Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Letters ......
"The Bridges of Madison County" Soundtrack CD.....
It is not neccessary to have seen the film to appreciate what this music is about.It opens with the wonderfully romantic orchestral love theme "Doe Eyes". Composed by Clint Eastwood(yet another great talent of his revealed), and conducted by Lennie Niehaus, the music fills the room with the...
Published on December 21, 2002 by L. Shirley

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good listening
Not the best but good. Nice for a quiet night indoors. Not as good as hearing them in the movie at different times
Published 17 months ago by john martucci


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Letters ......, December 21, 2002
This review is from: The Bridges Of Madison County: Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
"The Bridges of Madison County" Soundtrack CD.....
It is not neccessary to have seen the film to appreciate what this music is about.It opens with the wonderfully romantic orchestral love theme "Doe Eyes". Composed by Clint Eastwood(yet another great talent of his revealed), and conducted by Lennie Niehaus, the music fills the room with the soothing sounds, and already you are under the spell!
Then ,like love letters put to music,Dinah Washington's feminine and soulful tones and Johnny Hartman's deep but docile voice exchange stories of love and romance through song. Dinah sings "I'll Close My Eyes", she says"through those moments, were apart, I'll close my eyes and see you with my heart".Johnny returns with "Easy Living" and expresses that"people say you rule me with one wave of your hand...Darling it's grand.."These are followed by "Blue Gardenia"(Washington), "I see Your Face Before Me"(Hartman) and "Soft Winds"(Washington), all expressing the fleeting affair and the lasting love.You will also be treated to some wonderful instrumental solos interwoven in the songs.
A light and lively rendition of "Baby, I'm Yours"(Barbara Lewis) gives the sense of the time era, followed by more wonderful love songs,including artists Irene Kral with the Junior Mance Trio. There are twelve tracks in all(see buying info for complete lists), and closes with the mesmerizing "Doe Eyes" once more.
The CD is a great quality and sounds terrific on the stereo.
This album is for anyone who has ever loved or has ever been loved!....Close YOUR eyes and enjoy...Laurie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful collection of music, November 22, 2003
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bridges Of Madison County: Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
One of the many reasons the film version of Robert Waller's pallid and common novel surpassed expectations and became one of the few films to improve its original source is due in no small part to director Clint Eastwood's impeccable taste and selection of the soundtrack. Choosing vocal work from the elegant Dinah Washington and the cool, smokey eroticism of Johnny Hartman as well as composing the vivid and drifting "Doe Eyes", Eastwood created a film that breathed autumnal, ephemeral romance.
This is a soundtrack album that stands on its own as excellent listening. Besides the simply gorgeous aforementioned "Doe Eyes" (Eastwood has developed into quite a deft and sensitive composer), higlights include Hartman's brilliant rendering of "For All We Know", "Easy Living" and "It Was Almost Like A Song" along with Washington's "I'll Close My Eyes".
I used selections from this as part of a soundtrack for a stage version William Inge's PICNIC and the drifting, haunting, and luscious sounds contained here produced an effective atmosphere of longing and loneliness.
A beautiful collection of music that made a pretty good film work. A certain must own for lovers of jazz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A touching soundtrack for this one-of-a-kind love story., April 11, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Bridges Of Madison County: Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
The Dinah Washington tracks speak for themselves, as do the John Hartmans. . .but how I wish that, once he's done with films, Clint Eastwood would be recognized for his senstive musical gift. "Doe Eyes" alone makes the listener hopeful and breaks their heart without so much as one word of lyric, or without ever having to know the story of Francesca & Robert. Mr. Eastwood's directorial efforts have been appropriately rewarded. I only wish he had been duly cited for this beautiful composition. Someday. .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Romantic Music, February 8, 2005
This review is from: The Bridges Of Madison County: Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
After reviewing the DVD movie, I was touched by the love that 2 people can share. As in any movie, I believe music helps the movie. I had to get the CD for at least the movie theme song.

