the most complex object known to Man. The biochemical and physical interactions of neurons, the formation of memory, brain-machine interaction, and a range of other topics, are all touched upon in a readable and informative manner, pitched at the level of an intelligent beginner, and requiring just an elementary grasp of physics and chemistry. The book has one significant shortcoming: Most of the illustrations are copied from other publications, and are a poor match with the text. For example, on page 45 there is a diagram illustrating avoidance behavior in unicellular animals, a simple concept not requiring a diagram, let alone one that occupies almost an entire page and contains labels that are not referenced in the text. Yet when we come to the discussion of the large-scale structure of the human brain, in Chapter 4, which cries out for a detailed diagram, there is none. I was reduced to finding one online, to refer to as I read the text. I agonized long and hard about whether to deduct a star from the rating, because I do recommend this book, but in the end I decided I had to. I hope OUP reissue it with more relevant illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction, May 25, 2006
This review is from: The Brain: A Very Short Introduction (Paperback)
This is one of the best books in the VSI series, and I've read well over thirty by now. It gives a very good introduction to the basic neuroanatomy of the brain, and explains many important brain functions. The book is intended for laypeople, but even those (like me) who are familiar with the subject can benefit from reading it. Oftentimes neuroscience textbook overwhelm with details, and it is sometimes hard to see the forest from the trees. This book provides a good bird's eye perspective on the field, and its many references and recommended books make it a valuable reference. Very importantly, the book is up to date in some of the more recent discoveries, including some current controversies like grandma neuron, the idea that the brain has a neuron devoted just for recognizing each family member.

A good, well written and well organized book. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars vibrant, clear and stimulating, April 15, 2013
By 
Nigel Kirk (Canberra, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Brain: A Very Short Introduction (Paperback)
In April 2013, the author of this Very Short Introduction, Michael O'Shea, pulled together a very swish Instant Expert feature on the human brain for the magazine New Scientist. I picked up this VSI because of the quality of the magazine feature and was not disappointed.

O'Shea's introduction is important in two ways: it scopes what a 127 page book can cover of such an enormous topic, and it demonstrates O'Shea's exposition style with a stimulating review of the process of reading. The book is structured with an historical perspective, descriptions of electrical and chemical signaling mechanisms (including a background on brain imaging tools), nervous system evolution, response to sensations and perceptions, and explanations of the basic mechanisms of short and long term memory. O'Shea's area of expertise comes to the fore in a brief discussion of brain/computer interfaces and artificial nervous networks. Citations are not provided although the Further Reading is useful if now a little dated.

Stand out aspects of this book are O'Shea's explanations of neural signaling. As a reader with a biology background, I found his explanations unusually fresh and intelligible; the chapter on neural evolution offers a sound context for the other information on brain structure and function; and the chapter on perception gives very clear and insightful explanations and examples, for instance on the interplay between the eyes and the lateral geniculate nuclei in the deceptively simple art of depth perception. Memory mechanisms are explained concisely and, again, with a rare clarity. I have generally found Oxford's VSI series to be well directed, either attempting a rounded description of a topic or a more incisive exploration of specific aspects. The Brain, A Very Short Introduction is a standout, combining both these approaches in a vibrant and clear exposition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly comprehensive and up to dated, January 15, 2012
This review is from: The Brain: A Very Short Introduction (Paperback)
This book, part of the Very Short Introduction Series (Oxford University Press), surprised me by its comprehensiveness despite its 144 pages. It is also remarkably up to dated and reads smooth and accessibly. The book is organized along 8 chapters presenting, a logic sequence, the main aspects of the brain.

