Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up, Up, Down, Down, Left, Right, Left, Right, B, A, Start
If the cover alone hasn't sold you on the book I don't know what to tell you.

It's like Of Mice And Men set in the Blade Runner universe. And they made a Nintendo game based on that book. And this book is based on that video game. Does that make sense? Good.

This book is crazy like that. But it's also really good. William Pauley knows how to...
Published on December 27, 2010 by Jason Armstrong

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gory != Bizarre
Reynold and Divey Crunk run a "brackfas burrito" truck, using a mystery source of meat. After a car accident, Divey gets possessed by Vandenboom, leader of the Damned Dirt Devils, leading Reynold on a chase to get his brother back. This is a short synopsis without giving too many spoilers.

We start with an opening scene where the brothers try to trick their...
Published on August 8, 2011 by Sheldon Nylander


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up, Up, Down, Down, Left, Right, Left, Right, B, A, Start, December 27, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Brothers Crunk (Paperback)
If the cover alone hasn't sold you on the book I don't know what to tell you.

It's like Of Mice And Men set in the Blade Runner universe. And they made a Nintendo game based on that book. And this book is based on that video game. Does that make sense? Good.

This book is crazy like that. But it's also really good. William Pauley knows how to build up a scene and write characters that are funny and interesting. Even whenever I got confused he kept me turning the pages.

I loved Doom Magnetic but this was even better. He keeps getting better as a writer and I can't wait to see what he does next. But for now I'll just have to admire this cover and wish I hadn't smashed my Nintendo trying to beat Contra when I was a kid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gory != Bizarre, August 8, 2011
By 
Sheldon Nylander (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Brothers Crunk (Paperback)
Reynold and Divey Crunk run a "brackfas burrito" truck, using a mystery source of meat. After a car accident, Divey gets possessed by Vandenboom, leader of the Damned Dirt Devils, leading Reynold on a chase to get his brother back. This is a short synopsis without giving too many spoilers.

We start with an opening scene where the brothers try to trick their business partner into a game of Russian Roulette using an overpowered 1984-era Nintendo zapper. You remember that gray plastic pistol that came with the old 8-bit Nintendo consoles? Yeah, that's the one.

Unfortunately, this felt like where the novel peaked. Being a huge fan of old-school games, not to mention a regular reader of Bizarro fiction titles, I wanted to like this book a lot more. But something about it just didn't click for me. The references to Nintendo accessories being used as actual weapons felt tacked on and silly rather than clever or...well, bizarre.

The story felt very average and there seems to be some lack of motivation to the characters for their actions, or there are changes to character directions that, instead of making you go "Ooooo" with a sense of awe, make you go "huh?" with a sense of confusion.

A particular aspect to the novel that could have been played a little better in this regard was Pete, or rather Meat Pete. After being captured by Wasp Women, Reynold uses the meat for the brothers' burritos made from Pete to reconstruct him as a pile of talking meat that only he can hear talking to him (it made me flashback to Pizza the Hut from "Spaceballs"). This seemed clever in a way, but at the same time felt like a lost opportunity that could have been used to greater effect. It should also make the case that gory does not equal bizarre. Don't expect that slapping buckets of blood or fresh human meat all over a book will make it bizarre or clever (it doesn't necessarily preclude it, just don't rely on it).

Upon looking up the author, William Pauley III, it appears that this is not the first novel he's written in this particular world, such as "Doom Magnetic!," which would explain some of the passing reference that seemed like we were supposed to already know who or what some of these people were. This wasn't clear from the book description and might have helped. Or it might not. I'm not sure. I may try to track down "Doom Magnetic!" and see if it helps in understanding and appreciating "The Brothers Crunk" a little more.

Don't get me wrong here. I would not say that "The Brothers Crunk" is a bad book, but it felt rather mediocre. It's short, so if you don't like it, it won't be major waste or time, or you could like it quite a bit and take more away from it than this reviewer did, which after reading some other reviews could very well be the case. It seems that this book may be very specific to the reader. There are aspects to like, but this reader ultimately found it disappointing.

2.5 out of 5 stars (2 stars for the book, meaning it was "OK;" however, I do want to add that the cover art is awesome and alone deserves 5 stars, so since we can't give half stars on the system, "The Brothers Crunk" gets the benefit of the doubt and gets 3 stars).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two opposable thumbs thrust upward!, March 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Brothers Crunk (Kindle Edition)
(This review was originally written in Japanese, but was hastily [and poorly] translated for the sake of rushing it to English speaking markets to capitalize on the explosion in popularity of hastily- [and poorly-] translated Amazon reviews.)

Corpulent populations of kudos regard to the constructor of the published book materials nomenclatured THE BROTHERS CRUNK assmbled by letter arranger William Pauley the 3. Containment of emotion regards to material found upon perusal most extraneous of aforementioned word groupings, eyeballers of book this most difficult will find. Excessive celebration penalties abounding.