But once listening to the complete CD, you'll find several songs that you'll remember the movie's scenes. One of the artist, Johnnie, has an exceptional deep, romantic voice that you'll want to hear over and over. A beautiful CD to capture romantic memories that you'll relate to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doe Eyes, December 12, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Bridges Of Madison County: Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
When I saw the movie and listened to the theme song I bought it right away. Doe Eyes is the most beautiful, heart-wrenching song I have ever heard. I rarely cry and hearing this song can make me cry (it touches the soul). I feel so good after listening to the song and it can have a moving effect. I agree with the other woman that Clint Eastwood should have been more noticed as the composer of the song. What a wonderful start for him. It is a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A MUST HAVE, June 20, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Bridges Of Madison County: Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
I have seen the movie, listened to the CD and read Amazon's customer reviews. I fine this CD truely amazing and cannot understand why anyone would rate this any lower than a 4 star CD. IT TOUCHES THE SOUL!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Johnny Hartman - the gold in the dross, February 25, 2007
This review is from: The Bridges Of Madison County: Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
The best thing about Clint Eastwood's 1995 tearjerker, "The Bridges of Madison County," is the soundtrack. Although most of the album (other than Eastwood's syrupy "Doe Eyes" which appears twice on the disk) is listenable, it's the recordings of Johnny Hartman that make this disk indispensable. Hartman, who has to be considered on the short list of the greatest male vocalists of all time, recorded the material heard here for the now out-of-print album, "Once in Every Life," on the Bee Hive label in 1980, three years before his untimely death at age 60. The album, a late masterpiece surpassed only by his 1963 collaboration with John Coltrane, has never been released on CD but Eastwood has done us all a huge service by releasing the entire content of the album spread out over two disks (this one and its sequel "Remembering Madison County"). Hartman's voice, a smoky baritone, is perfectly suited to the mature romantic ballads he performs here with a very complementary sextet. Hartman recorded some of the tracks, notably "I See Your Face Before Me," earlier in the mid 50s also. On the soundtrack he sings the song at a slower tempo, shading it with nuances earned over the many years he had lived with the lyrics. His renditions of the aforementioned song, "It Was Almost Like a Song" and "For All We Know" may well be the definitive versions.

This is an essential purchase for anyone who loves male jazz vocals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This really is a must have for all ages!!!!, May 1, 2002
By 
Paul George (Attleboro, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Bridges Of Madison County: Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
From the opening note this CD takes you to heaven and beyond. Johnny Hartman is amazing along with Irene Kral to Dinah Washington, who could ask for more? I suggest this CD to anyone who wants to escape for 45 minutes and just listen to good pure music, perfect for a romantic evening or just sitting out on the deck and enjoying! This is also my 6month old daughters bedtime CD. It's that wonderful, it puts her right to sleep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars all time favourite album - but put it in the vault !, January 24, 2006
By 
This review is from: The Bridges Of Madison County: Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
I bought this album after seeing the movie( what 10 yrs ago?) We were only 30 at the time and still listening to Inxs and George Michael etc... so had never even heard of Johnny Hartman!!) Well 10 years and 3 kids later we are completely addicted to this album. My husband knows that if this is on when he gets home it will be in a very nice evening indeed.About two years ago we lost this cd - probably on a weekend away - and spent another year trying to replace it. There wasnt a single music store in Australia that had a new or second hand copy in stock. Where did they all go ?? I ended up ordering it from the U.K. - it took 3 months and cost $30 ( approx $50 us). Needless to say we have several copies of it now and continue to play it constantly. We now own various Hartman/Washington albums but the mix on this album ( plus we are big fans of Clint's) just seems to be perfect. Sublime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, September 2, 2005
This review is from: The Bridges Of Madison County: Music From The Motion Picture (Audio CD)
This is an extremely relaxing and soothing CD and especially recommended when you get home late at night and play it in a dim light. Carries your soul away. You will know what I mean when you listen to it .

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.