Customer Reviews


379 Reviews
5 star:
 (254)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (88)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


417 of 422 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shows more of the real bible than any other childrens version.
Most childrens bibles gloss over 90% of the material and only show you adam&Eve, Noah's Ark, Jonah and the Whale, Joshua, David & Goliath, nativity scene.

This book shows you many of the missing scenes from the bible that most people wouldn't be exposed to!
Published 10 months ago by Jami

versus
25 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Falls short of the website. A lot.
I'm a great fan of thebricktestament website, and have been eagerly awaiting this book since March. However, this edition has been 'sanitized' to the point that it's not recognizable as being work by the same author ("Rev" Smith).
I can see the point of omitting some of the more sexually graphic and somewhat silly illustrations from the printed version (such as those...
Published on September 30, 2011 by T. Cobbs


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

417 of 422 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shows more of the real bible than any other childrens version., November 22, 2013
By 
Jami (Clinton, NJ) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Brick Bible: A New Spin on the Old Testament (Paperback)
Most childrens bibles gloss over 90% of the material and only show you adam&Eve, Noah's Ark, Jonah and the Whale, Joshua, David & Goliath, nativity scene.

This book shows you many of the missing scenes from the bible that most people wouldn't be exposed to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


340 of 346 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent re-cap of the best parts of the old testament, November 22, 2013
This review is from: The Brick Bible: A New Spin on the Old Testament (Paperback)
Love this book - probably not the best for children but hey, neither is the Bible (ESPECIALLY the old testament). There's a lot of good, old fashioned christian hypocrisy going on in these reviews. I challenge you, read the book, compare it to the bible and show the world where it gets it wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


316 of 325 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic. Very accurate., November 22, 2013
This review is from: The Brick Bible: A New Spin on the Old Testament (Paperback)
Fantastically accurate and a perfect representation of the bibles message. I great holiday gift for every age. Five stars easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


260 of 268 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heathens Ahoy!!!! You'll Love This One!, November 22, 2013
This review is from: The Brick Bible: A New Spin on the Old Testament (Paperback)
Our son is way into Legos, and this book was great! It's also a fantastic coffee table book and gives all my atheist friends a laugh. It highlights the best parts of the bible! Of course, that's the human sacrifice, incest, genital mutilation and what have you. It's perfect for all you heathens and heathenesses. Buy for your kids and you can have a laugh too. Don't be put off by the reviews, it's a bunch of religious people giving it one star for just the reasons I gave above. Yep, it's true to the Old Testament, in all the right ways. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


264 of 272 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bringing the bible to life..., November 22, 2013
This review is from: The Brick Bible: A New Spin on the Old Testament (Paperback)
I love the way you really bring the bible to life. This should be available to everyone everywhere to learn the true teachings of god
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


264 of 273 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The illustrations in this book are fun and engaging. The thought and time that goes into the dioramas is inspiring., November 26, 2011
By 
T. S. (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Brick Bible: A New Spin on the Old Testament (Paperback)
You'll notice the book tends to divide people strongly. Most reviews are either five stars or one.

In the former case the reviews appear to come from open minded individuals who are able to understand that the Bible itself is not all popcorn and unicorns. The Author does depict some of the more troubling passages from the Bible but they are _from the Bible_ which is a challenging book.

In the latter case the reviews mostly come from people reviewing the website which depicts nearly the entire bible, good and bad, and not reviews of the book itself. Even when they are of the book it's clear the reviewers are either unfamiliar with the Bible itself or those who white-wash the disturbing parts.

The illustrations in this book are fun and engaging. The thought and time that goes into the dioramas is inspiring. I highly recommend this book for adults who are not narrow minded and parents who are able to talk about reality with their children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


181 of 186 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great way to learn bible stories for kids!, October 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Brick Bible: A New Spin on the Old Testament (Paperback)
Bought this for my son who is 11 and loves Legos. This book has pictures where everything is made of Legos. He loves it and is very interested in the stories. His friends have seen it and I have had parents asking where I got it so they could buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


241 of 258 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I don't think god wrote this one..., November 22, 2013
This review is from: The Brick Bible: A New Spin on the Old Testament (Paperback)
Isn't one of the core ideas of a religion to get new members while they're young and impressionable?

Well if the book upsets this many christians it must be a good thing!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


81 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have!, November 22, 2013
This review is from: The Brick Bible: A New Spin on the Old Testament (Paperback)
A must have for anyone who is familiar with the bible and also has a sense of humor.

Be alert, it's just not for kids. It's for people that can appreciate the satire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


114 of 121 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We love to read fiction!, November 22, 2013
This review is from: The Brick Bible: A New Spin on the Old Testament (Paperback)
This book is great! When I read fairytales and myths to my child this is the 3rd or 4th one she goes for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Brick Bible: A New Spin on the Old Testament
The Brick Bible: A New Spin on the Old Testament by Brendan Powell Smith (Paperback - October 1, 2011)
$19.95 $14.82
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.