Of familiarity to fantastical old-timey gaming contol systematics, recommendations gush forth, plus double good excitablility for literary genre "bizarro" suggested from this reviewer. Please for to extend the thankful yous upon letter arranger William Pauley the 3 for most estimable and honorable calculations toward enjoyable leisure hours laid on doorstep of handsomely presented masterpiece bearing moniker THE BROTHERS CRUNK.

Book is this receiving of heartiness "Two opposable thumbs thrust upward!"

(To unlock original Japanese version of this review, please key in the following: up, up, down, down, left, right, left, right, B, A, start)(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT book!, December 29, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Brothers Crunk (Paperback)
Vivid imagery, clever dialogue, endering characters, and just a hint of gross; this isn't a book you read, but a book you experience. Pauley knows what he's doing.

Hansen's art is beautiful as always but it was a treat to see less romantic pieces by her. She and Pauley's work make a wonderful package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Purple Television..., December 30, 2010
This review is from: The Brothers Crunk (Paperback)
Great book! Best of the bizarro books that I've read so far. Looking forward to reading more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read!, June 28, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Brothers Crunk (Kindle Edition)
The Brothers Crunk is a fun read. It has robots and burritos. You should read it just because of that. But if that hasn't peaked your curiosity there are pictures in here as well that look really good on the Kindle. Pick this one up today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 8-Bit Surreal, December 20, 2013
This review is from: The Brothers Crunk (Kindle Edition)
Never underestimate the power of video games on the unconscious mind. William Pauley III has composed a love letter to 8-bit fantasy and the subconscious, full of interesting dialogue. For someone who grew up playing Nintendo games, I felt like this book pulled something surreal from my own subconscious, something raw and heretofore unacknowledged.
The characters and their reaction to the world around them seems almost childlike, with actions and desires that seem to be motivated by their inability to understand any level of morality. These characters live in video games and they are manifestations of unreality. They are the desensitized versions of people who are two-dimensional, with two-dimensional motivations that are defined by the fantasy in which they participate.

Pauley gives us interesting dialogue, a fun premise, and a collage of moments that inform a video game-style adventure that doesn’t take time to define itself or explain how/why it exists; like any video game, its presence is unapologetic, and it is a vehicle for escape from reality, until it becomes its own reality, as is the case for these characters. There is a sort of explanation provided near the end of the novel that attempts to provide a basis for causation, but it isn’t necessary; Pauley has already sold us on the concept.

If you enjoy surreal bizarro, this is book is a page-turner. When it comes to bizarro, I’m not always looking for catharsis or rising action; I want literature that is an escape from literature, a variation of unreality that is an escape from itself. As nonsensical as any classic video game narrative from the Nintendo era, I found myself wondering about the impact of those particular games on my own subconscious. I didn’t grow up with Call of Duty games or games where mass-murder was part of the objective. I played games like The Brothers Crunk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 1980s returns with a vengeance!, September 25, 2013
This review is from: The Brothers Crunk (Kindle Edition)
Anyone within 10 years of my age would probably buy this book if for no other reason than the cover art. But if one is hesitant to buy it, allow me to share: It's an absolute bizarro ball.

This story occurs within the universe that Pauley created with 'Doom Magnetic!'. It's fast, furious and lot of fun. The plot involves wasp women, traveling meat venders, and copious amounts of strange.

Take a walk through Pauley's imagination, I dare you. Aterward, you'll be watching for his next book like the rest of us, and no matter what you'll go in expecting to read, you'll be hanging on with white knuckles through the break-neck pace that the Doom Magnetic series has so-far provided.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars an interesting world to come across, September 8, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Brothers Crunk (Kindle Edition)
This was an interesting world to come across. Video game controllers as weapons, a character talking to a sack of meat, all kinds of fun stuff. It's definitely a good time to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Won't Want to Pause during this Book!, September 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Brothers Crunk (Kindle Edition)
Any child of the 80's and 90's who consider Mario, Luigi, Bowser, and the Mushroom Kingdom a significant part of their 8 bit childhood will have their hearts warmed with nostalgia and smile from the first page of William Pauley III' s Bizarro classic, The Brothers Crunk.
I finished this in one sitting and was held rapt the entire time. William Pauly III has become one of my favorite writers in the Bizarro genre. Pauley's ability to take a ridiculous concept and execute it believably with tight prose that wander into realms of the poetic, has made Pauley's work essential reading in the Bizarro genre.
The art, by Megan Hansen, interspersed through the book is nice too and well done, adding that much more fun to the book. The cover is classic...pure classic, beautiful.
Great story, great art, beautiful cover, The Brothers Crunk is Bizarro at its best!
I can't wait to dip into more of Pauley's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Brothers Crunk
The Brothers Crunk by William Pauley III
$2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.