The first important fact to take into account about this book is that it is about the brain, not the mind or even the relationship brain and mind. So, it focuses on descriptions of the brain structure and sensory aspects, not on mind-related issues such as behavior, consciousness, and personality. The book starts by describing what is happening as one reads the lines of a text, and introduces them main aspects of brain research in the process. The second chapter provides a very interesting historical review, with emphasis on the Golgi/Cajal findings (i.e. reticular against network models). Chapter 3 is dedicated to brain signalling, covering in an engaging, comprehensive and yet accessible way the basic theory of neuronal transmission. Evolution and development are covered in Chapter 4, and sensation, perception and action in Chapter 5. The grandmother/sparse coding of information in the brain is treated with great clarity and insight. Chapter 6 covers the all important aspect of memory, identifying and characterizing the several types of memories and how and where they take place. The explanation of Kandel's seminal findings is very accessible and illustrates the impressive didactic abilities of the author. Chapter 7, which covers how the brain can be enhanced and repaired, proved to be remarkably up to dated and interestingly written. Chapter 8 concludes the book.

All in all, I found a pleasure reading this book because of its clarity, objectivity, and engaging style. The author manages to provide a surprisingly up to dated and comprehensive account of the state of the art in brain research despite its 144 pages. The sequence of the presentation is logical, the writing is effective and never boring, and the case-examples are very well-chosen. Suggestions for further reading are also to be found as an appendix. All in all, a highly recommended no-nonsense book that is a must for those interesting to get quickly acquainted with this most surprising and complex structures that is the human brain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this short little book, November 20, 2012
By 
Kevin (Orlando, Florida) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Brain: A Very Short Introduction (Paperback)
I don't think one could have written a better book for the layman in such a small space. I was very surprised how much the author was able to cram in such a little book. For those who are complaining about the difficulties in understanding all I can say is I understood everything just fine and I am by no means a neuroscientist. Besides, the topic is the brain, that's kind of like picking up a book on particle physics for the laymen and then complaining that it was too complicated to understand. You can make these kinds of subjects only so simple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A little bit too technical for an intro, November 15, 2012
This review is from: The Brain: A Very Short Introduction (Paperback)
After reading the reviews on this page, I was excited to read a book that would provide a "layman" like myself an easy introduction to the workings and ways of the brain. But I was disappointed with what I read. The first two chapters were great, and truly were introductory and easy to read: the first was a basic introduction to the brain, and the second provided reviewed the history of brain research through the ages. Starting with Chapter 3, however, the book became overally technical and difficult to read. The Chapter on memory was interesting, and overall I did learn things, but as a "layman", I found myself very confused and overwhelmed as I struggled to make it through what I found to be a very 'Non-Introductory' introduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Having a functional one is important!, April 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Brain: A Very Short Introduction (Paperback)
The medical terminology is well explained so a non medical person can understand what an incredible 'machine' the brain is in its relationship with the central nervous system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Introduction for non-speacialists..., August 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
In this book readers will discover basic information about the most pertinent questions about the brain any educated person might ask. They include, 1) how does the brain function? 2) What makes it 'go'? 3) How has the history of neurology unfolded? What were the most important break throughs and what incorrect theories held the field back? 4) What neurology and computers and the use of the brain in conjunction with man made machines? Finally, matters of functional problems of teh brain are addressed and the latest in research and breakthroughs are noted. A generous reading list for each chapter is provided at the end of the book making this little book exactly what the title says: a very short, but nonetheless comprehensive introduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Describes the brain concisely with clarity, July 8, 2010
This review is from: The Brain: A Very Short Introduction (Paperback)
Another Very Short Introduction published by Oxford, The Brain describes in more than enough detail to satisfy any college course the functions, mechanisms and probable evolutionary development of the brain. It does not go into molecular descriptions, but stops at statements like "potassium ion gate." Also, the text identifies want isn't known; such as the purpose of the glial cells that surround neurons.

The text is straightforward and clear; although the topic is nearly overwhelming. The first major item that surprised me was that the neurons of the brain are basically the same for all species. Humans just have a whole bunch of them, given the size of the human body.

In short, this book delivers its title. 'nuff said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice overview of the brain, June 6, 2014
By 
Mike Beymer "Mike Beymer" (SpokaneWa. United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A good overview of the brain and the neuroscience along with the history/, an easy read even for the non=scientist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Brain: A Very Short Introduction
The Brain: A Very Short Introduction by Michael O'Shea (Paperback - February 16, 2006)
$11.95 $10.35
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.