Automotive Holiday Deals Up to 50% Off Select Books Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Black Friday egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Get Ready for the Winter Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer bf15 bf15 bf15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $15 Off All-New Fire Kindle Black Friday Deals Buy one Get one Free\ Outdoor Deals on Tikes

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars17
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:$11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on December 11, 2010
Best Budos release yet. Every song is solid, and the band is even tighter, with a solid groove that works great on its own or behind the solos. They branch out on this record, at times emphasizing guitar or organ instead of just the horns. The songs could easily support extended-mix versions.

Don't miss their live show if you get a chance to see them.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2015
The best way to describe the recipe for The Budos Band's sound is this: take Afro beats, soulful grooves, the swagger of rhythm and blues, jazz flavor, and a good dose of funk. Stir thoroughly. Lastly, add some touches of 60's era psychedelic rock and you've got The Budos Band. In short, the Staten Island group has always gravitated toward experimentation and eclecticism. With III, the band's third full-length release, the sound reaches a new peak. Infinitely unorthodox and inventive, Budos has style to spare. Knowing that the album was recorded during a 2 day period only makes the feat more impressive. Then again, maybe that's the primary reason why III sounds so fresh, so original. The eye-catching cover art is a perfect match for the music. The group is intimidating and brash, even as they're revealing their elegance and prowess. It's difficult to identify the best parts of this album because all of the tracks are solid. To me, that's the ultimate compliment.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon August 16, 2010
This is pure brilliance. Great funk instrumental jams, there is simply nothing bad to say about this album. I am blown away by how good it is! Only helpful descrition I can come up with would be that if you like some of the Beastie Boys instrumental music, imagine that played by world class musicians (no disrespect to the Beastie's, they clearly love playing the funk jams but they aren't the world's best musicians!)and you have a sense of how good this is...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2011
If you haven't heard the Budos Band you need to remedy that immediately. They have an extremely unique afro-jazz sound that never quits. The songs "Natures Wrath" and "Unbroken, Unshaven" struck a chord with me that won't stop ringing. You'll find the horn melodies stuck in your head days later. Definitely buy this record! and be sure to see them at the Wakarusa Festival in Arkansas! You don't want to miss this!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2010
Better than "Dig" better than "II". "III" keeps the heavily percussion and horn-based band
right in the groove. Better arrangements, more solos. I still would like to see more free expression of solo horns and sometimes the tracks are waaay too short to get a full exploration of the groove.
Keep it up guys. Man, I love this stuff through hi-fi phones or in the car.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2013
I love the music, but am frustrated with what sounds like mp3 quality sound on the CD. It is stuffy with no room for the horns to ring out. CD quality sound should have more sonic space -- this CD sounds like the band is playing in a tub of water. Does anyone know if it is better on vinyl? Five stars for the music and one for the sound.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2010
All I can say is: Daptone Records re-imagined the concept of time machine!

And Budos III delivered one of the best trips to that amazing decade.

Even with my eyes wide open, I can feel the taste, I can see the groovy power, like coke in a green glass bottle.

Great instrumental blend of funk, horns and Farfisa organ.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2011
The Budos Band have a killer album in III. Their blend of Funk, Soul, Jazz and other styles set them apart from other bands and sounds. Their sound is unique and attractive. Any fan of Funk, Soul or Jazz might want to have a look at this album. Bands like this are keeping these forms of music alive in a creative and new way.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2010
I'd recommend this CD to any fan of the Budos Band. I personally didn't find it overly repetitive, and as with I and II, I love all the funky songs and variety of instruments. My only complaint is that the CD isn't very long, but I still consider it a solid investment and great addition to my library of music.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2010
Budos is back with more scorching cinematic funk.
Imagine the most badass 70's action/exploitation film soundtrack ever.
All the tracks are smokin', but "Golden Dunes" is my fave here.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
The Budos Band
The Budos Band by The Budos Band (Audio CD - 2005)

Budos Band II
Budos Band II by The Budos Band (Audio CD - 2007)

Make the Road by Walking
Make the Road by Walking by Menahan Street Band (Audio CD - 2008)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.