Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well researched and very readable
Dean did his homework for this book; from the phone interviews to the library digs, this book has loads of great information that should entertain both card collectors as well as business book readers. I bought the print version of this book hoping that it would include pictures, which I'm disappointed that it did not. Baseball cards are by definition, pictures and this...
Published 24 months ago by JD

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Just OK
The information about the card sets is very good. Wish there was more detail on some of the stories he mentions. He has a tendency to mention interesting things in passing and then goes on to something else. Also wish someone had proof-read this thing. The spelling and grammar errors make it harder to read.
Published 3 months ago by Gary Messerli


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well researched and very readable, December 4, 2012
By 
JD (Long Beach CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bubble Gum Card War: The Great Bowman & Topps Sets from 1948 to 1955 (Paperback)
Dean did his homework for this book; from the phone interviews to the library digs, this book has loads of great information that should entertain both card collectors as well as business book readers. I bought the print version of this book hoping that it would include pictures, which I'm disappointed that it did not. Baseball cards are by definition, pictures and this book would have been perfect if had those photos included. Another issue with the print version is the references in the back have some pretty convoluted links; perhaps using bit.ly or tinyurl would make them easier for us to enter into a browser. I'm sure they are perfect for kindle users though. One last issue is that Dean seems to really want us to visit his website deanscards.com, it's mentioned so often so much so that it becomes a bit spammy.

All in all very informative and enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, June 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Includes tons of information and is not a very hard read. It is also helpful to follow the links to get a good look at the cards themselves
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars review, June 28, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bubble Gum Card War: The Great Bowman & Topps Sets from 1948 to 1955 (Paperback)
writer is well versed on subject. a great way to relive the era from someone who knows. baseball is still very nostalgic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mid twentieth century baseball card hidden history uncovered, October 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bubble Gum Card War: The Great Bowman & Topps Sets from 1948 to 1955 (Paperback)
Dean has done a truly masterful job in documenting the hidden history of the baseall card wars of 1950-1955. I believe that this manuscript could be expanded upon with some documented interviews with some of the major players of that time. Back in the day there were ball players who interacted with the Sy Bergers of the world.

These encounters relating to the card wars could be further amplified and collected for a new book. More of this historical information would make an already great read and contribution to baseball card history but it could be elevated to classic status. Terrific job Dean your efforts are recognized and greatly appreciated. Jimmy R.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ANSWERED A LOT OF QUESTIONS!, September 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bubble Gum Card War: The Great Bowman & Topps Sets from 1948 to 1955 (Paperback)
The Bubble Gum Card War answered a ton of questions I have had since I began completing my sets from the 50's! Born in 1945, the 50's were my little league/Babe Ruth league years playing baseball, buying, "flipping", and collecting cards. After reading Dean's Bubble Gum Card War, I now understand why some cards are so hard to find, ie. short prints; why there were no Topps football cards before 1955; what happened to Bowmen cards; why certain stars like Ted Williams, Stan Musial, etc. were not on cards every year, etc., etc. I am presently an avid collector, and have "filled in" most of my sets from the 50's. The Bubble Gum Card War really helped, and Dean's Cards is my online source for hard to find cards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Card War, September 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bubble Gum Card War: The Great Bowman & Topps Sets from 1948 to 1955 (Paperback)
Excellent, historical perspective on early years baseball cards. Easy to understand. Author really knows the business. I enjoyed Dean's book very much and also in the past I purchsed cards from him on-line and found him to be an honest dealer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Guide to the Early Bowman and Topps Sets, January 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bubble Gum Card War: The Great Bowman & Topps Sets from 1948 to 1955 (Paperback)
This book is a must for any baseball card collector who has an interest in the early Bowman and Topps card sets. A great guide that tells the stories behind these early bubble gum sets, which picture some of the truly greats of the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The History of the Golden Era of Baseball Cards, December 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bubble Gum Card War: The Great Bowman & Topps Sets from 1948 to 1955 (Paperback)
Great story of the history of baseball cards. Having lived through that era, some of the details provided are inaccurate, but it is a good documentation of the Golden Era of Baseball cards, including the strategies and tactics of both Bowman and Topps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you love baseball you have to read this book., August 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bubble Gum Card War: The Great Bowman & Topps Sets from 1948 to 1955 (Paperback)
If you love vintage cards as I do, you will enjoy this book. I had no idea the big fight to sell started cards in 1948. I have now started a new jouney putting together a 1948 Bowman PSA 5 or better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dean's Time Machine...Thanks for the Journey!, January 4, 2013
This review is from: The Bubble Gum Card War: The Great Bowman & Topps Sets from 1948 to 1955 (Paperback)
Five minutes into "THE BUBBLE GUM CARD WAR", I felt the excitement of being a kid in the early 50's running to the corner store with a few quarters to buy more baseball cards to find some Phillies or Yankees missing from my shoebox....or lost in "flipping" at the schoolyard. Dean's book takes me back to "a simpler place and time" where I can spend sometime with my Mom & Dad who enabled my card addiction and shared my joy of finding an Ashburn or Mantle in a newly opened pack. I find it is ME who Dean so aptly describes as one of the baby boomer kids who was now old enough to BUY the cards that sparked the addiction of an entire generation of boys to the hobby of collecting baseball cards.....I also collected football, basketball, and other non-sports cards like ZORRO, FLAGS, etc.
Of course Dean's book is filled with interesting information on the Card Producing companies, the Players/Teams, and the new economy of the 50s.....but for me, it was a wonderful journey back to those days when being a kid was fun, exciting and promising, as well as the time with my parents who are no longer here to share in my excitement of once again filling a spot in the "shoebox". THANKS for the Journey!

RAM
DOB: 1946
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Bubble Gum Card War: The Great Bowman & Topps Sets from 1948 to 1955
$9.99 $8.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.